Search YHA

Port Fairy YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Port Fairy YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (809 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Worst yha i've been. For the same cost at other yha i got here: very small beds, small rooms, loud room because the wooden walls aren't closed to the top. 30Minutes of free wifi, more is very expensive, so you cannot plan your trip for the next days. I won't come back here. If you also read free wifi hotspot: there is a wifi for 7AU$ / 30 hours
    65%
    Michael April 2016
    nice historic building, clean, quiet, we slept very well there, very relaxed atmosphere to have a meal in the garden
    82%
    Nils April 2016
    Great place, well run, friendly and kind host.
    100%
    Nigel L April 2016
    The host is very lovely!
    100%
    Melanie G April 2016
    My friend and I we stay in this Cosy and quiet YHA and we loved it. Close to the beach and town. We appreciated the silence and the peaceful atmosphere in the hostels and in Port Fairy. Definitely we will come back. ♡♡♡♡
    92%
    Susan T March 2016
    Nothing to say about the place itself, the staff and the facilities. But, after checking in and feeling like it was a quiet place, to relax/rest, in other words perfect for a budget night in the middle of a long trip, we got woken up around midnight by some dudes who seem to be back, staying in the kitchen very late and literally shouting, singing,... It seems nobody cared since I believe that the whole building should have heard this inappropriate behaviour. I can't believe the nice person who was at the office in the evening when we arrived lives in the same building, otherwise, considering she seems to run a YHA with strict rules, she would have made that stop.
    70%
    Guillaume S March 2016
    Really good, place which deserves to stay more than one day
    98%
    Blandine B March 2016
    The single room is a real bargain, and very cosy!
    92%
    Kelly F February 2016
    Very very friendly staff. Very Nice hostel, vegetabilske from the garden. Washing maschine. Wifi only valid for one device.
    88%
    Ulrikka W February 2016
    This hostel is situated in the middle of quaint Port Fairy. Since it was low season, there wasn't anyone really there to help. Alison was there upon our arrival and left, and when we came home for dinner, she was still gone so we couldn't rent a towel for a shower. Unfortunate. The hostel is neat because it was opened in the 1970's and has a neat commune feel. Facilities were clean and spacious. Thanks :)
    70%
    Nicole C February 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    88%
    809 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    86%
    Condition of facilities
    83%
    Efficiency of service
    91%
    Friendliness of staff
    94%
    Location
    94%
    Overall atmosphere
    84%
    Safety & security
    88%
    Value for money
    82%