Search YHA

Coles Bay - Esplanade YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Coles Bay - Esplanade YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (182 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Decent stay for this price. Good security (main door has keycode system).
    75%
    MARYAM D April 2016
    The hostel was great and friendly ppl. Big kitchen although we were there in the shoulder season, less people and chilled atmosphere.
    100%
    Katarina T April 2016
    Nice place to stay. Just one advice; buy food before getting to Coles Bay (the only grocery over there is quite basic) ;-)
    88%
    F C April 2016
    There are no benches in the showers to put clothes on or sit on while dressing. There is no soap dispenser in the shower. The bed was so uncomfortable I couldn't actually walk for 30 minutes after waking up. I cried because the bed hurt my back so bad. This has never happened to me before. The room itself was like a sauna. Had to sleep with window open despite tap being right outside window and being used repetitively during the night by others.
    68%
    Lannen S March 2016
    Small room of 4 which was perfect. Kitchen has everything to make your stay easier. Close to the beach, but there is not much to see IN Coles Bay, you need to drive around. Check-out the sunset and chill in the comfy living room. No wifi though in the rooms or in common area. Access to it next to reception.
    95%
    Jade B March 2016
    Very clean, tidy and organised property! Highly recomeneded. Only drawback, wifi is available only in the reception area.
    100%
    Anastasia P February 2016
    I booked a twin room and was surprised to find we were in a room with 4 bunk beds. There was 1 chair in the room. Nothing else. The sheets we were issued were a bag. I was shocked as I have been issued sheets in hostels for about the past 30 years. Communal facilities were excellent.
    82%
    Helen L February 2016
    Efficient and friendly
    92%
    Todd M February 2016
    Great location. Building is simple and what you'd expect of a youth hostel - like being on school camp. Good facilities and a quiet, friendly environment.
    90%
    Stephanie Tamar S February 2016
    We are a more mature couple that have stayed in many hostels etc we could not fault anything location was excellent great kitchen and lounge rooms clean and functional. Well done YHA
    100%
    Colin M February 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    82%
    182 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    86%
    Condition of facilities
    79%
    Efficiency of service
    82%
    Friendliness of staff
    83%
    Location
    89%
    Overall atmosphere
    76%
    Safety & security
    78%
    Value for money
    79%