Search YHA

Pemberton YHA

  • Customer reviews of Pemberton YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (117 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Central Location in Pemberton and an ideal spot for Bibbulmun Track walkers to take a break. Supermarket directly over the road.
    Jenny M November 2015
    I checked in to the double and twin room. It is not located at the YHA where I collected my key. It is good to contact them to enquire on how to collect the keys if you are arriving before 5pm; that is when they are opened. It is opposite the supermarket, 5 mins away from the bus stop and visitor centre. In that house there are 14 beds with one toilet and bathroom. The fly door cannot be locked and the main door does not provide much security. There is no lockers in the rooms at all.
    Angeline Nadia L November 2015
    The room is good, only the check-in experience with the unprofessional staff is bad.
    Yuen Chi W October 2015
    Good experience, glad to stay at cottage where opposite IGA with all girls in house instead of dorm rooms area. Dorm rooms area is noisy all the time with loud music, toilet is clean but looks like temporary toilet. Stay at cottage is much more better.
    W T October 2015
    Just happy all-around that they put us in the cottage. My review would be very different if we were put in the main area which was so noisy, full of backpackers some who were playing very loud music blasting away in the common/kitchen area outside. Should not be allowed! Ask for the cottage if you want quiet!
    Hendry Anak M October 2015
    The accommodation is clean, comfortable and central to shops etc.
    Corinne V September 2015
    A great place for a group of friends to stay and explore the area. A lovely home atmosphere. Great to see these workman's cottages being repurposed.
    Robyn A August 2015
    Les chambres doubles sont situées dans un cottage (maison avec jardin) à 400m de l'auberge de jeunesse. Dans ce cottage, nous avons eu un dortoir 6 places avec lits superposés pour 2 personnes.
    planchard s August 2015
    I was so impressed with the Pemberton YHA. I've stayed at a few other hostels and they were functional: I paid for cheap and I got hygienic and everything working. Pemberton was hostel cheap but beautiful. Wooden floors, plush red carpet, a wonderful wood fire. Beautiful bathroom and kitchen with everything we needed. They even gave us folded towels on the beds! I've stayed at hotels that are less nice and more expensive. It even stayed warm in the dead of winter. We didn't see the staff much, just at check in and check out and they seemed nice. Pemberton itself is of course a wonderful country town, and the town itself was well worth the trip. I will definitely be recommending this place to friends and family.
    Robyn H July 2015
    They lost my booking and weren't even going to believe I had one despite showing them my online booking receipt! 😱 not only did the shower run continuously there was NO hot water at all and even though checkout was at 10. They came in at 9 and started moving us out 😕 yeah.. Nahhh
    Elaine S April 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    117 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money