Search YHA

Sydney, Bondi Beachouse YHA

  • Customer reviews of Sydney, Bondi Beachouse YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1135 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The room I stayed in was right off of the center courtyard so it was a bit noisy as you could hear everything that people were saying outside and the noise carries. The room was musty and I developed a cough that has lingered for a few days. That being said, the staff was nice, location great.
    alexandra p October 2015
    Great spot friendly people
    Polly F October 2015
    The hostel smelt of cigarette smoke at night. You get what you pay for.... it was a comfortable room to sleep in. A little noisy but that's what I expect when staying at a hostel. Well priced
    Aimee S September 2015
    I would definitely recommand this hostel. It has the minus of any hostel (not enougth bathrooms, crowded rooms with people sleeping at 3 in the afternoon) but really makes up with the atmosphere. You actually don't spend much time in your room. It's also pretty clean and not too noisy (that's still a hostel though!). Negatives: - really bad free wifi (please guys, do smth!) - lockers (not the one in the room, the one if you arrive early and don't have a room yet) are expensive (3$ for 6 hours) - overall I found it quite expensive for what it was
    Estelle R September 2015
    It was a beautiful hostel just next to Bondi. Beautiful Top Deck. Maybe a bit less toilets / showers on some floors. But it was fine for us
    Raphael F September 2015
    Everyone very friendly. Would stay here again when I come back.
    Amy D September 2015
    I have been in Bondi YHA Hostel six days and every thing have been perfect. The staff is so lovely and the people too that you feel like at home.
    Elena M August 2015
    This has been the best hostle I have stayed at. Would for sure stay there again. Will tell other people about it. Everyone was so friendly
    Amy D August 2015
    Fantastic location, great staff, good atmosphere
    Angus M August 2015
    This is a great place for surfers and beachers, so close to Bondi, great walks along the coast and easy access to trains and buses for journeys further afield. Highly recommended as a hostel.
    Caroline p August 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    1135 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money