Search YHA

Adelaide Central YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Adelaide Central YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (4862 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    I felt my home..during my stay at yha ........ that was an awesome experience to stay such a friendly environment and totally safe location........I am more than happy to acknowledge the service that I got in yha.....
    Ramakrishna B October 2016
    Helpful staff for booking tours, really good location. Was very loud at night though.
    Henry B October 2016
    I love Adelaide after a few days at YHA Central. Went trekking at Kangaroo Is - the new 5 day trail is a world beater. Saw the seals as well. Wilpena Pound is very special - the 1 hour flight over is good value at $180.
    Alan H October 2016
    Great hostel, lovely staff, comfortable bed. My only disappointment was - no Friday morning pancakes as I was told! I asked the guy on reception about it and he seemed unsure, said they tend to be on certain Fridays. So if you love your pancakes like I do, check with reception first :)
    Christopher W October 2016
    I had a nice stay. They organised lots of activities like table tennis, snooker, BBQ night etc.
    Ansil N October 2016
    What I liked... Will was awesome, friendly & helpful. Great safety and security Very clean bed room & bathroom with great views from the balcony. Lounge spaces good size with room for everyone. What I didn't like... The noisy patrons next door at the nightclub & the 4am brawl that broke out on Saturday night (nothing the hostel folks can do about that) Not enough spoons in the kitchen, I could find only one soup spoon & few teaspoons. Very hard to eat your cereal with a fork! The watered down dish liquid, I question the hygiene of the washed dishes with runny dish liquid?! The fridges are disgusting, food left open, leaking milk and other liquids dripping onto other guests food and onto the kitchen floor. Old food shoved to back of the fridge. It's not the staffs' job to clean up your mess. Be more considerate guests. I had a great time staying at the YHA, good to know the hostel is friendly and open to non youth guests as I was and quite a few guests that I noticed around the hostel.
    Carina L October 2016
    Really nice hostel. Large common room area with ping pong tables, wifi, books, a large kitchen. Nice atmosphere in hostel with friendly staff, nightly activities, really clean rooms. The double rooms were like hotel rooms with a TV, kettle, hot showers etc. Great location too, within walking distance to the centre. Would really recommend this hostel!
    Rachel J October 2016
    This is the most amazing YHA in South Australia, especially the living room. Cant be better.
    YING H October 2016
    I was staying at Adelaide YHA for 11 days, but with a day away every 3 days (because of using an e-pack). So I had to keep getting a new room/bed allocation, for a bottom bunk because I'm recovering from a triple fracture of an ankle bone. The staff - particularly Will - took my problem seriously, and they always managed to get me a bottom bunk althouth the hostel was very busy.
    Merrall G October 2016
    Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Adelaide.
    Linda B October 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    4862 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & Security
    Value for Money