Phillip Island YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Phillip Island YHA

Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

What travellers think
Reviews (656 guests have reviewed this hostel)
My trust in a backpacker's lodge has been restored. It's perfect in every way - spotless, safe and secure, peaceful, handy location (a few minutes walk from the bus stop), attentive staff, eco-friendly, warm and strong shower, overall value for money. To even improve its service, I recommend that they label their rooms as to specific gender or mixed. I got a space in a 4-bed dorm with private bathroom at $43.50. But since it's low season, I got the room all to myself. :-) Highly recommended.
100%
Cirila L 08/09/2019
3rd time back....will be back for sure
100%
Neil A 12/08/2019
Hostelworld. Visited the wildlife sanctuary, Cowes, drove all around island to see viewpoints. All beautiful. Are at saltwater, a 5 minute walk from the hostel in the evening which was very nice.
65%
Danielle T 14/07/2019
It was an improvement from sleeping in the car but not by much. No heating on in the whole building, showers were also cold, which I understand due to it being quiet season and hardly anyone there but if the case maybe close if you wish to save on energy. Oh and you had to pay for Internet which I a shame for in other Yha hostels you do no have too. So felt like I paid for a bed only. Which wasn't that amazing either. Sorry for the negative review.
58%
K 01/07/2019
It was clean, but needs improvement. For instance, the toasters were quite dirty.
75%
Keidjan A 29/06/2019
I have now stayed here a few times and found it convenient to get too, clean, great kitchen facilities and had the best nights sleep! Highly recommend!!
100%
Lynette M 26/06/2019
This is a great hostel for anyone for a short stay. Really great for kids.
100%
Emma 10/06/2019
I love this hostel! So big, airy and spacious - we had the double private rpom which is great value for money. Kitchen facilities are great. Would recommend to a friend.
100%
Lydia H 03/06/2019
The cost-effectiveness was the best. I’ve never seen this efficient accommodation facility before. If you plan to travel Melbourne, you should sleep at this hostel and go to the Capes Woolamai. The pinnacles lookout is one of the best places to see sunset.
100%
Suin K 22/05/2019
This is a great place to stay. Accessible and affordable. Very clean. Great kitchen.
100%
Sylvie V 09/05/2019

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. 

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

89%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
91%
Condition of facilities
92%
Efficiency of service
89%
Friendliness of staff
88%
Location
88%
Overall atmosphere
85%
Safety & Security
93%
Value for Money
89%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL