Melbourne Central YHA

  • Average customer ratings for this hostel

    • Average rating: 86%
    • Cleanliness: 87%
    • Condition of Facilities: 84%
    • Efficiency of Service: 86%
    • Friendliness of Staff: 86%
    • Location: 95%
    • Overall Atmosphere: 81%
    • Security and Safety: 92%
    • Value for money: 80%
    3544 customers have rated this hostel.
  • Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

  • Here are some of the satisfaction ratings we have received from previous guests:

    Ratings Guidelines

    Latest Reviews

    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:60%
    Customer Rating95%
    Thales G, October 2014
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:60%
    • Friendliness of Staff:20%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:60%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating72%
    Elham N, October 2014
    • Cleanliness:60%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating90%
    Glynn S, October 2014
    Quality of air in room was not good Carpets appeared to need steam cleaning. doona and blankets could have been cleaner drain smell could have been treated in bathrooms and wash basins
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:60%
    Customer Rating95%
    Michael H, October 2014
    Excellent hostel; enjoyed my stay. As of October 2014, they are undergoing renovations, so there is some construction. It was NOT a problem. A staff guy at the front desk was especially helpful. I checked in for a night when the Jehovah's convention had filled the place, but I needed more nights. He informed me within 30 minutes by coming to my room that a bed had opened up due to cancellation.
    • Cleanliness:60%
    • Condition of Facilities:60%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:80%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:60%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating80%
    Barbara P, October 2014
    Perhaps an unfair review as the hostel is currently under renovation. Standard of our room was excellent as were the other new facilities. But lots of plaster dust, boarded up areas and temporary facilities detracted. I think it will be great when finished. I would have liked the DVD player to be working.
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:80%
    • Location:80%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating80%
    Christina S, October 2014
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:80%
    • Location:80%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating88%
    Kat G, October 2014
    Ongoing construction work wasn't a problem. Clean dorms, bathroom facilities and kitchen. Very nice and modern bathrooms!
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:80%
    • Location:80%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating82%
    Peh Lin C, October 2014
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Angella M, October 2014
    It was fantastic ; loved the decor and the fantastic kitchen. I was so impressed. Great bathrooms and toilets, trendy atmosphere. My bed was clean and comfortable . Definitely stay again ; welldone YHA!
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Di C, October 2014
    I had a fantastic "Beach Hut" Premium Room on the rooftop and it was like a little oasis in the city. I was also lucky to be there when the new ground floor renovations were being finished. Very cool new reception, kitchen and common areas. Staff were beautiful. So friendly, loads of great ideas on what to do and really professional. Cant wait to come back already!
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating98%
    VICTOR T, October 2014
    The only thing I found, which was not great, was the smell (probably sweat) in the dormatory. I don't know what you can do about it but it was not good. The other gurests closed the windown at night which probably made it worse. Otherside it was good staying there.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Viki C, October 2014
    The staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is close to all major Melbourne sites and the new kitchen is awesome. A fantastic place to stay.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Teresa D, October 2014
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    AYAKO T, October 2014
    It is very clean. Because it's in the middle of the CBD, bit noisy at night though, it wouldn't be bother your sleep. I like the shower room . It's very clean and modan. It also has vey high roof . Its close to the sky us deck so that easy access is available.
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:60%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:60%
    Customer Rating82%
    Camille P, October 2014
    • Cleanliness:60%
    • Condition of Facilities:60%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:80%
    • Location:80%
    • Overall Atmosphere:60%
    • Security and Safety:60%
    • Value for money:40%
    Customer Rating65%
    Rhys S, October 2014
    • Cleanliness:60%
    • Condition of Facilities:60%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:80%
    • Location:60%
    • Overall Atmosphere:60%
    • Security and Safety:60%
    • Value for money:40%
    Customer Rating62%
    Yongqiang W, October 2014
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Michael P, October 2014
    Sorry l had to leave! I enjoyed my time there immensely. The staff are very helpful, friendly and courteous to people of all ages and nationalities l have noticed. And the environment - well as always the environment is what you make it. It is an enriching experience meeting people and making new friends, you don't get that in a flash hotel room. The great facilities in Melbourne YHA is a bonus!
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:60%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating88%
    Susan M, October 2014
    I love YHA and once again they saved me from a last minute late night accommodation predicament. Two minor issues though: workmen's hammering woke me up at 7am (accom should be discounted and warning given when there are renovations being done) and no open windows means very stinking feet smelling rooms, a common backpackers' issue. Thanks for a great accommodation network though.
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:20%
    • Friendliness of Staff:40%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:60%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:40%
    Customer Rating68%
    Yunfan Z, October 2014
    Room is very small. The only thing that could be recommended is the location. Lies in CBD and Near to the southern cross