Search YHA

Ayers Rock - Outback Pioneer Lodge

Check in
Check out
  • Customer review of Ayers Rock - Outback Pioneer Lodge

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1078 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Great experience. The facilities are very well-maintained, and the dorms are clean and comfortable (though be prepared for a shivery walk to the shower block in mid-winter). The restaurants around the resort are fairly pricey, but there's a large communal kitchen where you can prepare your own food, and a common room where you can chat with fellow guests. WiFi isn't free, but the area does have good 4G reception.
    88%
    James C July 2016
    Great hostel for anyone looking to explore Uluru and Kata Tjuta. Very informative and friendly staff. Highly recommend!
    100%
    Aleksandra E July 2016
    It was dirty - 2 pubic hairs, mould in the shower, suspicious stains. Front desk staff were lovely.
    60%
    Lou L July 2016
    The staff were very helpful. They were great for booking/recommending tours and activities and were helpful when I asked for extra blankets and towels.
    98%
    Natalie C July 2016
    For what you pay to stay there, you really would expect more. Multishare means 16 people in a room The kitchen isn't really nice. There are no pots/pans etc. you have to get them for a deposit. Bathrooms are shared with the campers and they are outside. In the winter it's really cold, even in the rooms. Had to get my sleeping bag. No free WiFi. Just the community room and live music was nice. Sadly it's the only choice for backpackers there.
    62%
    Jonas N June 2016
    Excellent night time atmosphere in hub no matter what accommodation level you stay in.
    95%
    Christopher H June 2016
    This is a great hostel and a bargain considering the price of the other accommodation in the resort, unless you are prepared with the necessary to camp in the campground. Staff are very friendly and helpful. In fact all the locals I met were friendly. You will need to sign up for a tour, or have your own transport to see Uluru and Kata Tjuta. Sunrise tours start before dawn so get used to waking early.
    92%
    Ken Y June 2016
    Not many food options especially healthy ones or vegetarian ones and the kitchen has few dishes so fairly difficult to cook......
    72%
    L G June 2016
    Really need to re-stock their kitchen, no bowls, plates, microwave and toaster were broken.. No point in them advertising that they had a kitchen.
    55%
    Capri H June 2016
    I would recommend to have the block numbers of Outback Pioneer facilities painted in large letters on the walls of the various blocks to help navigation. Arriving at the facility in the dark and trying to find the correct block number - and there are many - would we be a wonderful improvement. Also, in the room - a solid shelf connects the two bunk beds and provides a practical shelf for storage. Good idea. Not so good is the color of the shelf - black. Due to this color, it is difficult to 'see' this shelf and I bumped my head several times on it. May I suggest to have a yellow line or some other signs to alert guests to be careful.
    90%
    Irena K June 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    81%
    1078 customers have reated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    81%
    Condition of facilities
    77%
    Efficiency of service
    78%
    Friendliness of staff
    87%
    Location
    91%
    Overall atmosphere
    83%
    Safety & Security
    80%
    Value for Money
    72%