Search YHA

Port Stephens YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Port Stephens YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (301 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Set in a garden - it's leafy, it's lovely!
    100%
    Hadie M February 2017
    The kitchen was always tidy, this may be due to the type of people who stay here. There was always amazing wildlife around the camp - Dave the Possum who came out in the evenings and the Tawny Frogmouth chilling around the huts. The staff do as much as possible to make you feel welcome and fill your days with things to do. The only downside I would say is that the buses don't run to often (once an hour or less) so if you're there without a car you really have to plan your day.
    78%
    Aimee C February 2017
    This hostel is pretty unique in the YHA world. It is not a building, but rather a series of buildings in the bush with an outdoor kitchen. It is very conducive to meeting people, and is located in a beautiful setting in lovely Port Stephens.
    95%
    Sarah S January 2017
    This hostel was so relaxing and beautiful! It was a nice change from the others I have been in. And the swimming pool is a massive bonus as it's so beautiful! However due to it's location it is very remote and with limited buses every half an hour I would recommend having a car. I will return to this hostel without a doubt and would stay longer!
    90%
    Charlotte A December 2016
    The staff is so friendly and always willing to help.
    88%
    Derick December 2016
    Lovely spot. Great to hide in the rainforest setting
    100%
    Priska H December 2016
    Such a great atmosphere right in the middle of the bush. Loved it, wish I could've stayed longer..
    100%
    Marina B October 2016
    Sandy the owner couldn't have been more helpful. Loved the forest setting and all the facilities
    100%
    Jan f September 2016
    Stunning location with a great vibe. Loved the outdoor kitchen and retro games room. Staff were very friendly and helpful and accommodation was clean and comfortable.
    98%
    Lilian C August 2016
    Superb place with laughing Kookaburrahs at your door. No problem at all. We were welcomed by a personn just return to job after 7 years. She has been great with us.
    100%
    Francoise L August 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    89%
    301 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    83%
    Condition of facilities
    86%
    Efficiency of service
    93%
    Friendliness of staff
    98%
    Location
    86%
    Overall atmosphere
    91%
    Safety & Security
    87%
    Value for Money
    92%