Search YHA

Melbourne Metro YHA

  • Customer reviews of Melbourne Metro YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (4501 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Great base for us as a couple with teenage kids visiting Melbourne for the first time.
    Jan H October 2015
    never saw excellent Yha like this. can not miss it
    zhenwei c October 2015
    This was the first YHA Hostel where I was really stolen things from the kitchen. The administración often talk a lot about video survelliance, encouraging people not to steel food because they will be caught by the cameras. However, I asked several times for the camera recordings to prove the robery, but they never came with it and Im pretty sure that they didn't even watched them. The súper security were only words. The second point is tha fare. Increasing it from 26 to 40 dollars only for the AFL grand final its a reall bounder and almost an other robbery. This hostel is not good enough at all for having to pay this value. This was definetely my worst stay in a YHA hostel. Bad location, bad security, expensive prices, the perfect combination for NOT to recomend it.
    Alejandro F October 2015
    First time stay in a hostel and what better way to be introduced. We did have a private room. Facilities were great. Staff were friendly and location is great Happy to stay again
    Samantha H October 2015
    Absolutely good price for the money. Great location!!
    Armando A October 2015
    Enjoyable getting to know people from around the world, there were also events and outings to see Melbourne
    Christopher S October 2015
    Thank you for a wonderful break in the city, which we could have stayed longer..
    Al Z October 2015
    Clean and simple. Close to everything you could need in Melbourne.
    D'Arcy C September 2015
    Great hostel - really good atmosphere, great facilities and friendly staff. Our kids loved the rooftop balcony!
    Eileen B September 2015
    My stay was spoilt by inconsiderate other guests not respecting noise levels at night. Also the noise from the TV/lounge room comes through the wall - not good. Otherwise I'm happy with this hostel.
    Jennifer R September 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    4501 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money