COVID-19: Safe stay measures are being taken at all of our hostels and YHAs are following all relevant State based travel restrictions.
See our Covid page for full details.

Hervey Bay YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Hervey Bay YHA

Voted the Highest-Quality Hostel by YHA Guests in 2018

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (2101 guests have reviewed this hostel)
It was clean the room was very good and private
88%
Tony B 17/01/2021
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there. The staff were very helpful and friendly. I met some lovely young people who were travelling. A couple of nights it was really hot so an air con would have been better, but I managed with the ceiling fan.
98%
Erin B 15/01/2021
Great garden environment and facilities . Enjoyed the pool and the bistro food was good and great value.
92%
Susan B 06/01/2021
Great spot full of character nice atmosphere will be back again
100%
Sean M 06/01/2021
Mehh was ok. Lots of mosquitos. Facilities were clean. Aircon not great.
72%
Ann-Marie P 05/01/2021
Happy with the service thankyou
95%
Ledimo M 05/01/2021
The mattresses are awful.
95%
Tiana C 05/01/2021
It was budget price and well below budget standard. The room had double bunks with only one mattress. One power point a long way from bed. A ceiling fan with three speeds. Low. Not working. Middle. At low speed. High. Helicopter status and as noisy. One person behind counter who doubled up as drinks host at bar. Cannot get a keg beer until five pm but they open at two pm. Meals. Same staff member and cooks arrive at sixx pm with large queue of people. Advised an hours wait. We left. No concern.
32%
Sandra H 05/01/2021
It was great. Relaxed, clean and friendly with great facilities .
98%
Joan H 21/12/2020
Pretty good for the money,I,d stay again.been in a lot worse in the bay that's for sure.nice pool,gardens pretty clean.
78%
Peter H 12/12/2020

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

We will not publish inappropriate and/or offensive comments.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language, swearing or references to illicit drug usage.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

We will not publish any comments that are not directly related to the hostel, or your experience during your stay.

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated, incorrect or you did not stay at the hostel that you are commenting on.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

We will not publish comments that include full staff names, irrespective of whether your comment is positive or negative.

First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If you make a negative comment, we will remove any reference to particular staff members.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as major hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

78%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
76%
Condition of facilities
74%
Efficiency of service
76%
Friendliness of staff
80%
Location
84%
Overall atmosphere
78%
Safety & Security
80%
Value for Money
78%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL