Darwin YHA - Melaleuca on Mitchell

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Darwin YHA - Melaleuca on Mitchell

What travellers think
Reviews (1073 guests have reviewed this hostel)
location outstanding, staff helpful, room 10/10 - superbly equipped for the price, two swimming pools, easy car parking
95%
Graeme D 15/07/2019
It's in a good location and has large kitchen and laundry facilities.
65%
Catherine G 14/07/2019
Too noisy.kitchen too small.2plugs in a dorm of 4.very helpful and friendly staff.bicycle hire.
78%
I S 13/07/2019
Great location for exploring Darwin- 10-15min walk down to the waterfront district, nearby to other attractions/historical areas and easy access to supermarkets and the main shopping area. The YHA is surrounded by bars which means large amounts of competing noise for much of the night. The room was visited daily by housekeeping staff and fresh towels after 3 days - fabulous! However the bed was horrendous- no support, could feel the frame and the sheets slid off the plastic mattress.
82%
Alyce H 12/07/2019
I always stay in this hostel when visiting Darwin. The facilities are clean and the atmosphere is great. Only issue is one powerpoint in each dorm room, meaning everyone leaves their phones in one place overnight and everyone wakes up to the mad scramble to turn off alarms! I didn’t use the wifi so can’t comment. I love the pools, bar area and activities in the bar. And the aircon is great!
95%
Lisa L 10/07/2019
No free wifi in the room, chargers weren’t close to the bed
85%
Ricky S 10/07/2019
Fun for younger people, with bar, free dinner and nice pool. Kitchen could be improved.
78%
Georgette J 09/07/2019
Great location close to shops and attractions around Darwin. Plenty of other travellers to swap stories with. Adventure to the beach and check out the oil tunnels and take a nice walk along the esplanade. Also make your way to the museum, which is free and has lots of interesting exhibits including the devastating cyclone Tracey. Enjoy your time in Darwin. It’s a beautiful place to visit.
92%
Brett M 09/07/2019
Nice, full of life and party. Nice stuff, clean rooms. Relaxed place. Maybe too much party people in my room during this stay. Nights were quite restless.
85%
Reeta R 09/07/2019
Was great for the money but the noise at nice was horrible- had to get ear plugs
70%
Karen K 08/07/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. 

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

75%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
68%
Condition of facilities
64%
Efficiency of service
78%
Friendliness of staff
81%
Location
90%
Overall atmosphere
76%
Safety & Security
75%
Value for Money
71%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL