Search YHA

Hervey Bay YHA

  • Customer reviews of Hervey Bay YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1085 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    In the 6 bed share you get a proper bed, not a bunk! The kitchen is tiny and the location is far from town (there's a shuttle) but otherwise it's an excellent stay... with a nice proper bed all to yourself.
    85%
    MICHELLE B February 2016
    Great hostel with many facilities, bar and free wifi in shares area. The only things that could be inproved are the hight of showerhead, it is fixed at a low spot and there was no cleaning of the room in our 3 day stay. Would recommend this place!
    78%
    Stephanie v February 2016
    Very nice hostel and friendly staff. Really clean. Pool and whirlpool absolutely top. The city centre is a little bit away, but the neighbourhood is really nice.
    100%
    Helena K February 2016
    On arrival a key deposite is taken and a key and a small plastized card are issued. BOTH need to be returned to get the key deposite. This is a scam as many lose the card even though they return the key they do not get their deposites back.
    60%
    George G January 2016
    Overall we had a great stay at the yha Hervey Bay, but I'm a 180 tall male and couldn't shower myself properly because the showers must be for dwarfs.
    82%
    Philipp January 2016
    Brilliant location in spacious grounds. Great well decorated self-contained rooms with bathroom/fridge/private balconies. Very nice to have all the peacocks and other bird species wandering around
    100%
    Lee H January 2016
    I broke my leg before arrive and the staff were extremely helpful doing everything they could to help me out and make my stay as easy and pain free as possible and I am extremely thankful.
    88%
    Megan D January 2016
    Very cute hostels in a little village and peacefull
    68%
    Donal D January 2016
    This is the second time I have stayed at YHA Hervey Bay. Although the facility is quite aged and in some aspects a little run down, the overall stay is wonderful.
    88%
    Angela H January 2016
    Reception staff are nice. Restaurant staff aren't overly friendly. The food is quite poor as well. Eat elsewhere if you can.
    60%
    Phillip C January 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    77%
    1085 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    76%
    Condition of facilities
    74%
    Efficiency of service
    78%
    Friendliness of staff
    83%
    Location
    72%
    Overall atmosphere
    78%
    Safety & security
    77%
    Value for money
    78%