Search YHA

Surfers Paradise YHA, Main Beach

  • Customer reviews of Surfers Paradise YHA, Main Beach

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1341 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    This was a fine hostel to be in, an inconvenient location for my purposes and the shuttle didn't help because either I was leaving early to catch my bus out or late to go see the Surfers night life. The rooms were quite clean, the kitchen was a mess but that was due to other guests. The common areas were nice and open to the outdoors so it didn't matter that there was no air conditioning. When we arrived the woman at the front desk was quite dismissive while talking to a friend/coworker and we had had a hard day so that was frustrating. Other than the check in the employees were really pleasant and helpful.
    68%
    Ashton R February 2016
    Initially, I had bad thoughts about living in backpacker hosrel especially due to my doubts regarding cleanliness. However, I stayed two nights i must tell you that i found iit quite clean and service was good. Value for money. Nice place to make friends from different countries and culture.
    80%
    Harshavardhan K February 2016
    Overall the accommodation was okay. The room was quite spacious and had a nice bathroom. We had to make our own way to the hostel and it is not close to the main busy area. The shuttle bus was useful but the van wasn't good so it always had problems, they even told us that we might have to take the public bus with our own expense. The kitchen was quite dirty. Sofas and cushions feel like they are never washed. Staff didn't really seem like they wanted to help you much and it was so chilling that we couldn't really tell who's the stuff and the guests. One night a group of people were playing drinking games in the common area and there were some stuff too but never really seem to care about the loudness. Wished they paid more attention to the rest of the guests.
    55%
    Amy J February 2016
    My 1st day I was greeted by friendly staff, she explained the house rules & my requirements. Also if I had any questions just feel free to ask them & they can help. This is my 2nd time stayin at a YHA & I can tell you, this 1 totally had my thumbs uo. Thank you all at Marine Cove YHA👍😎👍
    100%
    Teresa R February 2016
    Regular fans in the room don't really do anything when it's 38 celcius outside. So it was hard getting sleep at night because of the heat and the stuffy air in the room.
    65%
    Charlotte O February 2016
    Really good quality-to-price ratio, specially considering that I went there on January (busy period). It has all the facilities you need, the kitchen is full equiped and the bathrooms are clean. There was a friendly environment full of backpackers, and the location was perfect, there's a bus station just in front of the hostel. I highly recomended it.
    98%
    Catalina A January 2016
    Hostel was clean, good vibe, helpful staff . I travelled with 6 yr old and heard no swearing and had a peaceful night but for a little muffled music unrelated to the hostel but coming from Fisherman's Wharf Tavern. Bed and pillows comfy and clean. Other visitors were happy for my daughter to watch Elmo the next morning and were very lovely and considerate towards having a little one amongst them. Will stay again in a double room, still think price per night should be slightly cheaper!!!
    88%
    Vicki C January 2016
    When we arrived the staff were too insconsed in a private joke to pay any attention to us. We got a slap dash check in service with little information about the hostel and the facilities. The staff continued to laugh uncontrollably at something that one member had to excuse herself. We arrived in room 116 to be greeted by utter filth. The staff were unfriendly and dismissive. An altogether unpleasant experience.
    45%
    Janice B January 2016
    the place was full of warmth. discipline was followed by all those who stayed there. The community kitchen is the best place to hang out and make new buddies. all are very helpful. i would strongly recommend yha for singles, buddies and families to stay who are on vacation,. that the essence to be.
    95%
    Shreelaalit J January 2016
    Nice place in a quite location. For me was perfect because I didn't want to be in the busy area of surfers paradise! Everything was clean and tidy, and the staf was really nice. I enjoyed my stay there!
    88%
    Maria T January 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    74%
    1341 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    72%
    Condition of facilities
    70%
    Efficiency of service
    78%
    Friendliness of staff
    84%
    Location
    68%
    Overall atmosphere
    72%
    Safety & security
    81%
    Value for money
    71%