Perth City YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Perth City YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (4106 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Everytime I stay outside, I will looking for YHA. Thanks :)
98%
Chansong K 19/11/2017
How about signs encouraging recycling? Good to see the recycle bin near the kitchen.
88%
Kath C 12/11/2017
Stayed almost two months in the low season. Had a great time here up until the last two days, it's always so clean, the staff are friendly and most of the other guests are cool.
95%
Anthony P 12/11/2017
Great hostel. Very clean and well-kept. Only one recommendation: shower stall in my room (G7) could have used on of those plastic or vinyl coated wire racks that holds soap/shampoo. Wall mounted or hangs off of the shower head pipe.
100%
Mark M 12/11/2017
The hostel is very conveniently situated to the CBD and to public transport, and has good facilities and rooms. However, noise from passing trains, which whistle as they approach McIver station, goes on for about 21 hours a day and is a big problem for rooms at the back of the building.
85%
Neil D 02/11/2017
YHA hostel, room small but space was used very wisely. Clean, very well organized. Mattress a little hard but OK. No chair in room! Bathroom very nice but hot/cold shower difficult to adjust to "warm." Staff friendly and helpful. Indoor pool. Hostel located in not so attractive part of city but only few blocks from exciting walking street (Murray St Mall). Excellent coffee shops, cafes, and restaurants, but in Perth everything closes down about 5 PM or 6 PM. One diner open until 11 PM. Spring in Perth shows off the beauty of this city and how much the locals love it. Not nearly the size of Melbourne, but certainly one of the surprisingly beautiful places I've seen on my trip. In addition, Fremantle is only about 20 min away on the train, a small town full of interesting shops and bars. Check out Blue Buddha, full of hand-made jewelry and mystical items. Also, Fremantle Opal Shop, wide array of opals some actually affordable to a cheapskate like me. Even one of the old bars is worth a beer, even if you don't drink, just so you can be part of the environment. But after 5 PM, nothing appears to be open in Fremantle.
95%
Neil L 02/11/2017
Great location - that's why back for another visit to the exceptional city of Perth!
98%
Paul W 29/10/2017
Hostel has great facilities and the staff are always helpful, it's a great place to stay, I always recommend people to stay there if they want to a quality place to stay for a good price.
100%
Stephen G 26/10/2017
Always clean and friendly.
75%
Quinton G 23/10/2017
Very well run and a pleasure to stay in.
90%
Marion C 22/10/2017

Hostel Rating Ratings guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

91%
customer rating, based on 4106 reviews
Cleanliness
93%
Condition of facilities
89%
Efficiency of service
94%
Friendliness of staff
95%
Location
91%
Overall atmosphere
86%
Safety & Security
90%
Value for Money
87%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL