Search YHA

Surfers Paradise YHA, Main Beach

  • Customer reviews of Surfers Paradise YHA, Main Beach

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1236 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    We found TAH Surface Paradise to be good value for money they have fantastic people woring there and curtieous getting outofv the way in the line of duty to help any way they can
    95%
    Andrew B August 2015
    I am really disappointed with this YHA hostel as I have had such good experiences elsewhere. The free shuttle bus came on time but the driver completely ignored us and was chatting for 10 minutes. At the hostel the bunk beds were so small I hit my head on them. The floor was rancid and there was a dead crab as well. I did see that the other rooms looked a bit better and newer. Toilets need refurbished. I am happy I left
    38%
    Amy D August 2015
    Hostel far from everything even if the marina is nice. Atmosphere not friendly at all. I did not like to stay There... Room really dirty.
    65%
    Emilie C August 2015
    Like the free transfer bus n staffs in receiption r very friendly n kind
    85%
    YUCHEN X August 2015
    The bus 704 is handy from Helensville train station. Get off at Mariners Cove.
    88%
    Catherine S August 2015
    Clean and quiet hostel.
    80%
    Bo Z July 2015
    YHA give this hostel a grade 4 out of 5, when you compare this with the YHA in Sydney Harbour (5) and Katoomba (5) this isn't what you aspect. I Will grade this grade 2, is was too expensive for the facility -
    42%
    Paul S July 2015
    Good value for money.
    95%
    Rodney M July 2015
    Great location...bit of noise from the bar next door but otherwise ok. Well stocked kitchen...bit random that you had to walk through the common room to go to the bathrooms though.
    92%
    Janine H June 2015
    Main Beach close by, beautiful stars in the sky during the night, good for bodyboarding beginners in the
    88%
    Hei Man K June 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    82%
    1236 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    80%
    Condition of facilities
    78%
    Efficiency of service
    86%
    Friendliness of staff
    90%
    Location
    76%
    Overall atmosphere
    79%
    Safety & security
    87%
    Value for money
    80%