Search YHA

Melbourne Metro YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Melbourne Metro YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (5178 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Nice clean and friendly staff that are always ready to assist.
    98%
    John G September 2016
    Great for families and handy to everything. Quiet neighborhood.
    100%
    Per W September 2016
    I was in a 4 bed dorm one occupant was very bad I bought it to the attention of the staff was told the morning after the first night it would be handled and it was worse the next night. I asked the manager to give me a call that was a week ago still no response. The other 3 people in the room when they checked out said they would never come back one went as far to say he would never use yha again. I don't think I would ever come back either unless I was extremely desperate and there were no other options. This hostel has changed a lot over the last 2 years and that is very disappointing.
    70%
    Garry D September 2016
    The Metro YHA staff is kind and helpful :)
    98%
    LITING T September 2016
    Very friendly staff and people. wonderful roof-top !
    82%
    oscar t September 2016
    WIFI is not really usable (poor connection speed), but otherwise perfect place to stay
    80%
    Jonathan L September 2016
    So easy to book. Great location with a terrific staff member when I rang, and direction on which number trams to catch. Great outdoor cooking area and a perfect location for breakfast on the roof ! Warm cosy and comfortable. Thank you so much
    98%
    Debra S September 2016
    I've stayed in the Sydney yha and it was great but the North Melbourne metro room I stayed in was not. The room was unventilated and smelt like mould. It's poorly insulated which means every time someone opened a door down the hallway or to the bathroom you can hear it. On checkout you're instructed to leave your sheets in a trolley. Ordinarily I would have ignored the dirty pile taller than me except it covered the buttons of the elevator to get down to reception. Small things but they added up. Having said that the front desk reception staff were amazing support and quickly refunded the other two days I had booked in. Great customer service did make up for harsher words.
    80%
    Michelle S September 2016
    Worst toasted ham and cheese sandwich ever. Dry toast unmelted cheese and dry ham......how hard is it !!!
    85%
    Catherine O September 2016
    Clean hostel, friendly staff, convenient location and nice rooftop terrace. WIFI is slow and not free throughout.
    80%
    Jon A September 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    88%
    5178 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    88%
    Condition of facilities
    84%
    Efficiency of service
    90%
    Friendliness of staff
    91%
    Location
    89%
    Overall atmosphere
    86%
    Safety & Security
    89%
    Value for Money
    85%