Search YHA

Port Stephens YHA

  • Customer reviews of Port Stephens YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (266 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    This Hostel was worth the trip. Great place and staff. Very Clean
    95%
    JJ J January 2016
    Best experience ever, the atmosphere was so relaxing, the guests were all so nice and the staff went above and beyond to make everyones stay incredible!! Did not want to leave at the end of my 3 week stay as I felt so welcome and at home there. The outside kitchen is a great place for everyone to meet up and share stories and the staff run brilliant pancake breakfasts, pizza and movie nights for everyone. The hostel has such a natural, rainforest feel and is situated in such a beautiful part of Port Stephens, so close to perfect beaches and nice places to go out for adventures. I would absolutely go back the first chance I get!!
    95%
    Maddi L December 2015
    Great community of other backpackers and neat environment. :)
    82%
    Lukas M December 2015
    Wonderful hostel in it's only little jungle. Run by lovely, friendly people! Highly recommended as a quieter alternative to the bigger cities.
    98%
    Sarah P November 2015
    Some YHA are for all ages. Samurai is a real youth hostel. It is a great place to stay when you are young and adventurous. Also for single travellers, you are bound to meet soul mates. It is best compared to a camp site. Bungalows are basic with little bathroom facility.
    75%
    Maryanne S November 2015
    A great place to relax as it's secluded and peaceful. You need to rent a bike or have your own transport to get to the beaches and nature reserves.
    90%
    Helen C November 2015
    The best hostel I've stayed in! Great atmosphere, cosy bungalows in the middle of nature, beautiful surroundings, owners Sandy and Marc are very friendly and helpful, Definitely want to come back here!
    100%
    Anja D October 2015
    We get lots of advice from reception, we got discount about activities tickets. About environment, play room have many things can make fun. All room is so clearly
    100%
    Junyan F October 2015
    We originally planned to stay here for three nights but ended up staying here for ten! Every dat was a fun and spontaneous experience, the staff is amazing and I would like to add an honorable mention for Chris! (because she kindly asked for it) By far the best hostel we've stayed in in Australia!
    100%
    Bram d September 2015
    The bushsetting and the helpfulness of the manager make this a must-see hostel. The bush kitchen was a little drafty in this cold weather but would be a delight in the warmer weather.
    98%
    Yveline P July 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    90%
    266 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    86%
    Condition of facilities
    85%
    Efficiency of service
    94%
    Friendliness of staff
    97%
    Location
    89%
    Overall atmosphere
    93%
    Safety & security
    90%
    Value for money
    91%