Search YHA

Perth City YHA

  • Customer reviews of Perth City YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (3265 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    It's location is very good. They have a swimming pool. My over all stay was average. Old and run down building. My room was dirty. Staff don't look happy. I was disappointed with this YHA
    Kevin L November 2015
    The ac wasn't working properly.
    Joao A November 2015
    The only thing that let the hostel down was the cafe as there was a very limited choice and not enough seating area.
    Caroline S November 2015
    No towels provided in form rooms.
    laura c November 2015
    This is a clean hostel, centrally placed and with friendly staff. It would overall be a very good hostel, if it wasn't for the railroad and railroad crossing, right outside the window. Trains start at 5am and unless you are a very heavy sleeper or like to get a bright and early start to the day, I wouldn't recommend staying here. I had a room, facing the railroad, so other rooms might be better, but I would expect you can hear the trains no matter where you sleep. It is a shame, as this is otherwise a very nice place.
    Torben N November 2015
    Could of done with a clean and a lick of paint in the rooms and more plugs so you can charge phones/tablets etc. Mattress' are worn and in need of replacement asap
    Chris L November 2015
    The hostel was run down, the kitchens were in need of a revamp, there was very little prep room in the kitchen and was not clean. I have no idea why alcohol is not allowed. The cafe was dodgy in my mind and they couldn't tell me what food was available for any meal. It was a bit noisy with the trains but they stop about 11pm and start at 5 am. Beds were comfortable and linen clean.
    Julie A November 2015
    YHA Hostel is very well-facilitated with kitchen, locker and laundry services. It is also centrally located in Perth within walking distance to the Perth station and the airport shuttle bus does stop opposite the hotel which bring convenience to travellers. Counter staffs are friendly and accommodating.
    D. L November 2015
    It was great to stay at yha Perth, very close to supemarket, staff always willing to help
    Kate M November 2015
    Very clean and organized. The staff could be friendlier. More like a hotel then a hostel. Too expensive which is why I left but good value for your money. More for older people then young backpackers.
    Lucia D November 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    3265 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money