Margaret River Backpackers YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Margaret River Backpackers YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (94 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Very friendly and helpful staff and really nice atmosphere while sitting all together in the evening or morning.
100.0%
Jacline H 24/05/2017
By the pics from the website I was expecting a lot more. I don't mind having to put the linen on the bed on my own but at least they should be a bit more clean. Also the room floor. The shutters were broken and we couldn't close it. We get a cutlery kit on check in but they were very dirty. One had sand and hair on the bowl. Bathroom was the best thing at the hostel although the dirty hand towel hanged in there could be replaced for paper towel. The place has a perfect location, good structure but need a deep clean. Public telephone over there has cobwebs all over it! Also when we checked in the receptionist was laid down in the couch cause he was hangover and next morning on check out there was nobody at reception to get our keys back and they don't have a box either
40.0%
Leandro 04/04/2017
Excellent location. Read some older reviews re:kitchen mess, glad to see this issue has been resolved, kitchen was clean & tidy. Other guests were polite/ pleasant.
100.0%
AnnMarie 10/03/2017
I stayed in the all female dorm with 4 bunk beds so 8 beds total and it was really cramped and basic, no where really for people to put their luggage/suitcase. No assigned spot on the one shelf either so when I arrived and every spot was filled with other people's things even though were 8 spots for 8 people, I really had no where to put anything. Also no lockers as well, didn't feel comfortable just leaving my stuff randomly on the ground but that's what I had to do. Also seemed like a lot of the people here have been there awhile and the longer you stay at one hostel the more comfortable people get with just not being courteous to the other guests/backpackers that come and go for a couple nights such as leaving their things scattered everywhere. Wonder if the hostel has a maximum number of days you're allowed to stay like I know other hostels do, would benefit other travelers in my opinion. Thought the security and location was the best parts about this hostel, best location compared to the other two hostels in Margaret River. Kitchen and common area were decent. Didn't receive much information about anything from the reception staff member that checked me in although plenty of brochures. Thought it was nice you got a bag with your own kitchenware: cutlery, plate, cup, mug, and bowl. Honestly, on the expensive side for what you get out of this place. Was just a place to sleep for me.
60.0%
Kira G 17/02/2017
Close to town. Nice people. They should improve the service. Toilet and showers should be cleaned more than once a day.
60.0%
Luigi S 24/01/2017
Good location, clean and nice people.
80.0%
Laura 22/01/2017
Secure free parking with lots of spaces, WiFi was pretty slow for most of the day, everyone was given their own individual plates and cutlery etc., everything else like a normal hostel
60.0%
Robyn D 18/01/2017
It should be made clear that this is a hostel for people staying long term and working in the area. I was expecting disruption staying in a dorm room but not constant noise from 5-7. If the fact it was a working hostel was made clear I'd have stayed elsewhere.
60.0%
Alice R 24/11/2016
Very friendly staff, great central location. Unfortunately no lockers for luggage or valuables. Locked car park which was handy. Lots of long term backpackers but all were very respectful of the no noise after 11pm rule. The rooms felt messy but I think that was due to lack of space to store belongings, especially for long term stayers.
80.0%
Claire A 24/11/2016
Not really many other options around the Margaret River for this sort of price. When we arrived we found the front desk unoccupied at 5pm & had a short wait while we were unsure of what to do with ourselves. The wifi was apalling, worst I've ever experienced anywhere in Australia. I'm not sure that the kitchen or bathrooms were cleaned at any point during the 3 days we were in the hostel. There are no lockers in the rooms which makes valuables a bit vulnerable.
40.0%
J H 23/11/2016

Hostel Rating Ratings guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

79.0%
customer rating, based on 94 reviews
Cleanliness
65.0%
Condition of facilities
69.0%
Efficiency of service
75.0%
Friendliness of staff
82.0%
Location
92.0%
Overall atmosphere
73.0%
Safety & Security
81.0%
Value for Money
99.0%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL