Port Fairy YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Port Fairy YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (917 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The room I was in wasn't secure (the wall didn't go up to the ceiling), anyone in the adjoining room could circumvent the locked door by simply swinging across from the top bunk to the top bunk of my room. Also lockers weren't readily available to store items securely. On the plus side the on site free parking just yards fro my room was good as was the kitchen facilities.
    72%
    Anthony D May 2017
    I love this hostel; great location, friendly and very comfortable.
    100%
    Leigh B May 2017
    Very small room Internet doesn't work much and not in the room
    72%
    Benoit M May 2017
    Positiv: very friendly staff, great recommendation for activities, clean. Negative: multishare beds only 60cm wide - "prison cell feeling" (but comfortable), old building - not run down but also not renovated for a long time, lack of "atmosphere". Conclusion: okay for a one night
    70%
    Alice B April 2017
    Lovely quirky building with lots of character. Very clean, really lovely friendly staff. We had a great stay just for the one night but would deffenitely stay again and for longer if I was in the area
    92%
    Jessica D April 2017
    Great kitchen, well stocked, plenty of space. Very homey feel to the whole hostel. Only "negative" thing I can think of are the beds in the dorms - very narrow, I kept hitting the wall and probably annoyed the guests on the other side.
    95%
    Inna J April 2017
    The bed sheeds are clean, but allover it was dusty, has to bee cleaned up and repaintet and some new furniture, then the hostel could be nice
    65%
    Martina S April 2017
    Great location. Lovely host. Highly recommended
    95%
    Andrew G March 2017
    The hostel and hostel owners were lovely and very helpful.
    68%
    Laura G March 2017
    New painting/floor polishing of dining room and living colourful flowers great stay thanks
    100%
    Steve P February 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    84%
    84%
    customer rating, based on 917 reviews
    Cleanliness
    84%
    Condition of facilities
    79%
    Efficiency of service
    86%
    Friendliness of staff
    90%
    Location
    86%
    Overall atmosphere
    79%
    Safety & Security
    82%
    Value for Money
    82%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!