Sydney Central YHA

  • Average customer ratings for this hostel

    • Average rating: 86%
    • Cleanliness: 81%
    • Condition of Facilities: 82%
    • Efficiency of Service: 86%
    • Friendliness of Staff: 87%
    • Location: 98%
    • Overall Atmosphere: 83%
    • Security and Safety: 88%
    • Value for money: 81%
    8234 customers have rated this hostel.
  • Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

  • Here are some of the satisfaction ratings we have received from previous guests:

    Ratings Guidelines

    Latest Reviews

    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating95%
    Ken S, November 2014
    I enjoyed my first hostel experience very much, wasn't expecting it to be as pleasant as it was! I was worried about cleanliness and security but neither bothered me throughout the stay. Thanks!
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating98%
    Russel B, November 2014
    Great location, I'd say the best in Sydney CBD. I liked the swipe card system , very secure and heaps of toilets and showers.Even has iron boards,movie theatre etc. Kitchen has lots of storage and utencils for cooking.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:80%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating88%
    Fernanda P, November 2014
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:60%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:60%
    Customer Rating88%
    Robin S, November 2014
    Very clean Hostel, nice & friendly Staff, good Location. Sadly the Community isn't as active or open as in other places. Good for big groups, not so good for lone travellers/backpackers.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Jan M, November 2014
    I had a private room with ensuite bathroom and it was perfect in every respect, clean, quiet and even enough floor space for yoga!!!
    • Cleanliness:20%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:60%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating85%
    TA H, November 2014
    It seems the blanket is not washed and gave a washed blanket. Cleanliness need to be improved.
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:60%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating85%
    Christian Eliab R, November 2014
    Location PERFECT. The members of the Staff were really nice and friendly especially the night staff (Gina and friends). Awesome people and great fun to talk with. The room can be a little stuffy, it's ok when it's cold outside but I think it might be too much in the summer. Toilets were reasonably clean. The hot chocolate in the vending on the 1st floor is a must try. Need more power outlets.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Siobhan C, November 2014
    I was only there for a single night but Central YHA will be my go to hostel from now on. Great position, awesome facilities and really friendly people. Thank you for an excellent experience :) :) :)
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating95%
    Ravita F, November 2014
    Even I stayed only one night, I found YHA very comfortable, all the facility and location. If I had a chance to backpack Sydney again, I would choose to stay here, absolutely.
    • Cleanliness:40%
    • Condition of Facilities:60%
    • Efficiency of Service:60%
    • Friendliness of Staff:60%
    • Location:80%
    • Overall Atmosphere:60%
    • Security and Safety:60%
    • Value for money:60%
    Customer Rating60%
    Shannon M, November 2014
    Access cards constantly stopped working, had to change cards multiple times a day everyday for 5 days. Cards that worked that morning wouldn't work that night etc. I have stayed here many times before, I wouldn't have recommended it before but because of this recent experience I would not. Staff were overal very nice but one rude staff member ruined it for me. Room were clean bathrooms were not.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Rebecca A, November 2014
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:60%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating90%
    Terence C, November 2014
    My wife and I have stayed at this hostel several times and have always found the staff helpful and the facilities very clean It is only a couple of minutes walk to Sydney's copious buses and trains.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:60%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating82%
    Andrew A, November 2014
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    norman r, November 2014
    Always a great place to stay in Sydney
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:60%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:80%
    • Location:80%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:60%
    Customer Rating75%
    Chor Man W, November 2014
    The location is good. But, it's too noisy at all the time, even midnight.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:60%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating95%
    Ross L, November 2014
    Great Location Good staff and food. Well look at next time your in Sydney
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Melissa T, November 2014
    • Cleanliness:60%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:80%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating80%
    Murray K, November 2014
    • Cleanliness:60%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:80%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:60%
    Customer Rating78%
    Maria J, November 2014
    We loved the location. Our only complaint was that we paid extra to have a private double room but ended up sharing the floor with a group of school kids who spent most of the night slamming their doors and making alot of noise. We stayed for two days one week then went back after a short stay somewhere else. And the exact same thing happened. Really disappointed.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:60%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:80%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating82%
    Laura H, November 2014
    The room needed some tlc it looked a bit tired. Otherwise it was clean super easy to get too and around from its central location.