Melbourne Metro YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Melbourne Metro YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (6409 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Great hostel, lovely friendly atmosphere and amazing roof deck!
92%
Juliette B 18/10/2018
Staff are amazing and friendly! You want a quite place close to the CBD, this is the place to be! Highly recommended! Thanks you guys to make this place so great!
98%
Jordane Christi Jean Paul B 18/10/2018
Great hostel just 500m from the free Tram Zone, close to Queen Vic Market. Personnel is the best I met in all Melbourne, you rule guys! There could be more hostel activities, but the fact that they have any is awesome already. Very well equipped kitchen, knifes are sharp. Common rooms could be better. Slowest elevator ever, but just three short flights of stairs (at max!) have your back. Slow free WiFi in common rooms, but awesome premium WiFi ($5/week) everywhere else. Will probably come back!
90%
Phillip Bernd S 18/10/2018
Great hostel and excellent location, however it does lack atmosphere, as do most YHA’s. The rooftop area was particularly good, as are the mattresses. The facilities are starting to look a little tired and could do with a freshen up. The key cards are very temperamental and stop working after being near your mobile. You also need the to access the toilets and showers. Overall I would recommend this hostel.
82%
Nick W 17/10/2018
The location is good and the price is reasonable. Good for solo traveler like myself.
70%
Min Kong L 16/10/2018
My overall experience was great! I joined a tour to Brighton beach with Freddi and it was gorgeous. On my last day I was recommend a lovely wine tasting tour by one of the receptionists, which was a pleasant experience. Bedroom and kitchen are clean.
88%
Ana C 16/10/2018
The double bed mattress even with the overlay was uncomfortable. Ceiling fan noisey. Friendly staff.
80%
Mary M 15/10/2018
The hostel is close to center but more quiet than a hostel in center. The way to Carlton, Fitzroy or Brunswick is not far. You should visit the CERES and Bike Shed in Brunswick East.
88%
Soeren L 14/10/2018
Excellent! Great facility. Walk to everything
92%
David C 14/10/2018
Fantastic!
100%
Lloyd M 13/10/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

85%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
82%
Condition of facilities
80%
Efficiency of service
86%
Friendliness of staff
87%
Location
89%
Overall atmosphere
85%
Safety & Security
90%
Value for Money
84%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL