Broome YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Broome YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (351 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    It is a nice hostel , it gets loud though and the rooms are not really separated from one another so that you can hear the other people in their dorms. WiFi sucks, it doesnt really work. Other than that, the facilities are clean, there is a nice common room and nice pool.
    82%
    Dörthe H May 2017
    I came here last year and the manager/stuff find me a job (valid for 2yr) I came this year and the manager/stuff help me out understanding about my sponsorship rights. It fullfilled the highest expectation I have about the service of a remote area hostel.
    100%
    mattia s May 2017
    Great location and price.
    95%
    Thomas H May 2017
    Common area is beautiful, but that is the only positive thing. The 6bed dorms share the same roof with only low walls seperating the rooms, which results in hearing everyone in the next dorms. A lot of noise! And if the rooms next to you keep the lights on, your room is lit as well... and freezing at night because of the a/c.
    65%
    Agnes M May 2017
    Walking distance to the airport, main supermarkets, and retail areas. Not an easy walk to the beach though (better to take the bus). The vibe in the place was great, though my room mates often preferred to not lock the dorm door when they left the room. There is ample cupboard / locker space to lock up valuable items (need to bring own padlock, you can buy them from the local hardware store). Restrooms were cleaned daily (some of the cleanest restrooms I've seen in hostels!) and the kitchen was large enough with plenty of refrigerator space. Though cutlery and crockery was not readily available - guests need to hire them from reception (refundable deposit - same as room key). Wifi wasn't working for most people for the 3 nights I was there - though I could use it with my phone - it was woefully slow. Fans in all rooms I think, though air- con in the room was coin operated. Socially, one of the more comfortable hostels I've stayed in.
    72%
    Susannah D April 2017
    We had some problems with the rates charged when booking, staff at the hostel recognised this and worked to give us a refund.
    68%
    Allan D March 2017
    the receptionist was unfriendly the hostel did not reply to my email questions not the hostel, but the receptionist was the worst experience in a hostel all over Australia (I stayed 2.135 nights in 1.081 different YHA hostels all over the world)
    75%
    Walter T December 2016
    I think this is a pretty well-run place on the whole, though its size presents some challenges - a smaller hostel might suit some better. It also shows some signs of age. The kitchen can be a [very hot] zoo at times, and there were a significantly high proportion of power points inoperable.
    88%
    Ted N October 2016
    I stayed 8 months in this hostel. I enjoyed it!
    98%
    Antoine F September 2016
    Rooms had not been cleaned. Areas around dorms were noisy all night. No food lockers - food was stored in bags under the benches. Management had a policy re recyclable bags, not realising that many people recycle plastic bags many times before finally using them to dispose of rubbish.
    52%
    Doug M September 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    79%
    79%
    customer rating, based on 351 reviews
    Cleanliness
    73%
    Condition of facilities
    75%
    Efficiency of service
    76%
    Friendliness of staff
    84%
    Location
    86%
    Overall atmosphere
    80%
    Safety & Security
    78%
    Value for Money
    81%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!