Search YHA

Kalbarri YHA

  • Customer reviews of Kalbarri YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (155 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Kitchen facilities are quite poor. No oven and not many utensils. Fridge could have done with a clean. Bedroom and living room fine. Only one washing machine and drier. Great location, only about 2 mins walk to the beach. And the staff pick you up from the random junction the bus drops you off at, on the other side of the national park, even if you arrive at 3am or whenever.
    75%
    Ruth H January 2016
    Really basic. Desperately needs updating. My room was quite dusty. Could hear everything from the adjoining rooms. Fantastic location though.
    62%
    Lisa R January 2016
    Very friendly staff, great location. I really enjoyed my stay.
    98%
    clemence G January 2016
    Owners are friendly. However kitchen, bathrooms, room and common areas are unclean and dirty. No soap in bathrooms, I thought that was a hygiene requirement. I think this is below what would be a YHA branded standard.
    65%
    Abs B December 2015
    no air con that was terrible in 40 degrees hot day
    78%
    Cedric Yung Chun C December 2015
    Hosts are topnotch! Wonderful suggestions from the hosts and such a warm welcoming family! Comfortable sleep and everything at handy. Great atmosphere and great location!
    88%
    Vanessa V December 2015
    Really nice owner.
    92%
    Sarah K August 2015
    The staff were lovely and welcoming, very helpful too! But the hostel itself is quite run down, could definitely do with an update (new curtains and carpet etc). We loved the dogs though, very cute.
    80%
    Kathryn C August 2015
    It's a very nice place with friendly staff but would strongly recommend refurbishment as most of the facilities have seen better days. Great location to explore Kalbarri NP.
    68%
    Gwendolin K August 2015
    This hostel is in a pretty bad state of repair - the bathrooms are ancient and the all the rooms are infested with moths and other bugs. When we arrived there were two small cockroaches in one of our beds. The linen was clean, and the hostel was clean as much as could be achieved by staff, who were friendly and helpful, but the whole hostel desperately needs refurbishment and pest control.
    62%
    Rachel G April 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    79%
    155 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    71%
    Condition of facilities
    66%
    Efficiency of service
    85%
    Friendliness of staff
    90%
    Location
    92%
    Overall atmosphere
    79%
    Safety & security
    78%
    Value for money
    74%