Pemberton YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Pemberton YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (151 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    clean, perfect location
    100%
    cedric g January 2017
    A lovely millhouse hostel in the centre of tall timber country. A pleasant walk to the historic pub where good meals can be had at affordable costs. Thanks to all who made Our 2 days at Pemberton such an enriching time.
    100%
    Selby A January 2017
    The cottage is cozy and nice - note that you have to check in at a different location and DO call when you get there in order to understand where to go 😊
    89%
    Manuela C December 2016
    Great little house. Good facilities. Right in Pemberton town. No personal lockers to keep your luggage safe though. There was one bathroom which was clean and in great condition. Might be a problem if the house was full! Ok for me because there were only four of us. Would definitely stay again.
    93%
    Claire A November 2016
    Fire kept cottage cosy while ceiling fans kept air circulating. Dorm room was to my expectations for this type of accommodation. One toilet & bathroom to share.
    93%
    Shelley A October 2016
    Very cold; the main heat source is a wood-burning stove, which makes sense given that there's plenty of firewood, but it's hard to justify firing it up when you're only going to be in the common area for an hour or two. The space heaters in the rooms are totally inadequate, incapable of raising the temperature much due to the drafty windows and high ceilings. The staff were hard to get hold of due to the limited hours, but helpful when they were around.
    73%
    Nick F October 2016
    We were the only 2 guest during our stay. Upon check in the hostel we were directed to drive up to the actual hostel which was hard to find. The hostel was overall very well maintained and clean but facilities are below expectation. Our heater wasn't working and we were staying during winter. Winters are very cold there. During our stay it went down to 1 degree. We called reception at 6pm and they told us to wait an hour for a replacement. We called them again at 710pm and 745pm because our heater hasn't been replaced and we were freezing. Finally at 8pm did someone come by to swap our heaters. He didn't seem apologetic for the delay or for the inconvenience cause to us. He had a very impartial attitude towards us which we were very disappointed with the service. The heater after being swapped took a very long time to warm up the room. Over all our stay was quite an unpleasant one.
    62%
    Yan Lei L August 2016
    I was the only one there, but it was winter! Good to have a heater in my room but rest of house was rather cold. Nice and clean although I'm not sure if bed sheets were...
    76%
    Hetty B August 2016
    We first arrived at hostel reception in an old building with yha sign on it. It was ansurprise upon entering because of the shabbiness if theplace - it did not look like the renovated millhouse! Later found that this was a workers hostel n gorgeous millhouse was up the road. Hostel cosy - fire burning. Spotlessly clean, well equipped and well located.
    100%
    Karen H August 2016
    Heater didn't really keep the room warm enough for winter.
    71%
    Gillian L July 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    84%
    84%
    customer rating, based on 151 reviews
    Cleanliness
    86%
    Condition of facilities
    82%
    Efficiency of service
    77%
    Friendliness of staff
    80%
    Location
    88%
    Overall atmosphere
    80%
    Safety & Security
    84%
    Value for Money
    80%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!