Search YHA

Bellingen YHA - Belfry Guesthouse

Check in
Check out
  • Customer review of Bellingen YHA - Belfry Guesthouse

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (496 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Great hostel and awesome staff. Rowan at the reception desk was one of the friendliest and most helpful receptionist. He always makes you feel welcomed .
    98%
    Kota B July 2016
    I stay at the Bellingen YHA everytime I come to Bellingen. The proximity to the brewery, cafe and shops is wonderful the staff are always happy and helpful and the views over the river and mountains are million dollar views,
    100%
    Jackson J July 2016
    Excellent location right in the village with close parking, large and comfortable verandah areas with fabulous distant outlook to the south. Kitchen facilities quite good though unable to ignite one of two gas stove tops. Huge fridge space & plenty of space for other food storage. Would prefer separate female & male bathrooms and a handrail on the stairway. Loved the playful gallery of photos upstairs and general Buddhist theme throughout. Much needed external painting currently being done.
    58%
    Ruth H July 2016
    warm and welcoming, a home away from home.
    98%
    Julianne I July 2016
    Relaxed vibe at Bellingen YHA which it is renowned for and will try and make it back to there sometime I have a bit more time to spend there.
    98%
    Greg N June 2016
    A very relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Perfect position for shopping. Overlooks the river area.....beautiful!
    92%
    lynne m June 2016
    Great mix of people; top location - had a ball - tks
    100%
    Debbie D June 2016
    Location is great, right in the center of town, but set back so traffic or passers by noise is not an issue. Rooms on the balcony are the best. Lovely rural views. It is a YHA, so there's always people about. Not for you if you want privacy. My friends, husband and I love it and we will be back.
    80%
    Edwina May 2016
    Somewhat hard to find and a little run-down, but okay.
    70%
    Allan L May 2016
    The hostel is really nice, in a beautifil location and with an awesome vibe. We stayed in a double private room, which was very nice apart from a really terrible spring mattress and thin cheap pillows. I know, it's a backpackers and I'm probably overaged for the environment but an accommodation provider really needs to have decent mattresses. I woke up very sore from it :(
    85%
    Pedro L May 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    90%
    496 customers have reated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    87%
    Condition of facilities
    84%
    Efficiency of service
    89%
    Friendliness of staff
    94%
    Location
    98%
    Overall atmosphere
    94%
    Safety & Security
    86%
    Value for Money
    86%