Search YHA

Surfers Paradise YHA, Main Beach

  • Customer reviews of Surfers Paradise YHA, Main Beach

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1291 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    YHA at Surfers Paradise is perfectly positioned between a beautiful marina and the beach!! Literally two minutes to the turquoise waters of the Coral sea while overlooking the docked yachts is a treat to any beach-loving backpacker!!! The building called 'Mariner's Cove' has an antique look with a spacious wooden balcony from where the sunset can be enjoyed on a breezy summer evening while reading a book over some coffee (or just chillin' with your mates over a few beers if that's your thing); either way you'll have a great time!!! The staff members are very friendly, easy-going and helpful!! The bus stop is right in front of the building and there are a lot of places just around the corner to enjoy local seafood viz.The Fisherman's Wharf tavern which offers an amazing range of coastal cuisine. Sea World is the next bus stop while adventure sports like Jet Skiing, Surfing and Para-Sailing are a stone's throw away!! I really enjoyed my stay; it was very comfortable and convenient!! Would definitely recommend anyone planning a holiday and hope to stay there again on my next trip!! Cheers.. :)
    Raviraj S November 2015
    The location is great, staff very friendly, complex is getting a little old, but over all a pleasant stay
    Ann l November 2015
    Loved my stay, staff were so nice :)
    Olivia R November 2015
    Kitchen was messy all the time. People were not cleaning up after themselves. We have been travelling with YHA for a month and this hostel is the worst.
    Marie-Josee G November 2015
    Friendliest hostel I have ever been to. Though it is not right down town in Surfers Paradise, the shuttle bus was helpful and public transportation works too. I would definitely recommend staying here.
    Nina W November 2015
    Very affordable and quite clean
    David Han Z November 2015
    I really enjoyed this hostel. Clean.... friendly..... easy access to beach. Nice laid-back atmosphere. Good for me but not party people. I like that!
    John V November 2015
    This is easily the worst YHA stay of mine in the last 4 years, comparably. Other than the location advantage, there is nothing much to talk about it. The very basic expectation of the backpacking community atmosphere is clearly missing.
    ArunKarthik Babu R October 2015
    It was cleaner than I had expected. Great accommondation. Although, the rooms are a bit warm during the night.
    Elise v October 2015
    A few issues did complain but not sure if they listened to them all. They offer a curtesy bus but only operated at certain times. First is at 9:20am and that was the time the greyhound was leaving transit centre and we arrived at 6:45pm but last bus left transit centre at 4:20pm. so had to get public bus at own cost. Don't know why they say on web/leaflet if arriving by bus then they have a curtesy bus!!
    Ashley L October 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    1291 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money