Sydney Central YHA

  • Average customer ratings for this hostel

    • Average rating: 87%
    • Cleanliness: 87%
    • Condition of Facilities: 86%
    • Efficiency of Service: 86%
    • Friendliness of Staff: 84%
    • Location: 94%
    • Overall Atmosphere: 84%
    • Security and Safety: 89%
    • Value for money: 83%
    7796 customers have rated this hostel.
  • Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

  • Here are some of the satisfaction ratings we have received from previous guests:

    Ratings Guidelines

    Latest Reviews

    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating95%
    Valerie T, July 2014
    I had an extremely good experience in YHA and definitely somewhere I would recommend the stay to. I made many international friends during my 2 week stay. Also, the toilets facilities are clean and the rooms are comfortable. Only issue is that wifi is weak in the room.
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:80%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:60%
    Customer Rating80%
    Lieke S, July 2014
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:80%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating98%
    Tony I, July 2014
    This is a busy hostel, but it was clean and safe.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:60%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating92%
    Domenico P, July 2014
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:60%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:80%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating88%
    DaHye K, July 2014
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:80%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:60%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating80%
    penelope l, July 2014
    Very convenient location just over the street from central station
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating90%
    Martin K, July 2014
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:80%
    • Location:80%
    • Overall Atmosphere:60%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating78%
    Donna L, July 2014
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating98%
    Julie M, July 2014
    The staff were friendly, the room spacious and clean.
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:80%
    • Location:80%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating80%
    Charles-Edouard V, July 2014
    Very nice hostel I recommend it to any backpacker
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating98%
    Pamela C, July 2014
    I have stayed many times when I need to spend the night in the CBD although I actually live in Sydney and have found this a very good hostel as long as you choose a room on the quiet side of the building well away from the disco.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating98%
    Pamela C, July 2014
    I have stayed many times when I need to spend the night in the CBD although I actually live in Sydney and have found this a very good hostel as long as you choose a room on the quiet side of the building well away from the disco.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:80%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating85%
    Ken B, July 2014
    Closed air conditioning, but can be cool in Winter. I asked for an extra blanket at reception this time.
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating98%
    Brendan R, July 2014
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:60%
    • Friendliness of Staff:80%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating92%
    Matt M, July 2014
    Great experience. I really didn't like the idea of staying at a hostel at first but I'm converted now. Very clean and secure and the the little backpacker's bar next door is cool as well
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating92%
    Rachel C, July 2014
    I stayed here with my husband and two young daughters. The staff were very friendly and personable and we loved the central location. When I snored too much the front desk were very helpful about moving us into different rooms! My husband found the "Scu-bar people" a bit hard to take at 2am - they were LOUD every night - but it's a YHA after all. My family rated it four out of five stars :-)
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:60%
    • Friendliness of Staff:40%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:60%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating72%
    katethip v, July 2014
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:80%
    • Location:80%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:60%
    Customer Rating78%
    Jessica G, July 2014
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating95%
    Karin H, July 2014
    This hostel is ideal if you want easy access to the city and its attractions. Darling Harbour, Capitol Theatre, the Aquarium, Chinatown etc etc are within easy walking distance, and further away attractions are easily accessed by bus or train; there is also a free bus going to Circular Quay. The staff are super helpful and friendly, and the rooms are very clean.
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:80%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating92%
    Lewis O, July 2014
    it's not bad I would say . I would give a comparison to Adelaide's yha . The locker room here is not free ,so the day I checked out I needed to pay to store my luggage, in Adelaide's ,it's free. One night a guy on upper bed snoring really bad, and I could hardly sleep. Sometimes the toilets smell not very good. And there is some problem for the room 620's key, hard to open with key card