Search YHA

Hervey Bay YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Hervey Bay YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1161 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    This would be the best hostel I have stayed at in Australia. The surroundings are beautiful and peaceful, even though the ducks, peacocks and turkeys made a lot of noise early in the morning. For me, they were part of the atmosphere. My room was superb! Bright, well chosen cheerful decor, a fridge, TV, radio alarm clock, even tea, coffee, sugar and milk provided. Best of all, there was a sofa and a comfortable chair for relaxing. I had a room with ensuite, complete with fluffy towels and little soaps. There's even a private deck out the back with a garden seat. What more could you ask? It was better and bigger than many a motel room I have stayed in, and is excellent value for money. Best of all, there was no noise from other guests in the small hours, something that has spoiled my stays in other hostels. The bistro provides a good selection of reasonably priced meals. All the staff were friendly and very helpful.
    100%
    Lorna R May 2016
    To far from everything.
    60%
    Owen P May 2016
    The hostel was very quiet when I arrived in the afternoon. The hostel site is massive but it might've been slow season. I ended up having a 4 bed dorm with an ensuite to myself because of how slow it was. The staff are friendly and helpful. The food is worth the money. Site is far from the beach. The shower head was amazing. Strongest ever.
    82%
    Emily T May 2016
    Good experience, except that the hostels servers were down the two nights I was there, so there was no internet access.
    92%
    Allan L May 2016
    Disappointed as it was a long way from lots of areas. Dead atmosphere and the wifi wasn't working. Yha are more expensive and we needed the wifi as we were going away for 3 days to Fraser Island and needed to book extra trips therefore I had to pay for Internet. I would want a discount because of this.
    62%
    fay h May 2016
    Bed was bloody terrible. Our dinner special was great. "Surf n turf" Overall, decent enough.
    70%
    Jamie K April 2016
    I loved the privacy, tranquillity,space and beautiful surrounds at Hervey Bay. Tonnes of information everywhere. Facilities were superb. Better than some 4.5 star hotels I have stayed in...and I have done quite a bit of travel. I highly recommend this one for a chill out, and to discover a very beautiful part of the world!
    100%
    Julie H April 2016
    Hostel is in a lovely location with plenty of space and plenty of parking. The grounds are well kept and the facilities are very good. The room was clean and the kitchen area, while small, was perfectly adequate. If you don'r have a car, then you might find access to some of the attractions a little difficult, but with a car it was fine.
    100%
    Geoff H April 2016
    I would stay here again. Clean facilities and really nice to have our own bathroom and sitting area in our dorm.
    88%
    Elise B April 2016
    Clean hostel with great surroundings. The staff at the reception was really nice and helpful. Unfortunately the fan was broken which led to a noisy, sleepless night. All in all I would recommend this hostel as it is really clean with in a nice atmosphere. Courtesy bus to Greyhound was really reliable and most Fraser Island tours offer you to pick you put at YHA. For 10$ you can store your luggage during your tour which is really safe in a seperate room with lockers.
    85%
    Steffen F April 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    83%
    1161 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    86%
    Condition of facilities
    84%
    Efficiency of service
    86%
    Friendliness of staff
    86%
    Location
    73%
    Overall atmosphere
    81%
    Safety & security
    85%
    Value for money
    82%