Melbourne Metro YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Melbourne Metro YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (6787 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Had an excellent stay! Busy hostel with something for everyone. They were super accompanying and moved one of the nights I paid for to later in the week when a trip popped up. Very grateful for that. WILL stay again when I’m in Aus.
90%
Corey Andrew B 24/03/2019
Kitchen and showers/baths were dirty, kitchen dishes weren’t washed and stored away. Sink were full of dirty dishes. The washing mashines only wash with cold water, what isn’t usefull and you still pay the normal amount for washing. In the rooms there are not enough plugs. Just 2 for 4 people. The staff is so friendly, the atmosphere is warm and welcoming and they have a lot of events going on. Beautiful view from the rooftop! Bed is clean and comfy.
80%
Stefania R 23/03/2019
Nice and helpful staff
82%
Feng G 22/03/2019
My family stayed in apartment 1. It was very spacious and a pleasant surprise.
100%
Narelle J 22/03/2019
Very great hostel located in a nice and quiet area, near to the city center. Beds are confortable (mattress, and bed linens).
88%
Marina Nadine L 22/03/2019
It is a bit worn down and the rooms probably would need some uplifting.
65%
Sabine H 20/03/2019
It is my preferred place to stay when I am in Melbourne. Thank you for a great stay.
100%
Don 19/03/2019
I came here in 2010, 2012, 2014, 2016 and now and can tell you it's the best hostel in Melbourne without a doubt! The staff are Great, the rooftop has an amazing view of Melbourne, you can cook and meet many people from all over the world. The washing machine's are perfect in the basement plus big lockers downstairs as well for only $2. The location is just near the city center with easy access snd MOST OF ALL THE ROOMS ARE SUPER CLEAN!
100%
Jeff M 19/03/2019
Staff are always very welcoming and helpful. Management has made a very conscious effort to improve the environmental performance of the hostel and its guests. eg education and facilities for recycling, reducing water & electricity use, reducing plastic bottled water, reusing unwanted gear that others can use etc etc.
85%
Raymond T 19/03/2019
I have stayed in many YHAs, HIs etc., around the world and Melbourne Metro is up there with the best. I have recommended this YHA to friends who also rate it very highly. Will be back next year.
100%
Belinda P 18/03/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

87%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
85%
Condition of facilities
85%
Efficiency of service
89%
Friendliness of staff
94%
Location
83%
Overall atmosphere
86%
Safety & Security
91%
Value for Money
83%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL