Hervey Bay YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Hervey Bay YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (1421 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Nice common room, good atmosphere and lovely garden areas.
    78%
    Stephanie M May 2017
    This YHA is a nice place to be. There are facilities like a pool, computers, a restaurant/bar, a souvenir shop, a laundry. Moreover they offer a courtesy transfer from the Greyhound bus stop to the YHA. I stayed in a single room. This one was clean, convenient and with enough space. There are two kitchens. The one that I used was always clean. This YHA is build like a small village. There are even animals (chicken, geese, ducks...). I felt very comfortable here. The restaurant is really nice and offers a good selection of different dishes. And the prices are very good. On my arrival, I got 2 vouchers for a drink for free (in combination with a meal). But you should consider that the restaurant/ bar closes at around 9 pm. And the reception isn't opened 24 hours. The next supermarket is approx. a 10 minute walk. You can do nice walks in Hervey Bay. There is a footpath next to the ocean/ beach.
    80%
    Sabrina R May 2017
    The hostel has a nice swimming pool. The hostel was nearly empty. Be careful of the opening hour of the reception. Day storage is not available when the reception is closed.
    62%
    Claire B May 2017
    Great experience, I took my 10 year old daughter and we stayed in the Back packer hostel, brought our food and had our own room. Had the feel of a holiday resort, it was great that the rest of the park had cabins and camping etc, catered for all groups. The wildlife, ducks, birds, chickens and turtles made it family fun. Average accom but awesome price, we got to spend our money enjoying Fraser Island and go-carting. Awesome fun in Hervey Bay. At that price, everyone can afford a holiday!!
    90%
    Debbie May 2017
    Met expectations. Good holiday. Bistro at YHA yum!
    80%
    Lottie D April 2017
    If you want friendly staff in a great place, the Colonial Village is the place to be .
    98%
    Terry m April 2017
    The hostel has very nice grounds, provides a shuttle service from the bus and provides a good meal and bar service. The double rooms are made up of a double bunk bed with a single bunk on top. We have stayed in many similar rooms which have all been great - the difference with this is that the top bunk has no mattress or bedding (same in all double rooms) and you feel like you are sleeping in a prison / cage. The cleaning is done well but is confined to half an hour in the kitchen and 20 minutes in each bathroom. This means that the kitchen and bathrooms are really clean immediately after the cleaning process but by the end of the day particularly the kitchen is pretty grim - we decided not to cook in it. There is also hardly any cutlery and mugs. I think there were 2 mugs and a cup. So it is difficult if you don't bring your own things. We also left our dry goods in the cupboards but by the morning living things were crawling amongst them so we had to keep things in our room.
    60%
    Lisa H April 2017
    Very comfortable and lovely setup. Would recommend.
    82%
    dale L April 2017
    Cheap and perfect
    80%
    R L April 2017
    Great short stay
    90%
    Jade B April 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    82%
    82%
    customer rating, based on 1421 reviews
    Cleanliness
    84%
    Condition of facilities
    81%
    Efficiency of service
    81%
    Friendliness of staff
    86%
    Location
    81%
    Overall atmosphere
    81%
    Safety & Security
    81%
    Value for Money
    82%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!