Search YHA

Bunbury YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer review of Bunbury YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (194 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The place is very run down and dirty. Nice Staff (Paul), friendly and helpful.
    58%
    Joan C April 2016
    2 mates and I went to the hostel in hopes of finding work and were let down immensely. We contacted Ian before arriving and indicated that we are EXTREMELY low on cash and REALLY need to find farm work and asked, since its a working hostel, how he can help. He indicated that he would for sure be able to help us find work. With that confirmation, we went. Upon arrival, there was no receptionists working. The reception desk is only open for about four hours in the morning. When we finally spoke with the receptionist, we told her that Ian is going to help us find farm work. She said yes, and handed us papers with numbers and told us to call. That was of no assistance handing us paper, especially when we rang up EVERY number and EVERY number was out of service, or the numbers are switched to other people. There was no assistance and there were no workers. I would never recommend this hostel to ANYONE
    40%
    Kristia K April 2016
    We stayed for two nights, felt comfortable there... Other than the lack of tidiness, kitchen packs (needing to be prewashed, prior to use), in the kitchen. It was a good place to stay at. Yarloop 2016 fire victim.
    75%
    Bronwyn D April 2016
    Hey the hostel is great. But i had to cancel one nights stay. Did so as per the cancelation guidelines e.g. before 6pm the night before. I checked with the reception staff and sent an email, however they are currently refusing to refund me add they did not read the email until after 6pm. What bull s**t! Do not stay here unless your plans will not change!
    90%
    Corinne M February 2016
    Absolutely love this hostel. Everyone is so friendly and you feel like your in a little family. The reception staff (Nicole, Aileen, and Christine) are sweethearts and Ian and Sarah are wonderful too.
    100%
    Olivia P January 2016
    When you first stepped into the hostel, it does not give you a good impression as the lounge area is quite unkempt. However, I am very pleased with the room as it was very clean with lockers and shelves. Shelves were allocated to the number of each bed. It will be good to enquire the check in time as I had to wait from 9am till 4pm to check in as they have limited beds. There was a family with 3 children living there as well and the children attend local school. It is walking distance to the beach, visitor centre, supermarket and South West Coach bus stop. There are no tours available. Good to have your own car.
    80%
    Angeline Nadia L November 2015
    The hostel is small but friendly. It is located between the shopping area and the beach area. The kitchen is a bit small. There is a Pioneer park opposite. It is not far to the info centre and transport hub.
    80%
    Geoffrey B August 2015
    I was there in the Southern Hemisphere summer - in February 2014 - and lots of young people from South America were staying at the Dolphin. The place felt crowded but it was also pleasantly civilized. There was no noise after 23:00, people washed up their pots and kept kit as tidy as conditions allowed. Brilliant value for money. Recommended.
    80%
    John H August 2015
    A comfortable place to stay. Within walking distance to the Capucino Strip and Pubs. Good and safe security for vehicles and helpful members of staff. Thank You.
    92%
    Selby A April 2015
    Very small kitchen. Friendliest staff i have met on my journey in australia carpark behind the hostel
    85%
    Jana R March 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    81%
    194 customers have reated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    79%
    Condition of facilities
    73%
    Efficiency of service
    85%
    Friendliness of staff
    89%
    Location
    90%
    Overall atmosphere
    77%
    Safety & Security
    82%
    Value for Money
    76%