Search YHA

Stradbroke Island YHA

  • Customer reviews of Stradbroke Island YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (305 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    definitively a place to stay and come back. Beautifull environment, friendly and welcoming staff, everything was perfect! I would have loved to stay much longer!
    genevieve g September 2015
    Very restful and relaxing. The enthusiasm of those that come to dive created a friendly environment.
    Teresa Z September 2015
    I was there late August and it was very quiet (seemed like less than 10 people in the whole hostel). It is in an amazing location right near the beach, with the main pub only 10mins walk up the road and the bus stop that connects to the Water Taxis only 20 metres down the road. Staff were very friendly and chilled. There is really poor internet reception there using a mobile phone (I was with Optus and could very rarely connect to the internet). If you walk a little away from the hostel to the main pub it seems to work better. The hostel is a little old but there were always lots of people cleaning and it was immaculate the whole time. Definitely recommend it.
    Cameron F August 2015
    Staff was so helpful and nice! It was a very last minute getaway but it was perfect
    Katie H August 2015
    Location, staff and facilities are excellent. Bedding is pretty average though, recommend taking your own pillow/sleeping bag etc!
    Mark N July 2015
    Couldn't think of a better place to stay, there was plenty to see and the staff at the hostel were friendly and really made the stay amazing.
    Jeff I July 2015
    A ne pas manquer! Petit déjeuner devant la plage, feu de camp au Yha le soir, que rêver de mieux? L'ambiance est convivale et le staff est exceptionnel. La propreté est aussi au rendez vous, c'est l'idéal ! Must see! Stradbroke YHA is amazing! Extraordinary staff members! The hostel is very clean and is 40m away from the beach. I highly recommend this place and will come back eventually ;).
    LAETITIA I July 2015
    Friendly and accommodating staff, clean facilities, toilets and rooms, a great layout for guests, games room,chill out,bbq and kitchen...
    Stuart W July 2015
    Just a long weekend off... perfect place to relax when comfortable around other people
    Lars M June 2015
    Had a brilliant time at this hostel, very close to the bus stop, 30 seconds from the beach and about halfway between amity and point lookout, lovely walk to each, but quite long probably get the bus back! Staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. Kitchen is so good for a hostel with tea and coffee provided. Sectioned fridge space which made life so much easier. Camp fire at night was an added bonus. Nothing negative to say!
    jade s June 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    305 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money