Phillip Island YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Phillip Island YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (452 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Only stayed a night but liked what little we saw of it
92%
Barbara B 02/12/2017
Loved it. Very clean. Staff friendly and welcoming. Family friendly and safe.
100%
Jackie D 29/11/2017
I loved my stay. The rooms are big, look new and clean. I love that it's eco-friendly with the use of solar power.
100%
Vanessa P 25/10/2017
It is a lovely hostel, modern and bright and airy. Only a few minor complaints : Bathroom, hot water in the showers was awful with little hot water, which kept running cold all the time; in the bedroom there were no hooks to hang anything and no reading lamps; the kitchen had no glad-wrap or chux to wipe benches etc, and in lounge, the table tennis table collapsed! Overall, it was very nice and we would stay again.
82%
Irene H 09/10/2017
A great, comfortable stay in a very good location, especially if you like beach fishing - Woolamai only a 5 minute drive away
95%
Nicholas R 02/10/2017
The location is great. Really easy to get to all the places on Phillip Islands. We enjoyed the trip.
92%
Julia J 01/10/2017
The Hostel was great. As a former local the area has much to offer. I led a the Echuca - Moama bush walking club on walks in the area. We waled along the George Bass Coast Walk from the Punchbowl to Kilcunda & back along the Rail Trail to Anderson. From there we walked along the new cycle walking track to the Punchbowl turn off. On the Sunday we walked around Churchill Island. An interesting place to visit. The walking track took us around the perimeter of the Island during which we saw all the native Flora and Fauna. & the Scottish Highland cattle grazing in the paddocks. Time did not permit us to visit the museum or see the cows being milked. We all come from a dairying district in northern Victoria. I grew up on a dairy farm in Bass.
100%
Frank B 10/09/2017
Nice hostel, very clean and tidy. Huge and clean kitchen with every thing to cook. We when in low season, (September) so is was quiet and silent. Review the weather before to go the Islan to enjoy the main attractions the beaches
88%
Jose R 09/09/2017
Great place, super cafe underneath. Very modern, no complaints
95%
Colin W 30/08/2017
friendly staff, very clean hostel. Dining room very roomy and bright. We stayed in the big family room, 5 of us ( 2 kids of 7), only one chair with no table, difficult to put things, especially kid's stuff, everything are on the floor!
98%
Ching W 12/08/2017

Hostel Rating Ratings guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

90%
customer rating, based on 452 reviews
Cleanliness
93%
Condition of facilities
88%
Efficiency of service
90%
Friendliness of staff
94%
Location
90%
Overall atmosphere
88%
Safety & Security
94%
Value for Money
84%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL