Melbourne Metro YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Melbourne Metro YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (7143 guests have reviewed this hostel)
My husband had another appt at the Peter Mac hospital. We use the hostel because it is close to there, price is OK, not far from the free tram zone. Room 5 was nicer than the room we stayed in last time. We could see trees out of the window.
68%
Barbara B 08/11/2019
A favourite location and place to stay in Melbourne
100%
Lisa L 04/11/2019
It was okay.
65%
Louisa O 03/11/2019
I was travelling for work and used the hostel due to convenient location and price. Was worried about cleanliness based on some other reviews, however rooms, kitchen and bathrooms were very clean. Environment relaxed, staff friendly. Though I was busy with work related activities there certainly seemed plenty of opportunity to meet other travellers and join hostel activities. Would not advise staying here in hot weather as there is no air-conditionin in rooms. Power points in rooms also limited.
82%
Jon L 02/11/2019
Very clean, super friendly staff. Rooms are big and comfortable.
92%
Yoav S 28/10/2019
If the dripping taps were all repaired you would probably save at least $2000 per year.
90%
Mira H 27/10/2019
I booked a female dorm and the staff still left men in the room. Even after I complained about it a few times they did not do anything.
52%
S. S 27/10/2019
Loved my stay. Might suggest extending the smoking area a bit further as it was a crowded not too cozy spot.
98%
Jodi H 25/10/2019
Good hostel overall, great location.
95%
Elspeth M 24/10/2019
if you’re looking for a cheap room and don’t mind about being in the centre than this hostel is for you! It’s quite basic and in need of some renovation so therefore the general building doesn’t look as clean, the facilities need a bit of TLC, but it’s a good basic hostel! Be aware there is no aircon and rooms can get quite stuffy with 8 of you in there !! you’ve got a tram 5 minutes away, and it’ll take you about 20 mins to get into the CBD. it’s a fine hostel just nothing wow about it!
60%
Chloe S 23/10/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. 

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

79%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
75%
Condition of facilities
74%
Efficiency of service
79%
Friendliness of staff
84%
Location
84%
Overall atmosphere
74%
Safety & Security
82%
Value for Money
79%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL