Search YHA

Alice Springs YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Alice Springs YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1707 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Loved the Friday morning pancakes. We arrived after they had stopped making pancakes but Roger was kind enough to make us more even though he didnt have to. We also enjoyed the outdoor movie the night before. Great hostel and great service, would definitely recommend staying here.
    Jenny D October 2016
    Location is very convenient for transportation and shopping and he staff helped me check in is very friendly.
    Yuwen P October 2016
    Great experience for a backpacker place. The cleanliness and safety were most important to me, and a nice way to finish the rock tour by the shady pool. Thanks guys!
    Liz D October 2016
    so tidy and clean. also friendly staff. its simply what people want.
    Ryo k October 2016
    Turned lights out to sleep; I was on top bunk and spiders, not quite sure how many, fairly large darted out the aircon vents, terrifying; they were running everywhere, couldn't sleep so left my room at 12am.
    Rhianna H October 2016
    I was just two nights there (before and after a tour), but everything went well. I really liked the hostel and people working there were friendly :)
    Debora S October 2016
    The hostel had good facilities and the staff were great. A lot of people seemed to be there in groups so was harder to mingle sometimes.
    Luke G September 2016
    Not much else in Alice, prefer Melbourne and Adelaide yha
    Christian S September 2016
    The kitchen here was probably the best equipped and most spacious I've ever experienced. Loads of pans, pots, cutlery, knives (albeit they were all exceptionally blunt), enough stove tops you didn't have to wait long, if at all. A working oven! Loads of fridge space. The staff were super helpful, from my booking accommodation and tours, to storing bags, and recommending places to go trail running.Location is spot on; close enough to everything for walking distance, but not in a noisy location. Great large space in the lounge to chill out, and plenty of outdoor seating. Rooms were a little overheated during the nights, and not the cleanest places. Bathrooms were nice and clean, and the kitchen was too, except for when selfish people decided to leave a big mess after themselves. Hope you don't have a wriggly person on the top bunk above you because it will be like trying to sleep through and earthquake! All in all, a great hostel.
    Amy C September 2016
    Amazing staff, great way to meet people and be yourself. I will miss the YHA .
    Cornel D September 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    1707 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & Security
    Value for Money