Airlie Beach YHA, Whitsundays

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Airlie Beach YHA, Whitsundays

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (1737 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Never stayed at a worse hostel in Australia! The managers at this hostel are absolutely not suited to do their job. Reception is closed for the biggest part of the day and when they're open, they're rude and don't treat you with respect (except for 1 girl who I assume is a backpacker, she was nice). There was a miscommunication in our check out dates and the managers took all of our stuff (you are NEVER supposed to touch the stuff of a guest!!) and then just closed reception and went on one of their everlasting breaks. As a manager you are supposed to be there for your guests, at any time. It was the middle of the day and he told us to hurry up 'cause he was having lunch. Excuse me? You take all of our stuff into a closed reception and then dissappear and expect us to be real quick when you finally show up to be very rude and impatient with paying guests? This is not how you treat people, even when you're obviously simple minded and lazy. The atmosphere was boring and tense in my opinion, people weren't treated nicely and since the reception was closed almost permanently, you could never ask anyone anything if you needed help or something. I paid 5 dollars for 'premium wifi'. Did NOT work at all, no wifi at all. This was at 7:30 pm, repection closes at 8pm but when I went to ask about it, reception was of course closed already so no help for me and a waste of money! Worst hostel in Australia, by far.
20.0%
Hanne D 14/10/2017
I had a very comfortable stay. Staff are very friendly and helpful.
100.0%
Terrie S 11/10/2017
Clean comfortable accommodation with friendly and helpful staff. Great location. Would definitely recommend
100.0%
Terri S 08/10/2017
Great hostel! Close to everything and with a very helpful staff. :-) Liked our stay a lot!
100.0%
Niklas H 02/10/2017
The bathroom dirty and people in the hostel too rude
40.0%
Alma M 01/10/2017
Hostel with very friendly staff and lovely room mates. Felt like one big family!
100.0%
Nadine F 01/10/2017
Dirty first of all. Thay also say they have free parking & wifi. Wifi was not available or not to get onto. Parking were only 3 spaces that were always occupied by the same cars...
60.0%
Jeroen S 30/09/2017
Overall the hostel is fine, but given the cost of the room for such a tiny double is not worth the cost. The bathroom facilities also aren't the best as the toilet seemed to always be blocked which isn't ideal for shared bathrooms.
40.0%
Charlotte V 29/09/2017
This hostel did not live up to the standards I have come to expect from YHA. I was very disappointed with it - the staff had strange hours, and did not go out of their way to help. Only one person working was actually friendly. The common area was too warm to sit in, and the outside was a parking lot.
20.0%
Emily Rachel V 29/09/2017
Great hostel,my booking had been doubled booked, given a upgrade,to ensure we had a room, very handy for the bus terminal,
100.0%
Joanna N 28/09/2017

Hostel Rating Ratings guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

80.0%
customer rating, based on 1737 reviews
Cleanliness
81.0%
Condition of facilities
75.0%
Efficiency of service
76.0%
Friendliness of staff
81.0%
Location
92.0%
Overall atmosphere
78.0%
Safety & Security
83.0%
Value for Money
82.0%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL