Search YHA

Sydney, Bondi Beachouse YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Sydney, Bondi Beachouse YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1622 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    I love staying at this backpackers, it's very well set up in a great location with very helpful and friendly staff. Gets the gold star from me:)
    98%
    Aron K February 2017
    Cold staff. Don't welcome travellers in a friendly way. Perhaps it's because I come from South America where they understand that hostels exist thanks to the people who stay at them, so they try to make you feel like at home.
    58%
    John S February 2017
    Best hostel I have been so far. This is the best hostel to meet new people since there is a great backyard/kitchen/'livingroom' Super friendly staff. Also clean but the showers downstaires were only goving cold water sometimes. Think I will be back soon, loved it.
    88%
    Bente A February 2017
    A wonderful location. A little run down. Needs some maintenance . Staff were friendly and helpful. Concrete cancer, which is unavoidable in building os this age in Sydney, means the place has a slightly damp smell.
    80%
    Margaret P February 2017
    Hostel was nothing great. Showers never got above lukewarm temperature and often jumped to cold even when there was no one else in the bathroom. Staff were unfriendly - I don't think I got a single smile from one of them my whole stay. The kitchen is incredibly cramped, certainly not big enough for more than 4 people to cook safely at a time. I honestly heard 2 other people complain that we were likely to get burnt in there due to how little room there was.
    58%
    Aimee C February 2017
    Large Art Deco building. Nice rooftop area with beautyfull views over Tamarama and the coast to the south. Could handle some refurbishmemt tough. Kitchen is a bit too small considering the amount of beds. Had a great time tough.
    72%
    Linus February 2017
    This hostel was really dirty especially the toilets and showers. And there were a lot of cockroach. Unfortunately I can't recommend this hostel. The only thing I can recommend is the location. You can reach bondi beach in 5 minutes.
    55%
    Kiriaki S February 2017
    great location. friendly staff. easy to get to with public transport. good safe locker room available (at cost for locker) didn't use kitchen due to being out all the time! but it seemed well used and organised .knowledgeable and helpful staff. booking in was easy but when crowded could be a bit of a wait...as is usual anywhere. yes, you have to pay a (refundable) $10 deposit for set of cutlery, but if the cutlery didnt disappear in the past this would not have to happen! room (double ) was clean. no, aircon - open a window! (screened)
    90%
    Kristina J February 2017
    There are only a few bathrooms and there are not really clean. The fridge was out of order. The ladder for the top bed was against the wall, my friend had to climb through the window. The outlets in the room were 1.80 m above the ground, not practical at all. The laundry is closed at 8pm, that's really early. The kitchen is overcrowded. Not enough space for everybody. Noisy at night. No air con nor fan in the room and impossible to let the window open (banging with the wind).
    48%
    Alizee L February 2017
    I booked it online and it said 25 dollars, but when I arrived it was 35 dollars. So don't trust the prices you find online.
    55%
    Josefine February 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    74%
    1622 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    68%
    Condition of facilities
    64%
    Efficiency of service
    73%
    Friendliness of staff
    75%
    Location
    89%
    Overall atmosphere
    76%
    Safety & Security
    80%
    Value for Money
    71%