Search YHA

Surfers Paradise YHA, Main Beach

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Surfers Paradise YHA, Main Beach

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1619 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Great location and staff were very helpful with excursions and getting our group relevant information. Walk across the street and there are miles of beaches and trails - amazing spot and if you walk down the beach can walk right into surfers.
    100%
    Doug T February 2017
    Pros: Really welcoming staff, clean, decent size rooms, free shuttle into Surfers Paradise, nice lounge/common area. Cons: No air con in room and fans not effective
    98%
    Francesca A February 2017
    Too expensive for the facilities I used. No Air-Con, No private bath & $76 a night for this facility is too much specially when occupied by single person who can not climb up at Dormitory.
    55%
    Jagdish K February 2017
    The hostel is a little far from city center. It's not a problem thanks to the free shuttle hostel you can easily join surfers paradise. I just talked to Dani, she is really nice. But all the staff looks friendly. There is a fitness trail one km away from the hostel in Philip park.
    92%
    Olivier P February 2017
    Awesome place to stay. Was great and easy to get to the Gold Coast airport and everyone was friendly and made sure that everything was sorted. Thanks heaps
    100%
    Rosemary C February 2017
    1. No Air condition in rooms and common area, I stayed in No. 119 which is roasted by sun from morning, I couldn't stay in the room for a while in daytime. 2. The aisle to my room smell terrible, not sure what cause it, maybe the blanket?
    72%
    Gaohui C February 2017
    Faulty soap dispenser in toilet. Would YHA please consider making a difference by :- - joining Tomato Hostel in Turin Italy in reducing plastic pollution by not selling bottles of water, but providing a water fountain, and - putting large clear body wash containers in every shower? These measures would keep millions of plastic bottles out of landfill and the environment.
    88%
    Robert G February 2017
    There is no air con in the room and the location of the toilets are poorly designed. Ground floor to second floor room is quite inconvienent and misleading. The bed blanket isn't clean and the room smells. The fan is very noisy.
    42%
    T L February 2017
    A cold beer on the verandah at the end of the day with mates over looking the yachts. A short walk across to the surf beach, including a patrolled Surf Life Saving section of Main Beach, with restaurants and bars at your door, including a free shuttle to and from Surfers Paradise supplied by Main Beach YHA. The 704 bus stop at the door for commuters, and it's so quiet at night to sleep. What more could you want.
    85%
    Tony A January 2017
    Kitchen not clean, toiletstall not clean (there is blood on the inside of the door) and rooma quite small
    62%
    Jannecke N January 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    78%
    1619 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    71%
    Condition of facilities
    69%
    Efficiency of service
    86%
    Friendliness of staff
    91%
    Location
    72%
    Overall atmosphere
    78%
    Safety & Security
    83%
    Value for Money
    73%