Search YHA

Hervey Bay YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Hervey Bay YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1255 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    This was an amazing hostel, more like a hotel/resort!! Quiet, peaceful, clean and spacious-I wish I had stayed longer!! Incredible value!
    Nicole H October 2016
    I really enjoyed that it was quiet and that we were very close to the pier for the tours.
    Monique B October 2016
    As a very experienced traveller I was very unhappy with our stay at this hostel. * Room was not a satisfactory standard. * Both my travel friend and I were rudely awoken when the room alarm went off TWICE.... We were fast asleep and there was no smoke nor fire. Obviously the batteries or something was faulty. No one responded to the alarms going off. * Only a single sheet provided - NO fitted bottom sheet on the beds - Matteress was a piece of spounge placed on wooden slats. -Doona covers were obviously not replaced or washed after each use and were grotty - Pillows were of the cheapest quality and ready to be thrown out. * Kitchen facilities were terrible. No cutting knives, little if any cutlery, only one cup and one mug and one cerial bowl available to guests. No pan to cook eggs or make soup etc. No microwave. There was a sign on the wall saying to see reception if you wanted pans etc. However, reception was not open at any of the times we wished to utilise the kitchen. * The refrigerator froze all items The good thing was the Bar/Grill and pool area which was very pleasant. The grounds also were pleasing. Would not return to this property.
    VIKKI M October 2016
    The kitchen - small and under equiped. Fridge storage lacking. The bistro was very good value so maybe thats why the kitchen was lacking? Drove past 3 times without recognising it was the YHA. The YHA sign has so little prominence I thought the place was something else. Otherwise it is all good and well worth the stay. :)
    Robert P October 2016
    We felt at home! Great accomodation!!!
    Janine B October 2016
    This place would have been great if our sleep hadn't been disturbed by inconsiderate fellow residents for 2 nights.
    Ian D S October 2016
    Nice grounds with great staff makes this a relaxing and enjoyable place to stay.
    David R October 2016
    We had a camper trailer and used a powered site down the back of the Resort. There's eight powered sites all quite close together. Would be good if there was a little more room for each site, but it is what it is and it's not a big deal. The resort is kept very clean, both grounds and facilities. Considering ablutions, kitchens, laundry etc' are communal, it's very good.The whole place has a very pleasant aspect, with peacocks, peahens, guinea fowl, tame and wild ducks all floating around. The kids loved all that stuff. We only dealt with the reception staff, but they were very helpful and friendly. We didn't use the pool or the bistro, so can't comment. What little we saw of the other accommodation also seemed very good. My wife is a keen critic of caravan parks and anything with communal facilities, but she thought Colonial Village was great. If we returned to Hervey Bay, we would be more than happy to stay here again.
    Tom N October 2016
    Loved the hostel. Friendly helpful staff. Good value meals, nice pool. Pillows were a bit lumpy but otherwise excellent.
    Sandra T September 2016
    Pleasantly surprised. A great place to stay.
    Derek F September 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    1255 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & Security
    Value for Money