Search YHA

Ayers Rock - Outback Pioneer Lodge

Check in
Check out
  • Customer review of Ayers Rock - Outback Pioneer Lodge

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1091 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Staf was friendly. Recommended activities around - for day tours, night tours etc. Food court was quite good, served nice food and drinks. Hostel kitchen quite well maintained.
    98%
    Lolita Z August 2016
    A visit to Ayers Rock Resort is a VERY expensive affair - however, the Outback Pioneer Lodge was both an enjoyable, relaxed stay, and represents value for money in an otherwise overpriced market. Stay here, and save your money for the tours!
    90%
    Paul N August 2016
    Lived in female dorm, nice and clean. Kitchen did not have much utensils for guest to use
    72%
    Wing Yan S August 2016
    Food like everywere not cheap do bring snacks and water bottles ( can fillup everywere but the bottles extream expensive) for breakfast go other dide of the hill if you dont want pay 26$ for bufett
    80%
    Thomas E August 2016
    The resort it beautiful, clean and the reception is opened 24hrs which is helpful. The rooms where bigger (20ppl in dorm) even tjough i booked a 8 bed.. Should be changed on the website. But the pool area is really nice! I didn't like that it is so expensive just to go to uluru and back:60$ ( only 20 kmaway, and buses go all the time picking up people ecc...)
    80%
    Franziska L July 2016
    It was very cramped staying in the dorm. There were too many fluoro lights right above my head and the noise from the bar next door was too much so I went and slept in my car instead. Poor value for money and a waste of $40 for me.
    62%
    Alison P July 2016
    The room was quite alright. But it was part of a big resort, with bar's and music and loud dronken people. The kitchen facilities where poor. It was the only budget choice close to Uluru, so we kind of had to.. It was very expensive, as well as the only supermarket in the area and all of the other facilities. They really take advantage of their monopoly.
    68%
    Line T July 2016
    I have included some suggestions below but the positives include the showers and toilets which were always clean and great as there was always hot water and the pressure was awesome which is a huge positive. The dorms were nice and clean and the mattresses were comfortable. The kitchen was fantastic but it may need to be expanded given there are LOADS of people using it at dinner and breakfast times. Plus more tables to eat after cooking would have been helpful. I thoroughly enjoyed the free ecological tour at the art museum!!
    68%
    Annabeth S July 2016
    Great experience. The facilities are very well-maintained, and the dorms are clean and comfortable (though be prepared for a shivery walk to the shower block in mid-winter). The restaurants around the resort are fairly pricey, but there's a large communal kitchen where you can prepare your own food, and a common room where you can chat with fellow guests. WiFi isn't free, but the area does have good 4G reception.
    88%
    James C July 2016
    Great hostel for anyone looking to explore Uluru and Kata Tjuta. Very informative and friendly staff. Highly recommend!
    100%
    Aleksandra E July 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    79%
    1091 customers have reated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    82%
    Condition of facilities
    74%
    Efficiency of service
    77%
    Friendliness of staff
    86%
    Location
    88%
    Overall atmosphere
    82%
    Safety & Security
    78%
    Value for Money
    68%