Hervey Bay YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Hervey Bay YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (1836 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Clean & comfortable but dated facilities. Great communal area but as it’s so far to town some social events would have been nice especially if travelling alone.
82%
Chris T 09/05/2019
very clean accommodation, Great staff and easy check in, food was good and loved the location.
98%
Geoffrey S 08/05/2019
I think the pictures from the website dissaponited me. The room was very very small. For one accomodation its fine.
62%
Charlotte M 02/05/2019
No wifi in restaurant
78%
Alastair Gerald Coxon J 27/04/2019
It's a great place to stay and travel to other places around the area.
100%
Miguel A 25/04/2019
The accomodation was clean and private. It had a lovely pool and common area. Laundry was clean and tidy. Grounds were well kept and lots of wildlife. Staff were always courteous and helpful. Just make sure you bring something to keep the midges away.
88%
Megan N 23/04/2019
I was only at the hostel for a short time. But the rooms was nice. I just think maybe they should have regulated air con or fan, because my roommates refused to turn on the fan or air con making the room very warm and sticky and hard to breathe because there was no circulation of air. If air con is available it should be used and that was the only downside but that is not any issue on YHA part just unlucky roommates.
80%
Haley M 23/04/2019
The place is fantastic and have stayed here a few times. Couple of recommendations , the bed was Rock hard .Maybe a softer mattress. And the curtains in our room were nets, that did block out the security lights from outside... All up love place, recommend to everyone I speak too. 😄
92%
Jacqueline K 22/04/2019
The hostel was ok for the money but the staff was not very friendly.
52%
Silvia 22/04/2019
The staff here are very friendly and attentive. The food was average, very cheap, but some things were still not worth the price. The bed was alright, good enough for one nights stay. Some of the curtains in the room were sheer, so anyone walking past your room could still see in. It's all very basic amenities and not much else, we didn't even get a hand towel for the bathroom. It was cheaply priced but I dont believe I would stay here again.
72%
Lindsie W 21/04/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

81%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
81%
Condition of facilities
78%
Efficiency of service
82%
Friendliness of staff
88%
Location
78%
Overall atmosphere
78%
Safety & Security
80%
Value for Money
81%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL