Search YHA

Magnetic Island YHA

  • Customer reviews of Magnetic Island YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (609 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The koala breakfast was pretty cool and loved the bungalows. Was a bit boring and lacked atmosphere. Beautiful but quiet location with not lots to do. Nice pool. The wifi was expensive and terrible. Bar closed really early so not much else to do.
    68%
    Charlotte F February 2016
    The location of this hostel and the staff are great. There is no airconditioning, so be prepared for hot nights. I did not like the kitchen very much. My food got stolen from the fridge, which sucked as the supermarket on the island is very expensive. Also you had to rent kitchrn supplies from the kitchen.
    70%
    Lenneke January 2016
    Het viel wat tegen dat we borg moesten betalen voor het bestek en de sleutel. Bij de overige YHA hostels waar we verbleven was dit niet nodig. Ook dat we moesten betalen voor wifi viel tegen en de inlog procedure was omslachtig.
    75%
    Folkert D January 2016
    The grounds made the stay worth it as we literally shared our walkway with kangaroos
    65%
    Caroline M January 2016
    The staff were amazing, so friendly and helpful that you felt like they were your friends. The activities every night meant that someone who is shy like me had a chance to make friends and have fun, and the pool was a lifesaver in the North Queensland heat.
    92%
    Shane M January 2016
    The location of this hostel is a real winner. Set amidst a conservation reserve the accommodation styled as 'huts' blend nicely with the natural environment. A lot of native and endemic flora and fauna is very easy to spot here. The facilities provided were adequate. No qualms with coming over and staying here again! Highly recommended for the location and the host of activities that are organised both by YHA and the Koala Village.
    90%
    Vaibhav G December 2015
    The bed had some spots. One gas field in the kitchen was out of order and bad equipment. The bedroom was nice and felt like an adventure. The staff was really friendly and the breakfeast with the koalas was great.
    70%
    Franziska T December 2015
    This hostel had the most unfriendly, unhelpful staff of any YHA hostel I have ever stayed at. When we arrived 6 people got off the same bus, which seemed to overwhelm their ability to check people in. We stood in line for 30 minutes to check in. We finally got checked in, then at 10pm when we were trying to sleep staff were banging on our door claiming that we had not checked in and trying to put other people in our beds. Keep in mind that these beds had been booked online two months ahead (on the YHA website) and paid for in full at the time of booking. I asked for the wifi password three times, and every time staff would say "just a second", wander off, and never return. In fact they responded to most requests by walking away and not coming back. They did not volunteer any information or help in any way the whole time we were there. The small cabins are kind of cool, but don't forget where you are and sit up in the middle of the night or you will crack your head on the bunk above. This hostel is unlike a YHA hostel in every way, and I do not mean that as a compliment.
    42%
    Margaret D December 2015
    When I book a dorm in a YHA, I have some expectations. However, this YHA wasn't a good one: 1) No free wifi in the common area 2) No free lockers depending on your lodge 3) The girl at reception seemed to be bored by my questions 4) The kitchen wasn't clean as well as the toilets.
    40%
    C. C December 2015
    The stafs wasn't very Nice at check-in and seemed annoyed that so many people got off the bus at once. You would expect them to be used to that. The rooms were vere small and not very clean. Dust and spiderwebs everywhere. The toilets didn't have a window in it so the smell was very bad in there. Also..the breakfast with the koala's wasn't worth my money. There was no explanation about the animals and we were only showen a lizzard and a Snake. The people who didn't pay the extra money to hold the koala didn't even get to see it. Overall, wouldn't recommand a stay here.
    55%
    Manon H October 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    83%
    609 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    80%
    Condition of facilities
    79%
    Efficiency of service
    82%
    Friendliness of staff
    83%
    Location
    90%
    Overall atmosphere
    85%
    Safety & security
    83%
    Value for money
    83%