Search YHA

Alice Springs YHA

  • Customer reviews of Alice Springs YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1381 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The hostel was really clean, close to the grocery store, and has a large kitchen Most of the staff were friendly, and helpful. Although the aircon worked it got pretty hot at night because they sometimes turn it off overnight for some reason, that's my only complaint!
    Claire O November 2015
    I would definitely recommend this hostel to everyone. The stuff was very friendly, my room was in a great condition and the location of the hostel was perfect!
    R B November 2015
    The air conditioning was suddenly shut down during mid-night without prior notice. And we couldn't find any staff at that time for assistance. We have no other althernatives but to rent another room in the next hotel to sleep for the rest of that night as our room was feeling hot.
    Man-Wai L November 2015
    It's good hostel in alice spings. Frinedly staff and good location!
    Eunhwa L November 2015
    How nice it is! Air conditioning is so strong. I feel a bit cold. Stuff are very kind and friendly.
    Kenichi N November 2015
    The hostel has good connections with the local shops and companies.
    Tien Rui L November 2015
    The location is very central, the staff friendly and helpful. Very clean facilities, kitchen spacious and enough utilities. Rooms are spacious and clean, but get unfortunately cooled down extremely during the day without possibility to change this, so it is impossible to stay inside even for a short time and it's easy to get a cold changing between the cold inside and hot outside.
    Eva J November 2015
    In the double room we booked the air conditioning was placed almost over the bed. It was impossible to switch it off (it is centrally connected for everybody) or change anything. It was also a very noisy one. Unfortunately, we had problems to sleep because of it. Other than that, our stay was nice. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
    Nadia Z October 2015
    Grat facilities, the best YHA hostel I've stayed in all the way up the West Coast from Perth! Clean, friendly, and very warm atmosphere.
    Heidi N October 2015
    16 bed dorm not too dad as divided into two rooms. Kitchen and bathrooms were good and clean. Staff were miserable and didn't seem interested in their job which was the biggest turn off for me. Be lucky to get a smile from the manager and sometimes when travelling alone a simple 'hello' or 'good morning' goes a long way! $3 for washing detergent is a rip off, it says you can use it twice but it's not in a sealable packing so is inconvenient.
    Laura T October 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    1381 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money