Limited Accommodation Available - Private Rooms Only. Temporary closures & changes to reception hours are in place, check when booking.

Hervey Bay YHA

Customer reviews of Hervey Bay YHA

Voted the Highest-Quality Hostel by YHA Guests in 2018

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (2022 guests have reviewed this hostel)
The 2 doramtory kitchens are good with tvs ..good to watch the news theae days ..biggest bonus only 500 meters to barge for fraiser island..dorms have aircons with no midgies in dorms
65%
Peter D 23/03/2020
We used the powered caravan sites which were peaceful and surrounded by lovely gardens and trees. Staff were extremely helpful also let us store van there for a few days while we visited Lady Elliot Island.
78%
Paul C 17/03/2020
This hostel has a nice garden setting in which to sit back and relax in.
92%
David H 12/03/2020
This hostel is located quite far outside of the city center but the YHA itself is really nice. The rooms are decorated with a lot of love and it is awesome to finally sleep in a normal bed instead of a bunk bed for once. There is no WiFi in the rooms, but there is near the reception. You can spot lots of birds, frogs and other animals.
95%
Anna S 08/03/2020
Wifi only a the reception but it doesn’t work !
55%
Livia R 07/03/2020
The staff were lovely but the hostel is not that nice. It’s really dirty and the location is terrible. It’s miles away from all the other hostels and just lifeless. There are no shops near by. I wouldn’t recommend it at all
50%
Stacey C 05/03/2020
Hostel was good Love the location easy to get Around showers where good bathroom was clean but wished that the Rooms had air con in them as its very hot at Night very hard to sleep over all i enjoyed my Star thank you
75%
Raylene A 05/03/2020
wifi situation was very bad. i had to work there and the wifi was very slow and only working in a specific area, that was closed after 9pm. i got troubles with my work, because I couldn't finish without the wifi and 9 pm is very early... for a hostel, where usually young people stay, that's not good! also the fact, that a pick up service for busses and airports is offered, but when we asked for that, they told us, that it is not possible for our bus. reception staff was not very helpful
82%
Magdalena H 16/02/2020
It is beautifull, quite and Peacefull. When you need a time of it is a fine place to relaxe. When you need activities, othrr people and a living city than it is no place for you. The food in the Restaurant was amazing the kitchens in the hostel ok but not good. But it was clean.
58%
Maria L 14/02/2020
It is a buitifull camping site like area with a big gardenlike souroundig and atmosphere but the kitchens arent really good, it is quite lonley and the lounges arent comfy. When you search for a quite peacefull place it is perfect but better when you're not traveling alone. It does'nt feel like a hostel. The food in the bistro is superb
58%
Maria L 12/02/2020

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

We will not publish inappropriate and/or offensive comments.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language, swearing or references to illicit drug usage.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

We will not publish any comments that are not directly related to the hostel, or your experience during your stay.

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated, incorrect or you did not stay at the hostel that you are commenting on.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

We will not publish comments that include full staff names, irrespective of whether your comment is positive or negative.

First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If you make a negative comment, we will remove any reference to particular staff members.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as major hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

78%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
78%
Condition of facilities
74%
Efficiency of service
77%
Friendliness of staff
80%
Location
78%
Overall atmosphere
78%
Safety & Security
80%
Value for Money
78%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL