Search YHA

Magnetic Island YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Magnetic Island YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (759 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The staff was so "un-serviceminded". They told us the wrong check-in time so when we came to check in they told us that we had to wait another two hours. And when we finally got to our room the room wasn't even clean, the old bedsheets where in the bed for example. When we told the staff that our room wasn't clean the didn't apologize or anything. They only told us "well it should be". Well it wasn't. Rellay unfriendly staff and so not serviceminded.
    Elin T October 2016
    Beautiful hostel, really chilled nice atmosphere and great location. We found the menu at the hostel very limited and impossible to cater for my dietary requirements which was a shame. The staff in general seemed friendly although I found the attitude of the person running the trivia night to be quite unsuited to that of a person who's meant to be hosting an energetic and enjoyable night, designed to get the hostel socialising and having fun. As much as we respected his passion for a fair quiz, we found that when having a laugh and blatantly joking around, his responses seemed to be pretty much humorless, which again, is fair enough, until the last comment of the night when his response actually included swearing at us. As a group we obviously never meant to offend him and just wanted ourselves and everyone else to have fun with a little friendly competition to get the group going. Maybe he was just having an off day but that aside, swearing at hostel guests is not appreciated. Besides this a nice, relaxed and chilled hostel.
    emilie m October 2016
    Good place to relax a few days!
    Jennifer R October 2016
    Stayed in a recently built bungalow, brilliant finish and nice to stay in.
    Chris D October 2016
    1st time staying in yha. Bungalow bay is really great. Very relaxed, nice people, 20s 30s some 40s, us 50s and even a couple of 60s. Would stay here again.
    Tracey l October 2016
    Great place to stay! Really enjoyed our time here
    Kirsten W October 2016
    I was pleased to stay at this hostel it is in good location and on a bus route. It is convenient to beach and shops. The environment is very nice the staff are friendly. The bed was comfortable and the price was very reasonable
    Mohammed M October 2016
    That is my best hostel up to now, I loved that it was quiet, it was very nice to be right beside so many birds and wildlife
    Monique B October 2016
    I'm glad I stayed here. It's so chilled out which is exactly what I was after but not dull with the activities in the evening like the quiz and giant jenga! It's close to horseshoe bay, about a 7 minute walk which has a few shops, cafes and bars which are nice to visit if you don't want to travel on a bus. There are also water activities right on the bay too for reasonable prices. The room itself was very clean and safe. The toilet and shower were always clean and the beds comfy. All in all a good stay!
    Sophie B October 2016
    Great hostel with cute bungalows. Just know that you're not allowed to consume your own alcohol (not even in rooms), and if you plan to take the photo with the koala, it's way more expensive than we'd have expected (47 $)
    Lisa October 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    759 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & Security
    Value for Money