Search YHA

Airlie Beach YHA, Whitsundays

  • Customer reviews of Airlie Beach YHA, Whitsundays

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1132 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Good hostel, the beds and linens were a little bit old. Even though I'm a party guy and have a high tolerance to the noise, it's still too noisy during the night! The location can't be better and the staff extremely helpful.
    Matias S October 2015
    Met very nice people in the Airlie Beach YHA
    michael k October 2015
    The facilities were okay, the location is excellent but the staff was a bit indifferent. They didnt seem to be involved in your stay and it didn;t feel really personal. To me it seemed they just did their job instead of giving personal help on planning a trip, making the best of your stay, etc.
    Martha K October 2015
    Hostel could use with an update, interior & exterior. But staff are amazing and super helpful I had a wonderful night even the lady that makes up the rooms was fantastic, Iv never stayed at a hostel before and I was pleasently surprised thank you thank you! Very safe and location is fantastic!
    Stephanie K October 2015
    It was ok. Not too crowded even when during laborday
    Joanna J October 2015
    One of the best backpackers that I have experienced. Was only for two nights, but I would definitely recommend!
    Jacinta B October 2015
    Great location in middle of town, friendly and helpful staff, good facilities, though a bit dated. A bit of noise from the nightclub next door but it was fine mid week. Not sure if the club gets really noisy at weekends...Check in was 90 minutes late but staff really apologetic and generally great about it so all good. Great value.
    Rhiannon S October 2015
    Pleasantly surprised with how comfortable we were with the simple facilities of YHA ☺
    Tiarna B October 2015
    Great location, maybe put a gate on entrance as anyone can walk in which is a bit worrying
    Sue L September 2015
    I had two nights in this nice hostle which I enjoyed very much. All staff is friedly and helping you with everything you need. If I'm in Airlie Beach again, I will choose this hostle.
    Katharina B September 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    1132 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money