Search YHA

Ayers Rock - Outback Pioneer Lodge

  • Customer reviews of Ayers Rock - Outback Pioneer Lodge

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (925 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    We are a couple of french. We really enjoy this place everything was perfect for us comparatly at the other place that we already did. The staff is friendly and really avaible. There is lot of choice for the restaurant and for every budget. A kitchen is available with all the necessary and really clean. There also a shop center where you can go by a free bus who come every 15min. Shower, toilet are clean. The only negative point that i reckon is the swimming pool who is to cold!
    100%
    Estelle P August 2015
    I enjoyed the stay, especially the standard of cleanliness was higher than expected. Lots of facilities. My only complaint is the temperature of the dorm room. It was way too hot as the heating was turned on too high. I spoke to a staff member about this but this did not get rectified on the second night. As well as being uncomfortable, having heating on so high is not great for the environment.
    100%
    Kessy Z August 2015
    If you stay in the shared dorms, make sure you take earplugs and an eye mask. These were invaluable for enabling good quality sleep.
    78%
    Cherie B August 2015
    Life music was great and if you're into barbies, it's the right place for you.
    72%
    Anika S August 2015
    A great place to stay with when travelling to Uluru. The place is clean and keeping you warm in the hostel. The staff are friendly. There is a Ululru Lookout in the hostel. So even if you don't want to take a tour bus to sunset platform, you can opt for the Lookout to enjoy a farer but less crowded sunset of Uluru.
    92%
    Yuen Ching C August 2015
    Dont recommand it! Wait 5hours to Check in and saw maybe 3bus of people chek in before me! Staff not helpfull, they just dont care, I prefered sleeping in a car that sleep at this hostel! Choose an other!
    42%
    Delmas V August 2015
    Nice clean room but there was minimal hot water. Great location as tours can pick up and drop off there.
    75%
    Nicola F August 2015
    the shared kitchen is to small
    70%
    sophie p August 2015
    Even u miss the shuttle to the airport, u need not to worry. The staff will help u out. Don't forget to try the outback combo at the BBQ lounge. Very nice.
    85%
    sum wing n August 2015
    Great place to spend a few days next to Uluru. However, the showers and bathrooms are open and freezing cold in winter.
    88%
    Michael E August 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    82%
    925 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    84%
    Condition of facilities
    78%
    Efficiency of service
    82%
    Friendliness of staff
    84%
    Location
    91%
    Overall atmosphere
    82%
    Safety & security
    81%
    Value for money
    76%