Alice Springs YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Alice Springs YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (1913 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Funny kitchen rules
    92%
    Rebecca A May 2017
    Friendly reception staff and clean rooms, perfect! No complaints!
    100%
    Emma K May 2017
    Booked a twin room. Good facilities, interesting room set up. Good outdoor area.
    82%
    Morgen A May 2017
    Good clean hostel at a good location.
    80%
    K Y May 2017
    It's OK, I only stayed for one night. I had booked the 16 bed dorm, and it was fine, although a bit messy but what else can you expect. The lock for the room had actually broken, so it wasn't particularly safe. There are lockers in the room though that was good. The staff were ok, relatively informative and helpful. One person had a go at me for having a drink in the sofa area, when it was actually an empty water bottle and that could've been dealt with a lot better. Location is excellent & wifi is OK.
    65%
    Ruth H May 2017
    There was a school group ( teenaged and 2 teachers/supervisors) who kept me awake until midnight and woke me again at 5 am. The teenaged were running on the deck and knocking on walls the echoed through the the building. They were also yelling. No one from the hostel noticed or told them that after 10 was quiet time. I went and asked the teacher to try and control them at 11:30. It was a horrible experience.
    65%
    Nicole G May 2017
    One of the best hostels I have stayed in in terms of cleanliness and facilities. Very conveniently​ located within Alice Springs. Excellent for the price.
    100%
    Adam T May 2017
    Great service, clean room, clean kitchen, and a good night's sleep! Only complaint was the showers were a little on the cold slide.
    80%
    Ashlee D April 2017
    Great hostel, stayed at a 16-bed dorm, but it didn't feel like there were that many there. The location is perfect, kitchen was well equipped and nice, and the bathrooms were clean and big.
    95%
    Hanne M April 2017
    Definitely recommend YHA for that price,surprised and impressed with the cleanniness.Very convenient to travel around.
    85%
    Jenish R April 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    88%
    88%
    customer rating, based on 1913 reviews
    Cleanliness
    88%
    Condition of facilities
    85%
    Efficiency of service
    87%
    Friendliness of staff
    90%
    Location
    96%
    Overall atmosphere
    86%
    Safety & Security
    86%
    Value for Money
    86%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!