Magnetic Island YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Magnetic Island YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (938 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Matress not so clean . Room smelly due to humility. Not enough sunshine into the room or air circulation. Animal friendly very nice. Ensuite very nice. Staff nice!
    78%
    qi l June 2017
    Great
    96%
    Edward F June 2017
    Very expensive for a backpack 80 dollars for 2 single beds. I will recommend it for camping maybe, I don't know the prices
    73%
    Bianca F June 2017
    Next time we may make use of the Camper's Kitchen !! Plus, we may stay longer ...
    98%
    Geoffrey R June 2017
    staff were very friendly and helpful in any questions.
    67%
    Christine R June 2017
    It was very nice. All the surrounding bays were beautiful!
    80%
    Nick F June 2017
    It was not clean and the staff was very functional/robotic. I will not come back
    62%
    Thomas J June 2017
    great location close to Horseshoe Bay, plenty of options for dining needs to have a TV room and better internet facilities
    87%
    Barry W May 2017
    A very quiet and chilled hostel a short walk from Horseshoe bay, which has a nice beach. The wifi is only in the bar area and isn't great. Stayed in a cabin with a comfy double bed and the staff are helpful about what to do on the island.
    87%
    Callum M May 2017
    choose your room wisely as most come without aircon and I had ants in my luggage as majority of the walls in the small twin cabins are fly net which had a hole in it. If you don't mind camping but still want shelter this is for you.
    87%
    chenae May 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    87%
    87%
    customer rating, based on 938 reviews
    Cleanliness
    81%
    Condition of facilities
    82%
    Efficiency of service
    86%
    Friendliness of staff
    92%
    Location
    92%
    Overall atmosphere
    86%
    Safety & Security
    86%
    Value for Money
    78%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!