Search YHA

Coles Bay - Esplanade YHA

  • Customer reviews of Coles Bay - Esplanade YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (160 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Really clean hostel. Fantastic location. Rooms are small and a little old but was a great stay.
    85%
    Rebekah C January 2016
    Unfortunately the hostel flooded on the night we stayed there. With the night being spoiled by the attempted clean up operation.
    62%
    Charles J January 2016
    There is no warden at this YHA and there is very little information about where and what you can do. So bring your travel guides and do your research before arriving. This hostel is one of the cleanest well kept hostels that I have ever stayed in.
    70%
    l h January 2016
    Friendly efficient staff and a great location. Very clean and spacious kitchen, lounge and reading areas but why would you be there when you could be outside!
    95%
    Jann M January 2016
    A great hostel for exploring the Wine Glass Bay area. I brought a car and there were good free facilities for parking. The hostel itself was very clean with really good facilities. You could walk easily to a supermarket, the onsite restaurant or take away and even go for a walk on the close beach.
    85%
    Emily R January 2016
    Excellent location, behind are the local shops and pub which is handy. The hostel itself is big, excellent bathroom facilities and open air kitchen. Lounge seemed to be used a lot as it looked very inviting.
    90%
    Sharleen P January 2016
    Good location, poor quality cooking equipment, curtains in rooms allow too much light in early morning, no overhead fans in any rooms. Close to beaches and food access.
    62%
    Glenda G January 2016
    The location of this place is superb: you are within two minutes' walk of the main beach in Coles Bay; and there is a fairly well-stocked market even nearer. The atmosphere of this place is good -- fairly friendly, in that it is easy to strike up conversations with people in the kitchen and sitting room; and the place when we stayed was quiet. There is an amazingly generous array of refrigerators: there are five-foot-tall fridges, one for each two rooms (!). Other aspects of the kitchen are poor: Almost no glassware; very very poor pans to cook with; no communal salt, pepper or other spices, and the 'free food' label on one shelf seems to encourage people to help themselves to your things, if you are stupid enough to leave anything within ten feet of the little sign--we lost our dinner, our bananas, and $16 worth of cashews. Why they put 'free food' on a shelf where everyone is otherwise encouraged to leave their food I have no idea. As an aside: The double bed we had was very unfomrtable (in room 4).
    85%
    Hardy W January 2016
    The hostel itself is acceptable. It's difficult to find, though -- don't rely on google maps, you will be searching for ages, and the address and directions on the website are not much help. It is located within the Big 4 (I've never seen that before!) and once you know that the hostel is easier to find -- it would be nice if there were some helpful directions on the website. The wifi only works in the office, so usually people sit on a bench outside there to do their emails etc., which is a little bit uncomfortable. And there's no view until you walk down the road. It's still a fine place to stay, though, in a spectacular location.
    75%
    Sarah M November 2015
    I booked a twin room for two guests for one night for $79. Owing to a previous guest damaging the YHA, I was given a room in a 3-bedroom cabin, where two other girls were also staying. I booked a twin room to have separate beds for me and my guest, but was given a double bed. That was a mistake, but as my guest didn't come after all, it didn't matter. Owing to being in substitute accommodation, I can't comment on the actual YHA as I never went inside. The staff were courteous and friendly, despite their bad experience with needing to do many repairs.
    100%
    Kelly J July 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    81%
    160 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    86%
    Condition of facilities
    78%
    Efficiency of service
    81%
    Friendliness of staff
    84%
    Location
    87%
    Overall atmosphere
    77%
    Safety & security
    77%
    Value for money
    77%