Search YHA

Stradbroke Island YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Stradbroke Island YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (347 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The staff was so so wonderful! They gave us lots of information about what to do on the island and even gave us a free shuttle back to the ferry. The cleaners are super friendly and helpful as well! Overall the staff created a welcoming and warm atmosphere we really enjoyed. The rooms are clean and have lockers, the bathrooms are also clean and fairly new. The kitchen is big, clean and well organised. Thanks so much for a great stay!
    92%
    Lena M May 2016
    It has been the best hostel i have been, staff very friendly, room and bathroom very clean, the fridge organized and clean. I can recommend it 100%.
    100%
    Lina R April 2016
    My time at Manta Lodge was amazing, had great chats with the staff and they were always friendly and helpful, big plus for someone who travels alone like me. The facilities were clean, you could tell they take care of the place. I also dived when I was there, I had an amazing instructor he was friendly, patient and knew his stuff. The reef was amazing so much to see! Def a recommendation to do! I'll definitely be coming back soon.
    95%
    Tiffany M April 2016
    Nice place, well located and friendly staff. I would suggest however to keep it quiet in the morning with the diving meeting and the gearing up. I understand diving can be pretty exciting but people who's trying to sleep at 6 am in the morning most likely don't feel the same. Is it really necessary that the meeting and cheering takes place exactly under the dorms? Wouldn't it be possible to meet in the *meeting* room, doors closed?
    80%
    Andres R April 2016
    - Location only interesting for Diving and Snorkeling. But without announcement they shut down diving and boat operations, so both not available. Therefore a very boring place. - Staff enjoying themselves very much and paryting longer and louder than the guest. - Not caring about the guests at all.
    65%
    Christian T March 2016
    Friendly atmosphere and staff are also very friendly.
    85%
    Megan E March 2016
    Great location on the beach and the hostel has a lovely, relaxed atmosphere. The staff here are very friendly and helpful. Slightly further from a real supermarket or bottle shop, not a problem for me but it may be for others.
    82%
    K T March 2016
    Great atmosphere. It had a "community feel". We got to know the other guests very quickly. Having snorkel and other gear available was nice.
    98%
    Heather M March 2016
    No food on site. Nearest supermarket is 3 km away. Restaurants are expensive - think $30 for pizza and a beer. Straddie Pub (20 minutes walk) is fantastic.
    80%
    Tim V February 2016
    Friendly staff and large communal kitchen were highlights. Relaxing vibe...not too quiet and not too loud. Very close to the beach. Only minor complaint was that the room was very warm through the night as no a/c in the room, but I would stay again.
    90%
    Bronwyn S February 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    90%
    347 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    89%
    Condition of facilities
    87%
    Efficiency of service
    92%
    Friendliness of staff
    94%
    Location
    90%
    Overall atmosphere
    91%
    Safety & security
    91%
    Value for money
    90%