Search YHA

Albany YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Albany YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (355 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    I couldn't have found a better place to stay, just a few minutes walk from York Street and the Marina. There is a quite and friendly atmosphere and the place is clean. I can highly recommend it to everyone travelling on their own.
    88%
    Michela F April 2016
    This hostel is in a central location and within walking distance to many interesting places. The staff are very welcoming and the hostel is kept clean on a daily basis. Double rooms have their own TV and fridge facilities.
    98%
    Margaret G April 2016
    Modern and clean bathrooms and kitchens. Rooms were basic with inadequate curtains. Kitchen needs new fridge/freezers, knives and cutting boards. Upstairs is nice, downstairs is noisy, cramped and unpleasant feeling.
    75%
    Sharee v April 2016
    Few new tea towels would be good
    90%
    Michael H February 2016
    Quiet, friendly, clean. great location.
    100%
    John D January 2016
    Stayed in this hostel for a week with my family in Jan 2016. In general it was good, reasonably clean and inexpensive. My kids liked that. Pillow or mattress in my bed was not comfortable for me, my neck is still sore. I never seen cockroaches or other domestic bugs in the hostel, which is good. Location of the hostel is great, right in the CBD in a quite street.
    100%
    Alex K January 2016
    It's a good place to stay for a couple of days. My family and me enjoyed it. The facilities and the kitchen were cleaned every day, but showers and toiletts definitly need renovation soon.
    72%
    Stephan R January 2016
    It was the worst hostels I've been ever used. Not friendly and honest staff,not clean room... dirty blankets... whatever they says in their advertising is not true they just charge you and when you arrive you see something different...
    20%
    mehdi h January 2016
    Great location and friendly staff.
    80%
    Huan Shin E December 2015
    Nice place to stay
    100%
    Geeno M December 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    82%
    355 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    81%
    Condition of facilities
    76%
    Efficiency of service
    79%
    Friendliness of staff
    85%
    Location
    90%
    Overall atmosphere
    80%
    Safety & security
    82%
    Value for money
    82%