Magnetic Island YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Magnetic Island YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (1237 guests have reviewed this hostel)
It was very busy and crowdy at the daytimes, they build new toilets. It was noisy in the night, 2 nights guests and staff, loud yelling till 12 am. Not for relaxing day and night. But the crew was very friendly all the time. A little dirty in the woman toilet.
75%
Doris M 18/07/2018
I would recommend this as a good place to stay. Staff are good and everything is clean. Nightly activities (e.g. quiz night) are also fun. 5 minutes or less to walk to beach. I saw a koala at the old school which is less than two minutes walk away. Good access to many island walks. e.g. beautiful Balding Bay The only annoying thing I found was that the kitchen does not open until 6.45 am. This makes it awkward if you want to catch an early ferry or get out on the walking trails early
92%
Murray S 18/07/2018
This was a great hostel. Great setting, close to the beach and some great walks/hikes. Nature all around. Wifi signal could have been stronger - it didn't stretch much past the reception area.
95%
Timothy C 17/07/2018
Peu d’informations nous ont été données sur la location des couverts et la cuisine était peu équipée avec aucun savon pour laver la vaisselle. La musique de la réception nous a réveillé à 6h15 du matin.
75%
Sylvie G 16/07/2018
We live that the bus was at the door And Horsebay was just down the road With great coffee
82%
Tom W 11/07/2018
Close to the nature
98%
Thomas W 11/07/2018
It is one of the best hostels I have ever been to. Amazing atmosphere, nature and welcoming people.
100%
Abhishek G 09/07/2018
Very nice wildlife park
80%
Greg W 06/07/2018
Unique, really good place to stay on Maggie. Love the activities !
85%
Lorene P 01/07/2018
The bus stop was right outside, the rooms are fabulous with clean en-suite bathroom facilities. I thought it was slightly ridiculous that there wasn't any early check-in available, and the bag storage simply consisted of leaving your bag opposite reception where anyone could take it, especially when you were given ALL your own bed linen and check out was 10am. Does it really take the staff 3 hours to fold the blanket neatly and sweep the floor? They're not even making the beds for goodness sake!
92%
Victoria M 28/06/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

85%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
83%
Condition of facilities
80%
Efficiency of service
83%
Friendliness of staff
89%
Location
92%
Overall atmosphere
87%
Safety & Security
86%
Value for Money
82%

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL