Darwin YHA - Melaleuca on Mitchell

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Darwin YHA - Melaleuca on Mitchell

What travellers think
Reviews (950 guests have reviewed this hostel)
It was a nice layout with friendly staff and a good atmosphere
95%
Morgyn H 23/05/2019
the hostel was good, the atmosphere not so much. there were random people coming in, lying down next to the pool and had a sleep. after that they woke up and leave. There were also a few roomdoors that stayed open. People blocked it with bottles or clothes. I'm glad I didn't stay in a room like that.
68%
Kelsey B 22/05/2019
I stayed there twice. The Sleeping in the Value in was quiter than in the YHA. But in whole both stays were good. The location is really very good. The coles next door and the Bars too. I did the Tiwi by Design Tour. It was a great experience. I can highly recommened it to others although it is not the cheapest.
90%
Sandra W 21/05/2019
I was only here for two nights and for a festival. I used the bar once was nice and could definitely see myself coming back and spending a night in the pool sipping cocktails. Right next to a great bar that is open late and good selection. Also a great coffee and brekky roll for the morning. (The tap)
98%
Callum W 21/05/2019
Usually I love the YHAs I've travelled so far. This one was very different. The bathroom was really dirty, no curtains in the shower, bad shower heads. Facilities not very nice, everything a bit gross. Bedrooms were fine,though not enough power stations, they should be in the locker so you can charge items while you're outside the room as well. Wouldn't go there a second time. The only good thing is the location.
60%
Victoria B 21/05/2019
The hostel is nice, very friendly staff and good location. The second time I stayed the mattress was too soft so that would be my only feedback!
85%
Jacoba V 20/05/2019
Very noisy, nowhere to relax that wasn't outside in the sun, not really clean
70%
Sue B 20/05/2019
it was a good place to stay. i wish i'd spent more time in the bar on the roof.
95%
Jarrod M 19/05/2019
The atmosphere is very party and social and in a very central location in the city! The hostel advertises free wi-fi, but this is only accessible on the pool deck, otherwise you need to pay a daily or weekly fee. In 2019, this is shocking. Especially as most other hostels in the area offer free wifi. The kitchen is very small and you need to rent you dishes/utensils from the front desk. Overall, I wouldn't stay here again as there are tons of other options with better features and cheaper cost.
70%
Katherine V 18/05/2019
card didn/t work..no reveption..window didn/t lock..
65%
Paul c 17/05/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

76%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
64%
Condition of facilities
63%
Efficiency of service
79%
Friendliness of staff
86%
Location
93%
Overall atmosphere
73%
Safety & Security
78%
Value for Money
71%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL