Townsville YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Townsville YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (446 guests have reviewed this hostel)
It was a great stay. Really nice room and facilities. A cut above the rest.
98%
Joshua B 14/12/2017
Good location, just a 10-min walk away from the SeaLink terminal with services going to Magnetic Island! The 5-bed dorm I stayed in was very clean, nice and fresh, with a decent bed and good air con (important during Australian summer). The hostel itself was very modern and nicely decorated and had a pool area with seating both in the sun and the shade. Despite the fact that the hostel houses a bar on the same level, it wasn't particularly noisy, as the bar closes at 10PM. The bar has good $10 meal deals for backpackers! Kitchen and common area for backpackers were on the very bottom floor, and it really just felt like being in a cellar, small and shut-in. We used the hostel's parking ($5/day), it was small but seemed safe, but was hard to find at first. The Wi-Fi was really bad, it was down on the first day I stayed here, and the rest of the time it was really slow (despite allegedly being 5G) or it disconnected me all the time. Overall, Rambutan was one of the better hostel I've stayed at in Australia! I would stay here again if I ever go back to Townsville.
80%
Linn M 07/12/2017
Noisy and popular especially Saturday night in December
90%
Jaymie R 05/12/2017
Great hostel! Clean and well mantained. It was a bit noisy at night with the bar in the same floor as the rooms. But mine was pretty far so it was ok! Would stay again.
98%
Anaclara T 03/12/2017
very relaxing place to stay, i enjoyed sitting by the pool working on my computer. on the 3rd floor the wifi was a bit week
100%
Edward L 16/10/2017
It's was the best one we have stayed at
100%
Briana T 16/10/2017
Clean And lovely people! Loved the stay
95%
Geralda v 12/10/2017
It had been recommended but having stayed in hostels over the years I was a bit wary. Awesome place! Incredibly clean. Fantastic staff and service. Brilliant facilities. More than happy to stay again.
98%
Rod F 11/10/2017
Small but comfortable ,stylish rooms
100%
Lisa B 11/10/2017
Nicest hostel we have stayed in so far. Reception staff were really helpful and friendly
95%
Victoria L 08/10/2017

Hostel Rating Ratings guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

89%
customer rating, based on 446 reviews
Cleanliness
90%
Condition of facilities
92%
Efficiency of service
87%
Friendliness of staff
88%
Location
91%
Overall atmosphere
84%
Safety & Security
89%
Value for Money
90%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL