Magnetic Island YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Magnetic Island YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (1102 guests have reviewed this hostel)
We loved our stay. The wild life was up close and personal, the amenities clean and accessible always replenished and ventilated. The room was in pleasant surroundings with privacy once inside. Great opportunity to interact with others and the natural world
78%
Robin S 24/11/2017
Really nice place to stay. Close to shops and bars. Good deals on at the bar in the hostel - both food and drinks. Clean and secure. Staff friendly and helpful. Would stay here again and recommend
100%
Faye C 21/11/2017
I think the bar is expensive and the kitchen has a lot of things that don't work or are missing. But further than that, the location is great, you can easily rent a car at the reception and the hammocks are great.
75%
Simone B 20/11/2017
The food could be better. Maybe have some healthy options and proper coffee!! 12$ for a tiny frozen pizza seems a lot. Otherwise super happy with my stay.
82%
Mirjam Désirée K 19/11/2017
I loved Bungalow Bay! The bungalows are super cute, the lounge and bar area are always social, and the overall space is clean and well-maintained. The bean bag chairs are a great idea! And of course I had a blast cuddling a koala!
100%
Bryce B 14/11/2017
Amazing!! Loved everything about it! Soooo many cute animals around!!!
100%
Jill S 13/11/2017
The Hostel was very good !!
98%
Geoffrey R 10/11/2017
We loved the location and atmosphere of the place, it was fully equipped with cooking facilities, places to relax and have a drink. So reasonably priced and wonderfully welcoming. Will definitely recommend
90%
thomas m 05/11/2017
I wanted to stay for just 1 night but was told that over the Friday/Saturday/Sunday I must stay for atleast 2 nights. Was very disappointed with this, I have never had this happen at a YHA to me before. Also when I wished to cancel I was told that 48hrs notice was required. Again this has never happened to me before. When I decided to leave Cairns a day earlier I was told 24hrs was all that was required. This I did and had a refund. The 1st night was a nightmare as well due to the other people in the room coming back around 1am and running amock. I appreciate that this is out of the hands of the hostel though.
82%
Alan J 30/10/2017
Best hostel so far!
100%
Jennifer B 26/10/2017

Hostel Rating Ratings guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

88%
customer rating, based on 1102 reviews
Cleanliness
84%
Condition of facilities
84%
Efficiency of service
88%
Friendliness of staff
93%
Location
93%
Overall atmosphere
90%
Safety & Security
88%
Value for Money
86%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL