Port Stephens YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Port Stephens YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (359 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Great, not moving bunk beds, very clean facilities, kitchen outside 😍 No lockers though Overally very good!
82%
Daniel G 06/05/2019
The room was great! Very quiet. Lovely balcony outside set in the rainforest. The outdoor, covered kitchen area is also great! The games room was not so great. Very dark and dated and not very cozy. A bit pointless. WIFI in our room was non-existent. Having said this, I would stay again. This is because the gardens were gorgeous including birds etc. Staff is great. Guests are great. Kitchen area great. You do need a car to get here (or a bus).
100%
S W 19/04/2019
In humid conditions its hard to get bath towels etc to dry. No hooks in dorm room where the body heat was most effective. No hanging space at all in the rooms. Because of mosquitoes wish you had a screened open room, only option was to sit in bedroom or the dark tv room, found guests had to sit on their beds as you can only take so many bites. Please condsider this
78%
Edwina B 08/04/2019
Would love to stay here permantly if I could
100%
David V 02/04/2019
This hostel is incredible, feels like a hotel but with the social aspects of a hostel! Small so everyone knows each other meaning it’s great for solo travellers. A lot cleaner than you’d expect seeing as it’s very much amongst wildlife. The staff are amazing- super helpful!!! The local bus drivers are fab and willing to help as much as possible but buses aren’t that frequent so make sure you’ve got food etc.. as you can’t just stroll outside and grab a bite to eat.
98%
Ella D 26/03/2019
probably the best place I've been to so far, I think that the fact that it was a bit out from the city really made it all better, brought us closer and the surrounding was beautiful!
95%
Ella C 22/03/2019
This hostel is in a beautiful forest setting, great for those who love the outdoors. The staff were extremely friendly and everything was very clean. Overall it was a really friendly and social place. I’d recommend it!
92%
Lisa 11/03/2019
open atmosphere, relaxing ambiente
100%
Nadine K 15/02/2019
Completely different from the photo shown on website or app
58%
Wai Wing C 15/02/2019
The location, almost hidden in a rainforest
85%
Biagio S 11/02/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. 

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

88%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
90%
Condition of facilities
86%
Efficiency of service
93%
Friendliness of staff
96%
Location
80%
Overall atmosphere
90%
Safety & Security
85%
Value for Money
87%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL