Search YHA

Melbourne Metro YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Melbourne Metro YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (5509 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    It's the only hostel I have ever stayed in, so I can't really compare with others, but I was perfectly happy with my 5-day stay. Good location close to city center, friendly staff, friendly guests, clean facilities.
    95%
    Pavel P February 2017
    The hostel is very well located and has good facilities. I think the hostel should improve the wifi connection, because it is quite bad and you only have it on the ground floor.
    80%
    Marta February 2017
    Having stayed in a few YHA hostels now it's always one I look out for when traveling across the world. But as always it was a great stay at YHA! Thank you to all the staff!!
    95%
    James M February 2017
    Great hostel if you not wanting a party hostel. The beds though make noises every time you move so it does take getting used to.
    78%
    nichola w February 2017
    Dirty bathrooms and toilets. Showers are broken. All floors dirty, last vacuum cleaning might have been a few days ago or done very improperly.
    52%
    Rupi February 2017
    Poor cooked breakfast. YHA excellence in all other aspects. Thank you
    100%
    IAN W February 2017
    Limited power sockets available in both rooms (2 for an 8 bed dorm) and in general When asked for help in trying to find alternatives staff very unhelpful. Kitchen is tiny for the amount of people using it and very unclean. Toilet lights turn off far too quickly leaving you in pitch black whilst still using them.
    42%
    Stuart K February 2017
    The rooftop is a must-see.
    92%
    Narjess A February 2017
    A good place to stay for a couple of nights on your stay in Melbourne. Close to the free tram zone, so an easy access to the city is guaranteed. Not the best hostel I've been to and it was quite busy and noisy most of the nights, but that's something you expect from a dorm room anyway. Cooking facilities are nothing but average the most, some stoves weren't working, but at least the kitchen was cleaned every day.
    72%
    Fiia E February 2017
    Melbourne Metro is my place of choice to stay when I drive/ride to Melbourne. It is well placed to walk to the city and there is a good number of eateries within a couple of blocks. Also very close to the free tram zone for getting around. The 24/7 check-in is a brilliant 'plus'. When I fly in, I stay at Melbourne Central.
    92%
    Clif M February 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    82%
    5509 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    83%
    Condition of facilities
    77%
    Efficiency of service
    84%
    Friendliness of staff
    85%
    Location
    84%
    Overall atmosphere
    79%
    Safety & Security
    88%
    Value for Money
    78%