Port Stephens YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Port Stephens YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (312 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Staff is very friendly and helpful. The hostel is a bit far away from everything for travelers on public transport, bus service (especially on Sundays) very infrequent. Highlights were the visits of the friendly opossum and the tawny frogmouth.
    78%
    Gunter T May 2017
    Needed some days out of the city and booked the hostel pretty spontaneously. I was overwhelmed, the bungalows in the little jungle are the perfect spot to rest. I loved the open kitchen and overall the whole location. Sandy and Mark are lovely people, and I'll definitely be back!
    100%
    Marie G May 2017
    It is my favorite hostel. It is located in a quiet area close to Tomaree National Park which makes it special. The staff is very friendly and makes you feel at home. I definitely will come back.
    100%
    Mauricio H April 2017
    What a wonderful place!!! You feel like in the middle of the jungle with lots of birds in the trees and possums visiting each night. Sandy and Mark really make you feel at home being extremely nice and helpful. We even got chocolate bilbies for Easter!!!! I met really special people there and some evenings a kind of magical atmosphere could develop with everybody in the outdoor kitchen talking with each other. I extended my stay and I wish I could have stayed forever. The wonderful pool would be a perfect office to work at...
    100%
    Melanie M April 2017
    Room opposite to the outdoor kitchen. Quit loud until late in the night.
    75%
    Nadine February 2017
    Great staff, beautiful location!
    90%
    Shona H February 2017
    Set in a garden - it's leafy, it's lovely!
    100%
    Hadie M February 2017
    The kitchen was always tidy, this may be due to the type of people who stay here. There was always amazing wildlife around the camp - Dave the Possum who came out in the evenings and the Tawny Frogmouth chilling around the huts. The staff do as much as possible to make you feel welcome and fill your days with things to do. The only downside I would say is that the buses don't run to often (once an hour or less) so if you're there without a car you really have to plan your day.
    78%
    Aimee C February 2017
    This hostel is pretty unique in the YHA world. It is not a building, but rather a series of buildings in the bush with an outdoor kitchen. It is very conducive to meeting people, and is located in a beautiful setting in lovely Port Stephens.
    95%
    Sarah S January 2017
    This hostel was so relaxing and beautiful! It was a nice change from the others I have been in. And the swimming pool is a massive bonus as it's so beautiful! However due to it's location it is very remote and with limited buses every half an hour I would recommend having a car. I will return to this hostel without a doubt and would stay longer!
    90%
    Charlotte A December 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    89%
    89%
    customer rating, based on 312 reviews
    Cleanliness
    84%
    Condition of facilities
    87%
    Efficiency of service
    93%
    Friendliness of staff
    98%
    Location
    86%
    Overall atmosphere
    91%
    Safety & Security
    85%
    Value for Money
    91%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!