Darwin YHA - Melaleuca on Mitchell

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Darwin YHA - Melaleuca on Mitchell

What travellers think
Reviews (1231 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Clean and safe accommodation, perfect for exploring Darwin. Lovely staff. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and highly recommend!
100%
Lexie A 11/11/2019
Very good experience in YHA Darwin
98%
Sophie R 10/11/2019
To few outlets for the number of people in the room and you have to get the cutlery set at reception for a 10 dollar deposit. The pools were lovely tho and everyone is so social.
85%
Solange T 09/11/2019
2 charge points for a 4bed dorm was not that much. I expect at least one for each bed.
90%
Malu C 09/11/2019
one word: perfect
90%
Jerry H 09/11/2019
The hostel for me was a good place to go back to at the end of the night. There was peace of mind knowing that our vehicle was safe.
65%
Zoe B 08/11/2019
I thought the place was a bit grungy on arrival and the building/facilities have seen better days. However, good location, you could have a swim if you want, good atmosphere and great bed to sleep in. I stopped in a mixed sex room and the people were dead friendly. All you can ask for really (as an older bloke!) :D
72%
James M 08/11/2019
Best hostel in Darwin
85%
Daniel H 08/11/2019
Very poor accomodation. Very tired, very dilapidated building and room. Our room contained stains on the bedding, scratchy sheets, a foul musty air conditioner and A rusty fridge. We also Witnessed rubbish left in the hallway for the entirety of our stay. We stayed one night of the originally booked two nights and chose to leave the following day. The pictures provided on the website were misleading. Never before have I felt the need to check out early due to a sub standard facilities until now.
38%
Robert G 06/11/2019
Easy to meet people
95%
Deborah A 03/11/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. 

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

80%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
70%
Condition of facilities
74%
Efficiency of service
80%
Friendliness of staff
84%
Location
92%
Overall atmosphere
80%
Safety & Security
81%
Value for Money
78%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL