Hobart - Montgomery' s YHA

  • Average customer ratings for this hostel

    • Average rating: 89%
    • Cleanliness: 90%
    • Condition of Facilities: 83%
    • Efficiency of Service: 87%
    • Friendliness of Staff: 95%
    • Location: 96%
    • Overall Atmosphere: 84%
    • Security and Safety: 88%
    • Value for money: 89%
    1076 customers have rated this hostel.
  • Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

  • Here are some of the satisfaction ratings we have received from previous guests:

    Ratings Guidelines

    Latest Reviews

    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:80%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating85%
    Lee Ling (Casslyn) W, August 2014
    Very friendly of staff & helpful.
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:80%
    • Overall Atmosphere:60%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:60%
    Customer Rating78%
    Michele M, August 2014
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:80%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating90%
    Jo H, August 2014
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Heather C, August 2014
    This is probably the best hostel I've stayed in, in all of Australia. The hostel was very quiet, obviously most people don't come to tassie in winter, but the staff were so attentive and friendly. Every morning they gave me advice as to where to go, what to see, where to eat and were happy to help me out booking tours. The hostel was clean and comfortable and really close to everything in Hobart.
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:60%
    • Value for money:60%
    Customer Rating80%
    Rebecca F, August 2014
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:60%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:80%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating88%
    Paula K, August 2014
    Very clean hostel and friendly staff. Minus: no wi-fi, no central heating, noisy street.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating95%
    Edward C, August 2014
    I found the hostel clean,and comfortable. The bathrooms and showers well above average. I would rate the kitchen excellent. The staff were pleasant and extremely helpful. All in all a very comfortable stay.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating98%
    Tanya S, August 2014
    Monty's was a home away from home on my travels, and the reception staff really went out of their way to help me with everything during my stay. They even turned the heating on in my room before I got home so I would be all warm and cosy! The room facilities are impeccably clean and its so well located close to the supermarket, the Salamanca markets & historic pub next door. Thanks so much guys!
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:60%
    • Efficiency of Service:40%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:80%
    • Overall Atmosphere:60%
    • Security and Safety:60%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating70%
    Derek S, August 2014
    The promised WiFi did not work so I couldn't contact important organisations.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Alan C, August 2014
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:80%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating95%
    john h, August 2014
    Well placed with Thrifty Car Hire and a good eating hotel both either side of the YHA.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Scott P, August 2014
    Loved my stay. great location, very central and everything is a short walk away. Highly reccomend
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating90%
    Hsiao Lin L, July 2014
    A nice compact hostel right in the heart of Hobart city. Friendly staff and comfortable surrounds. The kitchen was small but kept clean and tidy. There was also a small TV lounge with a couple of PCs. Very good heating within the hostel and ample showers and toilets located for those with shared rooms. Consideration should be made to have individual lockers in the shared rooms.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Vignesh G, July 2014
    Very helpful staff, very good location and very good facilities. Helped with shaping up my road trip plans and gave very knowledgeable suggestions as to how to get to places with expected durations.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating95%
    Camila D, July 2014
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:60%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating90%
    David P, July 2014
    Great location. Hostel quite good - although seems a bit austere. (Could do with some bright murals in passages and stairwell, and maybe some background music .) Good lighting in bathrooms - especially over mirrors ... wish other hostels would do the same.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:100%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:100%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating100%
    Bill S, July 2014
    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They made us feel very welcome and provided lots of helpful tips and assistance. The hotel is very conveniently located in the CBD, close to transport, the docks, shops and restaurants. Highly recommended.
    • Cleanliness:100%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:100%
    • Friendliness of Staff:100%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:100%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:100%
    Customer Rating95%
    Marcos S, July 2014
    Great place to stay, friendly staff, I would say one of the best hostels I have been in Australia.
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:80%
    • Location:80%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating80%
    Ho Kwan Y, July 2014
    I love you and you love me.
    • Cleanliness:80%
    • Condition of Facilities:80%
    • Efficiency of Service:80%
    • Friendliness of Staff:80%
    • Location:100%
    • Overall Atmosphere:80%
    • Security and Safety:80%
    • Value for money:80%
    Customer Rating82%
    Chris J, July 2014
    Well located in the centre of Hobart, Montys provides reasonably clean safe and affordable backpacker accommodation. Sheets and towels provided, room heating. Bathrooms large and pretty clean. Television room/lounge satisfactory. Service desk staff helpful. (Visitors need to remember that sleeping with the heaters on MAX is not healthy)