Magnetic Island YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Magnetic Island YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (1466 guests have reviewed this hostel)
The hostel is in a great position. I loved the dorms in little wood houses through the forest. Staff super friendly. Activities and happy hour every day.
98%
Sonia C 22/04/2019
Really enjoyed my 3 nights at the hostel. Very chill atmosphere and reasonably priced.
90%
Calum M 19/04/2019
Such a great location and good facilities, we visited Base hostel one evening for drinks and were so thankful we were staying at bungalow bay instead! Great happy hour deals with cheap food as well, book here you won’t regret it!
88%
Steven C 19/04/2019
This is a great place to stay situated in a beautiful natural setting. The busy reception staff were always helpful and knowledgable. Our accommodation was clean and comfortable. The compact attached native animal zoo (complete with koalas) appeared well managed and with again, friendly knowledgeable staff. For eating out it was an easy walk down to the horseshoe bay cafes and restaurants with quality food and coffee easy to find. We definately recommend this Hostel and Magnetic Island.
100%
David C 18/04/2019
The bungalows are spacious and the bar's always happening. While it's a bus ride from the ferry terminal, the location of the hostel is perfect for heading on walks and lazing on the beach.
90%
Santhosh S 18/04/2019
Friendly staff and good atmosphere. Great location for wildlife with wallabies, kookaburras, rainbow lorikeets and flying foxes on site. Cleanliness of the camp kitchen was poor at times. The worst instance of this was when we found large animal droppings on a kitchen work surface at 7am. We informed the hostel staff, but they didn't clean this up until the regular time for cleaning the kitchen at 3pm, 8 hours later and after many people had prepared their breakfast and lunch in the kitchen.
72%
David L 14/04/2019
From the ferry to the hostel it‘s only $3 or $6 return. Right next to the hostel is the Koala Park where you can book a guided tour which was amazing! The staff is very friendly and the rooms are not big but comfortable. I loved the atmosphere and the wildlife around you as there a birds, lizards and wallabys living here.
95%
Chiara H 14/04/2019
We had a double bungalo. Not fancy by any means but it had aircon, a fridge, kettle, a comfy bed and clean sheets. Shared bathrooms were quite modern and clean. A lot better then expected. Location was great. Only a quick walk to the beach and cafes. Lot's of wild life about. Cheap beer and a great pool. Great value for the low price.
92%
Teressa F 09/04/2019
Nice place, very good location. Basic bungalows but comfortable and come with a fridge and kettle. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful and the pool and bathrooms were well maintained. Would definitely recommend.
78%
Lauren M 08/04/2019
Had a beautiful stay here! Best hostel we’ve been so far. Great staff, lovely houses and a nice shower!
100%
Zoe Jade M 07/04/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

86%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
85%
Condition of facilities
86%
Efficiency of service
83%
Friendliness of staff
88%
Location
91%
Overall atmosphere
87%
Safety & Security
84%
Value for Money
84%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL