1770 YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of 1770 YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (139 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Had a room for myself, because there weren't many people staying there. However my room smelled quite strange and mouldy. The staff is really really friendly though.
    76%
    Daniela G August 2017
    I didn't know this was a YHA from the website. I thought I had booked into self contained appartments, of a higher standard, as this seemed to be indicated on the Agnes palms website.
    71%
    Rebecca E August 2017
    The hostel is the closest to the beach and really well organized! Rooms have their own (huge) bathroom and are very cute with paintings on the walls that make them very cozy and colorful. There is a huge lounge room with tv, Netflix and large sofas. The kitchen is well equipped, maybe a bit small. We went in winter so there were not that many people but I can imagine that in summertime it gets really crowded and festive, with lots of surfers (1770 is really a perl on the east cost, I would suggest everybody to stop there for a couple of days!).
    91%
    Marilisa B July 2017
    Handy location, 5 min walk to beach & shops, beautiful part of the world & brekky provided! The YHA have all walks and information on notice board!
    78%
    Jennifer G July 2017
    Nice hostel, friendly and amaizing staff !! recommend the Larc tour and the scooteroo tour !!
    100%
    Julien D July 2017
    Awesome and very helpful staff, calm and relaxed atmosphere. Would definitely come here again
    96%
    Nina July 2017
    More in Agnes water than 1770, but the hostel provides a shuttle if you want to go for sunset. Stay here for surfing, a small town, quiet hostel, good break from busy travel
    98%
    Ab P July 2017
    We stayed in a family unit and it had everything we needed. Very comfortable and loved the view of the bush. So close to the beach through a short bush walk. I really liked the lady I the office, she was extremely helpful and pleasant. Thanks
    82%
    Sandra G July 2017
    Fantastic staff, helped us where they could. Really appreciate that
    84%
    Timon S June 2017
    The room was lovely , it overlooked the bush and you could walk directly to the beach through a boardwalk access. Very peaceful. The shared kitchen facilities and common room were well appointed, great for backpackers.
    93%
    Jo H June 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    85%
    85%
    customer rating, based on 139 reviews
    Cleanliness
    82%
    Condition of facilities
    79%
    Efficiency of service
    86%
    Friendliness of staff
    94%
    Location
    83%
    Overall atmosphere
    85%
    Safety & Security
    84%
    Value for Money
    84%