Search YHA

Melbourne Metro YHA

  • Customer reviews of Melbourne Metro YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (4762 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Lovely clean hostel. Couple mins walk from Victoria market which always have something happening. Would highly recommend this hostel
    85%
    Emma R February 2016
    As far as backpackers go, not a bad place to stay at all. It's clean, staff were helpful, and it's not a party place, which is great for me because I wasn't looking for that. I was here whilst I secured permanent accommodation, and was working at the same time - so I'm hardly a typical backpacker! However, staying here was invaluable as I was on a budget and it's in a great part of town, it's away from the hustle of the city, but close enough if that's your thing, and you can get around pretty easily. It's near a very cool part of Melbourne, which has all the things you might need for a short-stay (bars, noodle bars, restaurants, cafes, etc). The one thing which I think they need to look into is the common area. It's got a poor ambience, and I think part of it is due to the lighting situation. It feels like you're in a McDonald's with the neon lights on all the time. The fridge situation is a bit of a free-for-all, and the kitchen is normally chocka. However, that's being picky, all up a good place to stay. I've been in better backpackers, and I have certainly stayed in worse. Good overall. Another thing which I liked was the staff moved me from my dorm room to another when I ended up sharing with somebody who can only be described as a religious lunatic. I checked him out on the net (booted out of Canada, etc), and somehow he had ended up in the same dorm as me - that's luck I suppose. My other room mates were all great.
    78%
    Derek S February 2016
    The situation is just a trams throw from the bus station, cannot be walked. For those who have a cr it is good as can park your car. The Victoria market is. Block away. The area is quiet and can walk about some cafes and tram 57 and 55 into city center 10 minutes drive. Lovely roof top where it is quiet and area for eating and kitchen good.
    92%
    Susan H February 2016
    I found Melbourne Metro YHA very centrally located and close to the Central Business District,IGA Supermarket in Errol Street,North Melbourne and a number of cafes and restuarants.AA
    80%
    John L January 2016
    This is a very good hostel. It is a bit out of way and some distance from shops, but that is not a big issue.
    95%
    Thomas W January 2016
    It was quite noisy during the day due to the building next door. It was also noisy (people talking, drinking) after 11pm but I am not able to determine whether this was from YHA or elsewhere.
    82%
    Rob G January 2016
    Good hostel clean and safe in a quiet location yet a stones throw from Melbourne CBD. Great cafes close buy and the tram is just up the road 5 minutes into town and to railway and shopping. Worth a stay for budget accommodation.
    95%
    colin b January 2016
    First time staying at a Backpackers - Highly recommend.
    92%
    Karen B January 2016
    Kitchen was the Biggest problem: * Too few fridges for Too many people in mid-January. * Finding fridge space for our stuff reminded me of Tokyo train commuters being forcefully pushed into carriages. * Could have been much cleaner * Some Hotplates were not working at all * WiFi in common area tended to drop out from time to time Rooftop was a BLESSING!! Price for a Family room with Ensuite @ $145.50/day was on the HIGH end, given location was outside the CBD. We (2 Adults & 2 Children) had paid $89/day @ Ibis Budget on Elizabeth near Flinders St Railway, 2 days prior to YHA checkin. The Free Trams nearby were convenient for getting to CBD areas. We often rode the Free 35 Tram for the whole circuit just for Fun. Pity Sydney foolishly got rid of them years ago.
    65%
    Arvinda S January 2016
    All the staff were helpful...but Scott especially so. I needed a quiet space to hold a Skype interview for an HIV research project in the UK. Scott suggested the meeting room and duly went through the booking procedure and made a reservation for me. The interview went well thanks to the privacy afforded by Metro YHA.
    92%
    Maurice G January 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    84%
    4762 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    84%
    Condition of facilities
    79%
    Efficiency of service
    88%
    Friendliness of staff
    87%
    Location
    83%
    Overall atmosphere
    84%
    Safety & security
    87%
    Value for money
    78%