Melbourne Metro YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Melbourne Metro YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (6293 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Awesome Great 4 bed bunk rooms Great dining area Great lounge Very friendly staff I loved the place ! I’ll be back Thanks for the great stay And the big lockers were terrific. Such a friendly environment...
100%
Anthony E 17/07/2018
I enjoyed the experience as I have not been to Melbourne for a long time. Everyone had a chat. The English breakfast ( bacon, eggs, beans bacon and tomato) I purchased was nice and I enjoyed it being served to me. The Sea Life (tourist) recommendation was amazing. Thanks for that. The directions you gave to help me find tourist sites were very exact... so helpful as I did get lost in the CBD on the first day. I have stayed twice before at YHA Metro... now a third time.
90%
Barbara S 16/07/2018
I only stayed for 2 days at the end of my time in Melbourne, but I did enjoy the hostel. The rooms and the toilets are quite clean and well organized. The kitchen and eating areas were a little messy and there were a lot of dirty dishes on the tables during dinner time, but that's guests' fault. I did not have the time to join any activities but they do have plenty throughout the weekend. Overall it was a good place to come for a sleep, quiet, clean and safe.
90%
Michelle Leonor L 16/07/2018
Excellent service and top notch location. All of the staff were extremely helpful with maps, travel tips, etc. Loved staying there.
95%
Magali C 16/07/2018
It is close to the tram stops and free tram area. Victoria Market is within ten minute's walk from the hostel. But some guests are inconsiderate when using the kitchen, never wash their own dishes and cutlery . T he room seems not to be cleaned up daily. One guest in my room often brought in a woman; once in the middle of the night with the bedside light on. I reported to the reception and the fair lady was asked to leave.This guest is a long term one and he had his stuff scattered about
68%
Bit H 16/07/2018
Very friendly and helpful staff. Good location for our activities at UoM.
95%
Anita G 14/07/2018
Good
90%
Craig John M 13/07/2018
Must have a small personal kitchen/ induction stove as the kitchen was far from being usable. Has to walk a lot to catch the nearest public transport with my daughter. Staff was good. The common area at ground floor had crap sofa and chairs. Corridors were pretty clean. Some Renovation required in the ground floor open area. I am not staying there again with my daughter.
62%
Nidhi S 11/07/2018
I can't rate ecofriendliness as I dont know what measures are in place. However, this is an ideal place for me as a stopover in Melbourne from Bendigo for a couple of nights.
98%
Susan T 07/07/2018
it is a great hostel. definitely recommend to my friends who would like to do the backpacker travel. A tiny annoying thing is the poor sound isolation.Easy to hear someone having phone call or chatting in the corrider.
98%
Huiying Y 06/07/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

90%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
86%
Condition of facilities
86%
Efficiency of service
93%
Friendliness of staff
97%
Location
88%
Overall atmosphere
88%
Safety & Security
91%
Value for Money
92%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL