Darwin YHA - Melaleuca on Mitchell

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Darwin YHA - Melaleuca on Mitchell

What travellers think
Reviews (1179 guests have reviewed this hostel)
The air con gave out an unpleasant odour turned it off then was a dripping sound quite loud wasn't easy to get back to sleep. Overall I didn't mind staying at your hostel was economical. Thank you. Room 17.
72%
Marilyn K 12/09/2019
Bit dissapointing to be honest. Very dirty (gross showers especially, stains in my sheet and dirty floors). WiFi was crap, AC was way too cold and had a super loud rattling noise which kept me up at night. The only decent thing about this place is the good location. Weird that in this survey I have to pick 3 descriptors for the hostel, but the options are very limited. I would pick old-fashioned, safe and dirty.
48%
Anouk 11/09/2019
The location is the best thing on it, but because of the bars around, we can't have a very nice sleep and the bethrooms weren't very clean. But still a good place to stay.
72%
Jaque R 09/09/2019
Very run down and not clean. In that regard, worst hostel I’ve ever stayed in. Room that I was in was clearly being lived in. That being said, when I got fed up with the cyclone state of disaster in the room, I went to reception for a new room, and the manager was fantastic and very willing to set me up in a better room. I greatly appreciated his understanding and efficient help. Great service definitely changed my experience around. But facilities desparately need some maintenance.
58%
Jonida R 03/09/2019
I have this image of YHA being quality hostel but it was unlike that and I am slightly disappointed. The bar and the loudness seems like a party hostel and also the facility provided was cheap. I had to ask for blankets, plates everything and make a visit downstaris to the reception each time. The fan beside my bed was also noisy and the little amount of soket was also disappointing.
60%
Miyana Y 02/09/2019
Great location, Friendly staff, always happy to help, bar reasonably priced, free food and party games too, perfect. Gonna miss the Darwin crew too
80%
Ryan H 02/09/2019
It was loud I could barely sleep at all because my room was facing the street so not much can be done about that. Next time I’ll ask for opposite side. Had to get up at 3am.
82%
Charlotte M 01/09/2019
Half the stove don’t work ! No plates, dishes and cutlery available and nobody at the reception advise on reception that we have to rent it !! Without a bar this place is simple motel ! And wifi is horrible. This place has absolutely nothing to compare with the other YHA in Australia !
65%
Rene B 31/08/2019
Was very dirty every where
55%
Joanne C 29/08/2019
more info on the cleanin g rota would have helped: what happens when
72%
Jan Y 29/08/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. 

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

75%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
68%
Condition of facilities
64%
Efficiency of service
78%
Friendliness of staff
85%
Location
89%
Overall atmosphere
73%
Safety & Security
75%
Value for Money
71%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL