Search YHA

Hervey Bay YHA

  • Customer reviews of Hervey Bay YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (989 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Kitchen facilities are limited. There is no oven, and only a small microwave. Host requires guest to make deposit for frypan and other pots/pans for use on cooktop. Deposit of $10 returned once pan returned clean. Have not encountered this type of arrangment with cook facilities in any hostels to date except this one. Fire alarm system went off on two separate occasions for my two day stay there. One may have been a valid alarm due to some toast burning in the kitchen. But second alarm on second night went off in the dead of night. Scared the heck oit of me, as it was so loud in each of our rooms. I was asleep, and this alarm caused me to wake in su h a fright. This alarm was a fault alarm, whatever that means. Alarm security system needs to be checked in my opinion. Showers were warm, and the induction cooktop worked a treat! Some areas were designated non-smoking, but the smell of smoke was still about in these relaxation areas. Bus pickup service to whale watching is very convenient, as is trek pickup to Fraser Island. This site could do with a bit of a lift too. Some things were not maintained well enough, eg bed slat broken, o ligh
    Shane Z October 2015
    The mattress needs to be a new one. And the kitchen is not coplete.
    Tanja B October 2015
    good comfortable budget style accommodation for a family my only complaint was no where to hang wet swimming towels and bathers.
    Glenda W October 2015
    YHA is an asset of Hervey Bay. They have beautiful grounds with different types of accommodation to cater for all budgets. The staff were very accommodating and expressed good, old fashioned hospitality which relaxed us as soon as we booked in. Would absolutely stay again and have already started planning our next trip. Thank you, YHA, for putting up with us! We will be back!
    Delyce T October 2015
    very bad matress, small room, not clean, shared bathroom ok
    Franziska H September 2015
    Delightful Hostel. Best I have stayed in. I found nothing that I could find fault with. Would definitely recommend it others.
    Diane L September 2015
    Really nice cool hostel with very cheap food although you get what you pay for.
    Tessa W September 2015
    Beautiful hostel surfoundings. Basic double rooms, clean showers, simple breakfast, nice café. Good base to hop on a tour for Fraser
    BOUVY N September 2015
    I've had a delicious Steak here. Defenitely worth trying
    Laurentius C.M. K September 2015
    Great location and really nice atmosphere. Close to the wharf where whale watching tours leave from.
    Bryl D September 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    989 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money