Search YHA

Rockhampton YHA

  • Customer reviews of Rockhampton YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (298 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    I stayed overnight at Rockhampton YHA in a female dorm. The dorm was nice and spacious and clean, a large room for only 6 beds so it was nice to have some space. And nice to have blue bedsheets instead of the white bedsheets that most other places have. The common bathroom was next door and was clean, large mirrors, lots of room in the showers to hang your stuff and a nice painting on the wall. The staff member was friendly and helpful, and happily gave me a lift in the YHA courtesy van for free to the main street of Rockhampton town (East Street) because I wanted to go there for dinner and its about a 25 minute walk. (He said he usually drives the courtesy van leaving the YHA at 6:15pm and 7:15pm to do pickups from the bus stop, so he was able to drop me off in the main street of town along the way). The common TV room had nice big lounge chairs. In the grounds of the YHA it was nice to sit by the pool and BBQ area, lots of bushland scenery, it was very peaceful and relaxing as it is in a quiet street. This YHA was quiet, so I would recommend it as a nice place for some relaxation and down time. I would recommend it for anyone who wants to stop between travelling from Airlie Beach and Hervey Bay and have some quiet time. I would also recommend doing daytrips to Great Keppel Island and also visiting the beautiful beaches at Yeppoon. For nightlife on a Saturday night, in Rockhampton I'd recommend the Giddy Goat Bar/nightclub and Zodiac nightclub.
    98%
    Janani J August 2015
    I only stayed here for the night but found the staff to be some of the friendliest I've run into. They gave me great information on places to eat as it was later on a Sunday night and info about how to get to Keppel Island and in general about the facilities of the hostel. The room was great and bathrooms were very clean.
    100%
    Jill H June 2015
    Great!
    82%
    Lizcelle M May 2015
    Best and cleanest kitchen facilities I've seen for a while
    92%
    Lotta I April 2015
    Lovely area away from the main town of Rocky. Quiet private garden with pool and kids play area. Cabins are great value for money!
    98%
    Nishara d April 2015
    Hey, Yha in rockhampton is nice sweet little hostel. You can get to the city by a 15 minutes walk or take the shuttle from the hostel. We enjoyed our stay in yha! Was a great time. The pool and the kitchen is very clean. Also the rooms. We have been in the pool the hole day, or visited the sweet little city. All in all a very nice stop on our trip to the north on the east coast. Wish a good stay!!
    98%
    Annemarie O April 2015
    Not the best YHA I have stayed at, but I have also stayed in worse hostels too.
    60%
    Sofia G March 2015
    Had great stay very friendly hospitable owners and staff would recommend to all.
    100%
    Albert E January 2015
    Nice, very clean & quiet Friendly staff
    92%
    GORAN J January 2015
    Clean, good facilities, nice pool. The grounds are a bit shabby and the garden needs some maintenance, but other than that it was a great place to stop for the night.
    72%
    Rachel C January 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    86%
    298 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    85%
    Condition of facilities
    83%
    Efficiency of service
    89%
    Friendliness of staff
    94%
    Location
    76%
    Overall atmosphere
    84%
    Safety & security
    85%
    Value for money
    90%