Search YHA

Sydney, Bondi Beachouse YHA

  • Customer reviews of Sydney, Bondi Beachouse YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1181 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    This hostel is more a young persons hostel, with a lot of partying. I found the kitchen to be inadequate for the number of guests and the fact that one cook top did not work, made me opt to eat out. The kitchen is closed until 8am, which does not work well for early risers.
    David J November 2015
    Excellent location near the beach, and overall a clean and pleasant place to stay
    Stacy P November 2015
    Good value for money but not good with children because there people who are smoking, drinking alcohol on the barbecue area and noisy at night
    Bernadette P November 2015
    I would be definitely coming back. I found this place simply perfect for my mate and I. We had our own room with a view and not to mention was quiet, bed was comfy. Staff were very friendly. I had a pleasant stay. Thanks YHA I will be back
    Amanda L November 2015
    I would recommend this hostel for a few days but not long term. The hostels staff was friendly enough but service was so slow even when it was something little. Lots of times no one was at the front desk which was frustrating at times. Especially if you needed something quick. There was definitely insufficient bathrooms which were never (noticeably) cleaned. The kitchen was always disgusting and other guests hardly cleaned up after themselves so communal pots and pans were always dirty when you wanted to use them. We stayed for a month and each week we extended they made us switch rooms which was really annoying packing and checking out and back in. It would have made our stay nicer if we could have stayed in the same room and not change rooms. The free wifi hardly works on a good day, and the premium wifi is expensive and drops out regularly even though they advertise it as being high speed. On a positive note the hostel is a great location and printed your first ten cv's for free.
    Laura November 2015
    This location is defiantly for the younger crowd. Great location close to the beach, but the kitchen was extremely small. The smell down some of the hallways was unbearable. Least favourite of the three YHAs we stayed at.
    Maddison R November 2015
    Facilities could use updating but still worthy a visit due to the great location.
    Jenny L November 2015
    Went to the staff to complain about having to have freezing cold showers think I had one warm shower in the week I stayed there and they just tried to brush it off saying they were surprised and that couldn't be happening making it out like we were lying. The showers had the same dirty marks each time I went in so clearly hadn't been cleaned . Rooms could have done with a Hoover and wipe my case was covered in dust when I left . The kitchen was disgusting when I went to go cook. Felt like the staff weren't efficient enough. Didn't feel like they were present never seen anything getting cleaned made me feel sick. The kitchen was really bad for people stealing food even when things were labled. If you smoke you were told to go down to a room in the cellar or go 100 yards down the street or to the beach. On a lighter note it's an amazing location for getting to the beaches or the city
    Sarah Q November 2015
    Stayed there for four nights - the location is really great but you have to be aware that it is a party hostel. Luckily there is a sharp closing at 10 p.m. of the party area. In some shover facilities there has been mold. Altogether I guess I would choose another hostel in a similar location if I would come back to Bondi.
    David L November 2015
    I stayed here alone, 7 months pregnant and with my four year old daughter. The staff went out of their way to assist me. The location was incredibly convenient, with regular buses just across the road, a short walk to the beaches, parks and coastal walking track, a short bus ride to the supermarkets and an easy bus/train trip into the city. We enjoyed a beautiful sunset from the rooftop and views of the ocean from our room. It was the most relaxing Sydney trip we have ever had!
    Micha J November 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    1181 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money