Search YHA

Hervey Bay YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Hervey Bay YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1369 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Our Lodge had no air con and it was a very uncomfortable and miserable night. All the fan did was stir the warm air. Not if it is hot ask for air con room. Otherwise very good hostel.
    75%
    Frances L February 2017
    One of the best hostels I have stayed in, no bunks but single beds in dorms which is great. The surroundings are great, really relaxing environment, very friendly hostel. I booked for one night but ended up staying three.
    100%
    Rebecca G February 2017
    This is basically a very nice place, with a good bar, good food, nice facilities including a pool and jacuzzi. Big problem, though, is that it is very far from the more interesting parts of Hervey Bay's very long beach promenade. Miles and miles and miles from the bus terminal, from where I had to drag all my luggage - for 1-3/4 hours after arriving from Airlie at 0530 in the morning. (No buses until 0743, no taxis visible.) The receptionist kindly let me check in very early after I arrived hot and sweaty. But I was very irritated to be charged 10 dollars to leave my luggage while I went on an overnight tour to Fraser Island - especially as I was returning for a second stay. Some places offer this service free, others for perhaps 4 or 5 dollars.
    72%
    David L February 2017
    Very good - except that it is miles from the "centre" of Hervey Bay and, in particular, that they charged 10 dollars to keep my baggage for a day, even though I had a repeat booking on my return, while I went on a two-day-one-night trip to Fraser Island. This is excessive - and indeed should have been free in view of my future booking.
    75%
    David L February 2017
    I stayed in a private twin room for 2 nights, it doesn't have a window and air condition, the door has two layers, the guest is advised to leave the inside layer open for fire security. Other common facilities are fine, but the looker rental fee that is 10 bucks per night is too expensive. A girl of the reception staffs is very kind and helpful.
    72%
    Gaohui C February 2017
    Friendly helpful staff. Good facilities, great value tasty food
    98%
    Gary B February 2017
    Friendly hostel, but a little distance from 'civilisation'. but ...it has the cheapest beer in Australia! nice little pool, tennis courts, good food available at the bar.
    95%
    Mark C February 2017
    -You pay to play pool -You need to ask for pots and pans, leaving $20 for guarantee -Key $10 for guarantee -Really far away from the city -If you sign up to go to the city, don't expect a lift back even if you signed up for the lift back, it depends of the people arriving in the coach terminal -8 mixed shared room, HOT -There is one member of the stuff who comes to your room at 10 am screaming asking who is leaving the place that date -Reception and bar closed from 11:00 until 15:00 Highlights: - The bartender is nice after some days -Amazing wildlife inner the hostel -Relax environment but lazy stuff IF YOU LOVE DUCKS, GO
    38%
    Cristobal N January 2017
    Room was small and consisted of just a bed. No air con just a ceiling fan. No saucepans were available in kitchen, these had to be hired from reception and in advance, as reception not always open. Left a bikini outside the room to dry, which was stolen.
    60%
    ROBERT B January 2017
    I would recommend this hostel if you book one of the better double rooms with private on-suite. It has a TV, a fridge, a sofa and a some what comfy bed (think our particular bed was missing the upper mattress, since we were sleeping on the spring mattress). But very nice and fresh. And spacy. Plus the kitchen closer to these rooms was a lot nicer than the kitchen that was presented to us when sleeping nearer to the dorm rooms.
    68%
    Tina M January 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    81%
    1369 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    81%
    Condition of facilities
    78%
    Efficiency of service
    84%
    Friendliness of staff
    89%
    Location
    72%
    Overall atmosphere
    83%
    Safety & Security
    82%
    Value for Money
    82%