Search YHA

Magnetic Island YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Magnetic Island YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (644 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    It was a great hostel overall, loved the bungalows and the pool. Some of the staff weren't really friendly and didn't seem to enjoy helping people that much.
    72%
    Anna E April 2016
    Great place to stay while on Magi Island. :)
    100%
    Sarah D April 2016
    We enjoyed our stay !!!
    98%
    Geoffrey R April 2016
    Very nice dorms with private bathroom, bus stop in front of the hostel, the staff was super friendly and helpful. The pool is great and the stinger-free beach area is in walking distance. Would recommend others to stay here as this was one of the nicest YHA hostels I've stayed at and remarkably also the cheapest! Kitchen facilities were average, but overall great value for money!
    80%
    Iris V April 2016
    Fun location and nice bar area
    72%
    Harriet R April 2016
    I was a little reluctant to stay in this hostel because of the bad reviews but it was really nice. It's close to nature so of course there are animals (ants, wallabies, birds, koalas) but the overall experience is just unique. There were lockers and enough power sockets in the room. I would only recommend this hostel!
    88%
    Viviane April 2016
    Everything was excellent. Almost all staff was very respectful and friendly, especially Nicole, Dave, Rachel, Tess, and Job. Unfortunately many backpackers were feeding the possums "people food" by the kitchen which is not good for them. Recycling bins were everywhere which was great.
    98%
    Melisa S April 2016
    Nice staff, nice location, decent rooms. Only downside was that only one washer was working (and not very well) when I was there and no working dryer (clothes line available) so I didn't have a chance to do laundry. Sink in my room was also clogged so it took a minute to drain the water. Other than that, a good overall experience - decent size kitchen and almost a guaranteed good nights sleep.
    80%
    Zach April 2016
    Amazing hostel - wish I knew about it before I booked elsewhere! Much nicer and more invitinf than other hostels on the island!
    100%
    Charlotte W April 2016
    Got put in a room where there were not enough beds so needed to be put in a different type of room to the one we ordered. Had friends whose booking was cancelled, call and make sure you have a booking here. After much fuss everyone had a bed to sleep in which was very good.
    65%
    Mille Marie H April 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    80%
    644 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    73%
    Condition of facilities
    72%
    Efficiency of service
    81%
    Friendliness of staff
    85%
    Location
    86%
    Overall atmosphere
    83%
    Safety & security
    81%
    Value for money
    77%