Margaret River Backpackers YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Margaret River Backpackers YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (117 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Great location, looks purpose built! Incredibly noisy, needs a door between kitchen / dining room & hallway! Also some carpet or mats in the hallway. It was quiet between about 11:30pm to 5:30am so if you want / need sleep -avoid! No lockers in dorms either.
82%
Oto Z 15/02/2019
Jules the owner is phenomenal. He puts a lot of effort in and is very welcoming, giving a tour, and providing suggestions of things to do. The beds had clean bedding and were extremely comfortable, best sleep I’ve had in awhile. Lots of clean showers, a nice outside area and cool lounge area. The wifi is free and works everywhere! At peak times it slows down a bit, it only happened once in our 4 day’s here though. Lots of people looking for work. There’s a bar on the corner that has trivia.
92%
Lancy F 18/01/2019
Everything you need in a hostel, facilities could be better
68%
Becky M 18/01/2019
I really enjoyed staying at this backpackers, but I really felt to properly see the area you need a car - Margaret River is 10km from the beach.
90%
Rebecca W 03/01/2019
Clean, well located and beautiful facilities, the outdoor decking area is beautiful. More limited reception desk hours than I'm used to but it didn't impact the experience. Would stay again.
100%
Rochelle R 06/12/2018
Great hostel! Perfect location in the center of MR but at the same time really quiet area. Rooms are clean and there is plenty of room for everyone. Good toilets and plenty to common areas. Also, they help you lot when looking for a job or any activity you wanna do.
100%
Alan 03/12/2018
Loved this Hostel. Really nice atmosphere. Wonderful staff. Clean. Tidy. Organized. I will definitely come back. Thank you and keep going
100%
elisabete m 25/10/2018
Good stay, amazing wildflowers
88%
Robyn P 07/10/2018
Great location in the centre of town. It clearly states in the handbook that this is mainly a workers hostel, so I was expecting that and chose to eat in town that night. Its a sad fact though that people staying long term in a hostel tend to take over. A small group were pretty noisy in the dining area throughout the evening, there are signs up saying that even the neighbouring houses have complained. Thankfully the travelers get a dorm to themselves. A good hostel, but not really a YHA one.
75%
Robert L 24/08/2018
All round warm and friendly vibe. I stayed over for the weekend, booking a second night. Carl is really friendly and super helpful, lent me a hand without question when I asked him to help jump start my car for me. The kitchen was nice and neat and all appliances were readily available, it was easy to live here!
90%
Gabriel L 19/03/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

81%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
74%
Condition of facilities
78%
Efficiency of service
80%
Friendliness of staff
86%
Location
93%
Overall atmosphere
79%
Safety & Security
84%
Value for Money
75%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL