Search YHA

Surfers Paradise YHA, Main Beach

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Surfers Paradise YHA, Main Beach

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1421 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    It's pretty far out of surfers paradise so if you want the Gold Coast but without all the hectic partying it's a good place to be. There are some good things to do besides clubbing/theme parks but you have to go out your way to find it. Not my favourite place in Oz...
    82%
    Rebecca P May 2016
    The cost of accomodation is very reasonable given that it is the gold coast. Staff were friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hostel with a very strong caveat: the common area (kitchen, dining, TV room) was very noisy in the evenings - I could not hear the TV - behaviour and noise levels were not monitored or managed by staff. Kitchen was messy. Fortunately the dorm was quiet and my roommates considerate. I was very glad that the room was not close to the common room! However the dorm was stuffy and I felt the need to leave the fan on most of the night to get some air-flow. The party atmosphere was tiresome for this 53 year old. There are so many places to party on the Gold Coast, I dont think it is fair to guests who are there for other reasons, if all guests are not respectful. I should say I did not complain to staff about the noise.I would probably recommend if a person preferred quiet peaceful accommodation and could afford to pay more, then they should look elsewhere.
    72%
    julia m May 2016
    good value
    100%
    Guy R May 2016
    Generally pleasant stay, nice and quiet and relax atmosphere It's a bit further out from main town so bit out of the way. There is free shuttle bus from the hostel but they run enough. Could do with more frequent Otherwise public bus is easy, only 10 mins away, but it's expensive No supermarkets near by so nearest one is in main town, so again not so convenient. Rooms are bit outdated and old, but it's clean and there is 2 fans in the room to keep cool. Big storage cupboard which is good The toilets and showers are bit far from the room, toilets being on one end of the room and the showers by the common area, which I found a bit strange Oddly layout and could do with more nearer the room. Kitchen and common area are generally clean and most of the stuff you need
    72%
    Peisze w May 2016
    Overall, we enjoyed the stay there. Very good value for money. Very friendly staff, Nathan and Katie are so helpful that we feel very much relaxed and they helped us to get us into the City Centre and got us back from there sharply to get our connecting flight to Auckland in time. Totally we enjoyed our stay. Hats off for Nathan and Katie.!!! Manion with Gowri.
    92%
    Muthuswamy M April 2016
    Staff was so nice and helped out with everything:):) Beach is just across the street. Shuttles for free- perfect.
    98%
    Regina R April 2016
    Really nice hostel with a friendly atmosphere, definitely worth a stay! Better air conditioning would be appreciated though!
    95%
    Ellen March 2016
    YHAs has always been one of my favourite hostel brands in Aus/NZ. Above average in most areas compared to other hostels but the atmosphere really depends on the traveller types on the date of stay... All in all, comfy, relaxed and I will be back...
    78%
    SEE CHEK L March 2016
    Good situation, close to the beach. Shops around.
    82%
    Monique R March 2016
    Location location location. Easy walk to beach and to Broadwater, posh shops and numerous eating venues - both cheaper and high end. And quiet. Easy parking. Also offered were shuttle transfers to airport and other places. Staff helpful.
    82%
    Kerry H March 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    83%
    1421 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    78%
    Condition of facilities
    74%
    Efficiency of service
    87%
    Friendliness of staff
    92%
    Location
    80%
    Overall atmosphere
    81%
    Safety & security
    87%
    Value for money
    82%