Search YHA

Cairns Central

88%
Cairns , QLD

Winner of the 2014 Best Backpacker Awards in the Queensland Tourism Awards, Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel has all a backpacker needs for a comfortable stay.

$21.50
Check availability
  • Cairns Central YHA Backpackers - Entrance
  • Cairns Central YHA Backpackers - Swimming Pool
  • Cairns Central YHA Backpackers - Dorm Room
  • Cairns Central YHA Backpackers - 4 Share Dorm
  • Cairns Central YHA Backpackers - Family Room
  • Cairns Central YHA Backpackers - Kitchen
  • Cairns Central YHA Backpackers - Hammocks
  • Cairns Central YHA Backpackers - Pool Table
  • Cairns Central YHA Backpackers - Tour Desk
  • Cairns Central YHA Backpackers - Dining Room
  • Customer reviews of Cairns Central

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (2365 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Well located, pretty ambiance, with knowledgeable staff
    100%
    Peter K April 2015
    central position. Very friendly and helpful staff always ready to suggest places to see or things to do.
    92%
    fran W April 2015
    Friendly and efficient staff!
    78%
    Nicola C April 2015
    Very friendly and helpful staff. Immaculately clean sheets are the best part. And, yes, great location. Overall, had a very comfortable stay. I recommend this place for those traveling to Cairns.
    92%
    Gopal A April 2015
    If you want any sleep, don't stay in this YHA! My double room was between a pretty but incredibly noisy at night courtyard and a main road... the worst two nights sleep I've had during our month in Aus... and that's with earplugs...
    70%
    Corinna H April 2015
    Fantastic time I will be back again very safe and friendly place I look forward to coming back .
    100%
    Nicholas K March 2015
    Always a great place to stay when in Cairns.
    82%
    Debra H March 2015
    I came to Cairns to do a five day dive course, I was planning on staying here for a week in total but a week turned into almost two months. My time at the YHA was one of the best in my life, I met loads of awesome people here. Every night we would hang out by the smoking area, listening to music, having a few drinks, playing pool, playing in the pool and just talking and having a good time.
    100%
    Jimmy A March 2015
    Great hostel in Cairns without the all night partying like some, but still fun! Great location.
    98%
    Courtney G March 2015
    Very central location within walking distance to esplanade, marine fleet terminal, Rusty's market etc. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent facilitie such as large kitchen, laundry and showers plus pancakes for breakfast! Room clean but could do with firmer mattress on my bed. A bit of noise if you are on the ground floor - it all adds to the backpacking atmosphere! Need free wifi soon!
    100%
    Mee Ling N March 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    88%
    2365 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    84%
    Condition of facilities
    82%
    Efficiency of service
    90%
    Friendliness of staff
    94%
    Location
    90%
    Overall atmosphere
    87%
    Safety & security
    90%
    Value for money
    88%