Search YHA

Coles Bay - Esplanade YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer review of Coles Bay - Esplanade YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (188 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Do not rate.
    58%
    Lana R July 2016
    Hostel was freezing cold. The staff working there could obviously care less when we told them more than once. They told us that a fire would heat up the entire building and that was not true at all. Would not recommend staying here in winter. I imagine it is probably quite nice in summer.
    48%
    Kathryn F July 2016
    I like it when hostels offer free trea and coffee but they didn`t have it. Free wifi only worked 25 meters around the office but not in the hostel building. Really good equipped kitchen and nice sitting area with a big TV.
    88%
    Linda I May 2016
    The hostel was a terrific base for exploring Freycinet National Park. Manager John was very helpful with local advice.
    98%
    Jane C May 2016
    Decent stay for this price. Good security (main door has keycode system).
    75%
    MARYAM D April 2016
    The hostel was great and friendly ppl. Big kitchen although we were there in the shoulder season, less people and chilled atmosphere.
    100%
    Katarina T April 2016
    Nice place to stay. Just one advice; buy food before getting to Coles Bay (the only grocery over there is quite basic) ;-)
    88%
    F C April 2016
    There are no benches in the showers to put clothes on or sit on while dressing. There is no soap dispenser in the shower. The bed was so uncomfortable I couldn't actually walk for 30 minutes after waking up. I cried because the bed hurt my back so bad. This has never happened to me before. The room itself was like a sauna. Had to sleep with window open despite tap being right outside window and being used repetitively during the night by others.
    68%
    Lannen S March 2016
    Small room of 4 which was perfect. Kitchen has everything to make your stay easier. Close to the beach, but there is not much to see IN Coles Bay, you need to drive around. Check-out the sunset and chill in the comfy living room. No wifi though in the rooms or in common area. Access to it next to reception.
    95%
    Jade B March 2016
    Very clean, tidy and organised property! Highly recomeneded. Only drawback, wifi is available only in the reception area.
    100%
    Anastasia P February 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    81%
    188 customers have reated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    87%
    Condition of facilities
    80%
    Efficiency of service
    79%
    Friendliness of staff
    80%
    Location
    90%
    Overall atmosphere
    74%
    Safety & Security
    78%
    Value for Money
    78%