Search YHA

Port Lincoln YHA

  • Customer reviews of Port Lincoln YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (841 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    One of the best hostels I've ever stayed. Walking distance to supermarket to get supplies for cooking. Very clean kitchen and utensils are arranged neatly . Friendly staff, especially Debi and Robert.
    ridman a November 2015
    This is definitely one of the better accommodations in port Lincoln (a place visited by tourists mostly for shark diving). There are countless DVDs, books to share, TVs, a bar and ping pong table etc. On top of this it is incredibly clean, due entirely to the self proclaimed neat freak, Debi. I unfortunately fell on the wrong side of Debi before her morning coffee, so she told me later in the afternoon. After having slept in the wrong beds (in the dormitory occupied only by the guests in my party) and having used too many floor towels and leaving water on the floor after having had a shower, she let herself into the dorm room and told me off. She also scolded the other guests I was staying with and we considered moving to a campsite to avoid her. Other backpackers I met had similar stories to tell. However, although she might be pretty bristly when dealing with disorder, it's the reason the hostel is in such good shape. It is spotless and the facilities are great, she is also really good at recommending things to do, campsites to stay etc
    Bethany C November 2015
    They're amazing, I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Port Lincoln!
    Jonathan F November 2015
    Best YHA I had ever met, best staff in the world, I will definitely stay here any time I am in Pt Lincoln, obsolutely recommend to my friends.
    jiaming z November 2015
    We travel regularly to Port Lincoln and we will be staying here in the future. Excellent amenities. Highly recommend!!!
    Andrew B November 2015
    Great place to stay - highly recommended to anyone staying at Port Lincoln. Debi & Rob are lovely and are always more than happy to help you. Immaculately clean and the rooms are nice with great bathrooms. You'll have a great time!
    Hannah K November 2015
    Faisal j November 2015
    Absolutely amazing hostel! Debbie and Robert do an amazing job! They are very friendly and keep this place in tip top shape!
    David W November 2015
    A MUST visit YHA!! We have stayed in many hostels in our lifetime! Port Lincoln YHA is in our opinion "THE BEST HOSTEL" in the WORLD!! Debi & Robert were like family & we hated to leave!! No doubt that we will return!! The Canadian Travelers!! Enjoy the #1 YHA in the world!!
    MJ/Henry Z November 2015
    Lovely friendly welcome, made to feel right at home. Had a great stay here thanks to Debi and Rob
    Kate M November 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    841 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money