Search YHA

Kalgoorlie YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Kalgoorlie YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (131 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The majority, if not all, of the residents at the time of our visit were workers, presumably at the superpit.
    Neil T August 2016
    Room: • strong unpleasant odour, stained and grotty floor coverings • broken and delapidated cupboards • very thin doona - inappropriate for the winter season - very cold • broken window handle • no small waste basket or towel in the room Communal facilities: Spacious, clean and well organised
    K D August 2016
    This was the worst hostel I have ever stayed in! The door to my room had been kicked in and was not properly repaired leaving it insecure. The receptionist was not at all friendly. The place was run down and filthy. This place should not be associated with YHA!
    Sean B June 2016
    Laundry doir in secure and people entering. Great hostess ... very friendly and maintains facilities well but not sure all sheets ect washed as pillow slip definatly wasnt. Vaccuming between 5am and 6 outside rooms and laundry washers being used at 430am was not acceptable and feedback to hostess was pointless as only get a dont care attitude in response. Need to get a door bell as not all travellers have a mobile to get in the front door.
    Anon O May 2016
    A 2 night stop, easy to find, clean and friendly. Would stay again.
    Alan P December 2015
    Simple yet very welcoming "oasis" in the desert of the Goldfields region. It is neat, organised and very well maintained and managed. This hostel is perfectly located in the town centre, but tucked away from the noise and distractions of Kalgoorlie. Extremely welcoming staff. I highly recommend! :)
    Anaelle D October 2015
    Great hostel! Tracey was lovely and it had a nice homely feel :)
    Rachael B September 2015
    I wrote very poor in cleanliness because the linen were very dirty (been used by other customers before). Could not be changed straight away because the reception was closed, manager was at her yoga class.
    Morgane R September 2015
    Fine for a cheap backpackers for a one night stay. Was woken up at 3am by a couple of guys watching soccer on their laptop outside my room (better connection there apparently). Staff member I dealt with (Tracey I think) was friendly. I'd stay here again.
    Dan G June 2015
    its a nice place to stay for few days.
    Tahir K April 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    131 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & Security
    Value for Money