Search YHA

Airlie Beach YHA, Whitsundays

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Airlie Beach YHA, Whitsundays

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1283 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Its a nice hostel, but a bit disappointing for a YHA. It is a bit old and tired and needs some brightening up and some fun added to it. A few group activities would be nice. The 8 bed dorm was quite spacious and pleasant with a bathroom as well. Laundry was good. Kitchen has electric stoves and some do not work. Fridge was nice and had enough space. Would have been better if reception had longer hours or an out of hours phone number.
    72%
    Jo L May 2016
    Always meet lovely people :)
    80%
    Allan H May 2016
    Greeted with a quick and friend reception, (good) *Car parking was ridiculous expected to park half way up the hill in a Ditch/Drain on the side of a main road, Very UNSAFE.(BAD) *The free WIFI connection didn't work at all.(BAD) *A Skip full of old Mattress and rubbish blocked the main entrance and very unsightly.(BAD) * Door to room (14) was not installed professionally and had a large gap in between the door and frame allowing anyone to look into the room, or for noise to be transparent in or out of room.(BAD) * Mould present in bath room on the ceiling.(BAD) * * 2, LOUD, BLOODY MEGA PHONE ANNOUNCEMENT, EARLY in the MORNING (on sunday), made VIA Speaker in the room informing some one (Which did not concern me) that book out was at 10 and to roll your sheets up and leave near the pool area. I was in need of sleep and DID NOT need useless public announcement if it was not an Emergency. I was booked for 2 nights and expected a sleep in. *Sleeping was very challenging as the Bed creaked and squeaked every single movement made and kept me awake all night as the Mattress was uncomfortable and the metal spring bed frame made noise every time there was the slightest movement.
    52%
    Chris B April 2016
    Stayed here with my daughter as we were over from England visiting her, she has stayed in them before very basic but very clean and staff were very helpful. We are not backpacker as we are older but for the young traveling it's what they need affordable, clean & looked after it was an experience for us & we loved it xx
    90%
    Elizabeth H April 2016
    Loved this hostel! Super friendly staff, brilliant location, good facilities. I will definitely stay here again as I intend to return.
    98%
    Elise B April 2016
    Stayed in a few YHA hostels on our travels, found other to be a bit better than this one however location was good and the rooms were clean and had air con which was nice. Would not recommend staying here until the current building work is complete however - in the morning we woken up by persistent excessive drilling, hammering etc from 645 am onwards - not great when you are on holiday!
    75%
    Mia C April 2016
    On arrival we received the impression of a very well run hostel and this was born out during our stay. The hostel staff were friendly and knowledgeable
    95%
    Geoff H April 2016
    I really enjoyed my stay with the that in Airlie beach. Their location is separate from the main stretch but only due to the layout of the road but everywhere was easy to get to regardless. Although videos weren't always easy to load, the wifi was mostly pretty good. Cleaning was magnificent, kitchen was pretty much fully equipped and the lounge area was comfortable. Some beds were not as comfortable as others due to over use but my bed was pretty comfortable.
    92%
    Ashleigh B April 2016
    Convenient to activities and amenities
    85%
    Stephanie M April 2016
    Clean hostel with very large rooms and great kitchen facilities. For some reason not many people connect here, most stay for themselves. Location Is perfect, everything in Airlie is reachable within 5 minutes.
    75%
    Tim W April 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    81%
    1283 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    80%
    Condition of facilities
    75%
    Efficiency of service
    83%
    Friendliness of staff
    85%
    Location
    88%
    Overall atmosphere
    75%
    Safety & security
    81%
    Value for money
    78%