Search YHA

Alice Springs YHA

  • Customer reviews of Alice Springs YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1436 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The kitchen was very clean.. Just as well, because of the flies. The pool was well kept water and area perfectly clean and some shade. The movies in the evening fun. Everything is just round the corner, shops cafs etc.
    100%
    Susan H February 2016
    Pretty good hostel with a chilled out atmosphere. The pool was great to cool off in the harsh heat of summer. Rooms are pretty standard, but nothing special. I didn't find the hostel to be very social, but I was travelling with friends, so didn't mind so much. Only complaint was that when we entered our room to pick our beds, one mattress cover was spattered with dried blood...probably best to chuck out bedsheets in that state. Luckily our room wasn't full that night so no-one had to use that bed, but I'm not sure it should be up to the guest to get a new sheet in that situation.
    78%
    Jen K February 2016
    This hostel is centrally located. It has e little pool, a lawn and some deckchairs. The airconditioning let not turn off.
    82%
    Susanne M February 2016
    I stayed two nights in total in YHA alice springs. One before and one after a backpacking trip to uluru, Katja tjuta and kings canyon (what I can really recommend). The YHA is very good located, so you can reach all shops and highlights of alice as a pedestrian. There is no need to rent a car etc... The shuttlebus station is just round the corner, so everything is very close and easy to reach :) The hostel itself has an open kitchen with a big fridge. So you can cook your own meals. There is an aircon inside every room, but you cannot change temperature etc. Its very poor! What I actually don't like is the safety of luggage, when you want to go out. There are no secured lockers or other opportunities in the rooms. You can only store your luggage at the reception. What I personally find quit annoying, when you have to carry your whole luggageto the reception... Finally I had a good stay. You meet new people, it's cheap and the beds aren't that bad ;)
    70%
    Marcel H February 2016
    Inexcusable for YHA to overcharge for WIFI.
    90%
    Nathan T January 2016
    I like the pool.. The staff are grate... Grate place
    100%
    Jed January 2016
    Great stay, just wish the movies were played nightly.
    85%
    Shaun G January 2016
    The pool was very nice. Surrounded by green grass it looked really nice. The rooms were clean. There were enaugh showers for all the girls and free wifi :-)
    90%
    Cornelia B January 2016
    Travellers stay here and become friends. Alice springs is unique and do is this hostel. Happy memories are made here and will bribing a smile to your face long after you leave central Austalia. This hostel is the perfect base from which to join tours to Kings Canyon, Uluru and Kata Tjuta. Feel for yourself the spiritual heart of this vast continent. And be overwhelmed by our big skies and unique native flora and fauna. See It. Breathe it. Experience it.
    20%
    Ashley G January 2016
    Very expensive for what was just s double bed and 4 walls. Was also charged more then what was originally quoted when we booked it on hostel world.com
    62%
    Matthew M January 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    83%
    1436 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    78%
    Condition of facilities
    79%
    Efficiency of service
    80%
    Friendliness of staff
    86%
    Location
    92%
    Overall atmosphere
    82%
    Safety & security
    81%
    Value for money
    81%