Margaret River Backpackers YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Margaret River Backpackers YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (100 guests have reviewed this hostel)
All round warm and friendly vibe. I stayed over for the weekend, booking a second night. Carl is really friendly and super helpful, lent me a hand without question when I asked him to help jump start my car for me. The kitchen was nice and neat and all appliances were readily available, it was easy to live here!
90%
Gabriel L 19/03/2018
The hostel has a really good location. The managers are awesome, very available and making sure your stay is gonna be great. It is clean and the internet is really good and fast.
82%
Stephan D 15/02/2018
Such a great atmosphere!
100%
Jake B 15/12/2017
Very friendly and helpful staff and really nice atmosphere while sitting all together in the evening or morning.
98%
Jacline H 24/05/2017
By the pics from the website I was expecting a lot more. I don't mind having to put the linen on the bed on my own but at least they should be a bit more clean. Also the room floor. The shutters were broken and we couldn't close it. We get a cutlery kit on check in but they were very dirty. One had sand and hair on the bowl. Bathroom was the best thing at the hostel although the dirty hand towel hanged in there could be replaced for paper towel. The place has a perfect location, good structure but need a deep clean. Public telephone over there has cobwebs all over it! Also when we checked in the receptionist was laid down in the couch cause he was hangover and next morning on check out there was nobody at reception to get our keys back and they don't have a box either
60%
Leandro 04/04/2017
Excellent location. Read some older reviews re:kitchen mess, glad to see this issue has been resolved, kitchen was clean & tidy. Other guests were polite/ pleasant.
90%
AnnMarie 10/03/2017
I stayed in the all female dorm with 4 bunk beds so 8 beds total and it was really cramped and basic, no where really for people to put their luggage/suitcase. No assigned spot on the one shelf either so when I arrived and every spot was filled with other people's things even though were 8 spots for 8 people, I really had no where to put anything. Also no lockers as well, didn't feel comfortable just leaving my stuff randomly on the ground but that's what I had to do. Also seemed like a lot of the people here have been there awhile and the longer you stay at one hostel the more comfortable people get with just not being courteous to the other guests/backpackers that come and go for a couple nights such as leaving their things scattered everywhere. Wonder if the hostel has a maximum number of days you're allowed to stay like I know other hostels do, would benefit other travelers in my opinion. Thought the security and location was the best parts about this hostel, best location compared to the other two hostels in Margaret River. Kitchen and common area were decent. Didn't receive much information about anything from the reception staff member that checked me in although plenty of brochures. Thought it was nice you got a bag with your own kitchenware: cutlery, plate, cup, mug, and bowl. Honestly, on the expensive side for what you get out of this place. Was just a place to sleep for me.
78%
Kira G 17/02/2017
Close to town. Nice people. They should improve the service. Toilet and showers should be cleaned more than once a day.
58%
Luigi S 24/01/2017
Good location, clean and nice people.
82%
Laura 22/01/2017
Secure free parking with lots of spaces, WiFi was pretty slow for most of the day, everyone was given their own individual plates and cutlery etc., everything else like a normal hostel
82%
Robyn D 18/01/2017

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

77%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
65%
Condition of facilities
70%
Efficiency of service
76%
Friendliness of staff
82%
Location
93%
Overall atmosphere
74%
Safety & Security
81%
Value for Money
72%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL