Search YHA

Bellingen YHA

  • Customer reviews of Bellingen YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (389 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Matthew is a legend.
    Ryan D November 2015
    A great hostel. Great location - right in town with magnificent views. Grower markets were great. We cooked what we bought in the kitchen facilities. River is a great place for a swim. World Heritage sight only 20 minutes drive away. Staff helpful and friendly.
    Paul F October 2015
    Idyllic setting, easy to feel at home.
    Annie K October 2015
    Very friendly yha I will come back !! Thanx !!!
    Piro M October 2015
    I always like to stay at this hostel. I love Bellingen, but the fact that I can stay at such lovely and atmospheric accommodation means I can afford to stay there. The staff and the other visitors staying at this hostel always make it a very enjoyable stay. xx
    Kate H October 2015
    The overwhelming sandlewood burning incense made it difficult for me to enjoy the atmosphere. The space is cramped making it difficult to use the kitchen. Otherwise it was a great place to stay.
    Desiree S September 2015
    This is my favorite hostel in the world. Amazing staff, friendly guests. Best vibe
    Viola M September 2015
    Poetically perched on a hillside overlooking river and pasture, the building and staff exude a rare charm. The large undercover deck area is great for sharing meals or using as an away-from-home office. It is far too relaxing to work here through! The staff are happy to offer information about where to venture and local goings-on. Many of the people who have visited (during my time here) have prolonged their stay by a couple of days because it is too lovely to leave in a hurry.
    Melina M September 2015
    As senior people we were made very welcome at the YHA nothing was a problem. Thanks Guys
    Lynnette K September 2015
    there was nothing there but locals, some permanent that gave the impression that it was their place, 2 dogs we had to share with !!!!, owned by the locals, kids that had no respect for private property, jumping on the pool table, apparently too sick to attend school but ok to run around with their dog, spoilt rotten
    Joe C September 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    389 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money