Search YHA

Perth City YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Perth City YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (3519 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Stayed in a 4 Male room, the 2 people already there were quite messy unfortunately. Bunk beds didn't have a ladder, but a chair was provided in the room and could be used to get up there. There was an AC unit just over one of the top bunks making an infernal noise and blowing air like crazy. Otherwise great and spacious kitchen and dining area. Fairly clean amenities. I booked the Pinnacles Magic tour with the YHA, it was really good, great experience for a day out of the city, highly recommended.
    82%
    Aurelien May 2016
    Great location to tour around Perth, not far from supermarket and the train station. Great and spacious kitchen and dinning area. Rooms can be noisy and messy, but I had a better experience in the Mixed dorm than my previous stay in a Male dorm. I guess it depends on people you share the room with. If you want to get out of the city, make sure to book the Pinnacle Magic day tour advertised at the YHA, really great experience, much advised.
    85%
    Aurelien May 2016
    The location of hostel is excellent. Room is clean enough and staff here are very easygoing. However, the noise of train outside is very annoyed.
    92%
    Haopeng W May 2016
    Thanks for the staff to give me the night that i don't use 'cause i leave the hostel 1 day before the plan. And thanks for all the assist when i'd need But: bad wifi connection in the mall. No free connection in the rooms. Why i gotta pay for a right connection? in every hostel there's a free wifi connection in the rooms! it's a joke? Bad customers: homeless, drunk people, sick people, bad smell people, dirty people. The room near the railroad is terrible. Every ten minutes there's a boring sound of trains in move. Bathrooms dirty. Room clean. Kitchen often really dirty with really dirty equipment: forks, knifes, pins... ever bad smell also in lunchroom. Bad experience, i'm not happy to been in this hostel. I choose it 'cause some one told me about the YHA like the best one hostel 'cause is an international brand, but the old little one with 20 beds was 1000 times better in all.
    55%
    andrea i May 2016
    Nice hostel, clean, great condition of facilities. Location is not the best but it's ok. The worst thing about this hostel is the proximity with the train station... it woke me up every single morning at 5am because of the noise :(
    78%
    Stephane O May 2016
    Probably the best hostel in the city of Perth. Excellent facilities, close to the city and North Bridge as well as clean premises and friendly staff. The rooms are comfortable and clean with aircon and pockets and the gym and swimming pool is also a nice touch. Plenty of quiet places to chill out as its not really a party place. Although there is a bar/cafe on the ground floor. Great cooking facilities. Safe environment and I highly recommend this hostel.
    100%
    Wayne A May 2016
    Close to all city amenities. Ideal location for onward travelling, within WA, Interstate, or International.
    100%
    JEFF P May 2016
    Feels like home
    92%
    Quinton G May 2016
    Yes I would. The location is excellent. When you book in you should be able to ask the customer how he will come. Say ...instruct the reception staff to ask him 5 questions - what's days -- when are you coming and how -- this is the best way to arrive at the hostel - etc. This would automatically endear the staff to customers.
    80%
    Tamojit G May 2016
    central location, near centre of city, rail, buses. Café/bar a plus.
    85%
    Thelma S May 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    81%
    3519 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    84%
    Condition of facilities
    80%
    Efficiency of service
    86%
    Friendliness of staff
    84%
    Location
    85%
    Overall atmosphere
    74%
    Safety & security
    82%
    Value for money
    76%