Melbourne Metro YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Melbourne Metro YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (5690 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Quiet, comfortable and clean.
    95%
    Leah P May 2017
    Good setting, close to city, quiet and attractive neighbourhood, friendly staff, clean facilities, great breakfast available on site, and the view from roof top is excellent!!
    92%
    Ray T May 2017
    Staff and other hostellers are friendly, well located to tram services. Catch no.58 tram in William St City and if you have a vline ticket get off at Queensberry St as it is a shorter walk but is just outside the free tram zone.
    95%
    Robert K May 2017
    It has a good vibe this hostel, kitchen is clean and lots of room, i stayed in an 8 bed dorm and it didn't feel too crowded
    90%
    Catherine S May 2017
    Clean and really well equiped, but good for working cause its quite a quiet hostel.
    85%
    Laura M May 2017
    Loved it. I love that energy and water efficiency is well set up and sign posted for all to see, plus waste is managed well. I much prefer YHA to hotels for the socislising aspect. Thank you for having me. And please keep up the great work. I loved hearing rain on the roof. And i love that we can open windows even if just a bit. In most big buildings the two last elements are not usually possible.
    98%
    Jan R May 2017
    Stayed for a month and the place got dirtier and dirtier I wasn't moved room 5 times even though I was on one booking. The toilets were gross and smelt bad, and weren't like that when I first arrived! Staff are unfriendly and extremely slow! I was there for a month and would always say hello and ask them how there say was and I'd rarely even get a smile back. Only stayed as it was close to my work. Honestly so glad to see the back of this place. Also letting someone check in at 2 am is ridiculous!
    60%
    Hannah T May 2017
    Spacious!
    82%
    Gary M May 2017
    Very clean and safe, lovely staff, well equipped kitchen, affordable laundry service and clean bathroom/shower facilities
    100%
    Carina R May 2017
    Great atmosphere, close to everything you need and a fun place to meet people :)
    85%
    Hayley M May 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    82%
    82%
    customer rating, based on 5690 reviews
    Cleanliness
    80%
    Condition of facilities
    76%
    Efficiency of service
    82%
    Friendliness of staff
    85%
    Location
    84%
    Overall atmosphere
    79%
    Safety & Security
    87%
    Value for Money
    80%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!