Search YHA

Melbourne Metro YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Melbourne Metro YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (4947 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Stayed one night in family room. Main room had double bed and bunks. Spacious room with good kitchen area. Full sized cooker and fridge/freezer. Separate bedroom for me to have some privacy.
    82%
    Carol D April 2016
    Paid $115 for a bed that was like sleeping on a slab of rock with stained sheets and a mouldy shower. Showerhead was so dirty it actually made the water go in different directions. The staff were lovely but I won't be staying there again. The Tune up the road has better facilities at a better price.
    62%
    Bridget C C April 2016
    The locality is very good, you can access CBD so easily. anytime I visit Australia Melbourne Metro YHA is my first destination area.
    88%
    Salome G April 2016
    We have stayed her many times. I cannot recommend it highly enough!
    100%
    Morgan N April 2016
    Great spot for a family trip to Melbourne
    92%
    Jennifer C April 2016
    yes
    100%
    Gail (sally)gail G April 2016
    Usually good at this hostel
    88%
    Stuart B April 2016
    Finding out (too late) that the reason I was having difficulty arranging accommodation in Melbourne on March 19th 2016 was that it was Grand Prix Day. My Dorling Kindersley guide to Australia recommends the Melbourne YHA and my first experience of staying at a YHA (at the age of 75) made me understand why. It was excellent!
    100%
    Elizabeth S April 2016
    Great hostel. Facilities great, constant hot water in showers. Only slight gripe is only two sockets in room to share between 8 but that's just being picky!! Everything you need in a hostel!!
    75%
    Matthew D April 2016
    The room and bathroom are clean! I also met a great roommate!
    80%
    Yi-Chen L April 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    90%
    4947 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    92%
    Condition of facilities
    88%
    Efficiency of service
    94%
    Friendliness of staff
    92%
    Location
    87%
    Overall atmosphere
    89%
    Safety & security
    91%
    Value for money
    88%