Search YHA

Stradbroke Island YHA

  • Customer reviews of Stradbroke Island YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (326 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Wonderful 5 days spent here. Staff were very friendly and helpful. They had a lot of local knowledge about the island to share. Debbie, Gary and Pete were wonderful and made my daughter and I feel very welcome. We both loved our stay and will definitely be back for a longer one.
    98%
    RACHEL W January 2016
    Myself and three friends stayed here over New Years. I cannot recommend this place enough. Old but clean rooms, spotless bathrooms, decent kitchen (another toaster wouldn't go astray) and perfect location. The staff were friendly and inclusive, even though we didn't go diving :) We had a car, which made it easy to get around, but this place is walking distance to some of the best beaches on Straddie. Seriously, don't hesitate to stay here.
    95%
    Kim Nicole D January 2016
    Had the most amazing time here, beautiful location and we bought the snorkeling package which was an amazing experience!
    100%
    Beth J December 2015
    The hostel was really nice but i didn't like the fact that breakfast and Internet weren't included in the price. For the same price, even less, you can get a better accomodation. Position is super though.
    70%
    Valentina T November 2015
    Amazing hostel! I will stay there always when I go to Stradbroke! Great location and friendly staff.
    100%
    Tiago V November 2015
    best ever. rooms cleaned and comfortable, living and chill room absolutely cosy, furnished kitchen, good location by the sea, friendly people around, but most of all awesome staff. lovely!
    95%
    Gabriella D October 2015
    definitively a place to stay and come back. Beautifull environment, friendly and welcoming staff, everything was perfect! I would have loved to stay much longer!
    100%
    genevieve g September 2015
    Very restful and relaxing. The enthusiasm of those that come to dive created a friendly environment.
    78%
    Teresa Z September 2015
    I was there late August and it was very quiet (seemed like less than 10 people in the whole hostel). It is in an amazing location right near the beach, with the main pub only 10mins walk up the road and the bus stop that connects to the Water Taxis only 20 metres down the road. Staff were very friendly and chilled. There is really poor internet reception there using a mobile phone (I was with Optus and could very rarely connect to the internet). If you walk a little away from the hostel to the main pub it seems to work better. The hostel is a little old but there were always lots of people cleaning and it was immaculate the whole time. Definitely recommend it.
    85%
    Cameron F August 2015
    Staff was so helpful and nice! It was a very last minute getaway but it was perfect
    95%
    Katie H August 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    91%
    326 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    90%
    Condition of facilities
    88%
    Efficiency of service
    92%
    Friendliness of staff
    96%
    Location
    92%
    Overall atmosphere
    92%
    Safety & security
    92%
    Value for money
    90%