Magnetic Island YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Magnetic Island YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (1403 guests have reviewed this hostel)
We thought the sleeping accommodation and en suite bathrooms was great. The kitchen facilities however were poor in comparison with most other hostels.
80%
Thomas E 30/01/2019
Nice atmosphere and location. Koala Park was a little expensive but all in all a perfect spot for a short holiday
100%
Hanna S 26/01/2019
El mejor lugar para hospedarse si te gusta convivir con lq naturaleza! Hay wallabies sueltos, aves de colores y hasta vimos un koala libremente durmiendo en la copa de un árbol. El lugar es ideal. Y hay nuy buena onda. Una pileta, un lindo hall con pufs para tirarse un rato y escuchar las aves cantar y el sonido de laa hojas de las palmeras moverse con el viento.
98%
Julia M 20/01/2019
We had an amazing stay at Bungalow Bay. The staff were lovely and our wee hut was fab! Air conditioning was brilliant and the bed was the comfiest we’ve had on our almost 7months of travelling! It was great seeing all the wildlife and had a really nice atmosphere. So close to Horseshoe Bay and not so far away you can see koalas in the wild. Wish we had booked for a few more days! Amazing island.
98%
Siobhan F 19/01/2019
Really good experience, I loved the breakfast with the koalas 🤗
92%
Margot L 14/01/2019
The hostel could be a great place to stay, BUT: the shared toilettes and showers were dirty - every time we've been there. Of course you have to cope with a lot of insects in this tropical area, but then you have to clean more often. The bungalows were ok, but some chairs for the inside would be good. The sanctuary was great. Interesting tour and we really liked the guides and their passion for the animals.
68%
Simone E 11/01/2019
The dorm rooms were nice and the hostel facilities were ok, however there were no lockers available in the rooms to leave your valuables. The kitchen was large, clean however there was not cutlery and dishes provided and a deposit was required for these! We found some of the staff at the hostel quite rude, when arriving at the hostel early we were told we could leave our bags by reception and told to go for breakfast at the beach nearby, there was no offer for us to relax at the hostel until our room was ready. Alongside this, we were told at check in that there was evening activities at the bar each night, however we sat at the bar on both nights of our stay and neither of the advertised activities took place. All in all it’s a nice hostel in a great location, but a shame about some of the staff not caring about guests enjoyment!
62%
Sophie D 09/01/2019
Really nice place amazing staff
100%
Valentin M 09/01/2019
The koala sanctuary and wild life in the backyard was great
80%
Sebastian s 06/01/2019
Book onto the koala brekkie, its fab!
90%
Benjamin D 05/01/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

84%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
81%
Condition of facilities
82%
Efficiency of service
80%
Friendliness of staff
86%
Location
90%
Overall atmosphere
87%
Safety & Security
84%
Value for Money
84%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL