Magnetic Island YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Magnetic Island YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (1595 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Great stay ....my bungalow had a leaking fridge and the kettle boiling set off the fire alarm....and the outside light was not working ....apart from these small things I absolutely loved the atmosphere and the wildlife especially the koalas. I had a great experience.
90%
Natalie H 19/08/2019
This is by far the best hostel we’ve stayed at. It was clean, facilities were outstanding and the staff was very helpful! An added bonus was the koalas and wallabies in camp.
100%
Julie B 17/08/2019
Rooms are absolutely lovely, decorated to a nice standard. There’s a great chill out area near reception on bean bags where you can hop on the WiFi. Nice location, and definitely worth doing the Koala tour, as we saw turtles, birds, koalas, lizards and snakes ☺️ The girl who took us on our tour was awesome, cant for the life of me remember her name but she had pretty purple hair for those in management! 😁 really welcoming, and super knowledgable about the whole area. A pleasure to stay here!
98%
Sophie H 16/08/2019
Very much, the athmosfer and the room was very cute!
92%
Gerard D 15/08/2019
Super comfortable and really great for the price! I loved my stay here.
85%
Briana W 12/08/2019
I really liked the hostel, it is very close to the beach, some nice restaurants and shops.
85%
Nina v 11/08/2019
If you are coming here I would recommend renting a car to see the island! It’s very beautiful! I would recommend meeting the animals here at bungalow bay. Ranger staff were very friendly and full of lots of information on the animals
65%
Rebekah W 11/08/2019
Loved the koala in the camp ground! Staff super friendly and helpful.
92%
Gillian W 08/08/2019
We camped at this location for about a week and felt save and comfortable all the time. It is a very nice campground and nice setup with trees, scrubs, gardens and the facilities close by to be reached quick. Proper management as well. Music stoppsat about 10 pm all good. We'd definitely stay there again.
90%
Freddy F 05/08/2019
A very relaxing environment where social night activity was well separated from the sleeping areas. I didn’t need wifi so my rating is irrelevant .
90%
Johanna W 03/08/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. 

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

87%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
84%
Condition of facilities
85%
Efficiency of service
84%
Friendliness of staff
90%
Location
91%
Overall atmosphere
88%
Safety & Security
88%
Value for Money
86%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL

Start Now