UPDATE COVID-19: Safe stay measures are being taken at all of our hostels and travel restrictions are in place for guests travelling from Victoria. See our Covid page for full details.

Hervey Bay YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Hervey Bay YHA

Voted the Highest-Quality Hostel by YHA Guests in 2018

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (2031 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Weird atmosphere, didn’t even see one of the staff members. Washed our clothes, found the dryer open and our clothes on the ground. Didn’t feel safe in the hostel.
25%
Julia B 28/07/2020
It’s okay 👌
85%
Shawn W 24/07/2020
Not like the city YHAs, there’s not much around but they do offer tours to Fraser Island, shops are a 15mins walk, the rooms are very nice and clean, didn’t see many staff around, but the grounds are beautiful with peacocks and chickens roaming around and possums.
88%
Pamela W 21/07/2020
Very comfortable clean & tidy, food good and reasonable
100%
Ursula F 20/07/2020
Quiet out of the way location but no shops near by. Liked the peacocks wandering around. NO WIFI in family rooms Lots of noise from other rooms banging flushing toilets etc Beds were very uncomfortable and only a double. Freezing cold rooms with no heating available as it does get down to 5D in winter in Harvey Bay. Cheap one night stay but wouldn’t stay longer.
72%
Paula M 05/07/2020
The rooms are expensive and with non equipment, it was cold and with one of the worst mattress that I know.
65%
Ricardo G 30/06/2020
The 2 doramtory kitchens are good with tvs ..good to watch the news theae days ..biggest bonus only 500 meters to barge for fraiser island..dorms have aircons with no midgies in dorms
65%
Peter D 23/03/2020
We used the powered caravan sites which were peaceful and surrounded by lovely gardens and trees. Staff were extremely helpful also let us store van there for a few days while we visited Lady Elliot Island.
78%
Paul C 17/03/2020
This hostel has a nice garden setting in which to sit back and relax in.
92%
David H 12/03/2020
This hostel is located quite far outside of the city center but the YHA itself is really nice. The rooms are decorated with a lot of love and it is awesome to finally sleep in a normal bed instead of a bunk bed for once. There is no WiFi in the rooms, but there is near the reception. You can spot lots of birds, frogs and other animals.
95%
Anna S 08/03/2020

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

We will not publish inappropriate and/or offensive comments.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language, swearing or references to illicit drug usage.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

We will not publish any comments that are not directly related to the hostel, or your experience during your stay.

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated, incorrect or you did not stay at the hostel that you are commenting on.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

We will not publish comments that include full staff names, irrespective of whether your comment is positive or negative.

First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If you make a negative comment, we will remove any reference to particular staff members.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as major hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

78%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
78%
Condition of facilities
74%
Efficiency of service
76%
Friendliness of staff
80%
Location
77%
Overall atmosphere
78%
Safety & Security
80%
Value for Money
78%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL