Search YHA

Surfers Paradise YHA, Main Beach

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Surfers Paradise YHA, Main Beach

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1503 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Venant de Brisbane City YHA j'ai trouvé cette auberge moins bien... L'emplacement est vraiment le point négatif : loin du centre, des magasins, de la vie nocturne de Surfers Paradise... L'auberge propose une navette gratuite pour le centre-ville mais le dernier retour est à 16h30, ce qui me semble un peu tôt... Mais si vous voulez vous détendre sur la plage, il vous suffit de traverser la rue :) L'auberge est assez propre malgré son aspect vieillot et le staff est sympa.
    72%
    Camille G September 2016
    Really cheap for the good location.
    80%
    RU B September 2016
    Just a bit noisy up to 11pm as its right next to a bar Luckily i had some music and headphones ...But very quiet after that If your socialising its ok .Rooms they are private I had a double bed in a room on ,my own have a lot of space ..beds comfy Location excellent .. good supply of shops and places to eat and drink next door Staff/ Manager very chatty helpful and approachable
    80%
    sharron D September 2016
    Generally the hostel was all right, I had just one HUGE PROBLEM: my room stinked!!! it was just like a cave of a lion... my smaller problems: - the spring of my bed was rotten, and it came out of the bed!!! and I was not convinced about the cleanness of the linens...(you could maybe wrap them in something or give them personally to the guest) otherwise the hostel coul be a nice one, but these are main issues... Best regards
    85%
    Rapcsak T September 2016
    Good location, very accessible to the shops.
    90%
    William J F September 2016
    Nice staff in a great location with a quiet beach nearby and restaurants as well. The hostel also has bikes for rent which is handy for a ride along the coast and into town.
    100%
    Andrew M September 2016
    Had a nasty smell Very "awkward" setting One male kept at my daughter asking where we lived etc not somewhere I'd like to have my child again unfortunately as the staff in the office were great!!
    58%
    Chantel E August 2016
    Not the best location, have to get a bus into town if the hotels busses dont suit you as they dont run often.
    65%
    Katherine B August 2016
    Super friendly and helpful staff. Was worried how me and my boy would fit in as new to hostels but made us very welcome. Will be coming back again 😃
    98%
    Ruth B August 2016
    First of all - great service. Cool and easy going. Our flight was so delayed coming in from Sydney in the evening then we had to go have dinner before making our way late to the YHA to check in - around 10:30pm I think. We hadn't pre-arranged a late arrival but we were still met with great service by the night staff - the man gave us our key and showed us directions, we were able to get some rest within 5 minutes. Easy. We really appreciated this! Everything else was great too - mostly quiet and peacful stay, comfortable bed in the double room, towels provided, clean establishment right throughout, great showers, comfortable lounge room/ TV area, spacious balcony adjoined to the kitchen area where you can enjoy the refreshing sea breeze. Waking up there on a Saturday morning allows you to visit the fruit and vegetable farmers market at Marina Mirage next door.. We picked up a few gourmet and quality organic produce for some loose change and enjoyed them in the morning sun back at the YHA balcony area. Next door to Sea World and an easy bus to/from central Surfers Paradise within a few minutes, which made for convenience. This is my second time staying here, both times really cool. Cheers staff at YHA Surfers Paradise (main beach), I will be back. :)
    98%
    Leigh M August 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    84%
    1503 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    79%
    Condition of facilities
    76%
    Efficiency of service
    90%
    Friendliness of staff
    96%
    Location
    83%
    Overall atmosphere
    81%
    Safety & Security
    86%
    Value for Money
    81%