Search YHA

Melbourne Metro YHA

  • Customer reviews of Melbourne Metro YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (4613 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Lots of activities around the local areas and hostel! Friendly staff, always smile and live to help people book tours and resolve issues!!
    Jeff K November 2015
    Nice place. Clean and comfortable. Friendly staff. Thank you :)
    Jen P November 2015
    Excellent Breakfast Choices to fuel up at YHA Base. The Rooftop sunset views were beautiful from the comfort of a lounge chair. Friendly, efficient and helpful staff- appreciated !
    Julian G November 2015
    the yha in Australia is more better than in China. I like the bathroom. Bed looking new and very clear.
    Yilu C November 2015
    Noisy construction site behind hostel at November 2015. Looks like the heavy works will continue at least another 3-4 months. I would stay somewhere else if you want to sleep beyond 7:30 am. Staff friendly, generally clean and secure hostel. Let down by some guests who can't clean up after themselves.
    Edward H November 2015
    Hostel is super, how we wish cold storage of food worked a lot better. Longer hours of catering would be valued. Hostelling since 1947 and still valuing such good facilities.
    Led G November 2015
    This is a busy hostel, lots of people around all the time. Kitchen, dining and lounge areas are all a good size. It also has a small cafe on site where you can buy meals. Rooms are small but adequate.
    Dianne S November 2015
    Good friendly staff.
    Ahmed S November 2015
    Good stay at Melbourne YHA Metro. Overall good experience. Everything can be reached by foot or takinh the free tram in Citycenter. Would have liked more plugs for our devices, especially next to the beds. Would choise this place for a stay again.
    Anke S November 2015
    Fan stopped working in my room. When notified, reception had it repaired within a few hours. Great location, less than 5 minutes from the free tram zone. However, food stored in the kitchen may not always be there when you want to eat it.
    Marine W November 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    4613 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money