Magnetic Island YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Magnetic Island YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think

Reviews (1153 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Great hostel, calm and quiet in general with a relaxed vibe. Clean and very friends staff. Only thing to consider when booking is the location, it is quite far away from the ferry and the center. If one wants to party, the bus doesn’t run that late. But very close to the stunning Horseshoe Bay.
Emma 18/03/2018
The location is great and the hostel’s building gives an incredible atmosphere. Really clean as every yha. Makes you feel in contact with the nature, perfect style to fit with the island
Irene S 14/03/2018
This hostel is incredible, I loved sleeping in a bungalow for a week. Aircon and security lockers inside the 6-share bungalow, with a power plug both next to my bed and inside the security locker! :O Cool on-site bar, this hostel was designed well. Social-ness could be improved with everyone pretty much on their phone in the common areas or doing their own thing, as with most YHAs.
Elad N 13/03/2018
It's one of the best hostels I've stayed at in Australia. The atmosphere is great and the staff was super friendly. It's not a party hostel though but you can still have a good time and just relax.
Lara 12/03/2018
A lovely place to stay, little green oasis. New, clean and friendly. On site sanctuary is a great place to visit, you will find out lots about the local wildlife. Highly recommended.
Malgorzata L 12/03/2018
I loved this hostel! It was firstly such a unique site, really cool chill area. Lovely bar staff and food. Clean and fresh Bungalow room. Lovely shower and toilet ensuite. Kitchen well equipped. Really near to the most lovely Bay on the Island- Horseshoe. Safe swimming area, shop and cafe bars there. Such a lovely vibe on the whole island. The Koala/ animal experience available at this hostel is worth every cent! Such a great place, animals clearly looked after. Highly recommend the Forts walk.
Benjamin S 09/03/2018
Bungalow Bay is a clean hostel with good facilities. The staff are friendly and offer lots of local advice. It has a chilled atmosphere which was perfect aftwr Fraser island and Whitsundays. I would recommend.
Lucy W 05/03/2018
Had a great time, the bungalows are basic but have everything you need. Showers and toilet block were clean as was the kitchen area. Food and drink at the bar area reasonably priced. Good base for exploring and seeing the wildlife of the island
Graeme M 02/03/2018
The hostel is a really nice place. Very big, like a small town. Relaxed atmosphere, love the bean bag area. Very friendly staff. Getting somewhere on the island by bus was not always easy though because there's only one bus per hour and it does not even go to the best snorkeling spots. Walking in the heat is not recommended. If I did it again, I would certainly rent a car.
A C 01/03/2018
Very pleasantly surprised with our stay, tons to do, great food and drinks perfect for island life and facilities wise, there was everything you needed. Loved the nature around us and animal/bird visitors! Pool was also very nice and location was perfect for driving / wandering around.
Gary B 27/02/2018

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines


YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:


Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.


Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.


Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.


If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

Average Customer Rating
Condition of facilities
Efficiency of service
Friendliness of staff
Overall atmosphere
Safety & Security
Value for Money