Ayers Rock - Outback Pioneer Lodge

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Ayers Rock - Outback Pioneer Lodge

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (1170 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    This is the second time I've stayed and it's a perfect base for exploring Uluru and Kata Juta. The whole Outback Pioneer site has buildings and gardens looking like a traditional outback station homestead. Very comfortable and clean. I stayed in the women's dorm both times but would love to stay in a double room next time. I intend to be back as it's an easy flight from Sydney with free shuttle to and from the airport and regular 20 min free shuttle around Yulara resort.
    95%
    Liana P April 2017
    A nice and cheap place to stay in an otherwise expensive tourist resort. The facilities were basic but adequate.
    82%
    Bernard W March 2017
    Un séjour extraordinaire! In all the places I visited, this is my Number 1, not only in Australia, but in the entire world.. The staff has been more than awesome, and I think it's the reason why I have most appreciated my trip. I especially want to note the humour and the kindness of the youngest receptionist, the Barman and the guy who dance on Usher's songs while cleaning rooms ; thanks you! (Sorry for my english, it must have some mistakes, hopefully for you, you didn't hear my french accent haha)
    98%
    Clementine D March 2017
    Super hostel. Great atmosphere with the bar and restaurant. Built over a big area so nice and quiet in the dorms at night. Viewpoint to see Uluru. Shuttle bus provided back and forth to town square however the 10 minute walk is a lovely walk across the Outback path.
    88%
    Kate B February 2017
    Overall good, too expensive. No free wifi.
    78%
    Alessandro C February 2017
    This is the only hostel option in Ayers Rock so you have no option. Overall is a good place, good beds and clean. Booking says check in time at 1pm but the real time is 3pm. Very expensive food around all the resort. no free wifi.
    82%
    Alessandro C February 2017
    We stayed with family. Best hotel ever ! we were very impressed ! staff friendly, clean hotel. restaurant a bit expensive in the hotel but we went to eat in one restaurant in the little town and it was perfect ! concert in the hotel at night time with a great singer. beautiful lookout from the hotel.
    100%
    ANNICK G February 2017
    We stayed with my parents and their friends for 2 days and booked the sunset and sunrise tour, I am using YHA everywhere in the world and I can say, this one is the best so far! Such a good organisation, beautiful hostel in the perfect place and an amazing lookout. staff friendly too. thanks and I will recommend your hostel to all my friends who travel.
    100%
    CLAIRE B February 2017
    This hostel in the outback is the best hostel I've been! Stay in the yha, good value for money and more comfortable than in tents
    100%
    Lijun W February 2017
    Considering the remote location, the price was fair as there were extremely limited budget accommodation choices. 24/7 aircon was fantastic in the rooms and communal area - rather than just a fan. Fans in the bar area are terrible though, probably would've spent more time at the bar spending $$ if they invested in some better fans. In a 4 bed room the floors were absolutely filthy. That was the main turn off. Might stay here again as the general atmosphere was alright, but definitely not in the hostel.
    62%
    Angela C February 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    85%
    85%
    customer rating, based on 1170 reviews
    Cleanliness
    83%
    Condition of facilities
    82%
    Efficiency of service
    84%
    Friendliness of staff
    88%
    Location
    94%
    Overall atmosphere
    84%
    Safety & Security
    86%
    Value for Money
    77%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!