Melbourne Metro YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Melbourne Metro YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (6893 guests have reviewed this hostel)
everything was nice and clean, only 5-10min walk to free tram zone
98%
Josephine R 23/05/2019
The organised activities are great for meeting people.
85%
Ciara Elaine L 20/05/2019
Wifi fine in main area I prefer it works from my room
100%
Sharyn D 19/05/2019
Great location & Nice warm in cold night.
80%
Anna P 19/05/2019
7min walk to the closest tram-stop and trams are THE best way to get about CBD & attractions. The kitchen facilities were a bit crowded at meal times, with limited bench/food prep space compared to # of gas cooktops & ample fridge space. The kitchen is well stocked for doing own cooking. Also great takeaway options 5+ minutes walk. Bathrooms clean with plenty of toilets & showers on each floor, so no problems there. Only criticism is noise of door locks being banged shut late into the night :(
88%
Jane J 18/05/2019
Recommended.
100%
Hj R 17/05/2019
Considering quality and "luxury" you get in an airbnb or a similarly priced motel the expierience could be improved a fair bit. The rooms are not well isolated energetically nor against sounds. The social facilities which have been a selling point where are a bit dated, priced at the upper end of hostels you could try to be a little more modern. The billard in the lobby seems more fitting on the rooftop.
72%
Jakob Frederic L 15/05/2019
Room 2 ground floor: We reported a hair dryer as hazardous; it worked intermittently and smelt of burning insulation. The window frame is twisted and there is a 2 cm gap in the top right hand corner where the wind whistles through. The window cannot be closed. Kitchen: some of the plugs for the sinks are missing the rubber seal. We have been coming to this hostel for over 25 years. The overall impression is that the hostel is tired, which is sad to see.
78%
Inge R 14/05/2019
very good and clean :)
92%
Yann Ruu C 14/05/2019
Really positive experience.
100%
Colin R 13/05/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

88%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
87%
Condition of facilities
85%
Efficiency of service
90%
Friendliness of staff
89%
Location
91%
Overall atmosphere
84%
Safety & Security
88%
Value for Money
90%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL