Surfers Paradise YHA, Main Beach

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Surfers Paradise YHA, Main Beach

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (1701 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Great hostel. Not the best location
    82%
    Kirsty B May 2017
    It was good! Stayed on Monday and Tuesday nights so very quiet. Even had a 6 bed room all to myself the second night. Can imagine it gets pretty crowded over holidays etc. Staff were awesome
    85%
    Holly S May 2017
    Great place to stay if you want to be out of the city. The room and facilities were clean. There is lot of plugs in the room and lockers for more safety. The staff at the reception is very friendly :) The only "down" was the free wifi which was very slow as per usual...
    92%
    Gladys B May 2017
    Great YHA. Fab location.
    100%
    Andrew T May 2017
    The room is near the coastal restaurant and the restaurant was playing noisy music on weekend nights till 10:30. There is limited space inside the room.
    55%
    KALO F May 2017
    The staffs here, Michael and Antony, they are just awesome, they made my stay here so warm and thank you guys for what you've done for me!
    90%
    Chi Yung L May 2017
    This hostel was quite nice! Very unique to other YHAs I've stayed at. I like that the common room was open air, and all the rooms branched off of an open-air walkway. The outdoor/indoor concept of the hostel gave it a tropical vibe. The rooms and bathroom were standard but clean. The hostel staff at the front desk were the friendliest and most helpful of any hostel I've been to. They accommodated my group of six (4 of us booked together and 2 didn't) to find a way to put us all in the same 6-person room. The location was okay-- it was about a 15-minute uber ride (40-minute bus ride) into the heart of surfer's paradise where all the clubs and restaurants are located. If you don't mind being a little further from the downtown and want to be near the beach and marina, then this hostel is great! There was a great shopping centre with a nice weekend market next door, and if was steps away from Gold Coast Jetski Safari, which is an excursion I would definitely recommend. Great hostel, great experience, and great value for your money.
    88%
    Eliana R May 2017
    The staff here are super nice and efficient! The location is quite close to my working place. I really enjoyed living here!
    95%
    Feng Z May 2017
    Good hostel for the price, not close to the center but there's a free shuttle bus. Great open common area. Off season so not many people. Security is not too good though, if somebody leaves the window to the room open, other people can reach inside through it and unlock the door.
    82%
    Marisa May 2017
    The hostel is dated and extremely run down. Luckily the staff were amazing.
    68%
    Darren L May 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    80%
    80%
    customer rating, based on 1701 reviews
    Cleanliness
    74%
    Condition of facilities
    69%
    Efficiency of service
    89%
    Friendliness of staff
    93%
    Location
    80%
    Overall atmosphere
    74%
    Safety & Security
    82%
    Value for Money
    78%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!