Search YHA

Alice Springs YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Alice Springs YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1819 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Reception staff are nice and friendly, especially the younger ones. Kitchen is incredibly clean for hostel, this however is due to the patronising staff member who goes round telling everyone to wash up before they have finished cooking, and talks to everyone as if they were 12 despite older clientele staying here. It certainly stopped a lot of people from bothering to cook. Also not true that there is a movie every night. I stayed a week and there was one movie
    85%
    C E February 2017
    Not all rooms have a properly functioning air conditioning. Aircon is crucial in a city like Alice Springs (temperatures were between 40-45 Celsius when I visited!!). Having said that, the staff was very helpful and moved me to another room of which the aircon did work well. Kitchen is clean and well equipped.
    78%
    Albertine K February 2017
    Great place for backpackers! Good for a one night stay! It's clean, friendly, and fun.
    95%
    Dhanya B February 2017
    Good location for exploring Alice Springs on foot. Small pool is well maintained and great for a dip on a hot day. Plenty of bathrooms and great showers. Very clean. A large well equipped kitchen, also very clean. Lovely friendly helpful reception staff. I had booked a 4 bed dorm but when I arrived the room was warmer inside than outside, which was a sweltering 41 degrees that day. The air conditioning in Rm 2 wasn't working and there was only one socket in the room. I went to reception and managed to move to Rm 17, a newer 6 bed dorm, which had more room, sockets and great air con. It's worth booking a bigger dorm to get the newer rooms.
    90%
    Nuala G January 2017
    Everywhere needed a damp good clean!
    58%
    Carol d January 2017
    Everything about this place was very good. One of the all around hostels I have stayed in anywhere.
    100%
    Anthony J January 2017
    Very clean hostel. Great staff and swimming pool essential in Alice Springs.
    100%
    Edward h January 2017
    5stars for pool and garden!
    85%
    AnnaMaria C January 2017
    I really loved my stay at YHA Alice Springe. Stuff was lovely and really helpful.. super happy to have stayed with you. Keep up the excelent work.
    100%
    Lily C January 2017
    Great hostel, nice features about it. Was kindly given a tent to use on a trip to Uluru on condition I passed it on to another traveller which I have effectively done by leaving it at Adelaide YHA.
    92%
    Derek D January 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    90%
    1819 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    89%
    Condition of facilities
    88%
    Efficiency of service
    88%
    Friendliness of staff
    92%
    Location
    96%
    Overall atmosphere
    86%
    Safety & Security
    90%
    Value for Money
    88%