Kalbarri YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Kalbarri YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (226 guests have reviewed this hostel)
I had a wonderful stay here. I had read what people had said re facilities needing some renovation, and while this may be true, for me the helpfulness of Joe the owner outweighed everything else anyway. I felt Joe went over and above to help me plan not just my time in Kalbarri but also my ongoing trip. I met lovely people there, helped by the relaxed atmosphere of the place. Wifi is available at a cost and because I didn't pay for that I did miss having wifi.
95%
Joanna D 06/06/2019
It was nice, staff were friendly, the room wasn’t fully serviced when we arrived but was rectified quickly. On the down side, the place was nearly empty unless a tour bus arrived so the atmosphere was not great.
78%
Mark P 29/03/2019
Amazing staff but the facility left a lot to be desired.
75%
Anon 26/03/2019
Cool layout, liked the pool and the staff were really friendly. Nice and close to the center of town
90%
Tom H 05/03/2019
Owners were more than GREAT. Very good hostel, great easy location, so close to the water, with a great view. Worth a return visit.
100%
Roger 02/02/2019
It was disgusting. Would never visit again at any cost.
55%
Hendrik D 04/07/2018
Too bad, not clean, go to room still got some coin and toilet paper in there, don’t thing have clean after people check out, better sleep in car don’t wan sleep in that room
40%
Chau Ming S 21/04/2018
Really friendly staff, the facilities are very old and it’s dirty everywhere. Inside, outside... The bed was good and clean.
65%
Claudia E 08/03/2018
The Hostel is one of the dirtiest I’ve ever seen. In the kitchen are dead and living spiders and cockroaches everywhere. When it got dark in the bedroom little cockroaches came out and were all over the floor. There were also ants in the kitchen and bedroom. The overall condition of the hostel shows that the owner rarely cleans it. It’s really sad because The owner is really nice and helpful. Kalbarri is a nice little town and offers a spectacular area. The hostel destroys everything else.
20%
Benjamin S 05/03/2018
Great hostel. Really enjoyed my stay in Kalbarri. Hostel is right in the centre of town. Large dorms so plenty of space, and plenty of communal areas. Nice pool. Owner and staff are friendly and very helpful. Would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a few relaxing days.
95%
Emmett G 05/02/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. 

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

79%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
66%
Condition of facilities
62%
Efficiency of service
85%
Friendliness of staff
91%
Location
90%
Overall atmosphere
77%
Safety & Security
83%
Value for Money
76%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL