Search YHA

Ayers Rock - Outback Pioneer Lodge

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Ayers Rock - Outback Pioneer Lodge

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1046 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Ben at the front desk was very helpful with check in and all problems that I had! He went above and beyond what he had to when it came to recommendation of tours as well!
    95%
    Jordan J May 2016
    It was a bit expensive but it was a nice place and I love the free shutter bus even through it was pretty near to walk.
    90%
    Hanna P May 2016
    I am aware of remoteness of location and that all food etc has to be trucked in and all rubbish etc out but feel $203 per night for double room with shared facilities is too high
    72%
    bronwyn h May 2016
    This would be one of the least value-for-money hostels in Australia for solo travellers who do not want to share a dorm with a host of other travellers of the same sex or a 4-bed mixed dorm. Think of a budget motel room, but even budget motels have private facilities. Here you have to take a walk to the ablution block, and if it's early in the morning or late at night you'll first need to dress warmly. My room had an odour of smelly feet, but was otherwise okay by itself. There was a double bed and a bunk bed, TV, fridge, wardrobe, bedside table, 2 chairs and tea and coffee-making facilities plus noisy air-conditioning. The premises were fine, Outback Pioneer has more character than the other hotels that belong to the resort, that's probably due to it having a pub and fairly affordable meals to purchase. There is a free resort shuttle that takes you around to the other hotels as well as Town Square where you'll find a couple of coffee shops/restaurants, a supermarket, assorted other shops and a tour booking complex. It's also where you can listen to free daily talks about Aboriginal culture. So all in all Ayers Rock Resort is a great place (and the only place) to stay if you want to visit Uluru and Katatjuta. It's just that if you travel on your own you'll pay through the nose for your accommodation.
    75%
    Kirsten W May 2016
    Hostel experience is often dictated by the guests. I had a bunk mate with no hostel etiquette. Perhaps post signage about hostel etiquette (using the ladder, not someone elses matttess for climbing up, and packing your bag outside of the room.
    80%
    Mark P May 2016
    very good facilities, there is a kitchen for all the guest, so that people can buy food from supermarket and cook there, it's a lot more convenient and cheaper than eating in a diner.
    98%
    tina q May 2016
    Safe and Clean and Staff is friendly and helpful.
    80%
    SAKARET L May 2016
    "Fantastic experience - I just love that no matter what you're travel budget is you can experience wonderful iconic areas of Australia such as Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon staying at such safe, clean, friendly and fun environments such as the Outback Pioneer Lodge where the YHA is located in Yulara. I'll be back."
    100%
    janette t April 2016
    I stayed at the YHA from Friday to Monday and I can recommend this hostel to everybody ! I arrived on a Friday without any booking there, which I wouldn't recommend to do! But the staff tried everything possible to make it possible for me to stay there. The staff is extreme friendly and you can ask them every time for help. I was staying in a female dorm with 19 other girls, which was alright. It was quiet and very very clean, which I haven't expected. The location is also optimal, because the YHA is the only accommodation with a bar, where you can meet new friendly people and enjoy your beer after a hard day of hiking and visiting all the beautiful places in Uluru. I highly recommend everybody to stay there. For a low amount of money you get a great value, including clean rooms and friendly staff.
    95%
    Natalia S April 2016
    Accommodation was basic but convenient and good value. I appreciated being able to cook for myself. I was able to slip quietly out early to view the sunrise.
    82%
    john b April 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    82%
    1046 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    83%
    Condition of facilities
    82%
    Efficiency of service
    79%
    Friendliness of staff
    82%
    Location
    91%
    Overall atmosphere
    83%
    Safety & security
    85%
    Value for money
    74%