Search YHA

Bellingen YHA

  • Customer reviews of Bellingen YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (426 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The location is lovely. Great views. But unfortunately it was very noisy at night. People blaring music til past 1am. Not great when you have huge drives to do- I was fatigued to say the least! Plus I couldn't have more door open due to people walking around all night and having a mini party. So the view went unseen and I boiled in my room until I finally fell asleep. So much for 'please be quiet after 10pm'. Not much point having a sign of everyone ignores it. Shame.
    70%
    Melissa H February 2016
    Close to all amenities, right behind the main street.
    80%
    David C January 2016
    Beautiful outlook over the valley and central to all the best little Bellingen cafes!
    98%
    Deborah O January 2016
    Great stay for two nights. Would be happy to have stayed longer and will return when back in Bellingen.
    80%
    Mark P January 2016
    The best backpackers I've stayed at in either Australia or New zealand! Absolutely loved it.
    95%
    Madeline W January 2016
    Very relaxing and inviting hostel
    92%
    Graham r January 2016
    Maybe it'd be good yo hace individual lights ir switches. Un general is fantastic. Zen atmosphere and very friendly staff
    92%
    LORETO B January 2016
    This hostel is a great place to stay if you're wanting to explore all the wonderful things Bellingen has to offer as it's really central. The staff are super friendly and their is a communal kitchen and lounge area. The verandah and balconies are great places to hangout and get to know other travellers. There's a hammock near a buddha water feature which was really relaxing. Funny pics of nude travellers cover the hallway walls upstairs and theres a pool table and chess board and a soundsystem on the verandah which was cool to kill time with when the rain set in.
    95%
    Johanna M January 2016
    Amazing location with a relax atmosphere. One of the most beautiful backpackers I've stayed in. Little noisy a couple of nights after 10pm which disturbed our sleep but apart from that we were very happy with our stay.
    88%
    Theresa H January 2016
    Friendly, comfortable, beautiful views and right in town near great venues.
    100%
    Anne-Marie T January 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    89%
    426 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    84%
    Condition of facilities
    82%
    Efficiency of service
    89%
    Friendliness of staff
    94%
    Location
    95%
    Overall atmosphere
    91%
    Safety & security
    88%
    Value for money
    88%