Search YHA

Magnetic Island YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer review of Magnetic Island YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (696 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Great place, relaxing atmosphere, and I definately would recommend doing the tour in their wildlife park, one of the best things I've ever seen!
    90%
    Julie M July 2016
    It is almost like camping, and there is no luxury in the bungalows at all - just a bed and refrigerator, but it does not matter because of the other facilitets at the camp and the wonderful nature around and all the wildlife. Magnetic Island is absolutely worth a visit
    90%
    Peter H July 2016
    Good location close to beach-eats/drinks places at Horshoe Bay-start of Balding Bay/Radical Bay walking track. Bus stop adjacent. Spacious nicely landscaped grounds with plenty of wildlife. Neat 3 bed A frame bungalows, very attractive bar-lounge area. Camping area large but slight slope. half the motorvan spots have level pads. Koala park tours proved very popular with guests. Lighting around shower block could be better at night - easy to miss some steps on the path. Not enough cooking pots, not enough undercover eating spots if it rains, reception didn't explain I needed to put down a deposit to get dining plates/utensils set - lucky I had my camping stuff. Not enough food storage slots in camp kitchen.
    72%
    Terry B July 2016
    Nightly bar events were really fun, lots of useful facilities provided and fantastic value for money.
    100%
    jack M July 2016
    Only problem is the bungalows don't have solid walls, the top half is open to the elements which is great when warm but we had terrible weather and the rain was coming in and it was one of the coldest nights I've spent in a hostel. Thankfully there were extra blankets. Also, the only power plugs were in the bathroom under an open window that the rain came through.
    78%
    Lucy P July 2016
    Great hostel. My favourite so far along the East Coast
    100%
    Helena F July 2016
    A very convenient location for Horseshoe Bay and cafes.
    78%
    Eric G July 2016
    I loved this hostel. It was close to the beach and had fun activities at night. Free wifi was a bonus. The bean bag area was very chilled. Lovely showers, so powerful. There was only one staff member in the morning we were leaving who was short with us and rude. Perhaps she was tired. All the other staff were super friendly and nice.
    82%
    Christina M July 2016
    The bungalow has a lovely appearance from the outside, however inside it's very open. When you pay for a room you don't expect to have been warmer in a tent. The bungalows need to be built properly and insulated. It's not enough to be given warm blankets as you can't just stay in bed the whole time. Also the only two sockets being in the bathroom is both very inconvenient and dangerous. If you're not camping and didn't bring your own food with you the only options to eat are pizza or a toastie with no cafes nearby, both me and my friend were shocked that these were the only options. We purchased both and I was given a burnt and undercooked pizza and my friends toastie was not great. We were both really disappointed in the overall experience and the other 6 people in our room agreed that they couldn't wait to just leave. We also did the breakfast with koalas which cost us $50 each, the buffet was full of great food, however, neither of us were given time to finish our breakfast. The woman handling the koalas seemed very agitated when people were getting their pictures taken and was clearly in a rush to get to the next group which is understandable, but no need to be snappy with people. Also throughout the night all you can hear is birds screeching very loudly and cars driving past, that on top of the temperature of the rooms it was almost impossible to have a comfortable sleep.
    55%
    Leigh w July 2016
    Great location, only 10min walk to horseshoe bay. Snorkeling gear hire and advice was really helpful. Plenty of hammocks in the pool area chill out in during the day. The double bungalow we stayed in was really simple with a comfy bed and a fridge which was great for us as we were out every day. Great to see that they are also doing their bit and reducing their carbon footprint
    98%
    Jesse P July 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    84%
    696 customers have reated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    78%
    Condition of facilities
    79%
    Efficiency of service
    83%
    Friendliness of staff
    86%
    Location
    91%
    Overall atmosphere
    88%
    Safety & Security
    82%
    Value for Money
    81%