Melbourne Metro YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Melbourne Metro YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (7298 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Is still ok for backpacker. But bed is petty noisy while turning around.
78%
Ho Y 28/01/2020
The hostel was okey, but the coffee they make its awful. Also the mattress looks and feels really old. It was very clean and quite.
80%
Valentina V 28/01/2020
This is undoubtedly the best YHA in Australia. Friendly staff, clean, rooms in great condition and a fantastic common space that encourages interaction so often lost thesedays as people are glued to their phones. Best of all in a cool suburban area of Melbourne so you feel and see the real city not just the cbd, which is only a short (free) tram away.
95%
John M 27/01/2020
Overall improved considerably since last stayed a few years ago, and was now of a very good standard in all respects. Housekeeping has always been good, and there is a long standing team of managers and staff who do a fine job.
90%
M M 23/01/2020
Incredible place to stay for its price. Wifi was quite unstable, but had decent speeds in 3rd floor though, so someone who needs a quality wifi might be disappointed a bit.
98%
Vytautas M 22/01/2020
It's great because it's not in the city, it's in a quiet suburban street but close to shops and the city. It's clean and the staff are friendly. The other backpackers were friendly. It's pretty cheap. I enjoyed my stay.
88%
Rebecca N 22/01/2020
Always a pleasure and very welcoming. The best hotel staff in Melbourne especially Marilyn 👍
100%
Danny F 22/01/2020
Really good staff and nice people here, and big social space! It's good in the 4 mixed room. Clean and comfortable. But when I changed to 8 female room, the space was small and not really clean, and the quilt looks old. Anyway, it's still a good hostel! I like here.
82%
Ya L 22/01/2020
Very good for a hostel. Noise levels acceptable and ceased by midnight. Room very comfortable and lots of space for a private room. Can appreciate how difficult it is to keep a hostel clean at the best of times but reception/longe cane chairs had very dirty covers on them and did not tempt you to sit down and relax. Maybe whiteish color is not best choice for that area. Otherwise nice and clean
88%
Helle B 22/01/2020
Secure, staff friendly, large kitchen & dining area, quite area
98%
Cheryl R 21/01/2020

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

We will not publish inappropriate and/or offensive comments.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language, swearing or references to illicit drug usage.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

We will not publish any comments that are not directly related to the hostel, or your experience during your stay.

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated, incorrect or you did not stay at the hostel that you are commenting on.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

We will not publish comments that include full staff names, irrespective of whether your comment is positive or negative.

First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If you make a negative comment, we will remove any reference to particular staff members.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as major hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

83%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
80%
Condition of facilities
75%
Efficiency of service
84%
Friendliness of staff
88%
Location
86%
Overall atmosphere
81%
Safety & Security
88%
Value for Money
82%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL