Search YHA

Surfers Paradise YHA, Main Beach

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Surfers Paradise YHA, Main Beach

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1517 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Great value for money ,,will defiantly stay there again ,,,very relaxed and cool atmosphere ..thank you
    Simon J October 2016
    Staff were friendly but the room smelt so bad I couldn't stay, it made me want to be sick. Ended up staying in a hotel at my own expense.
    Frances M October 2016
    It's very close to the Sea World. Main beach is very nice place beautiful and quiet. You can get bus to anywhere u want. And every night there are some activities in the hotel. I love this place.
    ZiDan G October 2016
    Venant de Brisbane City YHA j'ai trouvé cette auberge moins bien... L'emplacement est vraiment le point négatif : loin du centre, des magasins, de la vie nocturne de Surfers Paradise... L'auberge propose une navette gratuite pour le centre-ville mais le dernier retour est à 16h30, ce qui me semble un peu tôt... Mais si vous voulez vous détendre sur la plage, il vous suffit de traverser la rue :) L'auberge est assez propre malgré son aspect vieillot et le staff est sympa.
    Camille G September 2016
    Really cheap for the good location.
    RU B September 2016
    Just a bit noisy up to 11pm as its right next to a bar Luckily i had some music and headphones ...But very quiet after that If your socialising its ok .Rooms they are private I had a double bed in a room on ,my own have a lot of space ..beds comfy Location excellent .. good supply of shops and places to eat and drink next door Staff/ Manager very chatty helpful and approachable
    sharron D September 2016
    Generally the hostel was all right, I had just one HUGE PROBLEM: my room stinked!!! it was just like a cave of a lion... my smaller problems: - the spring of my bed was rotten, and it came out of the bed!!! and I was not convinced about the cleanness of the linens...(you could maybe wrap them in something or give them personally to the guest) otherwise the hostel coul be a nice one, but these are main issues... Best regards
    Rapcsak T September 2016
    Good location, very accessible to the shops.
    William J F September 2016
    Nice staff in a great location with a quiet beach nearby and restaurants as well. The hostel also has bikes for rent which is handy for a ride along the coast and into town.
    Andrew M September 2016
    Had a nasty smell Very "awkward" setting One male kept at my daughter asking where we lived etc not somewhere I'd like to have my child again unfortunately as the staff in the office were great!!
    Chantel E August 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    1517 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & Security
    Value for Money