Stradbroke Island YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Stradbroke Island YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (461 guests have reviewed this hostel)
While the building and beds are basic the location and positive vibe from the staff totally makes up for this. Thanks for a lovely short break
85%
Nicolas M 22/07/2018
Friensliest staff i have ever seen!
98%
Pawel G 11/06/2018
First time staying at a YHA. The experience exceeded our expectations. We will be looking to stay at other hostels on our travels.
88%
Carl D 04/06/2018
Loved the hostel and the staff made me feel comfortable and welcome :)
95%
Kelsey H 10/04/2018
I do not have transport but it is very easy to get around using timetables.most places are accessible.
100%
Hilary S 06/04/2018
Comfortable dorms, with enough common-room space and all the facilities you would want.
88%
Garry W 01/04/2018
Cosy hostel with a beautiful location, right at the beach. Nice common areas to relax, good kitchen (with cooking books and lots of spices free to use) and friendly atmosphere along guests and staff. I would definitely stay here again and wish I had a bit more time. Only thing I was missing was the possibility to rent a bicycle to make your way around the island, since public transit is minimal. Bikes were for rent in town, but expensive (50 dollars for one day).
92%
Nicky H 06/02/2018
Really friendly, helpful, and organized staff! Spectacular location. Loved that I could use the facilities all day, even after I had checked out of the room!
92%
Gloeta M 18/12/2017
It‘s a nice hostel, next to the pretty home beach. The staff is really nice and helpfull. Would go to the Manta Lodge again! The only „bad“ thing is, that the good shops and restaurants are a 25min walk away. Around the corner is a roadhouse, but the food there is not really good and unhealthy.
88%
Sandra Z 15/12/2017
Great vibe at the hostel at a great location! Was bleak I couldn't go diving but that's the weathers fault. Will be back soon to try again!
92%
Gareth F 26/09/2017

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

90%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
88%
Condition of facilities
85%
Efficiency of service
92%
Friendliness of staff
96%
Location
92%
Overall atmosphere
91%
Safety & Security
88%
Value for Money
90%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL