Search YHA

Phillip Island YHA

  • Customer reviews of Phillip Island YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (177 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The Hostel is pretty cool. The atmosphere is a really good one. The staff is very friendly and you can do joking with these guys. The Kitchen is big enough to find a place to cook and in comparison to other Hostels very tidy, also the amanities in comparison to other Hostels is very clean. The noise in the House is normal. Not to loud but also not quiet. But thats ok. It is a hostel. I would recommend it to other friends and familymembers.
    Stephanie J December 2015
    We were in a 4 bedroom hostel. Unfortunately, one of our roommate was a random middle aged dude snored like a monstrous truck. The sound echoed through the whole room so no one else got any sleep, but the YHA staff were kind enough to move us into different rooms the next day.
    L November 2015
    Had a delay whilst checking in as no key was left for us nor another couple. Had booked a private room but the staff wasn't sure if it was private or not! The room had 4 beds but we assumed it would only be us as we were the last to check in for the night.
    Christopher D November 2015
    Great place to stay, friendly, well localized and clean, I definitely recommend it!
    Eglantine B November 2015
    This is a modern hostel, with good facilities and some underground parking.The staff wre friendly and accommodating and i would definitely stay there again.
    Ronald M November 2015
    Great facilities, and I like the location near Cape Woolamai.
    Katherine M November 2015
    Very nice hostel, everything is new and there is heaps of space, open plan and has everything you need - literally not a bad word to say about it. However it's practically empty, this could be due to us coming at the wrong time of year (Nov) but I'm not sure
    George B October 2015
    Well situated and convenient hostel
    Michael T October 2015
    Barely had the time to explore what the hostel had to offer in 2D1N. Wish we stayed longer!
    Azyan Z October 2015
    A very well thought out hostel- facilities were clean, plenty of shelf space in the showers and bench space at the mirror. Beds were comfy and the kitchen expansive. Would definitely recommend to others.
    Kate C October 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    177 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money