Search YHA

Port Macquarie YHA - Ozzie Pozzie Backpackers

  • Customer reviews of Port Macquarie YHA - Ozzie Pozzie Backpackers

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (348 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    On our way to Byron during long weekend, me and 3 friends stopped in PM for one night sleep at YHA. Very friendly staff and relaxing atmosphere. It was very noisy early in the morning (5ish am) but apart from that we would come back for sure! Thank you
    Estely B October 2015
    Pleasant place to stay
    ng b October 2015
    Warm and friendly staff, very clean facility, and a good vibe about the place.
    Tulia R September 2015
    Many free games and movies. I think the activities are cheaper than other places. For example, only $35 for whale watching. Not in the town center. A little bit far away from the beach. Not a lot of guests when I stay. The swimming pool is dirty. Free wifi does not work between 11pm and 9 am.
    Jing L September 2015
    This is one of my beloved YHAs on the east coast. When you look into the details of the hostel you'll know it's built from a backpacker's dream. It really feels like home. I spent three days here -- whale watching, cruising down Hastings River, visiting the Koala Hospital and riding a bike to explore the little town and surroundings were all great fun. Don't miss this little gem on your east coast trip. It'll make you feel so much relaxed and refreshed.
    QINGBIN (Zac) L September 2015
    Really great hostel, with friendly and helpful staff. Fun facilities and lots of activities suggested to keep you entertained. Best hostel so far for us!
    Victoria C September 2015
    Arrived on the late greyhound bus, directions given to the hostel was easy to follow , not to far away from the bus stop. Nice hostel and the staff was friendly and helpful. Stay for 3 nights in great location. Whale watching was good and the coastal walk around the beaches is nice. A good hostel, I would stay here again ☺
    Jayne L September 2015
    Really enjoyed the hostel. Unfortunately Could only stay for one night. The receptionist was excellent, really friendly and helpful. Location was great. Rooms were fine, small but it was exactly what we were looking for. we had a nice view of the marina. The kitchen was very accessible with plenty of cooking facilities if you wanted to cook. We were there during spring so it was quiet but looks like it would be a lively place for backpackers during peak season. Only thing I'd say is that If you were worried about belongings, they windows were quite flimsy. However I found the area to be quite nice so I had no worries. Overall a very pleasant but short stay. Highly recommended.
    Kieran T September 2015
    Very clean, nice and quiet in the room. Exactly what I needed during my drive down south. Would definitely stay again.
    Patrick M September 2015
    Very nice accomadation. The best movie room ive seen and such a comfy bed. Definately recommend.
    tara s September 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    348 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money