Stradbroke Island YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Stradbroke Island YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (406 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Diving was great. Super friendly staff!
    90%
    Sabrina R April 2017
    Great time here! The beach and surrounding views are spectacular. The staff is friendly and made sure I had a fun time. No lockers in the room.
    92%
    Sydney B April 2017
    Six of us were put in a very small room that was only ventilated by two small fans. Only four of the six members in our group slept in the room because the heat was unbearable. The other two slept downstairs on the couches in the communal area. Staff was very nice and helpful, but AirCon or larger rooms to allow for air flow would greatly have changed our experience.
    70%
    Benjamin H March 2017
    The hostel is great! It is very close to the beautiful beach which is less than 5 minutes walking distance. I got a map with all important things and activities from the lady at the reception. Love the atmosphere. It is welcoming and feels like home. As I love the hostel itselfe, the island is bloody cool ad well! Had a great time relaxing, hiking and snorkeling. Totally recommend it.
    95%
    Barbara O February 2017
    The hostel was further than expected from Point Lookout. Only one fan in the room which wasn't efficient for summer weather. WIFI didn't work downstairs in the games room, and couldn't connect elsewhere at the hostel. Hostel was clean and staff were super friendly.
    78%
    Nicole K February 2017
    Excellent stay. Dive guys were enthusiastic and confident. Pete was so friendly and accommodating- not just to us but to everyone. Other guests were cool.
    98%
    daniel k February 2017
    Great place, very near to the ocean beach. Fans in room not very effective on a hot night. Fantastic dive facilities and hammock.
    78%
    Stephen R February 2017
    For what it is and the cost excellent
    85%
    Tracey M E January 2017
    Happy to come again.
    95%
    Petrus G January 2017
    We stayed over the New Year period with two other friends. We had a shared room with 3 bunk beds (6 people in total). The atmosphere of the hostel was very friendly and relaxed which made for a nice stay. The location is also very close to the beach and in a nice location overall. Kitchen facilities were good as was the lounge area. We did however see a rat in the kitchen which was a little off-putting. Granted it was the middle of summer we knew the room would be warm, however for 6 people there were only 2 fans both of which didn't rotate and couldn't be felt from more than a metre away. In saying this it was absolutely sweltering in the rooms with two of the other guests in the room leaving in the middle of the night to sleep on some deck chairs outside, which my partner also did the following night. We ended up sleeping with our room door open in order to get a little air into the room which was not ideal. There should have been more working fans for this many people in such a stuffy hot room as we all had very poor sleep every night. We did a dive on our last day there which was very enjoyable, with our Divemaster James being very entertaining. We would recommend the dive.
    78%
    Alana K January 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    89%
    89%
    customer rating, based on 406 reviews
    Cleanliness
    89%
    Condition of facilities
    83%
    Efficiency of service
    94%
    Friendliness of staff
    95%
    Location
    92%
    Overall atmosphere
    88%
    Safety & Security
    88%
    Value for Money
    87%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!