Stradbroke Island YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Stradbroke Island YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (427 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Great location and great YHA. Very, very quiet. YHA with a very, very friendly staff! They have us previse indications were to find all the animals and about the beaches and transportation and food. Thank you!
    96%
    Ellen B July 2017
    Sensational location - away from it all with beach only 100m away. Lots to see and do, and plenty of space to chill out.
    87%
    Keith L July 2017
    I have nothing but good things to say about this hostel. I am a young woman travelling travelling on my own for an extended period. I was feeling ill at the hostel and the staff went far out of their way to make sure that I was taken care of and comfortable; the two women at the front desk even made me a cup of tea. The facilities were excellent. The hostel even had an oven! Would absolutely recommend this place to a friend and look forward to my next stay.
    96%
    Acacia S July 2017
    Nice and chilled place. Perfect for escaping the city to get back to nature with the beach,trees and wildlife
    98%
    Karl C July 2017
    Just perfect. Location is spot on, right on the beach. Staff were super friendly
    91%
    Lia B July 2017
    Great staff and very clean. The bathrooms and showers were lovely and right on the beach. There is a bus stop at the door. A perfect week-end in paradise!
    96%
    Linda J June 2017
    Good location and close to the beach! Room was small but overall cheap and convenient :)
    80%
    Angela C June 2017
    great hostel, close to the beach, quiet in winter season
    100%
    Anja T June 2017
    The beds were comfortable and the showers were hot. The communal areas were fairly good. The two big guest fridges had rusty shelves and one of the doors did not seal properly whereas the staff fridge was shiny stainless steel. Guests were forced to go outside to get from the communal areas to the stairs leading to the accommodation as the internal doorway was blocked by a drinks machine that didn't work. The tea towels were a bit manky.
    76%
    Nigel B June 2017
    The most friendly and welcoming staff, you could meet. Great location to the beach, full restaurant kitchen, chatting around camp fires on the chilly nights - I would definitely recommend Manta as value for money.
    98%
    Lysia M June 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    90%
    90%
    customer rating, based on 427 reviews
    Cleanliness
    86%
    Condition of facilities
    81%
    Efficiency of service
    94%
    Friendliness of staff
    96%
    Location
    92%
    Overall atmosphere
    88%
    Safety & Security
    87%
    Value for Money
    88%