Murwillumbah YHA - Mt Warning

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Murwillumbah YHA - Mt Warning

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (370 guests have reviewed this hostel)
THE best YHA on the NSW North Coast by a fair stretch. Fantastic location, wonderful host (Tassie) and a great place to chill out and get back to basics. Can't recommend highly enough. Do yourself a favour and stay for a few days.
100%
Scott 25/04/2019
This great hostel. It is somewhat quirky, but well worth a visit. The owner is great is is very helpful. The deserves support as it is unlikely to continue once the owner decides to retire.
95%
Thomas W 06/03/2019
Spent around two weeks staying at the hostel and its fantastic!! The owner Tassie really does go above and beyond :) beautiful location too. Hiked up Mt Warning for the sunrise too which was beautiful! 10/10 all round would recommend to anyone
100%
Thomas H 26/02/2019
Great value Great host Great location
100%
John H 29/01/2019
The host Tassie was very welcoming, friendly, supportive and polite. He is more of a friend than a host. But also a very good host. The hostel is easy to reach by bus, situated by the river and has got amazing overall views. It is situated in a crater. So the flora is dipped into beautiful colours. You can see Mt. Warning from on of the decks of the hostel. The town is near to walk to and just lovely. If you have a car, the other villages are worth to look at, too. Lovely area to check out.
100%
Birgit R 20/01/2019
Tassie was friendly and welcoming. He kindly drove me to the Regional Art Gallery which was very interesting and the views were stunning! Tassie also gave me a tour around the town. The town is quaint and pretty, and I met a local artist. If you want a break from city and beach life, Murwillumbah is literally a breath of fresh air.
80%
Ellie R 19/01/2019
Great to be back at such a wonderful YHA with the best host of all time!
100%
Matthew Francis Paul T 02/01/2019
Lovely old skool kind of hostel. Peaceful setting (on the river), clean, it’s a quiet place. I stayed in the 8-bed dorm but had it all to myself:) Tassie the owner is very friendly and was really helpful in organizing a driver for me up to Mount Warning. I only stayed one night but if you stay longer a car would be helpful to discover the surroundings.
95%
Tiffany S 30/11/2018
Beautiful hostel and location but not good if you want to sleep - it was hot and stuffy and had to have all the windows and curtains open which was right by a noisy road. Check out the Red Ratllers gallery in Dunguay - it's a cafe in some beautiful refurbished railway carriages.
72%
Benjamin P 23/11/2018
Very quaint little hostel with a few years on it....on the river's edge and across the road from a great council swimming facility. The host was delightful...very helpful and inclusive. I would certainly stay here again...clean and loved the location.
98%
Bronwyn H 18/11/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

93%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
90%
Condition of facilities
87%
Efficiency of service
95%
Friendliness of staff
98%
Location
97%
Overall atmosphere
96%
Safety & Security
93%
Value for Money
91%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL