Search YHA

Mt Lofty YHA

  • Customer reviews of Mt Lofty YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (12 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Holiday away from the city! Wonderful!
    Krystle M September 2015
    We rented the Mt Lofty cottage for a weekend away with friends - two families, four adults, three kids aged 1, 3 and 3. It's a lovely spot and a well set up cottage; sunset through the trees viewed from the terrace with a glass of wine in hand was pretty great. It's peaceful (except for the boy racers hooning along Mt Lofty summit road not far up the hill at midnight) and a good spot for the kids to poke around safely in the bush, or to head off from for gentle bushwalks. However, there are a few things that could be improved. The heritage cottage's windows are limited and small, so the interior is pretty dark and cold, especially the lounge which was gloomy. A brighter bulb in the ceiling light would be welcome, and either a decent standard lamp (a tall one) in the corner or at the very least an extension cord so one of the two smaller lamps that are already there can be put in a second corner. Also, a floor rug would make this room more welcoming and cosy. There are wall panel heaters in every room, but we found these just weren't good enough. We were cold, even with the heaters on all the time. Gosh a little wood-fired stove in the lounge would be lovely, or at least a heater that blows warm air! Also, it would be great to have had more detailed and accurate information on what is provided, what isn't, and how to access the cottage before our stay. There *are* pillows, doonas and blankets there, so contrary to what we were told you only need to bring sheets and towels (though the doonas are thin, so extra blankets would be a good idea in winter). And we got lost trying to find the car access to the cottage as we go no info on that in advance. All in all though, a very nice new fit-out of a lovely old cottage in a gorgeous spot. Thanks for having us.
    Anna C August 2015
    Six of us hired the hostel for a ( mature)friends weekend away (read into this wine and great food), and it couldn't have been more perfect. The hostel has been renovated to a modern look and feel internally, and it was fantastic. Whilst others had commented on the lack of warmth, we found the wall heaters were well and truly adequate and didn't need our blow heaters that we brought along. It would be great if there was a TV antenna so the great TV could pick up normal free to air stations as an option to the DVD . media connection. Whilst there was a steady stream of walkers climbing to the summit, they didn't intrude on our tranquillity. A wonder spot for just relaxing or alternatively hitting some of the walking trails. Especially delightful was the early morning visit by 2 kangaroos, including one with a joey in the pouch, onto our porch. Such a wonderful weekend that all of said we wanted to come back again.
    David H August 2015
    Another great week at Mt Lofty, perfect for walking, mountain biking, road cycling or just plain relaxing. But I don't want to tell anyone so its not booked out next time we have an opportunity to stay there!
    Wayde H February 2015
    The cottage is historic, renovated to a good hostel standard. Bedrooms (two with double beds) are quite adequate for hostelling and the kitchen is the place to be on cold evenings/mornings (the only room with an electric heater!) Security is good, with sturdy doors and a high back fence with locked gate. Access takes some map reading and driving confidence. It's close to the summit and footpaths.
    Harry C November 2013
    We went to the cottage for my daughters 13th surprise birthday party - she was very surprised. All the girls had a great time and they didnt have to worry about noise they made because we were out in the bush and no one could hear them. We also walked to the lookout and the girls all took photos. It was great being out in nature, we saw 3 kangaroos and a kookaburra. It was like being on holiday
    Debby L September 2013
    I don't want to say too much, as I don't want a rush of people clogging up the booking register and stealing my weekends away up there.
    Shane v August 2013
    Terrific stay in the hills. Took a group of boys up for a 12 yo birthday treat. The walk up, fabulous night in the hills and back the following morning was a huge success. Great facilities.
    Kevin J August 2013
    Fantastic !Where else can 10 people share such a fabulous bush setting - with all the convienences required? We had an absolutely fabulous weekend !
    Tracey H May 2013
    We took note of previous reviews and took two small heaters with us but didn't really need them. Facilities were basic but all that we needed for a 5 night stay. It was a great place to hide from the city yet close enough to go into Adelaide when w
    catherine k April 2013
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    12 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money