Search YHA

Bellingen YHA - Belfry Guesthouse

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Bellingen YHA - Belfry Guesthouse

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (512 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Returned to Bello YHA after a ten year absence in the UK to find a comfortable relaxing and surprising week of meeting a few 'old' faces who just happened to visit during the same week after years away too. Same old Bellingen magic! The hostel managers are chilled and welcome a friendly chat and the volunteers are good cheerful. Go there.........its impossible to be disappointed!
    80%
    Daniel B September 2016
    My favorite hostel!! This was my second time at staying YHA Bellingen. First time with my friends I loved it here. So I wanted to bring my boyfriend. He liked this hostel in a second when we got there, and decided to extend our stay right away. Our favorite thing is the most beautiful field view from the balcony. You can spend whole day relaxing in the hostel. New friends we met there were saying " This place is beautiful, don't wanna leave...". Also there are many activities around the hostel, super friendly local guy Rowan will be happy to help you with where to go ( He remember that I have visited there before). Facilities are well cleaned, hot shower and whole bunch of kitchen tools available. We are definetly visiting there again and again and again. And again. And once more.
    100%
    Yuna O September 2016
    Good location with friendly staffs.
    78%
    Mavis hei yee T September 2016
    Amanda was absolutely lovely, and made sure all the guests were looked after and the whole place had a relaxed and calm vibe to it. I love the decorations and homely feel to the place. Perfect location and a lovely stay, with a heater in the room for cold winter nights. I absolutely loved it here and was sad to leave. I'll be back!
    100%
    Amelia R August 2016
    Amanda was absolutely lovely, and made sure all the guests were looked after and the whole place had a relaxed and calm vibe to it. I love the decorations and homely feel to the place. Perfect location and a lovely stay, with a heater in the room for cold winter nights. I absolutely loved it here and was sad to leave. I'll be back!
    100%
    Amelia R August 2016
    A peaceful place to rest and be. Beautifully decorated, great lookout to the mountains, welcoming staff and within a few steps of cafés and shops.
    95%
    Lilian C August 2016
    This is wonderful homely place to stay. Excellent value :)
    100%
    Robyn August 2016
    Noisy - every footstep can be heard throughout the wooden building. All plumbing runs through walls of dorms. I was moved 3 times in two weeks. No indoor dining area all outside - cold at night. Kitchen and dorms have a cockroach problem. Shower screens kept falling off. Power points in bathroom kept pulling out. Beds are old and creaky. No bedside lights. Room 3 has one power board to run fan, heater and any other electrical device for a share room of 4. 2 lockers in room 3 are blocked by bunk ladder. Window in room 3 opens onto lounge area very noisy. Room 10 has a fire exit door that anyone staying in the other upstairs rooms can use to gain entry to room 10 - no security. No window in room 10 only a glass door with no security screen.
    42%
    Ellie L August 2016
    Bellingen was such a cool , chill place. nearby Dorrigo for awesome rainforest walks. This hostel was one of the best we've stayed in in Aus, chilled friendly staff, clean, comfortable rooms etc etc. Nothing bad to say about this place. - also, amazing views!!
    98%
    Andy C August 2016
    I had the most awesome stay at this small and homey hostel! Everyone was realy nice and welcoming. I was supposed to stay for one night but decided to stay for 5. Loved it.
    100%
    Laura G August 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    90%
    512 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    88%
    Condition of facilities
    86%
    Efficiency of service
    88%
    Friendliness of staff
    93%
    Location
    96%
    Overall atmosphere
    92%
    Safety & Security
    86%
    Value for Money
    87%