Search YHA

Airlie Beach YHA, Whitsundays

Check in
Check out
  • Customer review of Airlie Beach YHA, Whitsundays

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1338 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    It's a great place for all of us to stay!!!
    85%
    Zhenwei W July 2016
    Great
    100%
    David P July 2016
    Cleanest one ive stayed in. Super close To everything and very quiet at night
    100%
    Lauren C July 2016
    I stayed at this hostel in Nov 2015. Things that were broken then, like a bank of hotplates in a busy kitchen, hadn't been fixed on my visit in July (7 months later). Also the room I had in Nov, the curtain was broken and you couldn't close it. I was in a different room this time but exactly the same problem (you couldn't close the curtains). It appears as though they are just running this place down until it falls apart (no maintenance at all). There is a sign on the wall asking guests to inform staff of leaking taps. So I did. The response from the staff was "Oh, it's always been like that since I've been here". I think that sums up the attitude perfectly. :)
    65%
    Phil C July 2016
    Location is good becuase it's far enough away from nightlife so it's quiet, but close enough to just walk over. In the hostel itself there is not much going on. Rooms are spacious and all have balconies
    80%
    Rebecca G July 2016
    Wonderfully located next to the main street and close to the beach! Great atmosphere and friendly staff
    100%
    Celia B July 2016
    I really appreciate the bathroom and toilet in each room. That was pretty calm day and night, perfect to relax.
    98%
    Heloise B July 2016
    Shower water was very very cold but that may have just been an one-time thing.
    78%
    Robert June 2016
    The staff were friendly and very helpful. The facilities were clean and the kitchen was a good size, so many backpackers could prepare meals without getting in each others way. The lounge had plenty of room for many to relax on rainy days. I would stay here again.
    95%
    Joanne W June 2016
    Great hostel! Friendly staff and good location. Looking forward to come back.
    100%
    Louie O June 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    84%
    1338 customers have reated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    84%
    Condition of facilities
    79%
    Efficiency of service
    84%
    Friendliness of staff
    84%
    Location
    91%
    Overall atmosphere
    79%
    Safety & Security
    86%
    Value for Money
    81%