Search YHA

Stradbroke Island YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Stradbroke Island YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (374 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Really nice backpack, we spent one night there to have a break on Straddie, and it was an amazing experience. The staff was very nice and gave us many informations on the area ! I recommend it :-)
    Manon M October 2016
    We were there on a quiet Sunday for one night so the atmosphere was very peaceful. I can imagine when events such as Island Vibes it would be a really fun place to stay as the common room was full of activities from musical instruments and a pool table to socialize that is complimented with the ability to just borrow a book or surf equipment and taking the 60 second stroll to the beach to chill out and relax. The staff were extremely friendly and more than happy to let you in on what was going on around the island, and all the local secrets to make your stay feel like you were part of the community. Absolutely loved you ladies!!! Easy to get to as the bus driver was happy to point it out and the facilities were really well maintained. One of the best hostels with everything you could possibly need or want :). 10/10 would stay again and recommend to anyone going to the island
    Ks N September 2016
    The hostel located at the begging of the Point Lookout, just next to the beach. It has diving centre. Quite and peaceful atmosphere, very good who would like to enjoy the nature and wildlife.
    Victoria B September 2016
    Excellent location and staff and perfect for that get a way, especially if you are also using the Dive Centre at Manta Lodge . It's a 5* Padi Certified Centre, with excellent facilities and staff.
    Joanne N September 2016
    Best place to stay and relax on North Stradbroke Island.
    Uta B September 2016
    Free WiFi on ground floor is good, however not promoted. So we only found out about it at the end of our stay. The chargeable WiFi is definitely not worth it.
    Julian August 2016
    The staff was very friendly and we felt welcome.
    Lianne L August 2016
    A really great hostel, very friendly and accommodating staff. Can't speak highly enough of it.
    Chris G August 2016
    I stayed at the manta lodge for 3 nights and it was amazing! The staff was so friendly, we had campfires every night and cooked together :) The bathrooms and rooms were very clean and the kitchen too. I can only recommend this place if you're on straddie!!
    Caroline B July 2016
    Maybe the best hostel I've ever stayed in. Tremendous atmosphere created by the friendly and caring staff who go out their way to chat and welcome you. It's social but it's not the usual party atmosphere, just chilled and relaxed. Location is fantastic- by the beach and easy to walk wherever you need (small shop next door and a Foodworks 25min walk down the road, Tillers cafe 10 mins away). Rooms are comfy and everything is clean. I will come back as soon as I can.
    Anna G July 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    374 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & Security
    Value for Money