Mt Lofty YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Mt Lofty YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (32 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    A beautiful hostel in a beautiful location! A pleasure to be able to stay here.
    95%
    Ian H April 2017
    We stayed here with our friends and all of our children. It was an amazing place to stay. The house was very neat and well appointed. The quilts were really good quality, as were the beds, couches and other furniture. We were impressed with the quality and number of the kitchen utensils, pots and pans. Our children loved playing in the natural environment and we went on several beautiful hikes. The short, but strenuous, hike to the summit was well worth the effort. It was so breathtakingly beautiful and peaceful. We were thankful to stay in this amazing place on Kaurna and Peramangk land. We loved the map of Aboriginal Australia. There are kangaroos to watch and the city lights were stunning. Our only negative experience during our stay was several passing hikers asking to look inside the property and use the toilet. This was nothing to do with the YHA though. Thank you for providing such a wonderful place to stay, play, relax, hike, and have fun.
    98%
    Peter W January 2017
    Beautiful place fir the family - a real Aussie experience with wallabies outside the front door and stone cottage surrounded by gum trees.
    85%
    Janette G December 2016
    A top place to celebrate a special occasion with friends, as you have exclusive use of the facilities. Excellent bush setting, great bushwalking, you can see koalas and kangaroos in the wild. No need to go to Cleland Wildlife Park.
    100%
    Michael M December 2016
    Location is the best thng about this hostel - in the bush! I was frustrated that there was no oven. The desciption clearly said 'oven' and we planned to bake a special dish.😔 but were thwarted!!
    82%
    Helen P September 2016
    YHA Mt Lofty is a fabulous spot. The cottage is comfortable and well equipped to cater for a large group. Fantastic views. It would be a great getaway for families. So close to Adelaide. Really so cheap to stay in such a unique spot. Keep it a secret so that nothing changes !!
    95%
    Janet F August 2016
    A great spot to relax and be surrounded by nature. Come ready to hike - it's hard not to be inspired when you see everyone hiking near to the cottage. The kids loved adding to the cubby that had been built in the trees out front. And loved having their own bunk bed room. Heaters worked really well - heated the house up nicely, and quick. Would love to come back!
    100%
    Heidi L April 2016
    The location is so beautiful, with trees as far as you can see, kangaroos, kookaburras, and views of the city lights. And a bonus at this time of year is that the cottage remains cool even during a heatwave in the city.
    90%
    Kate L March 2016
    We just love Mt Lofty YHA. The "wilderness" location with its views over Adelaide is priceless and the old cottage offers everything you need for a very enjoyable stay with friends and/or family. The kitchen is spacious and relatively well equipped, so you can cook up a storm. There are many walking trails in Cleland Conservation Park to choose from, with the famous Waterfall Gully - Mt Lofty trail just running along the border of the YHA property. But you might just as well relax outside, enjoy the views and watch other people exercise.
    82%
    Sibylle G March 2016
    I utilised this property to celebrate with my sisters prior to my upcoming nuptials and it could not have been better!! Love the surrounding nature, the ability to house 8 girlfriends for less than $200 and have tables large enough to share a meal around. Love love loved it!! Thanks so much. PS Gate 25 is what you are looking for to enter in off :)
    100%
    Nat M November 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    93%
    93%
    customer rating, based on 32 reviews
    Cleanliness
    87%
    Condition of facilities
    89%
    Efficiency of service
    90%
    Friendliness of staff
    94%
    Location
    98%
    Overall atmosphere
    96%
    Safety & Security
    93%
    Value for Money
    94%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!