Melbourne Metro YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Melbourne Metro YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (7054 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Clean environment. friendly staff. the staff was helpful with changing my booking. good location.
88%
Yin Peng L 16/09/2019
Must have experience for every backpacker. Perfect for my first night.
88%
Sascha P 14/09/2019
Very hard pillows. Night number 1 some antisocial people in a room close to us had numerous showers at midnight and talked loudly, then it all started again at 3am, but only 1 shower this time. Coupled with the hard pillows we got little sleep. Night number 2 was quiet. Breakfast pretty ordinary and not cheap. No weetbix, no fruit, cheapest instant coffee. Breakfast in Port Douglas 4 weeks ago (included in room charge) had cereal (3 sorts), fresh fruit, and decent instant coffee.
72%
Barbara B 12/09/2019
Indoor rooftop lounge is beautifully warm and sunny, perfect for a winter morning with a great view of the city. A short walk to The Castle Hotel for a good pub meal.
95%
Chris C 11/09/2019
Nice stay- EXCEPT the toilet cubicle walls are FILTHY. Putting a big scrubbing&cleaning effort into these cannot come soon enough
88%
Paul A 10/09/2019
Good and convenience! Thank you!
100%
Stanley Wai Yip L 10/09/2019
Pretty good.
95%
Jeanette T 06/09/2019
Great location. Quiet area but still close to the CBD. Elevator could use an update, but gave us great cardio using the stairs. I would consider staying with my family if I needed.
98%
Daniel F 05/09/2019
I enjoy the quiet back street location, with lots of trees and greenery, but it's only 10 mins walk from the edge of the CBD!! The staff are welcoming and friendly, and they do their best to promote eco-friendly use of resources and recycling.
92%
Raymond T 03/09/2019
Mostly it was all ok I found it too noisy in the common room which I think could be designed so there are more quiet spaces for families etc
70%
Judith A 31/08/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. 

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

89%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
84%
Condition of facilities
83%
Efficiency of service
90%
Friendliness of staff
95%
Location
89%
Overall atmosphere
89%
Safety & Security
92%
Value for Money
88%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL