COVID-19: Safe stay measures are being taken at all of our hostels and YHAs are following all relevant State based travel restrictions.
See our Covid page for full details.

1770 YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of 1770 YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (625 guests have reviewed this hostel)
YHA Agnes Waters over delivered in the sense that we did a last minute booking but still had a splendid experience. Our rooms were clean, it was super easy to communicate with the staff - who was extremely patient and helpful. They suggested the best surfing experiences and all other activities at YHA which we participated in were super fun. Everyone was super respectful as well. I highly recommend staying at YHA to anyone looking to travel on a budget without compromising on experience.
98%
Rucha P 12/01/2021
I really recommend this YHA- 1st - staffs are amazing!!! (especially Alice <3 she is so friendly and knowledgable!) 2nd- there is a room with A/C with TV etc- so there is always option for you to cool down (if it is rainy outside etc) 3rd- beach access is right there! you just walk through a little forrest (well there is a path..) and you will hit the beach. Thank you 1770 YHA!
100%
Amy K 10/01/2021
The manager Greg was fantastic and very knowledgeable about travelling and covid changes mean no activities but it was a little down hill from the check in. The room was mouldy and dirty. Some of the long term residents/ staff were cliquey and rude. A bit expensive for what it is.
55%
Elli D 09/01/2021
Great stay
100%
Darren F 05/01/2021
Greg was extremely welcoming and knowledgeable on the local area which was wonderful. The atmosphere was very friendly and the amenities for traveler’s was wonderful.
100%
Lana H 16/12/2020
Very comfy and clean hostel, Greg the manager runs the hostel in a professional and friendly manner, a very cool man, helpful and supportive as he showed on maps the attractions of 1770 and when he knew my wife's birthday, he congratulated her and sends a big slice of cake to her, me and my wife were very happy in our stay and the friendly atmosphere. Thank you Greg Natalia/ sammy
98%
Sammy W 15/12/2020
The manager Greg and he’s assistant Alice were so helpful and went out their way to make my stay as enjoyable as possible.
100%
Bradley G 08/12/2020
Great overall stay!
92%
Robert L 04/12/2020
The staff are really friendly n helpful, the facilities are also well-equipped with great locations...best of best choice for the trip of 1770!! Would highly recommended to my friends n peers as well
100%
25/11/2020
Lovely position amongst the trees and just a short walk to the beach. Very nice YHA with friendly staff who always kept the common areas clean and welcoming.
98%
Deborah F 22/11/2020

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

We will not publish inappropriate and/or offensive comments.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language, swearing or references to illicit drug usage.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

We will not publish any comments that are not directly related to the hostel, or your experience during your stay.

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated, incorrect or you did not stay at the hostel that you are commenting on.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

We will not publish comments that include full staff names, irrespective of whether your comment is positive or negative.

First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If you make a negative comment, we will remove any reference to particular staff members.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as major hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

94%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
90%
Condition of facilities
90%
Efficiency of service
94%
Friendliness of staff
97%
Location
97%
Overall atmosphere
96%
Safety & Security
94%
Value for Money
96%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL