Search YHA

Lancelin YHA

  • Customer reviews of Lancelin YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (201 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Checking in was a very smooth procedure. The receptionist was very friendly and welcoming. She gave us recommendations to the places we can dine at and also catch the beautiful sunset. The room was clean. Although the toilets were shared but it was kept very clean as well. I like the fact that there was a hair dryer provided in the ladies toilet.
    Brenna C November 2015
    Had a wonderful weekend at Lancelin lodge ... Friendly / helpful host . Lovely gardens and clean facility ... Great location and loved having access to the pink bikes ...
    debra b November 2015
    Great location, and wonderful staff who would be willing to go above and beyond to ensure you have a good stay, created a wonderful atmosphere too. I have never stayed at a backpackers with such friendly owners :) truly blown away
    Hannah M November 2015
    Great hostel, lovely environment with friendly staff. Great value for money.
    Sarah F November 2015
    Every staff member I talked to was incredibly friendly and helpful with plenty of tips of where to go in the area. The rooms open onto a sunny grassy courtyard and on Sunday morning I really enjoyed the relaxing yoga session with Alessandro under the trees out the back. Staying at Lancelin YHA made for an excellent weekend away from Perth city, thanks so much.
    Rebecca H October 2015
    The big downer was having our two industrial grade padlocks, cut with bolt cutters, and valuable motorcycle stolen from the rear of hostel last night. The owners son suggested we park at rear, for safety over night (out of site, out of mind). No one had seen us park at rear, which was very secluded. The owner was very sympathetic, but couldn't find pass word to security camera, in morning, to replay cameras around hotel. The owner, later that night, had suggested we use his garage for motorcycles, which on reflection, we should have done (we still don't undersatnd how anyone would have known the motorcycle was hidden around the back!). Lancelin has a very big youth theft problem, we later find out, so beware of your pocessions. The stay otherwise was very good. The police were okay, but just shrugged!!
    Giles P October 2015
    awesome hostel. all clean and great hospitality ! highly recommended :-)
    Gerd M October 2015
    Only things that let our stay down was finding a cockroach in our room and the odd open hours of the reception desk. Closed between 1pm and 4pm was a slight inconvenience as we turned up expecting it to be open for the usual 2pm check in time. Despite this was perfect facility for our overnight stay with very friendly staff. Would definitely stay again.
    Rebecca W October 2015
    Could do with cleaning the fridge as its rank and the dorms were sandy before we got in, pillows need replacing, beds ok, doonas need to be warmer in winter/spring. Good kitchen, living area and entertainment facilities and friendly staff.
    Tazra H September 2015
    Relaxed, comfortable, great for a family stay, lovely town. Loved the pool and the volleyball court!
    Rebecca H August 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    201 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & security
    Value for money