Search YHA

Hervey Bay YHA

  • Customer reviews of Hervey Bay YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (1011 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The staff was really friendly. They even drop me off at the shopping centre because it was night time ! Thank you so much guys ! xx
    Mickaelle s November 2015
    Quite dated. Booked a private room but didn't feel it reflected photos on the website. Good bistro area. Family of peacocks was a nice surprise.
    Letitia R November 2015
    posto tranquillo.. presenza di pc per poter fare qualche ricerca un po' dislocata dal resto della città..a piedi è difficile spostarsi camerata spaziosa.. peccato per le anatre che al mattino con il loro canto disperato ci hanno svegliato malamente!!
    letizia v November 2015
    Great place to stay, so much better than some of the other YHA hostels in queensland. Huge rooms and great facilities. Definitely will stay there again if i am in Hervey Bay.
    Gergana K November 2015
    The washingmachine isn't good. There's not much to do around here, but there was a Nice busservice that brought us to the busstation.
    J S October 2015
    Ladies 4 bed room amazing and with a patio with wild life all around. Wonderful atmosphere, good food and great facilities.
    Diane S October 2015
    We enjoyed our stay and the young lady at reception was great .
    john w October 2015
    The hostel is close to the beach and a supermarket. But this are the only things which are close to it. Sometimes the reception is understaffed so you have to wait but the staff is always friendly. I stayed in the basic room for one night. The mattress is very thin and there are no shelves or lockers. But everything (room, kitchen, bathroom) is very clean. There is a bar with an opportunity to eat cheap.
    Fabienne F October 2015
    I stayed here for 4 nights in the 4 share female dorm. I had a lovely stay, room was a bit outdated but fine and the shower had amazing water pressure. Staff is very friendly and the bistro serves great food for reasonable prices. Only disadvantage are the birds (ducks and peacocks) on the premises, who woke me up at 5.30 every morning
    Fenneke O October 2015
    Fantastic - Highly recommended - Would definitely stay here again.
    Brendan M October 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    1011 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money