Search YHA

Bellingen YHA - Belfry Guesthouse

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Bellingen YHA - Belfry Guesthouse

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (523 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Beautiful old style building, freshly painted. Great verandah overlooking the pastures and mountains with horses roaming in the paddocks, plenty of birdlife. Close to pub and the Brewery (across the laneway) with live entertainment. Fantastic cafes and restaurants. Great local atmosphere for families and singles.
    KAREN-MARIE C October 2016
    Excellent location y faccilties. A bargain por the money you pay. Staff very helpfull makes you feel at home. Beatiful vista from the varanda.
    Jose L October 2016
    This room was booked by my mother as a one room for 2 adults and 2 small children so wanted their own bathroom and that there would be off street parking as we had a trailer with bikes etc in it. When we arrived they tried to put us in a one room with common bathroom, no off street parking. Only when i asked for a refund we would go elsewhere we got the room that had been booked and they found off street parking. Was very busy all night with parties etc. Definitely not a place for a family or older couple wanting to rest overnight, as not much sleep was had.
    Maria A October 2016
    Had a great stay. Close to all eating and shopping
    Anne L October 2016
    Bellingen is a great little town and the YHA here is just lovely. Staff were great and the size of the hostel makes you feel like you're in a house with family, which is nice when you've been away from home for a while. Would definitely stay here again :)
    Stephanie L September 2016
    Thank you Bello YHA! Welcoming and relaxed, you are always the perfect beginning to our holiday.
    Bella G September 2016
    Beautiful location. Wish we stayed longer.
    Kate P September 2016
    Returned to Bello YHA after a ten year absence in the UK to find a comfortable relaxing and surprising week of meeting a few 'old' faces who just happened to visit during the same week after years away too. Same old Bellingen magic! The hostel managers are chilled and welcome a friendly chat and the volunteers are good cheerful. Go there.........its impossible to be disappointed!
    Daniel B September 2016
    My favorite hostel!! This was my second time at staying YHA Bellingen. First time with my friends I loved it here. So I wanted to bring my boyfriend. He liked this hostel in a second when we got there, and decided to extend our stay right away. Our favorite thing is the most beautiful field view from the balcony. You can spend whole day relaxing in the hostel. New friends we met there were saying " This place is beautiful, don't wanna leave...". Also there are many activities around the hostel, super friendly local guy Rowan will be happy to help you with where to go ( He remember that I have visited there before). Facilities are well cleaned, hot shower and whole bunch of kitchen tools available. We are definetly visiting there again and again and again. And again. And once more.
    Yuna O September 2016
    Good location with friendly staffs.
    Mavis hei yee T September 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    523 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & Security
    Value for Money