Search YHA

Airlie Beach YHA, Whitsundays

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Airlie Beach YHA, Whitsundays

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1550 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    This is *by far* the most expensive YHA I've stayed at across NZ and Australia - $36/night for a non-member? Yikes. It's among the most expensive hostels I've stayed at.
    92%
    Sarah J February 2017
    Lovely little hostel in a great location.
    88%
    Amy F February 2017
    We shared a double room for one night with my boyfriend. The room was really plain (only had the bed and a rubbish bin) but clean and we had our own little balcony. There was also air-con in the room which was good considering our stay was in the middle of February. We couldn't here any partying or loud noises during the night so we slept really well. We only had to share our bathroom with one other room (which seemed to be unoccupied) so there was no waiting to get into the shower etc. All in all, a very nice stay at YHA.
    82%
    Veera K February 2017
    Great hostel, very comfortable, very clean, perfect location. Only 2 things - wifi signal is weak in the room, and the atmosphere which was pretty much non existent.
    90%
    Daniel J February 2017
    Good hostel, but no athmosphere. More over, it should be for free to store your luggage for the whitsundays if you stay there after the tour
    75%
    Stefanie G February 2017
    Great location not far from Greyhound Bus stop and the party area of Airlie Beach. I met nice fellow travelers here. Free Wi-Fi was incredibly slow one evening because there were many people (>10) - better not rely on it - or buy Premium Access / local Sim. Loved that the dorm room had a private bathroom, but the bunk beds are quite shaky. I'd stay again just for the warm and welcoming staff and laid back atmosphere.
    95%
    Tanja W February 2017
    The room and facilities were fine. However, the aircon in the room was super cold, and upon requesting the controller, the manager was not only reluctant to give it to us, but I happened to be around as he was mocking us with his colleague in front of other guests. Later on he changed the temperature, nut then the aircon started to blow extremely hot air. When I raised it to him, he started to make comments on us. Unacceptable manner from his side at an otherwise fine place.
    58%
    Bence S February 2017
    Very friendly hostel right in the middle of Airlie Beach. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    100%
    Aleksandra E February 2017
    This is a wonderful location for staying in airlie beach, the supermarket just in 7 minutes by walk...And the room is clean!
    88%
    Hsiang Ting S February 2017
    Very spacious rooms! :)
    100%
    Sophie K February 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    83%
    1550 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    84%
    Condition of facilities
    80%
    Efficiency of service
    83%
    Friendliness of staff
    82%
    Location
    94%
    Overall atmosphere
    78%
    Safety & Security
    86%
    Value for Money
    79%