Search YHA

Phillip Island YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Phillip Island YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (366 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Very friendly reception staff. Excellent bedroom and kitchen facilities.
    98%
    Edward J February 2017
    Very clean hostel, very friendly staff but it's difficult to get around if you don't have a car.
    82%
    Miriam D February 2017
    They force you to go to sleep at 10:45 because they close the common areas and they kick you out. You can't even stay reading a book. The mattress were very bad! I could feel the springs which wasn't comfortable at all (and I wasn't the only one who said this). No wifi.
    62%
    Francisco G February 2017
    Just a little far from crowd otherwise darn good. A little pricey but it's peak season.
    85%
    Betsy m February 2017
    Scored the 4-person room with ensuite all to myself; amazing value. Impressive facilities; kitchen, TV rooms, etc. Bit like "Get Smart" though; lots of doors to get through before finding your room.
    100%
    Tony H January 2017
    I found this YHA an ideal way to enjoy the Island and everything it has to offer. Very relaxing with great facilities.
    100%
    Susan T January 2017
    I was only there for 1 night but everything I used: showers, kitchen, dorm room... were absolutely fine. I would have stayed longer had I had the time.
    80%
    Lidia L January 2017
    Lovely, clean and fresh hostel with modern facilities. Staff were friendly, and made check in and check out super easy. Only a 15 min drive from the penguins. Would definitely stay there again.
    98%
    Victoria L January 2017
    We really loved our stay!! Thank you for your hospitality and looking after us!!! We will definitely come back!
    100%
    Astari A January 2017
    Fantastic service - friendly staff. Excellent value. A great place to stay.
    100%
    Jason c January 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    90%
    366 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    92%
    Condition of facilities
    89%
    Efficiency of service
    92%
    Friendliness of staff
    94%
    Location
    88%
    Overall atmosphere
    87%
    Safety & Security
    93%
    Value for Money
    84%