Stradbroke Island YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Stradbroke Island YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (435 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Great vibe at the hostel at a great location! Was bleak I couldn't go diving but that's the weathers fault. Will be back soon to try again!
100.0%
Gareth F 26/09/2017
Pete is my favourite
100.0%
Leah H 22/09/2017
This hostel is at the best location, right at the bus stop and the beach is behind it. There is a club just a short walk from the hostel where you can have beautiful fish and chips at a reasonable price. You need to buy fresh fruit and veggies and some food you need in the main land before going to this island because the supermarket is far from the hostel. We really like staying here and will come back and we recommend it to everyone. The Point Lookout is very beautiful. You can walk there, a few km, or catch the bus in front of the hostel. From Brisbane, use the Go Card to catch the train to Cleverland, which is the last stop of the train line, then get out of the train station, turn right & walk on the same side of the station, you will see the bus stop there to take you to the ferry. We bought a return ticket ($20) for the Water Taxi to go to Stradbroke island. You need to keep this ticket to come back to the main land. There is a bus which will take you to the hostel ($4.70) & please tell the driver to drop you off at Manta YHA if it is your first time to go there. The beach is just 3 minutes walk from the hostel. It's very nice staying there.
100.0%
Cuc L 13/09/2017
Lovely position near the beach , great friendly helpful staff
100.0%
Diana S 30/08/2017
Stayed there just for one night, because it was already fully booked for the other days. The kitchen has everything on equipment you need and was very clean for a hostel! We could find a other accomandation with the help from the receptionist, though it was last minute. Thanks a lot! Shelly you are a really good soul!
100.0%
Anne W 24/08/2017
Great location and great YHA. Very, very quiet. YHA with a very, very friendly staff! They have us previse indications were to find all the animals and about the beaches and transportation and food. Thank you!
100.0%
Ellen B 20/07/2017
Sensational location - away from it all with beach only 100m away. Lots to see and do, and plenty of space to chill out.
100.0%
Keith L 17/07/2017
I have nothing but good things to say about this hostel. I am a young woman travelling travelling on my own for an extended period. I was feeling ill at the hostel and the staff went far out of their way to make sure that I was taken care of and comfortable; the two women at the front desk even made me a cup of tea. The facilities were excellent. The hostel even had an oven! Would absolutely recommend this place to a friend and look forward to my next stay.
100.0%
Acacia S 11/07/2017
Nice and chilled place. Perfect for escaping the city to get back to nature with the beach,trees and wildlife
80.0%
Karl C 10/07/2017
Just perfect. Location is spot on, right on the beach. Staff were super friendly
100.0%
Lia B 08/07/2017

Hostel Rating Ratings guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

90.0%
customer rating, based on 435 reviews
Cleanliness
87.0%
Condition of facilities
82.0%
Efficiency of service
94.0%
Friendliness of staff
96.0%
Location
92.0%
Overall atmosphere
88.0%
Safety & Security
88.0%
Value for Money
96.0%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL