Airlie Beach YHA, Whitsundays

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Airlie Beach YHA, Whitsundays

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (1631 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Great location, large dorms. I guess it's okay if you're only staying for a night, just don't expect anything else than a place to sleep. I had stayed in several different YHA hostels, Airlie Beach was definitely not one of the best.. The building itself was old, beds squeaky, very uncomfortable, shower was either too hot or too cold, no night light beside the bed, lack of sockets (especially for those who sleep on the top bunk). The staff were not very friendly. They seemed constantly annoyed. Also, they asked me to fill up a form with my personal information including credit card detail when I checked in. According to them it was for security reason, and they said they will put it into shredder when I check out so it's safe. However, when I check out, they couldn't find the paper and even asked me whether I filled up the form when I checked in. They ended up losing my person information and just told me it's fine I can go. Well, IT'S NOT FINE. My personal information including card detail and cvc were all on that piece of paper. I needed to go to the airport cause I couldn't miss my flight, or else I would have stayed there until they found that paper and put it into the shredder. I am very unhappy and disappointed with my stay at this hostel.
    48%
    JUNG-YUN C May 2017
    No compromises made...
    60%
    Yannis F May 2017
    Kitchen was big and clean, it was nice to cook in there. There was no soap in the bathrooms witch gave me the creeps! But overall a nice hostel to stay before and after your Whitsundays trip.
    92%
    Merzzi May 2017
    Pretty decent hostel for the price. It's walking distance to everything which is great. The beds are the noisiest beds in the world though. Don't expect to get much sleep because even breathing makes the bed squeak. Overall it's a good hostel just make sure you pack earplugs.
    78%
    Katherine F May 2017
    Unfriendly staff
    62%
    D K May 2017
    The Hostel is pretty close to the bus station. It was easy walking there... The WiFi didn't work while I was there. The staff were very friendly...
    82%
    Sara S May 2017
    The hostel is located a bit laid back and therefore a little bit quieter, but in 3 minutes you can reach the lively centre of Airlie.
    95%
    Claudia E May 2017
    Nice and clean, pleasant stay.
    95%
    Daphne K May 2017
    The staff were very friendly and willing to answer all questions.
    78%
    Kym L April 2017
    Nice staff you can ask whatever you want and they'll help you :) Wifi is not very good, so I spent 10$ for Premium wifi which was not even better, so it's absolutely not worth it... You can hear everything from the rooms nearby or what's going on outside the room. A table on the balcony would be nice. You can't regulate the air condition by yourself. Free lockers and guest showers after checking out - thank you!
    72%
    Sandra B April 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    82%
    82%
    customer rating, based on 1631 reviews
    Cleanliness
    84%
    Condition of facilities
    77%
    Efficiency of service
    83%
    Friendliness of staff
    85%
    Location
    91%
    Overall atmosphere
    76%
    Safety & Security
    84%
    Value for Money
    75%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!