Kalgoorlie YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Kalgoorlie YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (149 guests have reviewed this hostel)
This hostel is not safe. One long-stay resident is visibly affected by gear and takes other people’s food and drink from the fridge daily (took mine right in front of me!). The manager’s adult sons stay in the rooms, are up all night and on one night played bad music really loud when everyone was trying to sleep.
50%
Chantelle 16/09/2018
Loved it the first time I stayed so I told a friend and brought her to experience it as well. Like me she enjoyed the home away from home atmosphere and the friendliness of the people. It's within easy walking distance of the middle of town, quiet and has everything one needs for a comfortable stay.
88%
Yvonne H 09/09/2018
Terrible experience booked online then when we turned up the manager said our booking wasn’t there. So she said come back later at 4:30 to sort it out and she wasn’t there. So we had already payed to stay a night and haven’t got our money back since. So we went to stay at another hotel.
20%
Stuart L 14/05/2018
Although the most guests are young guys, they were very well behaved and it was really quiet at night. The friendly manager offered me a single room although I booked the dormitory. :-) I slept very well. I'd stay again.
78%
Franziska H 07/05/2018
Susanna and her team kept the hostel in very good condition although it is quite old. My single room had a very comfortable QB and was well appointed with hanging rails, a mirror and shelved locker for storage (no locking ability). Susanna organised to pick me up at 9.50pm from the train & her partner was even there at 11.45pm following a delay due to a thunderstorm. Susanna insisted on taking me to the station for the 7.05am train a few days later. A nice community, relaxed & happy place
90%
Barbara T 08/04/2018
I really enjoyed my stay and I am hoping to return later in the year.
100%
Terence G 11/01/2018
The hostel is old and in need of some upgrades, but is physically acceptable overall. There was a group of guests who made staying at this hostel unpleasant. We, and others guests at the hostel were rudely awakened every morning at 2am by drunken shouting, banging on doors, and on one occasion a drunk guy invading our room. There was even an incident where the fire alarm was triggered at 2am forcing an evacuation into the cold night for an hour while we awaited the fire department to declare the building safe. We were informed the next day that it was due smoking in a room. While the hostel is not responsible for their guests, the failure of the management to do anything about these incidents is appalling. I have stayed at hostels all over the world. This one is by far the worst stay I have ever had at a hostel.
48%
Lendyn P 26/09/2017
Scruffy and bad service. Not a good idea to stay there
45%
Andrew K 26/06/2017
Manageress extremely helpful. Excellent kitchen and the room i was staying in. 10 out of 10!
95%
paul s 30/12/2016
needs upgrade inline with Melbourne Central a complete remodelling
55%
Anthony B 24/12/2016

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

76%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
76%
Condition of facilities
72%
Efficiency of service
75%
Friendliness of staff
83%
Location
80%
Overall atmosphere
72%
Safety & Security
74%
Value for Money
77%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL