Sydney, Bondi Beachouse YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Sydney, Bondi Beachouse YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (1804 guests have reviewed this hostel)
YHA Bondi is probably the best hostel I have ever stayed in, the location is perfect, so close to Bronte and Bondi beach and very easy for public transport! We had a private bathroom but the communal facilities are great too! Would highly recommend :)
82%
Chloe B 08/11/2017
A really filthy hostel in all common areas, bathrooms and kitchen. Broken fire door to bedroom. No way would we stay here ever again. We’ve hostelled world wide, this place is the pits.
62%
Michael B 06/11/2017
Suited me for catching up with my cousin in Bondi
80%
Brian D 28/10/2017
Bathrooms and kitchen way too small and dirty Not enough pot and pan, no oven... have to rent the cutlery... laundry and dryer 8$ ... Too expensive for what you get !
42%
Andrea P 24/10/2017
Great location and facilities, with amazing views from the rooftop.
80%
Gary R 23/10/2017
Nice hotel, very well located between Bondi and Tamarama beach! Careful when you book, always look your receipts to be sure you paid for the right nights, especially when you pay cash! Also I booked 4 nights once and I didn't notice they charged me 5. Luckily they refund me the last one when I wanted to check out, but at first they didn't want to. The kitchen gets really busy for dinner, but there's enough fridges and food boxes for everyone. Nice place to meet people! I would definitely recommend this hostel, although one thing: cards-room sometimes stop working for no reason and the reception isn't 24h, so you can be lock outside the hostel or outside your room during the night. I think compare to hostel in Europe with the same rate, this hotel is maybe not that great, but compare to hostel in Bondi Beach, it is the BEST one!
80%
Marie-Pier B 17/10/2017
Not a good hostel to stay at Handy to beach. Buses handy.
48%
Dianne D 16/10/2017
The location is great. I wanted to stay close to Bondi Beach and I got what I wanted. The lock on the door didn't close properly and since it was the weekend they couldn't do anything about it. Sometimes the room was just open for everybody.
80%
Vanessa P 16/10/2017
I have traveled from Cairns to Sydney prior to my stay at YHA and I've never once come across staff as rude and miserable as yours on my travels. Thanks.
30%
Christopher M 14/10/2017
Too much partying, very bad wireless (only WiFi in the common space for free - this is 2017!!) Housekeeping was continuously cleaning but the guests were just super dirty, left food in the sink & garbage everywhere. Wouldn't recommend it for people over 18.
60%
Michelle E 09/10/2017

Hostel Rating Ratings guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

74%
customer rating, based on 1804 reviews
Cleanliness
70%
Condition of facilities
68%
Efficiency of service
70%
Friendliness of staff
73%
Location
89%
Overall atmosphere
74%
Safety & Security
79%
Value for Money
73%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL