Sydney, Bondi Beachouse YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Sydney, Bondi Beachouse YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (1670 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The only good thing about this hostel was the location. The facilities did not cater for the number of people - only two toilets per floor. Bathrooms were always dirty - we were so grossed out that we showered down at the beach instead. The common areas were tired and dirty as were the rooms, massive cockroaches too! Beds were uncomfortable and they only gave us one clean sheet so no idea when the bottom sheet, pillow case or duvet cover were last washed - and considering how relaxed they were about cleaning I'm guessing not very often. Service was unwelcoming and often nobody was at reception. Overall an unpleasant stay - would not recommend.
    48%
    Rosie March 2017
    Our room was dirty and I found a cockroach under my bed.
    55%
    Juergen March 2017
    When checking in staff were not welcoming at all and were a bit rude, bathrooms were horrendously dirty I never saw them cleaned, room was hot and smelly and had massive cockroaches. Really lets down the yha name.
    48%
    Billie O March 2017
    Close to the beach and the promenade. Busstop right infront. Hostel is big and older but tidy and clean. Wifi in kitchen area is free. Staff is very distanced but mostly nice. Not a lot of explanation at check-in, so I had to go back a few times to ask a lot.
    72%
    Madeleine V March 2017
    too much drinking nice but other alts are cheaper
    72%
    Mark D March 2017
    I booked this hostel because I trusted YHA standards, I was in a low budget and it was the cheapest in Sydney so I took it. The lights in my room were failing (the fan as well, it stopped working in the middle of a warm night), there were only 2 toilets and 2 showers for a whole floor, it seemed that they cleaned them only once per day so they were dirty and smelly very fast. The kitchen was really small, I didn't even cooked but it was annoying to keep bumping with others guests when I went for a snack, the fridge smelled really bad and I think it wasn't at a proper temperature. Some of the staff seem a bit rude, the girl that checked me in wanted me to pay when I clearly booked online. I saw a cockroach in the aisle and decided to cancel the rest of my booking and change to the YHA at central... I felt in a 5 star hotel after bondi!... awful, I would never recommend this hostel... disappointing as all of my previous YHA stays were pretty good (hobart, melbourne and katoomba)! the only good thing is that they canceled my booking without "a fight" and got a refund of my money, but they didn't help me with the booking at central when I asked them and just told me to do it online.
    48%
    Javiera A March 2017
    very close to the beach, lots of socialization!
    82%
    Madison A March 2017
    Great location, right near the beach with quick bus access into the city. Very friendly staff.
    88%
    Miranda G March 2017
    Location is good but that's about it. Very dirty and smelly bathrooms! Rooms are super hot and sheets had stains on them plus I got bed bugs👎
    52%
    Romana A March 2017
    Always a pleasure to stay here at this hostel. It's in great location and I love the rooftop views. The staff are awesome people and always very helpful. It is definitely a hard spot to leave.
    100%
    Aron K March 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    70%
    70%
    1670 customer rating, based on
    Cleanliness
    58%
    Condition of facilities
    60%
    Efficiency of service
    71%
    Friendliness of staff
    73%
    Location
    88%
    Overall atmosphere
    69%
    Safety & Security
    76%
    Value for Money
    66%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!