COVID-19: Safe stay measures are being taken at all of our hostels and YHAs are following all relevant State based travel restrictions.
See our Covid page for full details.

Hervey Bay YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Hervey Bay YHA

Voted the Highest-Quality Hostel by YHA Guests in 2018

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (2070 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Small room for the price No WiFi at all Not very nice room as he shows on the pictures
42%
Marine a 20/10/2020
Quiet clean and spacious....the 3 ducks were hilarious....
88%
Brian H 07/10/2020
The facilities could do with some tender care. It needs a new coat of painting or upgrade.
72%
Lily Z 06/10/2020
Beautiful property, lovely atmosphere, staff friendly and welcoming. Facilties were always clean and tidy. Absolutely will return. Lovely vibes. If you don't have a car it may be a little far walking to restaurants etc However the hostel provide a bar and food service so isn't a biggie
95%
Fiona B 06/10/2020
There were two toilets for men. In rush hour, one of them was flooded and was out of order, so everyone was queuing for the other one. Had to wait a long period. No other toilet facilities in the vicinity. It was a very bad experience. No proper exhaust or window in the kitchen. The rooms are cheap, affordable and available even during the long weekend and close to everything. However, no window in the room, need to keep the sliding door open for ventilation. Saw beautiful peacocks.
52%
Afaz A 06/10/2020
Stayed many times Excellent choice
98%
Dermott O 06/10/2020
Very peaceful and clean
100%
Marc D 03/10/2020
Amazing experience, the wildlife around were especially magical. We watched peacocks dance while we were swimming in the pool and got some wonderful laughs watching ducks play in the pond.
100%
Caroline H 01/10/2020
Was absolutely perfect for what I needed for the night. Staff extremely friendly
100%
Samantha G 01/10/2020
Lovely setting. Everything was in working order. Facility is starting to show its age to some degree. Would recommend this setting to anyone. Camping ground is well grassed and maintained.
80%
Glenn T 29/09/2020

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

We will not publish inappropriate and/or offensive comments.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language, swearing or references to illicit drug usage.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

We will not publish any comments that are not directly related to the hostel, or your experience during your stay.

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated, incorrect or you did not stay at the hostel that you are commenting on.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

We will not publish comments that include full staff names, irrespective of whether your comment is positive or negative.

First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If you make a negative comment, we will remove any reference to particular staff members.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as major hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

75%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
72%
Condition of facilities
70%
Efficiency of service
71%
Friendliness of staff
78%
Location
85%
Overall atmosphere
76%
Safety & Security
75%
Value for Money
72%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL