Search YHA

Kalbarri YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Kalbarri YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (171 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Generally dirty: Beds and showers in dorms are not clean. Blankets don't seem to be washed and are super cold.
    Franziska W October 2016
    i booked 8 dorm turn out to be 10 and staff say this is not their problem , it is yha web problem
    Ka Hong t September 2016
    Excellent service with the shuttlebus to the main road and Integrity bus.
    Eva s August 2016
    The hostel was ok would of given you 5/5 but there was just no fit birds brew. You need to fix that. Also got no sleep from others "stirring macaroni" or SNOR-bacca there.
    K O July 2016
    The hostel is old, the night is very cold. It needs a general restoration, new blankets, new pans and pots, duvets for the cold nights.
    Martina P June 2016
    I stayed here for four days with my fiance. The room was clean and cheap and the kitchen facilities were easily accessible. The hostel was mostly empty during the days and never really crowded at night. We did have the odd noisy guest, but that's kind of unavoidable when you stay in hostels. 10/10 would stay again.
    Jeremy S June 2016
    I am a massive fan of YHA and try and use them as often as i can when travelling. Unfortunately this is probably the worst YHA I have stayed in. The grounds of the hostel were very poorly kept with junk and rubbish everywhere. Inside is dated with damaged furniture hardly any cooking facilities and is also not very clean. I felt very unsafe at night when an argument kicked of below our bedroom for a good thirty minutes at around midnight with no intervene from management or staff. I will continue to use YHA but will not be visiting or recommending Kalbari.
    Emma P February 2016
    Kitchen facilities are quite poor. No oven and not many utensils. Fridge could have done with a clean. Bedroom and living room fine. Only one washing machine and drier. Great location, only about 2 mins walk to the beach. And the staff pick you up from the random junction the bus drops you off at, on the other side of the national park, even if you arrive at 3am or whenever.
    Ruth H January 2016
    Really basic. Desperately needs updating. My room was quite dusty. Could hear everything from the adjoining rooms. Fantastic location though.
    Lisa R January 2016
    Very friendly staff, great location. I really enjoyed my stay.
    clemence G January 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    171 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & Security
    Value for Money