Alice Springs YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Alice Springs YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (1854 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Beautiful, comfortable and perfect location. Oh. And the bunkbeds dont squeak!!! Result.
    100%
    Katie N March 2017
    One of the best YHA's I've ever stayed at.
    98%
    Tanja W March 2017
    It is a clean hostel with friendly stuff. The kitchen provides all the stuff you need for cooking well.
    82%
    Jan L March 2017
    The hostel was close to shops, had clean rooms and good security. I particularly liked that there was a freezer and oven in the kitchen and a book exchange in the lounge. Staff on reception and housekeeping were lovely, polite and helpful (especially Amy, the deputy manager), however there was one gentleman on the staff who, in my opinion, addressed everyone in the kitchen rudely saying they had to clean their dishes and pointing out pans that still had food cooking in them demanding they be washed (most people like to wait till they've finished cooking/eating before doing the washing up and prefer a please!). This gentleman was also involved in an incident, which I found intimidating and have lodged a complaint about. It's a pity because otherwise I would have reviewed such a lovely hostel with full marks. The only other suggestions I would make for improvement would be not playing the radio loudly in the common areas (everyone I spoke to hated it) and perhaps not offering the pay-extra-for Premium Wi-fi as it was just a waste of money because the internet wasn't even good enough to load an email most of the time I was there. Overall it was a decent place to spend a few days.
    92%
    Fran A March 2017
    Overall was a good experience however had a few bugs in the room.
    78%
    Daniel H March 2017
    Very kind and service minded staff, helped us a lot.
    88%
    Wendy G March 2017
    Best YHA Hostel I've been in so far in Australia. Excellent staff, good atmosphere.
    100%
    Rita L March 2017
    this hostel locate at central, don't hesitate make booking, that would be your best choice.
    88%
    Long N March 2017
    Great kitchen with ample utensils and seating space. New TV lounge and pool make this an ideal choice for the Red Centre. High turnover of clients heading out for tours leaves it quiet and peaceful for most of the day. Free breakfast of great pancakes and syrup is always a bonus.
    85%
    Benjamin S February 2017
    This is the worst YHA we've been to in New Zealand and Australia. Very small rooms witj aircon that you can't turn down or swich of and staff absentminded. We booked a tour, via the website but got no information once in AS. This is not the YHA we're used to -sorry
    60%
    Dorde Sandra P February 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    90%
    90%
    1854 customer rating, based on
    Cleanliness
    90%
    Condition of facilities
    87%
    Efficiency of service
    90%
    Friendliness of staff
    92%
    Location
    96%
    Overall atmosphere
    87%
    Safety & Security
    92%
    Value for Money
    87%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!