Search YHA

Surfers Paradise YHA, Main Beach

  • Customer reviews of Surfers Paradise YHA, Main Beach

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1288 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Kitchen was messy all the time. People were not cleaning up after themselves. We have been travelling with YHA for a month and this hostel is the worst.
    Marie-Josee G November 2015
    Friendliest hostel I have ever been to. Though it is not right down town in Surfers Paradise, the shuttle bus was helpful and public transportation works too. I would definitely recommend staying here.
    Nina W November 2015
    Very affordable and quite clean
    David Han Z November 2015
    I really enjoyed this hostel. Clean.... friendly..... easy access to beach. Nice laid-back atmosphere. Good for me but not party people. I like that!
    John V November 2015
    This is easily the worst YHA stay of mine in the last 4 years, comparably. Other than the location advantage, there is nothing much to talk about it. The very basic expectation of the backpacking community atmosphere is clearly missing.
    ArunKarthik Babu R October 2015
    It was cleaner than I had expected. Great accommondation. Although, the rooms are a bit warm during the night.
    Elise v October 2015
    A few issues did complain but not sure if they listened to them all. They offer a curtesy bus but only operated at certain times. First is at 9:20am and that was the time the greyhound was leaving transit centre and we arrived at 6:45pm but last bus left transit centre at 4:20pm. so had to get public bus at own cost. Don't know why they say on web/leaflet if arriving by bus then they have a curtesy bus!!
    Ashley L October 2015
    Fantastic hostel just near the beach, wish could stay more days!
    Ewan Y October 2015
    The mattress is so old and broken already, I even can feel the spring in the mattress as I slept. The carpet in our room was so dirty and smelly. Not a good choice for staying.
    YI RU H October 2015
    Hostel is right next door to Marina Cove, restaurants and shops which is handy. I had a conference to attend at the Sheraton which was across the road.The beach is only a hop and a skip away. There's a cool breeze at days end and the marina is nice to walk around at night. The free shuttle to Surfers was appreciated as was having free wifi internet. Sea World is only a 10 minute walk North of the hostel.
    Gareth J October 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    1288 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money