1770 YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of 1770 YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (224 guests have reviewed this hostel)
- Water leaks from the A/C - the room stinks - dirty bed sheets - room was dirty - bad kitchen conditions - good breakfast - friendly staff
52%
Eric T 16/02/2018
The hostel had a really nice atmosphere and chill vibe. Lots of (cheap) day activities and the hostel has Netflix. Rooms are big and have their own bathroom. It’s a home away from home.
88%
Sterre H 11/02/2018
great staff! clean rooms! pity about the problems with the firealarm kitchen could be installed more practical.
92%
Nico D 09/02/2018
We did not have such great weather. But the crew was really hard that we could still make cool things. were also very helpful and always up for a joke. I can only continue to lack this hostel.
92%
Stefan A 06/02/2018
Sadly it did not come up to our expectations. At $99 we had a room with a great bathroom but a iced up freezer, no ice cube tray, a TV remote that didn't work until some maintenance, a very small and don't know the last time the bedside cabinets and top of microwave were dusted. To compare to Townsville where we had superb amenities plus continental breakfast and very friendly staff all for $89. No comparison.
48%
Ian T 02/02/2018
Great hostel but if you were to think you were getting a free breakfast and then only get some slices of bread you might be disappointed. If arriving late bring food as the supermarket is closed. Staff are superb and run daily activities with a free surf sess and a trip to the paperback forest. The sunset trip to 1770 is a must do.
75%
James D 02/02/2018
The air conditioning, including in the TV / common room was fantastic. It really made the stay so comfortable.
100%
Margaret M 18/01/2018
Clearer recycling procedure.
92%
Kelly S 14/01/2018
Did not completely enjoy staying here. The beds were really old and rickety and slept terribly. The whole place seemed a little dated. Staff were very friendly and helpful. With a little facelift this place would be great.
68%
Lizzie P 05/01/2018
My favourite hostel in Agnes/1770. Great vibe, clean, lovely people, cosy and surrounded by bushland.
92%
Toby N 05/01/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

83%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
79%
Condition of facilities
77%
Efficiency of service
88%
Friendliness of staff
92%
Location
81%
Overall atmosphere
82%
Safety & Security
83%
Value for Money
84%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL