Search YHA

Byron Bay - Byron Bay YHA

86%
Byron Bay, NSW

Byron Bay YHA Backpackers Hostel is centrally located, only 400m from the beach. The large comfortable common areas and kitchen ...

$25
Check availability
  • Byron Bay YHA Pool
  • Byron Bay YHA Exterior
  • Byron Bay YHA Dinning
  • Byron Bay YHA Multi-Share
  • Byron Bay YHA Lockers
  • Byron Bay YHA Kitchen
  • Byron Bay YHA Double Room
  • Byron Bay YHA TV Room
  • Byron Bay YHA Surfboards
  • Speicals Byron Bay B&B
  • Byron Bay 4 Share Male
  • Byron Bay YHA 5 Share Mixed
  • Byron Bay YHA 5 Share female
  • Byron Bay YHA 4 Share Male
  • Byron Bay YHA Double
  • Customer reviews of Byron Bay - Byron Bay YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1036 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Really nice hostel and friendly staff. Inclusive and fun. Lots of great places to relax.
    92%
    Jen G April 2015
    Good hostel and a friendly staff who was very effective when some guys decided that 1 am was a good time to play loud music. Really valuable for money, everything is clean, I'd definitely come back !
    92%
    Cécile P April 2015
    Great location, helpful and friendly staff, safe and laid back atmosphere 😄
    90%
    Maylea M April 2015
    great location, friendly staff, room fir two private bathroom wad very good. .Great value for money.
    100%
    mariano m April 2015
    Great Location, friendly staff and good atmosphere. A place to easily meet other backpackers and great social area!
    90%
    Musti M April 2015
    I stayed during Bluesfest - it was ok, but the cost of the rooms was $20-ish per night higher than usual, with a 5 night minimum stay and the bathrooms really could've done with more cleaning during this super busy period. Otherwise all fine - good sized kitchen and nice facilities, very convenient to town.
    80%
    Sarah C April 2015
    I appreciate what the YHA has to offer in terms of you know what you are getting, however this hostel in particular had a lot of people working for the hostel and in turn I found it difficult to socialise. I even found that the staff who lived and worked here were quite rude (not the staff at the front desk who are lovelyand helpful). It has put me off staying in such a large chain as I fear this may be the case in most of them. It was quite a miserable experience but I do rate the facilities. Only comment on cleanliness was that the showers always seemed to be covered in hair.
    75%
    Lyndsey R April 2015
    Clean and spacious hostel. Relaxed atmosphere without too much partying going on. right in the centre of things and a short walk from beach, supermarket, bus stop and bars/restaurants
    92%
    Irene K March 2015
    The hostel was nice and the staff very friendly. Facilities are clean and i enjoyed a good BBQ one day. However, there is no free space to store the luggage after check-out, so you need to pay for locks. I also had to change the room the 2nd night althought nothing was said when i made the booking online (which is a bit annoying due to of lack of free luggage room till check-in again)
    80%
    MARIA D March 2015
    All good but it would be very helpful to have a tiny shelf and reading light over each bed
    100%
    Jennifer H March 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    86%
    1036 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    82%
    Condition of facilities
    83%
    Efficiency of service
    89%
    Friendliness of staff
    92%
    Location
    92%
    Overall atmosphere
    84%
    Safety & security
    87%
    Value for money
    80%