Search YHA

Broome YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Broome YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (313 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Guests were very nice and friendly and made the experience while staying in the hostel very pleasant.
    75%
    Marcia F May 2016
    Awesome stay great atmosphere and friendly service
    100%
    Tautoko M May 2016
    It's my favorite YHA for the moment! The only problem was the really bad Wi-Fi.
    92%
    Manon H April 2016
    Super friendly staff!
    88%
    Katharina B February 2016
    good fun, plenty facility some time the air conditioner is a bite colder, but plenty friends to cheer party, plenty good barbecues, very good beerS to, caulis
    98%
    Marc edouard G January 2016
    I don't like the 'one man one pan' system. Everything should be freely available in the kitchen. Having to go to reception every time you need another pot/pan is not a good idea. Very inconvenient for all concerned.
    95%
    Geoff K September 2015
    Shameful practice of requiring guests to pay a $10 (refundable) fee of $10 just to use a knife, fork and spoon and to hand in their room key to get one saucepan to cook in! Makes everyone into a potential thief and results in lack of care of facilities, destroys the camaraderie and care of legions of YHA users across the world (and I have been using YHA for 40 years). As a result, it is hard to cook a proper meal as there are few joint facilities such as pans and pots and people don't bother cleaning up after themselves. The disabled toilet was filthy, disgusting, never cleaned in the days I was there and lacking many facilities. Guests were allowed to smoke in the centre of the common areas - the excuse being that, three floors up, the building was open to the sky. This did not stop smoke penetrating all eating and drinking areas. When I questioned this, I was mocked and ridiculed by smokers and the manager just stood by and smiled at the abuse, siding with the abusers. The bag of cutlery, one mug, one bowl and one plate I was forced to hire, came with filthy food waste soaked into the fabric and old rice strewn across the bottom. One of the saucepans I was given (in exchange for my room key) to cook my pasta, fell apart in my hands as I poured boiling water off my pasta into the sink. I was lucky not to be seriously burned. Will never go there again. In contrast, Perth YHA was its usual fabulous self.
    50%
    Kath M August 2015
    The hostel was not bad, not near any night clubs (not that there really are any in broome) so great for a good nights sleep! Half the time you could not tell the staff apart from the longtermers!! They all sat around and didnt do much really. The kitchen was hardly cleaned and we had maggots on our table when we came to have breakfast there! Apart from that, we were in a twelve bed dorm and the rooms were fairly big, its in a great location for the town, the toilets were kept nice and Clean too.
    60%
    Laura P July 2015
    Great place to stay.
    90%
    tony m July 2015
    A great hostel if you want to party, swimming area is now fenced off, hostel staff were all great, I moved to a quitter hostehl very close to cablebeach
    72%
    Sonia C June 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    79%
    313 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    70%
    Condition of facilities
    71%
    Efficiency of service
    78%
    Friendliness of staff
    86%
    Location
    89%
    Overall atmosphere
    80%
    Safety & security
    82%
    Value for money
    76%