Search YHA

Airlie Beach YHA, Whitsundays

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Airlie Beach YHA, Whitsundays

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1299 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The wifi in the public areas was very poor.
    85%
    Alexandria F May 2016
    I found the Internet not working a real nuisance. I was not able to access wi fi from my lap top.
    65%
    Kaaren S May 2016
    Nice hostel, one of the closest to the bus station, close to shops and bars, but far enough to avoid the noises if you're not really into night life. Small and clean swimming pool. Perfect place to stay a few days and enjoy Airlie.
    90%
    Helene D May 2016
    Stayed here for a night before checking out to Whitsundays. Hostel is near everything; bus terminal, main strip. Came back from my tour and the worker was kind enough to let me shower prior to getting on a 12 hour overnight coach. Thanks a bunch!!
    90%
    Emily T May 2016
    Nice place to stay
    78%
    SIANGTING H May 2016
    Following a pleasant stay in YHA Cairns, we were very disappointed with the twin room allocated at Airlie. We shared a bathroom across the hall. The bedroom was barely big enough for the twin beds; there was no other furniture in the room. For the difference of only $8 YHA Airlie did not compare with YHA Cairns. This was my first experience using YHA accommodation. I will check facilities more carefully next time.
    70%
    Valerie S May 2016
    Rooms are clean and comfortable. Guest Toilet unfortaunately not. And you have to pay for any extra e.g. locker or guest shower (if you want to shower before taking the overnight bus)
    68%
    Anja May 2016
    The bedrooms were clean, big and with an ensuite bathroom. Kitchen could be better. Storage costs money even if you are a YHA member and stay both the night before and the night after sailing witsundays. About 20 minutes walk to the marina where the ships disembark.
    80%
    Shir M May 2016
    The mattress I slept on was hard as anything. Same as the pillow. Tried having the air conditioning on during the night as it was so hot in the room. it was situated right above one of the bunk beds. So being that guest there was right under it she wanted it off due to being cold. The rest of us had to suffer.
    88%
    Danielle A May 2016
    Its a nice hostel, but a bit disappointing for a YHA. It is a bit old and tired and needs some brightening up and some fun added to it. A few group activities would be nice. The 8 bed dorm was quite spacious and pleasant with a bathroom as well. Laundry was good. Kitchen has electric stoves and some do not work. Fridge was nice and had enough space. Would have been better if reception had longer hours or an out of hours phone number.
    72%
    Jo L May 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    81%
    1299 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    80%
    Condition of facilities
    75%
    Efficiency of service
    84%
    Friendliness of staff
    85%
    Location
    89%
    Overall atmosphere
    74%
    Safety & security
    82%
    Value for money
    79%