Search YHA

Hervey Bay YHA

  • Customer reviews of Hervey Bay YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (954 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Absolutely fantastic place to stay
    100%
    Courtney H August 2015
    That hostel is very good. Quite at nights and a very nice one. The kitchen available for the guests is not the best one, cause it doesn,t have lot of facilities but it,s a big one. They dont allow us to use the main lounge/bar to eat our own food, wich i think is a bad option. But... Litlle far away from the beach pathroad, but close to the marine, and actually all the tours wil drop you of there, so it.s not such a big point. A big supermarket it,s 10-15mn walking.
    72%
    Mayte F August 2015
    Well run very clean friendly hostel. Definitely put it on your list to stay there. Big well priced meals available too
    100%
    Cheryl G August 2015
    Lovely relaxing setting. Any issues dealt with immediately. Problem guests removed promptly. Very clean, modern, safe and enjoyable hostel
    100%
    Cheryl G August 2015
    In general out stay was good, but the first night we were booked in the 8-bed room which was really bad because it was a very big room with a extremely bright emergency exit lamp.additionally we had no bed sheets and the blankets were dirty. The parking facilities were perfect.
    78%
    Sarah V August 2015
    A lot of animals on a nice place. The food in the Restaurant is cheap and delicious. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
    88%
    Ricarda P August 2015
    I am staying here because my van broke down and it's very handy to all I need to get to . I am in a 8 shear room and all the other people have been nice and friendly along with the staff.
    80%
    Daniel A August 2015
    Nice place, clean, friendly staff, love the ducks, turkeys and chickens wandering about gives a nice natural feel about the place. Big kitchen.
    90%
    Matthew D August 2015
    The hostel is very nice, ducks around a nice common area with pool (The stick should be changed), computers, a bar/bistrot. The Rooms are nice and i could sleep weel The 3 nights i've stayed there. Bathroom are pretty clean, The kitchen is too small , just a few people Can cook together and there is only a sink, i had to wait my turn to wash dishes. The bathroom and kitchen Door should be fixed, they shout really strong and loud. The only thing i didn't like are the parrots in The cafe at The entrance and The 2 fish in 2 small bowls. They should be free!!!! Last think, The closest supermarket is pretty far and rally BASIC. Anyway my opinion is good and i would suggest it to others, The staff is really kind and helpful!!!
    80%
    adriana c August 2015
    I paid a single room to sleep and have rest. But the kitchen is just close to the rooms. Very noisy.when Water was open on the tap in thé kitchen it was like it's in my room. In the wild beautiful but Doors can't be closed and noisy. Bed inconfortable. Crew very nice. Helpfull. Bar beautiful
    70%
    Céline G August 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    84%
    954 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    83%
    Condition of facilities
    84%
    Efficiency of service
    86%
    Friendliness of staff
    89%
    Location
    83%
    Overall atmosphere
    84%
    Safety & security
    81%
    Value for money
    82%