Search YHA

Magnetic Island YHA

  • Customer reviews of Magnetic Island YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (597 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The stafs wasn't very Nice at check-in and seemed annoyed that so many people got off the bus at once. You would expect them to be used to that. The rooms were vere small and not very clean. Dust and spiderwebs everywhere. The toilets didn't have a window in it so the smell was very bad in there. Also..the breakfast with the koala's wasn't worth my money. There was no explanation about the animals and we were only showen a lizzard and a Snake. The people who didn't pay the extra money to hold the koala didn't even get to see it. Overall, wouldn't recommand a stay here.
    Manon H October 2015
    Great location, handy to transport, local cafes and convenience store and overall great facilities.The pool area and general front area were excellent.Our room was clean and adequate for our stay.
    Greg T October 2015
    We had the koala breakfast, when i booked no one at the reception told me that a picture with the koala costs extra $16! $32 for a breakfast with cheap Toast, no 'real' Coffee was a total ripoff!
    Yvonne B September 2015
    Very unfriendly staff but for 1 night it seems.
    Julian H September 2015
    Thank you it was fantastic!
    Louise P September 2015
    Best YHA stay so far! For the first time I really got the feeling of a holiday during my stay. The staff is absolutely amazing; so kind and willing to help you with whatever yoy want
    Cristina H September 2015
    The bungalow was a treat to stay in! The room was sparse and tidy. Plenty of room for a few backpackers. Loved that there was a mini fridge in the a-frame in addition to the ample shared kitchen space. The bathroom showers had fantastic water pressure and hot water (which feels wonderful after hiking around all day). The location is perfect too; tucked into some quiet woods, and only steps from Horseshoe Bay.
    Sarah T August 2015
    Very helpful staff. Excellent location.
    Barbara B July 2015
    If you are looking for a quiet place to relaxe and love nature, this is the perfect place. The beach is just 5 min away and there are really good hiking tracks around. On the hostel ground you see a lot of birds and even a rock wallaby and possums. Make sure you bring food and water from a big town, because there are just small expensive stores around
    Judith E July 2015
    Great experience staying right among the wildlife in unique little cabins. Great little bar/restaurant with big comfy beanbags and live music on certain nights - good fun without losing nice laid back atmosphere that we sometimes found lacking in the "party hostels" elsewhere
    Alice P June 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    597 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money