Search YHA

Port Fairy YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer review of Port Fairy YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (827 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Very friendly staff and you can find all you need in this hostel. Just notice that the beds are not wide and you have just 30 min free wifi.
    92%
    Justine d July 2016
    Very friendly, was nice having a self contained family room. Easy walk to shops/iga.
    85%
    Helen W July 2016
    With a little bit amount of money it can be really nice place to stay. Some things are just old and used
    80%
    Marek S July 2016
    Low key and comfy place to stay in a relaxed town
    90%
    Patrick W July 2016
    Staff were great - so friendly and helpful! Gave me a great recommendation to go to Tower Hill. Good facilities and location, however it was too cold - main area of the hostel was not warm at all. I do believe this was due to the fact that it's off season though and no one else appeared to have been staying at the hostel before me and a couple others arrived. I bet this place is great during warmer weather.
    95%
    Kim June 2016
    Having been the 3rd (YHA) hostel we've stayed at in Australia, I expected much more than we received. What I had hoped would be a beautiful stay in a period home was desperately lacking charm; not to mention cleanliness, towels, heat (heater was provided but didn't, work. You could see your breathe in the kitchen-cold!h but most importantly...security - outside door locks. Port Fairy YHA was not my fairy tale accommodation, but more like a bad dream! I will not return.
    40%
    Marianne C June 2016
    Hostel has great character, very comfortable.
    88%
    Ellie L June 2016
    Great location, everything you need. Has a lovely community atmosphere. The hostel has old world charm.
    92%
    Helen W June 2016
    Loved our stay at YHA Pt Fairy. Very relaxed and offered everything we needed. Loads of like minded people of all ages.
    100%
    Trish M June 2016
    This is a great little hostel! I stayed in a single room which was a small, quirky loft room. The lady at reception was nice, there was a comfy bed, it was clean and warm. Kitchen was a bit crowded but there was lots of cutlery and crockery. Bathroom is closed for quite a while during the day for cleaning (I think 10am-12pm) and perhaps could use more bathrooms, but still I would definitely recommend.
    90%
    Luciana S June 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    87%
    827 customers have reated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    86%
    Condition of facilities
    81%
    Efficiency of service
    91%
    Friendliness of staff
    94%
    Location
    94%
    Overall atmosphere
    84%
    Safety & Security
    83%
    Value for Money
    82%