Search YHA

Kununurra YHA

  • Customer reviews of Kununurra YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (115 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    We have stayed here a few times and always enjoy our stay. Very central, clean and relaxing grounds. The pool and surrounding area is a great place to meet people. Private double room was a bit pricey but cheaper than any hotel in town. There were several local people trying to get into cars at night (not doing any damage tho) so make sure you lock up.
    Emily S September 2014
    Perhaps guests need to leave shower and toilet floors a little cleaner.
    Lea O August 2014
    Good location, in the centre of town and easy access to everywhere. Town does not have many restaurant, so better to get food at Coles and cook at YHA's kitchen!
    Yurie B August 2014
    Very well run and staff accomodating and helpful
    lyn k July 2014
    Paid for a 4 person share but was moved to a 10 person share without either a partial refund or even an apology. Would not refer this backpackers. Sorry...
    Ronald K July 2014
    As older travellers we found the Kimberley Croc Backpackers way too noisy. People gather in the central courtyard from late afternoon till after midnight on some nights, talking loudly and playing music. Although the management rules say that music must stop at 9 pm and conversation be kept to 'a minimum' this is interpreted as moving the music about 10 metres to a verandah area.
    Linda G July 2014
    Excellent location - Very efficient and friendly Manager (Lisa?) - Great kitchen and facilities - Best hostel I have stayed at for a long time..
    Gregory P June 2014
    Expensive, but then all accomodation in Kununurra is expensive. On our initial stay, there was partying shouting noise from the outdoor area until late at night, well after the 9pm noise curfew. This is not policed because there are no staff on duty. On our return visit noise was not a problem. The kitchen rapidly gets grotty because of users who do not clean after themselves.
    Greg M June 2014
    Noisy beyond midnight on both Friday and Saturday nights, although the manager deserves credit for their responsiveness to complaints about noise. Rubbish often left on tables overnight by guests.
    Peter H June 2014
    Great staff, great facilities!
    Graham D May 2014
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    115 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money