Search YHA

Ayers Rock - Outback Pioneer Lodge

  • Customer reviews of Ayers Rock - Outback Pioneer Lodge

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (992 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Did the job.
    75%
    Aneale U January 2016
    Nice 4 bed dorm (which the 2 of us had to ourselves) with cool, functioning air conditioning making for a comfortable nights sleep. Did the job. No bells and whistles.
    75%
    Aneale U January 2016
    Awesome hostel, great staff and food. The other guests aren't the friendliest people. Not much atmosphere...
    85%
    Tim G January 2016
    Very clean, first hostel experience, affordable.
    98%
    Melda o January 2016
    There was no hot water in the shared showers. We also booked a hostel room with 4 beds but received a room with 20 beds.
    68%
    Regina R January 2016
    If you can't use a HOTEL, I think that choosing outback pioneer lodge is the best.
    85%
    JAEHO L January 2016
    The facilityies are completely negelcted. The water in the pool is so dirty, your can not see your own feets. Lights are broken, ways are rough and dirty. All the stuff is very overpriced.
    58%
    Eric B January 2016
    Good place. Only real problem is there's not much to do and the air conditioned is so exaggerate.
    78%
    Francesco B January 2016
    Didn't find it very sociable unfortunately.
    72%
    Sarah M December 2015
    Too many people sleeping under the same roof and I didn't get much sleep at all. I booked the four people's room but it just a four people's cubic. Imagine how noisy it can be to sleep with 20 people in the same room.
    72%
    Guangyu Q December 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    83%
    992 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    84%
    Condition of facilities
    78%
    Efficiency of service
    79%
    Friendliness of staff
    87%
    Location
    90%
    Overall atmosphere
    80%
    Safety & security
    85%
    Value for money
    80%