Search YHA

Melbourne Metro YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Melbourne Metro YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (5218 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    We booked a family room and shared with two adult sons. Great value at $120 per night. The location was perfect for our needs, close to the city sights and within walking distance of Southern Cross station for when we flew home to Sydney. The building and facilities were clean, safe and secure, had everything we needed, and was nice and cosy (it got a little cold during our stay). I'd definitely recommend staying here, especially if your on a budget.
    Sherrin E October 2016
    Great Stay
    Robert C October 2016
    Best hostel I have ever stayed in by far. Super clean, comfy bed, excellent showers, friendly staff and fantastic location. The laundry facilities were really good and I never had to wait to use either the washer or dryer. The atmosphere was relaxed and welcoming and I will definitely be staying here again if I visit Melbourne.
    Laura G October 2016
    The bedroom, kitchen, dining room & reading room is large enough, I fled very comfortable!
    ruiliang j October 2016
    I have been to this hostel in past; and returning to this Hostel is like COMING BACK HOME!
    Chandresh S October 2016
    The communal space is nice with free wifi, comfortable chairs and a good atmosphere. The kitchen is good except a lack of space. Most of the staff were friendly, but I didn't appreciate one guy (with beard) getting angry at me for leaving stuff in my room after check out when in fact they were making me change rooms for the third time (not my fault that the new room wasn't ready). One bathroom tap has been constantly leaking a large amount of water and wasn't fixed for the entire two weeks I was there. It's a bit cramped. Good that it is friendly and you can meet people and hang out but not too much (is not a party hostel). I would recommend it for people visiting Melbourne for a week or so.
    Dominic G October 2016
    Had a great stay in Melbourne. Loved being near the Queen Victoria Markets. Nearby trams made the location very do-able for getting about the city. Great place
    Lynette G October 2016
    I was only staying overnight in Melbourne before continuing on to Adelaide. Stayed in this hostel when it was known as 'Queensbury' youth hostel!! Very convenient to get to by shuttle from the airport and easy access to the market area and city trams. Shared a room with 3 other young girls and felt very safe and secure.
    julie k October 2016
    Friendly atmosphere, bright and open and centrally located near the city, cafes and public transport.
    Ivan P October 2016
    Great! Brings a lock for the locker and a towel.
    Laura H October 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    5218 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & Security
    Value for Money