Search YHA

Sydney Central

89%
Sydney, NSW

Our heritage-listed building, opposite Central Station, in the hub of the backpacker precinct, offers backpacker accommodation at its finest.

$36
Check availability
  • Sydney Central YHA - Exterior|Hostels & Backpacker Accommodation
  • This is a youtube video promoting Sydney Central YHA
  • Sydney Central YHA - Dining Lounge
  • Sydney Central YHA - Cinema
  • Sydney Central YHA  - Cafe
  • Sydney Central YHA - Cafe Exterior
  • Sydney Central YHA - Cafe
  • Sydney Central YHA - Sauna
  • Sydney Central YHA - Swimming Pool
  • Sydney Central YHA - Cinema Beanbags
  • Sydney Central YHA - Rooftop Balcony
  • Sydney Central YHA - Kitchen
  • Sydney Central YHA - Games
  • Sydney Central YHA - Exterior
  • Sydney Central YHA - Activities Board
  • Sydney Central YHA - Hostel Entrance
  • Sydney Central YHA - Dining Area
  • Customer reviews of Sydney Central

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (8797 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Very clean and quiet - the staff were lovely! The kids loved the indoor rooftop pool! The cafe was amazing: good value for money food. Thank you!
    98%
    Bek A April 2015
    A very convenient location for you to go anywhere of Sydney. More information on using local transport can be provided to facilitate visitors from other countries or states.
    80%
    Wai Yu C April 2015
    NOISE loud talking past midnite and early hours. Walls are thin. Thought there r houserules cutoff time. When i asked this at the reception on checking in .... he merely said "it's a hostel, what do you expect". I was shocked at his answer. Houserules implemented? Any security staff go on their rounds especially late n wee hrs. Our room was 1 floor below pool. Appreciate yr kind attention.
    70%
    Monica Y April 2015
    The best thing about this hostel is its location. We stayed with our 4 grandchildren, so made good use of the kitchen and tv lounge.
    82%
    Kay D April 2015
    Had an extremely kind and helpful staff member, which was much appreciated after a very long overnight bus journey! :) Everything was the best you could expect from a hostel. Great experience here all round!
    92%
    Kerrie M April 2015
    Hostel is more like a hotel but with impersonal and unwarm staff, antiquated facilities and not a lot of bang for your buck. Sydney is expensive but after staying in hostels in other Australian and Asian cities, the overall value and service here was shocking. I would not recommend it.
    45%
    Jessica B April 2015
    This is my favourite YHA. I am a late middle aged woman, usually travel alone and always book one of the rooms with a bathroom. I feel very comfortable at Sydney Central YHA. There is no need for a car as it is so convenient to get around on foot or by public transport (bus, tram and train). It also has a nice cafe if you just want to eat in.
    100%
    Sharron H April 2015
    Great location. I love the seating area on the 1/F as it is nice and quiet during the day.
    100%
    Henry L April 2015
    Great place to stay, it was clean + tidy friendly staff and would definitely stay there again :-))
    100%
    David B April 2015
    Great place for the young to commune with life and share experiences
    100%
    Maureen S April 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    89%
    8797 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    90%
    Condition of facilities
    84%
    Efficiency of service
    88%
    Friendliness of staff
    88%
    Location
    98%
    Overall atmosphere
    88%
    Safety & security
    91%
    Value for money
    84%