Alice Springs YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Alice Springs YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (1974 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    It was very loud at night :/
    80%
    Cosima T July 2017
    We really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and kid friendly spaces and games. The evening outdoor movie was a big hit.
    96%
    Adele V July 2017
    Thankyou to the man at the front desk who took the time to ensure myself and three friends (who had for some reason been booked individually by a tour company) were roomed together when we initially were not supposed to be. The facilities were excellent and it had a family vibe to it rather than a party atmosphere which was excellent. The nightly movies are a wonderful idea!
    93%
    Catherine M July 2017
    Well situated with good facilities.
    89%
    Gladys B July 2017
    Dorms are well set up with modern external private bathrooms. Kitchen is spacious but dont take any drinks or food into the adjoining lounge or you will be told off! Dont park your car along the Todd River, use the illuminated car park with the big wall painting. Great central location.
    84%
    Wayne A July 2017
    Nice hostel, but long-term residents were constantly smoking, hanging around and swearing, which brought down the atmosphere somewhat. The kitchen could do with some dishcloths to encourage people to wipe the benches down after using. Otherwise, clean and there is a very efficient system for labelling and storing food. Family room very cosy, although a few more power points to charge devices wouldn't go amiss. Some hooks to hang jackets and/or towels would be good too. Bathrooms were clean and the showers hot, which made a pleasant change after a stay at Ayers Rock Resort! The walk to the Telegraph Station is well worth it. Despite being peak season, there didn't seem to be a lot happening in the town, especially on a Saturday night. Not sure where everyone was!
    84%
    Dan C July 2017
    Good location, plenty of facilities.
    84%
    Sylvain P July 2017
    I really loved it. The rooms were spacious and my daughter and I were able to have our own space. The courtyard area made it more friendly and the pool was a great idea for the summer. The kitchen was adequately supplied with utensils and enough room to cook and store food.
    91%
    Allyson D July 2017
    Centrally located with friendly staff. A lovely atmosphere.
    82%
    S July 2017
    It was very handy to everything. We came in on a greyhound bus & walked to the hostel. Kitchen facilities were great & the courtyard & pool area are relaxed. Our room had a queen bed & bunks, so an excellent budget option for a family.
    98%
    Allyson D July 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    88%
    88%
    customer rating, based on 1974 reviews
    Cleanliness
    88%
    Condition of facilities
    88%
    Efficiency of service
    87%
    Friendliness of staff
    89%
    Location
    95%
    Overall atmosphere
    86%
    Safety & Security
    88%
    Value for Money
    87%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!