Townsville YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Townsville YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (926 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Facilities and location are amazing!!
100%
Raquel C 20/05/2019
Areas of things could make wee bit better..soap dispenser in the bathrooms in rooms had to go n get soap on tap from shops -wedding cake steps for pool to enable get in n out of the pool -more bowls in kitchen & China mug to use in micawave (as only 1China mug) n 2 bowls end up using metal cup for my cereal Hate to think if fill house and everyone using kitchen n room across kitchen -display folder or laminated sheet for info how work tv/foxtell in common room as no one knew n nice 2relax
78%
Vanessa B 19/05/2019
No sleep Saturday night. Music and crowd noise till 4.00 am. Not a great set up for backpackers. Kitchen and lounge in basement with a cockroach in the lounge. Air conditioning not working in room plus outside door not clicking shut. Toilet smelt all the time. Think it was the container in the toilet that needed to be emptied by J J ?
65%
Viviennelois S 14/05/2019
very good location. the kitchen is very small, don't have a lot of things (need forks, glass...). pool is very nice and the bar- restaurant is good.
90%
Anne G 10/05/2019
The people that I was staying with where extremely rude, and I was in meant to be in a mixed room of both male and female, and I ended up being the only female in the room all weekend, which was really disappointing. there was one male who was really disrespectful towards me
82%
Luci Ann B 09/05/2019
The hostel is so nice! Feels a bit like a hotel and I loved it! Magnetic island was also a nice experience!
100%
Michelle Stefanie C 08/05/2019
Staff at the rambutan were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Had nothing but great experiences. They have all the facilities you need within a great location. Would definetly stay again and recommend friends and family to stay if they visit Townsville.
98%
Matthew S 02/05/2019
Facilities are pretty cool, rooms are a little small though but clean so I appreciated that. Really friendly staff too so that helped. Thank you
95%
Caroline S 26/04/2019
Love this hostel. My favourite place to stay in Townsville when visiting from a Ravenswood
98%
Kate J 25/04/2019
This hostel ticked so many boxes, excellent facilities, including a pool/bar/restaurant area, clean and modern rooms and local to many bars, the airport and ferry/bus terminal. Unfortunately, we where kept awake from 2pm until 6pm this morning due to the pool area being central to the rooms and late night antics/music/swimming in this area. We had to approach these guests (three separate groups) many times to ask they quiten down but one group continued to party. A disappointing end to our stay.
88%
Nadine T 24/04/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

88%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
86%
Condition of facilities
83%
Efficiency of service
87%
Friendliness of staff
91%
Location
92%
Overall atmosphere
87%
Safety & Security
91%
Value for Money
87%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL