Sydney, Bondi Beachouse YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Sydney, Bondi Beachouse YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (1854 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Nice Stay in Bondi Beach YHA Not best stay in Australia, but very convenient and a fun stay Travel with motorbikes, and easy to find parking
82%
Martin H 15/01/2018
It's a cool place with a great view and short way to the beach. A bit unorganized and small kitchen, but beside of that it's a great place to stay. I go back every time I'm in Bondi!
92%
Mia H 14/01/2018
The cleanliness is not the strong point of this hostel. Furthermore in our room we were leaving with cockroach!! The real good point of this hostel is the location !
78%
Loic T 14/01/2018
Just okay.
58%
Steven M 10/01/2018
Very dirty Hostel.
65%
Johanna C 10/01/2018
Overall a great place. The bathrooms on the first floor could do with decorating and cleaning more often. Kitchen is a bit small, not much area for food preparation. I would definitely recommend it to friends and if I come back to New South Wales I would stay here again.
85%
Janette B 09/01/2018
The hostel has a great location although it is extremely dirty and our room was infected with cockroaches The bathrooms were too small and always smelt like pee they had never seen a duster in there life Our room was hardly cleaned and we had to ask for our room to be cleaned which is disgusting Our room as cleaned twice in the whole two weeks we were there Some staff were helpful and could have a laugh with you and others looked like they didnt want to be there and they gave you dirty looks when you asked something The rules are pathetic and people were told off for singing Christmas songs on Christmas Day It’s like the staff have never lived or been young After looking at previous reviews I can see where people are coming from the hostel is not cleaned four times a day and it’s just old and tired You are selling this as something else and I think it’s bad how you charge so much for staying here
38%
Ellie B 03/01/2018
Me and my friends didn’t like this hostel, the staff were rude, there was cockroaches in our bedroom which the staff said “isn’t a big deal and normal in Australia” (we haven’t had cockroaches anywhere else. The hostel itself is worn out and needs a good refurb the kitchen is tiny. Overall not a great experience the only good thing is the location and the rooftop.
30%
Milly N 02/01/2018
Hostel needs improving in decoration and facilities. Two power outlets for a room of six people is ridiculous. Cockroaches were a daily visitor and nothing seemed to be done about it. Kitchen was tiny. Not enough toilets for guests. Rooms were hot and badly decorated. Common room decoration was awful. Staff very strict created a very ‘school like’ atmosphere. Tom behind the reception and the location was excellent.
55%
E T 02/01/2018
This hostel was very affordable and well located a block back from the Bondi and Tamarama beaches. Staff were helpful and friendly. Other guests were happy and considerate. Twin room was excellent with high ceilings, ceiling fan, plenty of space. Bedding was great. Slept well. Quiet at night.
82%
Theodore B 30/12/2017

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

69%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
56%
Condition of facilities
56%
Efficiency of service
71%
Friendliness of staff
74%
Location
87%
Overall atmosphere
68%
Safety & Security
74%
Value for Money
66%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL