Hervey Bay YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Hervey Bay YHA

Voted the Highest-Quality Hostel by YHA Guests in 2018

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (1896 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Nice large rooms but beds and facilities a bit old and location is quite far from shops.
80%
Junyan T 10/09/2019
Stayed here several times, staff helpful, service good, attractive grounds, good atmosphere. Nice quiet location close to the boat harbor.
95%
Sarah C 30/08/2019
Lovely surroundings/pool and pond. Rooms need updating, carpet was very stained and felt dirty. Toilets and showers were adequate. Nice to have tennis courts but badly maintained... can’t drink your own drinks or eat your dinner in the communal area...
65%
Samantha H 24/08/2019
It was a great hostel, has a pool and great social area, bar and bistro and many different types of accommodation including camping facilities. The communal kitchen was well stocked. Highly recommend this hostel. Much easier to get around however if you have a car. Didn't use wifi so I actually can't rate it.
85%
Kathy B 18/08/2019
We used the hostel as a quick overnight stay before leaving for fraser island. We really like that its so close to the harbour. The whole area of the hostel was really nice. Jungle atmosphere and the balkony was really enjoyable. Wifi wasn't too good asits only available at the Restaurant in the front. The rooms are a bit outdated and oldfashioned but well equipped and spacy.
90%
Henri B 16/08/2019
I enjoyed my stay in Hervey Bay. My room was really good and I was picked up from the bus station. The wifi didn't work in the rooms which was a bit annoying but it is a great place to stay. No lockers in rooms which was a problem.
80%
Barbaraa C 15/08/2019
Even better than when we first stayed here 25 years ago. Lots to do in the general area,
100%
Dermott O 15/08/2019
Reception is open during limited hours. Wifi is only available in bar area.
95%
Shannon A 15/08/2019
Hi we were in the powered caravan park area. We were very pleased with everything, location, value, had a meal very good,
90%
Dave C 11/08/2019
The area was lovely with the pond and peacocks wondering around. It is a good location for Hervey Bay and Fraser Island tours.
80%
Elizabeth S 10/08/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. 

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

79%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
79%
Condition of facilities
77%
Efficiency of service
79%
Friendliness of staff
80%
Location
74%
Overall atmosphere
80%
Safety & Security
81%
Value for Money
82%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL