Bellingen YHA - Belfry Guesthouse

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Bellingen YHA - Belfry Guesthouse

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (596 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Homely Ambience of love and nature
    98%
    Julie W May 2017
    The absolute best location - one minute walk to town and cafes and a beautiful view of the river and mountains from the balconies. We loved our stay.
    90%
    Tony J May 2017
    Beautiful hostel, incredible views, fantastic staff and location. The best hostel I have ever stayed in. The Manager Rowan is one of a kind- what a legend.
    100%
    Gemma M May 2017
    Stayed at the bellingen backpackers to celebrate a friends bday with a group of women. We had a ball. Great to be so close to places to eat and play. Staff were very friendly and understanding of our needs. Were given numerous keys to room made access easy. We did return back to backpackers to nice seating nook out the back after venues closed still wanting to chat and party. We were asked nicely but insistently to keep it down. Definitely not a place for a quiet get away on that Saturday night and probably many others. It would be great if it was possible to have a place to hang out away from the bedrooms maybe down by the river for such occasions so as not to bother other guests.
    92%
    bec w May 2017
    Blissful atmosphere,friendly warm welcoming people and a beautiful location... loved the verandahs, hammocks and would have loved a longer stay. The photo collage lining the halls..unusual. .. in a quirky bring a smile to your heart and face way 😊 Thank you ..will hopefully be back one day soon
    100%
    Brigitte C May 2017
    Very friendly and kind staff. Beautiful outdoor patio. Bed was extremely comfy with clean linens.
    92%
    Cameron C May 2017
    This is what I think of when I think YHA - quirky little hostel in great location with fantastic outlook. Shared the night with a few tree huggers and had a wonderful experience.
    100%
    Craig T April 2017
    We loved our stay at the Belfy Guesthouse with our young family- the location is amazing, the building is gorgeous, the facilities are all clean and well maintained, and the staff were lovely and very helpful. We loved our relaxing, but sadly short stay- we will certainly be back!
    100%
    Sarah B April 2017
    We had the best view in the house looking out over the fields to the mountains. In fact, it was so good my boyfriend proposed there :)
    100%
    Katie April 2017
    Jen the night manager was very friendly and helpful at all times.
    100%
    Maxwell C April 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    94%
    94%
    customer rating, based on 596 reviews
    Cleanliness
    94%
    Condition of facilities
    91%
    Efficiency of service
    94%
    Friendliness of staff
    97%
    Location
    99%
    Overall atmosphere
    96%
    Safety & Security
    92%
    Value for Money
    92%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!