Search YHA

Hervey Bay YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer review of Hervey Bay YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1190 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The hostel has a beautiful garden and is filled with birds! It is a real oasis within busy Hervey Bay. Great place to stay for whale watching. Hervey Bay Whale Watch picked us up at the door - as do other tours. we've stayed many times and its always delightful.
    95%
    Hadie M July 2016
    Close to harbour but far from town center
    78%
    Karima B July 2016
    Great property with gret accommodation! Special tanks to the staff helping me out with the deposit (10€ vs 10$)
    95%
    Benedikt B July 2016
    not house keeper. very small kitchen. A driver was kind men.but I arrived bus station by gruyhound when I can not to shuttle bus.
    52%
    keiko k July 2016
    Cleanliness of hostel let it down. Facilities are good and enjoyed the bar/bistro area which many hostels don't have. Yummy food!
    68%
    Chloe H July 2016
    Beautiful landscaped gardens gave this hostel a great feel.
    100%
    Monique S July 2016
    Pleasant relaxing surroundings, offering accommodation for all budgets
    100%
    marianne f July 2016
    i m not sure on day time it was nice, at night we felt a bit uncomfortable. nor sure why.
    80%
    Barbara s July 2016
    Very basic - kitchen/ common area was a disappointment and the room we stayed in had a double bunk with very little room elsewhere. We stayed elsewhere in Hervey Bay in much better accommodation for less money. If you are camping it might be an option but we didn't enjoy our stay there.
    58%
    Emma B July 2016
    Very delicious and cheap food.
    90%
    Canning L July 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    83%
    1190 customers have reated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    85%
    Condition of facilities
    82%
    Efficiency of service
    86%
    Friendliness of staff
    90%
    Location
    77%
    Overall atmosphere
    82%
    Safety & Security
    82%
    Value for Money
    79%