Stradbroke Island YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Stradbroke Island YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (420 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Good location and close to the beach! Room was small but overall cheap and convenient :)
    80%
    Angela C June 2017
    great hostel, close to the beach, quiet in winter season
    100%
    Anja T June 2017
    The beds were comfortable and the showers were hot. The communal areas were fairly good. The two big guest fridges had rusty shelves and one of the doors did not seal properly whereas the staff fridge was shiny stainless steel. Guests were forced to go outside to get from the communal areas to the stairs leading to the accommodation as the internal doorway was blocked by a drinks machine that didn't work. The tea towels were a bit manky.
    76%
    Nigel B June 2017
    The most friendly and welcoming staff, you could meet. Great location to the beach, full restaurant kitchen, chatting around camp fires on the chilly nights - I would definitely recommend Manta as value for money.
    98%
    Lysia M June 2017
    Very friendly and knowledgeable who made sure we were able to make the most of our couple of days on the island.
    96%
    Victoria G May 2017
    Very friendly staff, helped me out when I really needed it! Nice place with a really equipped kitchen everything you need, microwave, oven, toasters!! They are local and give good advice where to go!
    96%
    Cecilia J May 2017
    Beautiful atmosphere which is greatly helped by the staff.
    78%
    Meryl H May 2017
    Diving was great. Super friendly staff!
    91%
    Sabrina R April 2017
    Great time here! The beach and surrounding views are spectacular. The staff is friendly and made sure I had a fun time. No lockers in the room.
    93%
    Sydney B April 2017
    Six of us were put in a very small room that was only ventilated by two small fans. Only four of the six members in our group slept in the room because the heat was unbearable. The other two slept downstairs on the couches in the communal area. Staff was very nice and helpful, but AirCon or larger rooms to allow for air flow would greatly have changed our experience.
    73%
    Benjamin H March 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    90%
    90%
    customer rating, based on 420 reviews
    Cleanliness
    86%
    Condition of facilities
    81%
    Efficiency of service
    94%
    Friendliness of staff
    96%
    Location
    93%
    Overall atmosphere
    88%
    Safety & Security
    87%
    Value for Money
    88%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!