Kalbarri YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Kalbarri YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (193 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Joe was extremely helpful any short comings were made up by his helpfulness Thanks Joe!. Loved Kalbarri and the trip around cliff tops Thanks again Murray Hely
    89%
    Murray H June 2017
    the kitchen equipment after use no one to wash just leave it there. freeze condition look very old. the water can't believe can drink
    60%
    SiewMoi P April 2017
    There was an awesome atmosphere, the managers were very kind and generous.
    96%
    Elena O April 2017
    No A/C , pool shuts at sunset. Limited kitchen equipment.
    78%
    Robert S April 2017
    very relaxed, hot, pretty quiet
    89%
    Sean N February 2017
    Although the accommodation looks dated we had a comfortable stay. The owners were very friendly and informative, showing all the local food spots and suggesting activities to do. They really looked after us.
    93%
    Candice January 2017
    The location is great and perfect. Staff are amazing, friendly and very very helpful. They gave me all the information about the city, tours and how to see around. However, the place is really dirty and in terrible conditions. The showers and toilets were disgusting, the floors also very dirty. Also, they have bikes to hire but they were in a very bad shape not worth the price of hiring.
    71%
    Gabriela S January 2017
    We arrived Christmas eve and Joe was very thorough booking us in, marking a map to make sure we knew where the town facilities were. He then invited us to a Xmas eve get together in the common area where we were introduced to wife Carol, Tara Kieran and buddy the dog. We & other guests were included in the banter/ tucker provided. The rest of the food was given to later arrivals who hadnt had dinner. He had good local knowledge about the town/ climate/ tours and shared it. I swapped a book at their library, spent some blissful time on the couch outside. Fridges were super efficient. He let us check out later because a tour ended after check out time. I really relaxed there. Enjoyed everyone,
    98%
    Susie T December 2016
    Excellent location and very helpful and friendly staff.
    91%
    Roberta H December 2016
    Totally run down, poorly managed and very very dirty. Kitchen was absolutely disgusting, it hasn't been cleaned for ages!! Disgrace to the YHA group. It seem as there are no standards these days as to the quality of services provided under the "YHA brand".
    49%
    Renata B December 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    77%
    77%
    customer rating, based on 193 reviews
    Cleanliness
    63%
    Condition of facilities
    59%
    Efficiency of service
    78%
    Friendliness of staff
    87%
    Location
    91%
    Overall atmosphere
    72%
    Safety & Security
    77%
    Value for Money
    71%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!