Search YHA

Murwillumbah YHA - Mt Warning

  • Customer reviews of Murwillumbah YHA - Mt Warning

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (252 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    A brilliant little hostel in a great location. Tassie, the hostel owner, has taken alot of effort in providing useful information to all visitors and making the place special. It is unique and quirky hostel with a very homely feel. P.s the bed in the double room (no3) was very confortable.
    Jennifer T November 2015
    friendly, home-like eager to help me get to Mt Warning by bicycle early in the morning I felt like a princess with a kind man helping me
    Doreen P November 2015
    The owner Tessie is so warm and welcoming, he definitely makes it feel like a home away from home. The rooms/bathrooms/kitchen were clean and well equipped. This is a lovely hostel, would recommend and would stay again.
    Ellie B November 2015
    Tassie the owner really makes this place, he is such an amazing person. A quiet hostel which feels like home away from home. I have had an awesome few days here that saw me climb the stunning Mt Warning to being taught some country and western moves by Tassie himself!! If you want a few days away from the hustle and bustle of the big towns and main tourist routes make sure you stop here!! You will not regret it.
    Megan T October 2015
    Stunning views in a great location. Peaceful and clean, just 50m from cafes and shops - our favourite 'Y!!
    Sue L October 2015
    The Hostel in Murwillumbah is very small but really cute. Everything is colourful and Tassi is really nice!
    Reva G October 2015
    The most friendly and helpful innkeeper Tassie made my stay a treat. It's an old style country YHA with good clean facilities. The best quiet location in town, right on the riverbank, with fabulous views, a great information folder. I loved the funky all primary colour painted walls, chandelier in the bedroom, and the separate TV den. Free icecream at 9 o'clock every night is a hit with all.
    Jennifer L October 2015
    My favourite hostel anywhere in the world!
    Michael M September 2015
    I had a wonderful time at murwillambah and all thanks to the stay at Tassies place. He makes his place feel like a home away from home. He is a great host and takes a great interest in what you do and is most helpful with his advice. Thanks Tassie.
    Esther P September 2015
    Fabulous location - right on the river with superb views of Mt Warning from the verandah and walking distance to town and cafes. Manager very hospitable.
    Toni S September 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    252 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money