Search YHA

Port Stephens YHA

90%
Anna Bay, NSW

Gorgeous beaches, lush bushland, stunning bay and sea views and a great chill-out spot - that's Port Stephens and its award-winning YHA.

$30
Check availability
  • Port Stephens YHA - Cabin
  • Port Stephens YHA - Double Room
  • Port Stephens YHA - Pool
  • Port Stephens YHA - Family Room
  • Port Stephens YHA - relaxing
  • Port Stephens YHA Hostel - Common Room
  • Port Stphens YHA - Statue
  • Port Stephens 4WD
  • Port Stephens Sand Boarding
  • Port Stephens YHA - Multishare
Right now in Anna Bay...
09:38 AM
|
7°C
|
Winter
  • Customer reviews of Port Stephens YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (245 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Planed to stay here for 3 days, ending up staying here for a week! Love this hostel, probably one of the best down under.
    98%
    Kasper M June 2015
    This was one of my favorite hostels. The staff was very friendly, generous and good at suggesting activities. It's a charming location too.
    90%
    Emmy G May 2015
    Great hostel to get away from the hubbub of the city and as a gateway to travel more up north! Sandy and Mark are very friendly and make you feel very welcome! They will help you out with anything going on, go the extra mile. Love the bungalows, back to basic! One thing to remember when you come: bring mosquito-repellent! Those damn little buggers love it out there in the rainforresty surroundings!
    90%
    Anne v May 2015
    Bit out of the way, but nice bushy setting. Room felt damp, but it had been raining beforehand. Nice comfy room but a bit cramped. A small table and chairs indoors would be handy. Bathroom cramped
    70%
    Russell E May 2015
    It's like living in a modern jungle, everything is in good condition
    100%
    Sze Lok F May 2015
    Samurai yha is one of the most relaxing and friendly YHA I have stayed at so far on my trip. Sandy and mark and their staff are really helpful and are always there to help you arrange something to do and help with organising your trip. I would recommend this YHA to anyone.
    98%
    Daniel L April 2015
    A really lovely hostel. Great setting. Sandy and Mark are lovely and go over and above to offer the best time. Some food and a wash bag went missing in the first night, but that is really unusual in my experience of backpacking and was not the hostel's fault. Other YHAs I've stayed in have lockers in the room, which might have helped but I would have still put my food in the room fridge provided.
    98%
    Jenefer D April 2015
    Friendly hostel, nice location - not too far to walk to the beach. Noisy local birdlife!
    92%
    Hazel A April 2015
    The facilities and management were unbelievable and I had a great time in Port Stephens overall thanks to he help of Sandy and Mark at the Hostel!
    95%
    Josh G April 2015
    Leave Sydney behind and relax in this very different hostel, set in the bush with good transport links to beautiful beaches. I was sorry to leave, hope to be back one day.
    92%
    Geraldine Y March 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    90%
    245 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    86%
    Condition of facilities
    88%
    Efficiency of service
    93%
    Friendliness of staff
    97%
    Location
    88%
    Overall atmosphere
    92%
    Safety & security
    88%
    Value for money
    90%