Search YHA

Rockhampton YHA

  • Customer reviews of Rockhampton YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (308 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    A bit out of the way and difficult to find when dark. Helpful and friendly staff make up for the slightly run down facilities.
    Angelika K November 2015
    good place, very relaxing. found blood stains on the blanket, it doesn't worry me too much, but if it can be removed or simply replace it with new blanket would be nice.
    Jui-Shan H October 2015
    Great spot Rocky , thanks Steph. Double units great @ A$60 , handy to town . Enjoyed dip in the pool. She even kept up with the Rugby World Cup scores .
    Grant H October 2015
    The cleanest hostel we stayed in by far, we had our own private hut, was just as good as a hotel! The best kitchen ever, Gordon Ramsey could open up a restaurant there its that big. Very helpful staff that took us to and from places. Would recommend to anyone!
    elliot c October 2015
    The reception staff is very kind.
    YI RU H September 2015
    I stayed overnight at Rockhampton YHA in a female dorm. The dorm was nice and spacious and clean, a large room for only 6 beds so it was nice to have some space. And nice to have blue bedsheets instead of the white bedsheets that most other places have. The common bathroom was next door and was clean, large mirrors, lots of room in the showers to hang your stuff and a nice painting on the wall. The staff member was friendly and helpful, and happily gave me a lift in the YHA courtesy van for free to the main street of Rockhampton town (East Street) because I wanted to go there for dinner and its about a 25 minute walk. (He said he usually drives the courtesy van leaving the YHA at 6:15pm and 7:15pm to do pickups from the bus stop, so he was able to drop me off in the main street of town along the way). The common TV room had nice big lounge chairs. In the grounds of the YHA it was nice to sit by the pool and BBQ area, lots of bushland scenery, it was very peaceful and relaxing as it is in a quiet street. This YHA was quiet, so I would recommend it as a nice place for some relaxation and down time. I would recommend it for anyone who wants to stop between travelling from Airlie Beach and Hervey Bay and have some quiet time. I would also recommend doing daytrips to Great Keppel Island and also visiting the beautiful beaches at Yeppoon. For nightlife on a Saturday night, in Rockhampton I'd recommend the Giddy Goat Bar/nightclub and Zodiac nightclub.
    Janani J August 2015
    I only stayed here for the night but found the staff to be some of the friendliest I've run into. They gave me great information on places to eat as it was later on a Sunday night and info about how to get to Keppel Island and in general about the facilities of the hostel. The room was great and bathrooms were very clean.
    Jill H June 2015
    Lizcelle M May 2015
    Best and cleanest kitchen facilities I've seen for a while
    Lotta I April 2015
    Lovely area away from the main town of Rocky. Quiet private garden with pool and kids play area. Cabins are great value for money!
    Nishara d April 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    308 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money