Search YHA

Coles Bay - Esplanade YHA

  • Customer reviews of Coles Bay - Esplanade YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (136 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The hostel itself is acceptable. It's difficult to find, though -- don't rely on google maps, you will be searching for ages, and the address and directions on the website are not much help. It is located within the Big 4 (I've never seen that before!) and once you know that the hostel is easier to find -- it would be nice if there were some helpful directions on the website. The wifi only works in the office, so usually people sit on a bench outside there to do their emails etc., which is a little bit uncomfortable. And there's no view until you walk down the road. It's still a fine place to stay, though, in a spectacular location.
    Sarah M November 2015
    I booked a twin room for two guests for one night for $79. Owing to a previous guest damaging the YHA, I was given a room in a 3-bedroom cabin, where two other girls were also staying. I booked a twin room to have separate beds for me and my guest, but was given a double bed. That was a mistake, but as my guest didn't come after all, it didn't matter. Owing to being in substitute accommodation, I can't comment on the actual YHA as I never went inside. The staff were courteous and friendly, despite their bad experience with needing to do many repairs.
    Kelly J July 2015
    Great place, just no heating in the rooms which was alright since we had a good wood fire going in the kitchen
    carola n July 2015
    Characterful, spacious hostel, located perfectly for access to Freycinet National Park and surrounds.
    Anna W March 2015
    Wifi is pretty bad. It's only available in the reception so you have the option to sit by the reception desk inside from 8am-6pm or outside on benches. Just move it to the common room in the hostel, that's all you need to do. No lockers in rooms. Just because the doors lock doesn't mean anything. Walls are pretty thin so bring ear plugs. Place was clean though, I'll give them that.
    Melissa T March 2015
    Good location, a bit "worn and weary " but cozy.
    Alan A February 2015
    Fairly basic with no outlook, but did the job.
    Carolyn E January 2015
    Good place to stay to experience the Freycinet NP. Kitchen equipment was not really good though (had to use my own knife since there were no cutting knives)
    Michael W January 2015
    Very clean and tidy and good value for money. Great location and truly in one of the most beautiful parts of Tasmania.
    Bronwyn U January 2015
    Very nice and very clean hostel in the holidaypark. Close to the bay and a good startingpoint for the Wineglasbay.
    Chris D January 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    136 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money