Search YHA

Port Fairy YHA

  • Customer reviews of Port Fairy YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (718 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Really sweet hostel, very pretty and atmospheric and well located in Port Fairy Staff were very helpful Only slight issue was five of us wanted an eight person dorm, but in reality the rooms were two fours so we were separated
    Rebecca H October 2015
    Very friendly and helpful staff, hostel is clean and has parking at the back. Situated within walking distance to shops and cafes, as well as Griffith Island and the lighthouse.
    Dale M September 2015
    Take you back to 19th century era. Well preserved house that become YHA Hostel.
    FAUZIAH A September 2015
    Was a great stay, it was a quiet weekend guest wise but it was lovely and relaxing in the lounge and I enjoyed my tiny bedroom as it meant I didn't spread out to much. The staff I dealt with were all lovely and friendly and will stay there again if I'm in Port Fairy during the quieter time of the year and I would book the same room again.
    katrina h August 2015
    Port Fairy has a lot to offer, even in the middle of winter. The family room was really cosy. We met some friendly overseas travellers with interesting stories.
    Peter W July 2015
    Helpful staff and clean, well-maintained facilities. Room was a bit cold at night though, and there wouldn't have been a lot of manoeuvring room if all four bunks were filled.
    Calum M June 2015
    This is a lovely hostel- the building is really nice with quiet courtyards and gardens and the location is very convenient. The staff were very friendly and shared tips on things to do in Port Fairy. I really enjoyed my stay here.
    Amy B June 2015
    The staff were really lovely and it felt like a home from home.
    Sarah C May 2015
    Allison made us very welcome.
    Peter G May 2015
    Great place to stay in a very interesting, lovely sea-side country town.
    Gillian C May 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    718 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money