Search YHA

Kalgoorlie YHA

  • Customer reviews of Kalgoorlie YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (115 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Simple yet very welcoming "oasis" in the desert of the Goldfields region. It is neat, organised and very well maintained and managed. This hostel is perfectly located in the town centre, but tucked away from the noise and distractions of Kalgoorlie. Extremely welcoming staff. I highly recommend! :)
    Anaelle D October 2015
    Great hostel! Tracey was lovely and it had a nice homely feel :)
    Rachael B September 2015
    I wrote very poor in cleanliness because the linen were very dirty (been used by other customers before). Could not be changed straight away because the reception was closed, manager was at her yoga class.
    Morgane R September 2015
    Fine for a cheap backpackers for a one night stay. Was woken up at 3am by a couple of guys watching soccer on their laptop outside my room (better connection there apparently). Staff member I dealt with (Tracey I think) was friendly. I'd stay here again.
    Dan G June 2015
    its a nice place to stay for few days.
    Tahir K April 2015
    Great hostel, friendly staff. Not a lot to do in Kalgoorlie, other than the superpit tour of you don't have your own vehicle! Hostel itself was great!
    Katie B December 2014
    The single room stayed in was basic and unclean with wall stains. There was a loud air conditioner vent in the room that could not be switched off with cold air directed straight onto the bed. Upon arrival there was no staff member at reception and it was only through another friendly backpacker that a staff member was tracked down and I was able to sign in.
    Sally P December 2014
    I enjoyed my stay in Kalgoorlie although some of the services were not to the standard of the big city hostels. It could get very noisy at night. It is not your 'normal' kind of hostel as the majority of residents were not travellers but working in the town.
    Carol S November 2014
    Hostel used as a base for my attendance at a conference. I felt secure, it was a good walk from the centre of town, and the Manager and staff were very friendly.
    Ron A October 2014
    I was at the hostel while visiting the Arts and Edges conference. the hostel was ideally placed for this and I had a very good time there. It was a surprise that there was a swimming pool too and it was necessary on the one hot day we had! Tracey, the manager was sick but she still managed to do her duties there and was very helpful. I would tell all my friends to go there.
    Linda B October 2014
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    115 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money