Search YHA

Magnetic Island YHA

83%
Magnetic Island, QLD

This award-winning YHA hostel has all the facilities of an island resort. Set on beautiful Magnetic Island, this backpackers hoste...

$25
Check availability
Right now in Magnetic Island...
06:16 PM
|
23°C
|
Winter
  • Customer reviews of Magnetic Island YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (580 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Very helpful staff. Excellent location.
    100%
    Barbara B July 2015
    If you are looking for a quiet place to relaxe and love nature, this is the perfect place. The beach is just 5 min away and there are really good hiking tracks around. On the hostel ground you see a lot of birds and even a rock wallaby and possums. Make sure you bring food and water from a big town, because there are just small expensive stores around
    82%
    Judith E July 2015
    Great experience staying right among the wildlife in unique little cabins. Great little bar/restaurant with big comfy beanbags and live music on certain nights - good fun without losing nice laid back atmosphere that we sometimes found lacking in the "party hostels" elsewhere
    98%
    Alice P June 2015
    Cute bungalows set in a forest. I woke up to see a wallaby outside my open window in the morning! All windows have insect netting which is much appreciated.
    90%
    Katharine F May 2015
    Only gave average for friendliness of staff as one particular female member of staff was not very helpful or pleasant at times especially when we were checking out. The others were helpful.
    78%
    Carole M April 2015
    I loved the location and the area. The nature all around is perfect! The staff should know a little bit more about the area and the kitchen should have more cooking places (there were a lot of cookers broken when I was there). But the atmosphere is just perfect! And you have got a lot all the wildlife at your doorstep.
    88%
    Judith H April 2015
    One of the best YHA hostels. Its quirky staying in little wooden lodges and the 6beds appwar to have been recently refurbed. Would def recommend :-)
    100%
    nikki r April 2015
    Wow these bungalows are great, I had one with an ensuite, it was fantastic. I visited magnetic island in February and it's pretty quiet, thankfully I had a car so I could explore the island. The resort is great and there is a fair amount of wildlife there. Very relaxing stay.
    92%
    Michael N February 2015
    The staff is very friendly.
    88%
    Yvonne B January 2015
    Double A-shape room, quite clean, good food and don't forget to go to the Koala Sanctuary!
    80%
    Stefan B December 2014
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    83%
    580 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    82%
    Condition of facilities
    76%
    Efficiency of service
    78%
    Friendliness of staff
    82%
    Location
    90%
    Overall atmosphere
    85%
    Safety & security
    83%
    Value for money
    83%