Search YHA

Surfers Paradise YHA, Main Beach

Check in
Check out
  • Customer review of Surfers Paradise YHA, Main Beach

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1485 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Not the best location, have to get a bus into town if the hotels busses dont suit you as they dont run often.
    65%
    Katherine B August 2016
    Super friendly and helpful staff. Was worried how me and my boy would fit in as new to hostels but made us very welcome. Will be coming back again 😃
    98%
    Ruth B August 2016
    First of all - great service. Cool and easy going. Our flight was so delayed coming in from Sydney in the evening then we had to go have dinner before making our way late to the YHA to check in - around 10:30pm I think. We hadn't pre-arranged a late arrival but we were still met with great service by the night staff - the man gave us our key and showed us directions, we were able to get some rest within 5 minutes. Easy. We really appreciated this! Everything else was great too - mostly quiet and peacful stay, comfortable bed in the double room, towels provided, clean establishment right throughout, great showers, comfortable lounge room/ TV area, spacious balcony adjoined to the kitchen area where you can enjoy the refreshing sea breeze. Waking up there on a Saturday morning allows you to visit the fruit and vegetable farmers market at Marina Mirage next door.. We picked up a few gourmet and quality organic produce for some loose change and enjoyed them in the morning sun back at the YHA balcony area. Next door to Sea World and an easy bus to/from central Surfers Paradise within a few minutes, which made for convenience. This is my second time staying here, both times really cool. Cheers staff at YHA Surfers Paradise (main beach), I will be back. :)
    98%
    Leigh M August 2016
    The shuttle bus service from Coolangatta airport to the hostel is very good. I enjoyed walking around the area.
    78%
    Jenny R August 2016
    I love the view.
    100%
    MICHAEL W August 2016
    Staff were really friendly and the hostel is right on the marina. The hostel is in a good condition and has a good atmosphere!
    95%
    Leah T August 2016
    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I had a great stay.
    100%
    Karen August 2016
    Good location, just 150 meters from the beach. Staff is nice. The cleanliness of the bathroom was correct. However, it is a noisy hostel. In particular, we didn't appreciate that a member of the staff (working there in free accomodation probably) was doing skateboard on the terrace whitch is just in front of the rooms. (and sometime early in the morning!)
    60%
    Jean Samuel Antoine Marie D August 2016
    Great atmosphere. Great staff. Great location. Great for kids.
    100%
    Cherith H August 2016
    staffs were very friendly, especially Nate. He provided lot of recommendations for our trip.
    85%
    Wai I W July 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    84%
    1485 customers have reated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    80%
    Condition of facilities
    78%
    Efficiency of service
    90%
    Friendliness of staff
    94%
    Location
    79%
    Overall atmosphere
    82%
    Safety & Security
    85%
    Value for Money
    80%