Search YHA

Hobart YHA

84%
Hobart , TAS

Hobart YHA is the most centrally located Hobart backpacker accommodation, only a a block from the city's waterfront.

$27
Check availability
  • Hobart Backpackers Montgomery's YHA & Private Hotel - Exterior
  • Hobart Backpackers Montgomery's YHA - Twin Share Room
  • Hobart Backpackers Montgomery's YHA - Family Room
  • Hobart Backpackers Montgomery's YHA - Ensuite Bathroom
  • Hobart Backpackers Montgomery's YHA - Double Room
  • Hobart Backpackers Montgomery's YHA - Multi-Share Dorm Room
  • Customer reviews of Hobart YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1242 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    I stayed at Montgomery's over the Easter holidays. When I arrived I expected it to look like the above photo. But it was not the hotel you see in the picture it's actually to the side about 100m down. The hostel was cramped. Tiny kitchen and not enough bathrooms. I spend about 25mins waiting for a bathroom to be free. Location is very good. And helpful staff.
    70%
    Bianca K April 2015
    I just wanted to comment on the availability of bathrooms. Although there are available bathrooms on Level 1, I think it's not sufficient, considering most people are rushing to catch 6am/7am tours. This morning, all the bathrooms on my level (3rd) were occupied and there was only 1 bathroom in Level 1 available (I was lucky!). Other than that, everything was great.
    82%
    Maria Carla Bren Vianney Y April 2015
    I made a great experience in staying here. The staff is so lovely and welcoming as they help you with everything. The YHA Hobart is perfectly located, you find shops nearby and it is just a 1min walk to the harbour. The only negative thing is that the hostel hasn't an elevator - but with nice people arround you, your luggage can be transported quickly ;) Thanks for the welcoming atmosphere!
    90%
    Julia A April 2015
    very good place, and the staff very friendly
    100%
    Jose Antonio M April 2015
    I spend over 100 for the so called private room. Which is extremely small and noisy. I can not have my luggage open. I can not fell asleep till mid night as the windows doesn't stop any noise from street. Its also very loud if it's windy. The window is lose and shake all the night. I suppose to stay one more night later but I immediately cancelled. It's the worse night I have been in Australia.
    55%
    wei y April 2015
    Nice hostel but there no places where you can sit, the kitchen is very small the lounge also. Well, have to find a place outside to write a letter for example. Or laying on your bed. Good lamps there! Beds on the 3rd Floor are better than the first.
    80%
    Catharina B April 2015
    The YHA in Hobart is so central, yet really quiet. I had a wonderful weekend and the best sleep ever. Even the communal bathrooms are really private so it doesn't even feel like you're sharing facilities. Everything you could want for a value for money stay in Hobart!
    98%
    Kim F March 2015
    Value for money accommodation in the heart of Hobart. Not luxury but practical.
    90%
    Lola S March 2015
    Dont stay in room facing the street. My room is right above the bar downstairs and can't sleep till 1ish am.
    78%
    Wing Na N March 2015
    Good location and staff very friendly.
    80%
    April L March 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    84%
    1242 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    84%
    Condition of facilities
    76%
    Efficiency of service
    85%
    Friendliness of staff
    91%
    Location
    94%
    Overall atmosphere
    76%
    Safety & security
    84%
    Value for money
    78%