Search YHA

Rockhampton YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Rockhampton YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (384 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The hostel is good but very hot in summer. It was clean and the staff friendly. Lots of water pressure in the shower. Bed was comfy.
    88%
    Sam G February 2017
    Nothing wrong with the hostel, we had our own cabin, but location is out of the way and, to be honest, there isn't much to do in Rockhampton.
    90%
    Mark C February 2017
    Just one night stay here. It was nice place which located at heart of Rockhampton, the staff was very nice and willing to share the tourist information. Overall it is good and I would recommend to friends or who will go to Rockhampton in future.
    75%
    KA LEONG I February 2017
    The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly centrally located had a great time here!!!
    100%
    Paul H February 2017
    Small little hostel, good for a stop on the East Coast, the supermarket is 15 minutes away, and the kitchen facilities are not realy modern
    75%
    Felix S February 2017
    We only stayed one night, but for us that was enough. Rockhampton as a town has it that muck to offer I'm afraid. Room was good with own on-suite and air-con worked fine. Bed side lamps and enough power points.
    65%
    Tina M January 2017
    Stayed here for one night with two male friends. Booked an 8 bed mixed dorm but were lucky enough to be put together in a 4 bed dorm with no one else. The hostel is located not far off a main road but away from shops. We had a car so that was fine. Overall, the room and facilities were pretty clean. Large industrial kitchen and good sized tv room. Would have perhaps been good to have some dvds, games or books in there. The room itself was alright. Beds were comfortable and it had a fan and air conditioning. There wasn't enough power points though, only one by a bottom bunk and next to the air conditioning (up high). If you are looking for a party atmosphere, this isn't the place. It was really quiet when we were there but it meant we got a good night's sleep. It was Tuesday night though. Overall, it was a pleasant stay and I'd recommend it to others. I'd stay again if ever in Rockhampton.
    78%
    Kimberley D December 2016
    One of the more rustic hostels. Older buildings and facilities that are showing wear but everything was pretty clean. Note of warning: the geckos come in through the windows and crawl around on the ceiling but they eat bugs and spiders so that's a good thing! Location isn't great if you're coming in on a late bus like I did because your only option is to get a taxi to the hostel.
    72%
    R R December 2016
    A friendly and nice atmosphere. A perfect place for us to make a quick stop at on our way to Hervy Bay. The kind ans nice owner picked us up at the bus station when we arrived and drowe us back for departure. A calm spot and cosy atmosphere.
    82%
    Lina K November 2016
    When I ask the woman at reception if she can call a taxi for me she was telling me not really friendly I should to it by myself. Later I came back and asked the man again and then it was no problem. He was really friendly and booked the taxi without problems for me. The showers and the bedroom was not really clean. I didn't really enjoy my stay there.
    48%
    Mel H November 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    84%
    384 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    83%
    Condition of facilities
    78%
    Efficiency of service
    91%
    Friendliness of staff
    94%
    Location
    78%
    Overall atmosphere
    83%
    Safety & Security
    82%
    Value for Money
    88%