Search YHA

Ayers Rock - Outback Pioneer Lodge

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Ayers Rock - Outback Pioneer Lodge

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1111 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Despite it being a 20-bed dorm, it was remarkably quiet. People seem to go to sleep early at Uluru ...but then they wake up for the sunset and although they slipped out as quietly as possible, there was inevitable noise and movement at 4AM. There are no lockers, but there are lights at each bed. The showers are in a building that has excellent ventilation which I'm sure is fine in the summer, but it was about 7C each night I was there and I couldn't bear the thought of showering in a cold space.
    P D October 2016
    The hostel is well run, but extremely over priced at $40 for a bed in a 20 bed dorm! I'll definitely camp next time, least you then get some privacy for the price.
    Belinda B October 2016
    We stayed at the camping first and it was a much better travelling vibe. Because the hostel was combined with a hotel/lodge it lost its yha backpackers vibe that I am used to. Food from the kiosk was great. Kitchen to cook was also good. We just needed a room to pack al our things because we had to fly out. Room was not cleaned, there were a couple of dead bugs in the corner (and they were there a while)
    Evi V September 2016
    Dirty bath and kitchen. Forced to take a specific bed. Twenty people room.
    Christoph M September 2016
    Not much beyond a bed and location next to Uluru. Wifi is expensive and they require a $40 deposit for dishes/pots for the communal kitchen. Make sure to bring alcohol and food from a cheaper city!
    Michael A September 2016
    Staf was friendly. Recommended activities around - for day tours, night tours etc. Food court was quite good, served nice food and drinks. Hostel kitchen quite well maintained.
    Lolita Z August 2016
    A visit to Ayers Rock Resort is a VERY expensive affair - however, the Outback Pioneer Lodge was both an enjoyable, relaxed stay, and represents value for money in an otherwise overpriced market. Stay here, and save your money for the tours!
    Paul N August 2016
    Lived in female dorm, nice and clean. Kitchen did not have much utensils for guest to use
    Wing Yan S August 2016
    Food like everywere not cheap do bring snacks and water bottles ( can fillup everywere but the bottles extream expensive) for breakfast go other dide of the hill if you dont want pay 26$ for bufett
    Thomas E August 2016
    The resort it beautiful, clean and the reception is opened 24hrs which is helpful. The rooms where bigger (20ppl in dorm) even tjough i booked a 8 bed.. Should be changed on the website. But the pool area is really nice! I didn't like that it is so expensive just to go to uluru and back:60$ ( only 20 kmaway, and buses go all the time picking up people ecc...)
    Franziska L July 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    1111 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & Security
    Value for Money