Search YHA

Bellingen YHA

  • Customer reviews of Bellingen YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (429 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    To be fair, I'm not this hostel's natural target audience. Lot's of people love the place. I was a bit less convinced. Here's why: - Although I noted on my booking form and called to highlight the fact that I couldn't arrive until 7pm, and was assured that was fine, when I arrived, I struggled to find a member of staff. When I did so (slightly ahead of schedule at 6.40pm) I was told I was late and she had been trying to call me to find out where I was. Not the warmest of welcomes, but I do understand messages can easily be lost when there are lots of guests. - This hostel is at the more basic end of YHA locations. I've been booking private rooms as I travel round. Most have had a few creature comforts; some have had basic toiletries, all have had towels, most have had benches or shelves for backpacks/clothes. One even had a hair drier. Bellingen is straight forward: a bed, a small table and a fan. The single washroom is mixed, there is no laundry facility and the kitchen is quite small. I asked for a local map upon arrival (something every other hostel has provided) but they didn't have any to hand out. (There were some on the walls though and the local information centre was super helpful.) Still, the location is both convenient for the town and stunningly beautiful. - The common areas are used a lot by long term guests, off duty members of staff and locals. Once I got to know them, I found them to be very kind and friendly, but as a new arrival they do make it a bit more difficult for you to feel at home as some of them can be quite boisterous and tended to own the space, albeit unintentionally. - There was a lot of noise at night. Admittedly I think I was unlucky because a football team were staying and were partying until 3am right outside my room, causing a fair amount of chaos and damage. - The cleanliness was mixed. There always seemed to be some dishes left in the sinks which attracted ants. The manager was utterly lovely, but overall the staffing team were so laid back as to be almost horizontal. That meant that there were no strict rules and everything was pretty casual. If that's your style, this is the place for you. If however, like me, you prefer a few ground rules so as to ensure, for example, everything is spotless, curfews guarantee a good nights sleep, locals are not wandering in and out etc, this place may not be your cup of tea.
    65%
    Sian J February 2016
    It's probably one of the most wonderful place on earth, everyone is very friendly and the place is beautiful. I wish I could stay longer but I have to continue my Australian adventure. But I'll definitely have to come back :)
    100%
    Océane B February 2016
    I stayed a lot longer than expected caused by that beautiful atmosphere and fascinating people, thanks for that amazing time!
    98%
    Mareike W February 2016
    Awesome staff, Straight shooters!
    100%
    Jackson S February 2016
    The location is lovely. Great views. But unfortunately it was very noisy at night. People blaring music til past 1am. Not great when you have huge drives to do- I was fatigued to say the least! Plus I couldn't have more door open due to people walking around all night and having a mini party. So the view went unseen and I boiled in my room until I finally fell asleep. So much for 'please be quiet after 10pm'. Not much point having a sign of everyone ignores it. Shame.
    70%
    Melissa H February 2016
    Close to all amenities, right behind the main street.
    80%
    David C January 2016
    Beautiful outlook over the valley and central to all the best little Bellingen cafes!
    98%
    Deborah O January 2016
    Great stay for two nights. Would be happy to have stayed longer and will return when back in Bellingen.
    80%
    Mark P January 2016
    The best backpackers I've stayed at in either Australia or New zealand! Absolutely loved it.
    95%
    Madeline W January 2016
    Very relaxing and inviting hostel
    92%
    Graham r January 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    89%
    429 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    85%
    Condition of facilities
    82%
    Efficiency of service
    88%
    Friendliness of staff
    94%
    Location
    96%
    Overall atmosphere
    92%
    Safety & security
    88%
    Value for money
    88%