Stradbroke Island YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Stradbroke Island YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (494 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Very welcoming place, close to the beach, large kitchen and common areas. I was lucky being alone in 4 dorm. Room might be small with 4 people. Better get food - fruits, veggies, (there is a Coles and Liquor close to Cleveland station) nice walk along the beach to go to "town" some shops and restaurant there. There is a small grocery store with minimal stuff and some meals close by. The bus on island then boat and free shuttle to Cleveland is easy. Perfect place to relax on lovely beach or dive
100%
Regine Claudine L 16/10/2019
Family room perfect for 4 of us. Well equipped kitchen. Staff very helpful and friendly
98%
Anna K 16/10/2019
I had a really enjoyable stay with extended family, friends and kids. It was a really social atmosphere if you want it to be and satisfied the needs for all of us. Other than no mirror in our private room and no power point in the bathroom near the mirror. It was a beautiful location, a very well stocked kitchen/facilities. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!
98%
Nicci W 08/10/2019
I have travelled Australia with my family and am by no means a princess when it comes to what I sleep on but these beds take the winner as literally the most uncomfortable bed i have ever slept on. We paid for 2 nights and left after 1.
50%
Renae N 07/10/2019
The friendliness of staff
98%
Alban X 04/10/2019
I loved it. It is situated 2 minutes from the beach, shops a local bustop. Staff are friendly. Rooms and bathrooms very clean. FANTASTIC :)
100%
Jacquie B 03/06/2019
This is a small facility, quiet, but very beautiful. I loved it.
98%
David H 28/05/2019
Great location and staff very helpful, its a dive center too, and beach access 2 minutes away. Nice sunsets and great beach and bush walks. It was off season so no crowds or parties nearby. Not much around as far as shops but a few just up the road. If coming from brisbane airport or downtown via public transport, train bus and ferry, figure a couple hours at least to get here, but not difficult.
100%
David W 28/05/2019
Adequate rooms, private. Great kitchen. Great sunset a quick walk down the beach. Purchased WiFi password didn’t work.
100%
John M 02/05/2019
The hostel had some great features like a pool table and ping pong table and a TV room, which made it easy to interact with other guests. However the facilities are tired and the beds and pillows really uncomfortable. If you're staying in a dorm it's probably quite good value for money and if you're looking for a full backpacker experience then this would be a great choice.
75%
Claire M 24/04/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. 

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

88%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
83%
Condition of facilities
82%
Efficiency of service
90%
Friendliness of staff
95%
Location
94%
Overall atmosphere
90%
Safety & Security
88%
Value for Money
86%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL