Search YHA

Kalbarri YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Kalbarri YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (157 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    I am a massive fan of YHA and try and use them as often as i can when travelling. Unfortunately this is probably the worst YHA I have stayed in. The grounds of the hostel were very poorly kept with junk and rubbish everywhere. Inside is dated with damaged furniture hardly any cooking facilities and is also not very clean. I felt very unsafe at night when an argument kicked of below our bedroom for a good thirty minutes at around midnight with no intervene from management or staff. I will continue to use YHA but will not be visiting or recommending Kalbari.
    50%
    Emma P February 2016
    Kitchen facilities are quite poor. No oven and not many utensils. Fridge could have done with a clean. Bedroom and living room fine. Only one washing machine and drier. Great location, only about 2 mins walk to the beach. And the staff pick you up from the random junction the bus drops you off at, on the other side of the national park, even if you arrive at 3am or whenever.
    75%
    Ruth H January 2016
    Really basic. Desperately needs updating. My room was quite dusty. Could hear everything from the adjoining rooms. Fantastic location though.
    62%
    Lisa R January 2016
    Very friendly staff, great location. I really enjoyed my stay.
    98%
    clemence G January 2016
    Owners are friendly. However kitchen, bathrooms, room and common areas are unclean and dirty. No soap in bathrooms, I thought that was a hygiene requirement. I think this is below what would be a YHA branded standard.
    65%
    Abs B December 2015
    no air con that was terrible in 40 degrees hot day
    78%
    Cedric Yung Chun C December 2015
    Hosts are topnotch! Wonderful suggestions from the hosts and such a warm welcoming family! Comfortable sleep and everything at handy. Great atmosphere and great location!
    88%
    Vanessa V December 2015
    Really nice owner.
    92%
    Sarah K August 2015
    The staff were lovely and welcoming, very helpful too! But the hostel itself is quite run down, could definitely do with an update (new curtains and carpet etc). We loved the dogs though, very cute.
    80%
    Kathryn C August 2015
    It's a very nice place with friendly staff but would strongly recommend refurbishment as most of the facilities have seen better days. Great location to explore Kalbarri NP.
    68%
    Gwendolin K August 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    78%
    157 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    70%
    Condition of facilities
    64%
    Efficiency of service
    84%
    Friendliness of staff
    90%
    Location
    92%
    Overall atmosphere
    78%
    Safety & security
    77%
    Value for money
    73%