Search YHA

Hervey Bay YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Hervey Bay YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1149 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Bed was bloody terrible. Our dinner special was great. "Surf n turf" Overall, decent enough.
    70%
    Jamie K April 2016
    I loved the privacy, tranquillity,space and beautiful surrounds at Hervey Bay. Tonnes of information everywhere. Facilities were superb. Better than some 4.5 star hotels I have stayed in...and I have done quite a bit of travel. I highly recommend this one for a chill out, and to discover a very beautiful part of the world!
    100%
    Julie H April 2016
    Hostel is in a lovely location with plenty of space and plenty of parking. The grounds are well kept and the facilities are very good. The room was clean and the kitchen area, while small, was perfectly adequate. If you don'r have a car, then you might find access to some of the attractions a little difficult, but with a car it was fine.
    100%
    Geoff H April 2016
    I would stay here again. Clean facilities and really nice to have our own bathroom and sitting area in our dorm.
    88%
    Elise B April 2016
    Clean hostel with great surroundings. The staff at the reception was really nice and helpful. Unfortunately the fan was broken which led to a noisy, sleepless night. All in all I would recommend this hostel as it is really clean with in a nice atmosphere. Courtesy bus to Greyhound was really reliable and most Fraser Island tours offer you to pick you put at YHA. For 10$ you can store your luggage during your tour which is really safe in a seperate room with lockers.
    85%
    Steffen F April 2016
    The pillows were dirty and lumpy. The worst I have seen in a long time. The metal bed frame had a thin mattress on there, half the thickness of all the other mattresses in the 10 bed dorm. When I woke up my whole body was aching and did not stop aching for 2 days. When I complained in the morning the manager on duty said she was not aware the matteress was thin and she would change it so the next guest did not suffer. When I went to visit my friend who was still staying in the same dorm I checked if the mattress had been changed but it was the same and new sheets had been left for the next backpacker to suffer. Interesting to see how YHA take there complaints so seriously. I'm not sure why the manager pretended not to know about this dodgy mattress. Her assistant however new exactly where the bed was located in the dorm when I drew a plan for her.
    30%
    Shazia a April 2016
    Was a very nice little villa just big enough for myself and my 2 children, we stayed in one of the 1 bedroom villas, having a sofa bed in the living area was just fine for my son to sleep on. overall I would highly recommend this accommodation to family and friends :)
    95%
    Nicole P April 2016
    Lovely hostel just a bit too far out of the way for me! Loved all the wildlife around the resort though.
    78%
    Charlotte W April 2016
    The facilities were great, with the bistro with cheap quality meals and drinks. Great for family on a budget
    95%
    Katherina S April 2016
    Quiet, chilled out hostel with a duckpond and lovely pool. It feels like more of a resort than a hostel. Not much going on close by so if you are after a party hostel it's not for you.
    72%
    K T April 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    83%
    1149 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    84%
    Condition of facilities
    82%
    Efficiency of service
    88%
    Friendliness of staff
    87%
    Location
    78%
    Overall atmosphere
    82%
    Safety & security
    84%
    Value for money
    83%