Ballarat YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Ballarat YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (53 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Great location for Sovereign Hill, great views and not too long a walk into town. Clean rooms and facilities, comfy bed and friendly staff.
100.0%
David B 24/04/2017
Good little hostel. Very well placed for Sovereign Hill. A little further from the centre of Ballarat but there is a very good Japanese restaurant at the bottom of the hill. The welcome form the hotel staff couldn't have been warmer.
100.0%
David W 23/03/2017
This hostel is an offshoot of a hotel. The hotel staff did not seem particularly happy to learn I was staying at the hostel and not the hotel. The hostel itself was cold and dark and missing essential dishes like bowls. It's located about a 30 minute walk from the main town center.
20.0%
Sarah S 21/02/2017
The rooms are spacious and clean, the staff in admin are just delightful and very helpful. The location for Sovereign Hill is perfect.
100.0%
Helene J 14/01/2017
I had booked only one night, could have stayed a couple, it felt like camping. I had a private room that was suited for a family of four. The room got really cold during the night but there was a heater in the room. Soveigh Hill was next door (amazing!!) it took twenty minutes to walk to town centre. Overall I liked it and the staff was super nice and helpful!
40.0%
Merzi 12/12/2016
Quite far away from shops and the town but a great location if you are visiting the soverein hill museum or have a car.
80.0%
Andrew M 13/11/2016
Brilliant little hostel. Excellent value for money, quiet, safe& great location (if you have a car).
100.0%
Carlie L 27/04/2016
You need a car to get here. It's too far too walk anywhere. Good place to stay if you want to visit Sovereign Hill (right next door). I would recommend it if you have a car.
80.0%
Benito C 31/01/2016
A nice little hostel and convenient if you are planning a visit to Sovereign Hill, but not so convenient to the CBD. You will need a car. Cleaning is a bit poor, so you would also need to be able to tolerate dust and dirty carpets, but the bathrooms and kitchen are fine.
100.0%
Susan J 25/01/2016
Sovereign Hill YHA is a quaint cottage set in a large semi-secluded property being part of The Sovereign Hill Tourist Settlement. There are 4 spacious rooms comfortably fitting up to 4 guests in each room. The Kitchen is very spacious, with a good size oven and other amenities. However, I was quite puzzled to see more than 3 full professional laundry bags (awaiting collection) inside, between the two Bathrooms blocking the back door, a hazard thus making it impossible for me to make a quick exit should there have been a need. The huge front yard is the perfect place to dine out doors for any visiting group.
100.0%
Kristina B 06/12/2015

Hostel Rating Ratings guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

83.0%
customer rating, based on 53 reviews
Cleanliness
80.0%
Condition of facilities
76.0%
Efficiency of service
82.0%
Friendliness of staff
86.0%
Location
84.0%
Overall atmosphere
76.0%
Safety & Security
86.0%
Value for Money
100.0%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL