Search YHA

Hervey Bay YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer review of Hervey Bay YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1209 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Staff arranged pick up for tours
    100%
    Julia C August 2016
    The setting was really lovely and the onsite restaurant is fantastic value for money. However, we didn't have a comfortable nights sleep because the mattress on our bed was so thin we could feel the wooden slats beneath. We did feed this back to the helpful woman on reception upon check out and she made a note for it to be replaced (room 101!). The policy of having to obtain cooking pans from reception in exchange for a $10 deposit per pan was a bit insulting - the presumption being that guests could not be trusted to clean up after themselves. Plus the kitchen was very small and dimly lit. It's probably all designed to get you to eat in the restaurant, which is fine if you're there for a short stay but annoying if there for a week or more. The WiFi was also broken. Online reviews suggest that these issues have been ongoing for a number of years.
    75%
    Julia L August 2016
    A very chilled out relaxing hostel within nature.
    78%
    Rachel K August 2016
    A nice place but it is a shame necessity facilities such as kitchens, bathrooms, bedrooms aren't very nice. Bedding was very old and pretty disgusting, and you have to borrow every single item you might need from reception to cook. Walls are paper thin so you can hear everything everyone is doing and mattresses are very thin. Not a good nights sleep for me. Cafe is good, with very well priced evening meals and drinks.
    78%
    Matt G August 2016
    We enjoyed the villa we stayed in.
    100%
    Gilles C August 2016
    Great staff, great cheap meal, lovely area for van. Amenities need attention but good hot showers
    85%
    Colin W August 2016
    I found the double bed room rather small and looked up at bars for nearly a week otherwise enjoyed the bar and cheap dinners. I had food taken from the kitchen which I had labelled
    88%
    catherine r August 2016
    Well worth the stay, great people running it, bistro & food great
    100%
    Dick P August 2016
    Good atmosphere and lovely grounds. There wasn't much crockery or cutlery in the kitchen and it was crowded if more than 2 people were trying to cook.
    80%
    Doreen" A August 2016
    Good atmosphere and lovely grounds. There wasn't much crockery or cutlery in the kitchen and it was crowded if more than 2 people were trying to cook.
    80%
    Doreen" A August 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    85%
    1209 customers have reated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    85%
    Condition of facilities
    80%
    Efficiency of service
    88%
    Friendliness of staff
    94%
    Location
    84%
    Overall atmosphere
    86%
    Safety & Security
    84%
    Value for Money
    83%