Search YHA

Surfers Paradise YHA, Main Beach

  • Customer reviews of Surfers Paradise YHA, Main Beach

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1258 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Hostel is right next door to Marina Cove, restaurants and shops which is handy. I had a conference to attend at the Sheraton which was across the road.The beach is only a hop and a skip away. There's a cool breeze at days end and the marina is nice to walk around at night. The free shuttle to Surfers was appreciated as was having free wifi internet. Sea World is only a 10 minute walk North of the hostel.
    Gareth J October 2015
    Staff are pretty rude or, at best, ambivalent. The ground is usually sticky with booze and the wifi is painfully slow. Got a double for two males, but there was only one bed. I've stayed at dozens of hostels with a friend, and this was the only place we didn't get twin beds.
    Brennon W October 2015
    Very nice hostel, near the beach and the harbour. The Staffs are very friendly and helpful. The room was clean also the kitchen, bathroom and lounge. I enjoy my staying in the hostel.
    Iris S September 2015
    A bit noisy at night with people on the varandahs next to the bedrooms, not by the kitchen. I had to get up early, so not so good that.
    Brian R September 2015
    Great location, handy kitchen and friendly staff!
    Jatin K September 2015
    Not in the city center, so you need to catch a bus from the coach terminal. It costs $5.6. Or you can wait for the free shuttle bus which only four times a day.
    Jing L September 2015
    I only had an overnight stay and wished i could have stayed longer. It was a great place to stay on the harbour front which was fascinating to wander around. A courtesy bus at intervals during the day made a trip to the centre of Surfers easy. I loved the wide spacious verandas outside all the rooms. The views were great. altogether a wondrous place to stay and all the services were par excellence. Thank you hostel for a great overnight stay.
    Esther P September 2015
    There is no heater in the room, so it can be cold in winter. But the quality of the blanket is awesome. It made me feel warm and comfortable overnight.
    Paul S September 2015
    We found TAH Surface Paradise to be good value for money they have fantastic people woring there and curtieous getting outofv the way in the line of duty to help any way they can
    Andrew B August 2015
    I am really disappointed with this YHA hostel as I have had such good experiences elsewhere. The free shuttle bus came on time but the driver completely ignored us and was chatting for 10 minutes. At the hostel the bunk beds were so small I hit my head on them. The floor was rancid and there was a dead crab as well. I did see that the other rooms looked a bit better and newer. Toilets need refurbished. I am happy I left
    Amy D August 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    1258 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money