Search YHA

Magnetic Island YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer review of Magnetic Island YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (719 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    This is my favorite place in Queensland. Just loved the place. The natural beauty of the unspoiled place. Go for a month any time especially in winter
    98%
    Murray H August 2016
    Been around Australia a lot and this is my favourite spot in the whole country! Will be back regularly!
    98%
    Oliver K August 2016
    NaturE Experience, friendly guest and Staff!!!! Really unique hostel
    92%
    Britta S August 2016
    Great place to experience Australian wildlife. Amazing place to stay.
    100%
    Vicky T August 2016
    It was a lovely open concept. We enjoyed very much the wildlife and many birds. We enjoyed seeing the possem, lorekeets, and other animals. Also, great evening activities like Bingo.
    100%
    Gilles C August 2016
    I was a bit sceptical after reading the bad reviews, but there was nothing to worry about. Bungalow Bay is a great place to stay! I stayed in a renovated/improved dorm (they are in the process of renovating/improving all dorms); loved the socket in the lockers, great idea! Rooms are average, swimming pool is amazing and the deck bar is really nice.
    80%
    Roxanne R August 2016
    Just like paradise!
    98%
    Gerald d August 2016
    Fantastic natural atmosphere, great private space in bungalows. Beautiful lounge. Cheap beer and good bar nighttime activities. Highly recommended.
    100%
    Susie K August 2016
    Great hostel , wide range of age groups . Fantastic place
    100%
    Rob A August 2016
    Overall a great stay here, although we did have several issues with our bunk's bathroom. No hot water when we got there (staff got on it the second they were informed, very impressed) a leaky shower, and something else (sink, toilet?) was leaking so that the floor of the ensuite was always wet. They are renovating the cabins, so hopefully #2 is next on the list! Other than that, wonderful staff, kitchen was well stocked and kept pretty clean, the birds and possums come to visit while you eat at the outside tables (super cute - don't feed them) LOVED the bar and patio area with the giant comfy bean bags, and nightly games, and the free wifi was great. Huge pool with a few hammocks and tons of lounge chairs as well. I did the koala experience, loads of fun, despite how small it is. There are tons of interactions with the birds and reptiles, although the koala cuddle is a bit short, pretty much just a photo op. Feeding the lorikeets is a riot, bring your camera and wear longsleeves. And make sure you do the Forts walk and the track to the bays as well, it's so worth it!
    85%
    Crystal C July 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    86%
    719 customers have reated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    82%
    Condition of facilities
    83%
    Efficiency of service
    84%
    Friendliness of staff
    88%
    Location
    92%
    Overall atmosphere
    89%
    Safety & Security
    88%
    Value for Money
    83%