Search YHA

Melbourne Metro YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer review of Melbourne Metro YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (5130 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    a place to be when visiting Melbourne with family
    35%
    Andrew L August 2016
    Good location, removed from urban jungle. Longer-term resident population. Good, friendly staff. Only 1 twin powerpoint per room, but a library hotspot with armchairs and extension leads made up for it.
    92%
    Paul N August 2016
    Good location.
    80%
    John P August 2016
    3rd floor 4brm dorm noisy. People returning 4am/5am. Can hear doors banging all night. Ensuite room is fine. Toilet paper dispenser badly placed...rm 7. Swap with small holder. Leak from base of basin drain pipe. Fabulous location to RMH
    95%
    Paul D August 2016
    Great place and close to everything
    100%
    Michel L August 2016
    It's really nice.
    100%
    WEI S August 2016
    Stayed in the family apartment ground floor spacoius clean and warm with a full kitchen home from home would definitely stay again .
    100%
    Paul C August 2016
    I am a regular guest at YHA North Melb. Room 217 is the worst I have experienced in this hostel. Located in the middle of the corridor & half way between male & female bathrooms/toilets it must be the noisiest room in the hostel - constant banging of doors all night long resulted in no sleep for me for the 2 nights that I stayed there.
    72%
    Jennifer R August 2016
    This was the first time we had stayed at a YHA property. It was wonderful. We were in Melbourne for a family wedding. The location was great and the staff and facilities excellent.
    100%
    Julianne W August 2016
    The facilities in the hostel were probably the best part - clean rooms, comfortable and warm beds, lights in each bed, big lockers in the rooms, clean kitchen with lots of tools, plus a hot breakfast option if you'd like. The free wifi in the lobby (sometimes reaching up to the rooms) was good enough to Skype home, and the staff were very helpful and friendly (especially Patrick!). This hostel is also quite close to the center of town.
    92%
    Sheina G July 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    87%
    5130 customers have reated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    87%
    Condition of facilities
    85%
    Efficiency of service
    89%
    Friendliness of staff
    90%
    Location
    86%
    Overall atmosphere
    82%
    Safety & Security
    89%
    Value for Money
    86%