Search YHA

Sydney, Bondi Beachouse YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Sydney, Bondi Beachouse YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1574 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The hostel has a really nice atmosphere and is located really close to Tamarama and Bondi Beach. We even came back a second time because we liked the flair so much. The rooms are pretty large and even though there is no aircon it doesn't get too hot. The only negative things are that there is no cheap supermarket nearby and the Wifi wasn't that fast even though we bought the premium version :-)
    92%
    Laura D January 2017
    The hostel is in a fantastic location with very friendly staff. The beach is a stones throw away and the view from the roof is amazing.
    78%
    Lucina R January 2017
    - Cleaning room 20 min before that people checking Out is a bit nonsense in my opinion. - 2 bathroom and 2 shower for floor for at least 30/40 people for each floor and often were dirty - a lack of management about the room, oje of the night a person couldn't find his bed in the dormitory - 6 beds dormitory is in a very small room and with just a fan and no windows! - wifi have a bad signal (very this looks very common in Australia)
    48%
    RAFFAELE F January 2017
    YHA is the only hostel you want to stay at if you're in Bondi. They are so helpful and friendly and the whole hostel is so comfortable. The staff treats you like guests rather than children they are taking care of. You can tell how much work everyone puts in to keep the place clean and relaxed for EVERY person. I am so excited I learned about YHA because no hostel will ever compare!
    100%
    Molly L January 2017
    If you can add a bar (or restaurant) and aircon in every room this hostel would be way better...
    70%
    Jan M January 2017
    Wonderful as usual....stayed here about 8 times over the past 8 years.
    100%
    Petra S January 2017
    Friend and I stayed in a private double bedroom. Room was dirty. Lights didn't work in the room had to use bathroom light to see. Didn't provide toilet paper, when we ask reception looked at us like complete idiots for asking?? Some of the staff were friendly. Rubbish through the halls. Worst yha I've ever stayed at. Poor Bondi.
    55%
    Emma G January 2017
    This hostel was great! I had just gotten to Australia and was only booked for one night but wound up staying 3 nights. The rooftop patio is a definite draw! I stayed in a 4 female room the first two nights and a 6 female room the last night. I preferred to use the lower level bathroom as it has 3 toilets, sinks and showers and also had a blow dryer. It was rarely crowded and the water pressure was good. The only tricky part was the lack of outlets in the room for 4 people, would recommend adding some power strips or something. Overall I really enjoyed my stay.
    90%
    Rebecca S January 2017
    The rooms where the sun beats in then all day are far to hot to sleep in in the summer. Even with the window open and the fan on it was pretty unbearable. The beds were pretty creaky and old but mattresses were nice. Staff was very friendly and I like how secure the hostel was. Plus they have a ping pong table which is amazing!!
    78%
    Stephanie C January 2017
    A nice experience, I will again next year!
    90%
    Kevin I January 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    78%
    1574 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    67%
    Condition of facilities
    68%
    Efficiency of service
    81%
    Friendliness of staff
    80%
    Location
    90%
    Overall atmosphere
    79%
    Safety & Security
    86%
    Value for Money
    76%