Search YHA

Dunsborough YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Dunsborough YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (332 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The staff very friendly and accommodating and our room very clean. The communal facilities especially the kitchen was crowded and not clean due to other residents. The stairway immediately beside our room was used as a gathering spot and therefore very loud. It is more of a backpackers hostel than what we have previously experienced in YHA's before.
    78%
    Heather G September 2016
    great place to stay as clean and safe and kitchen huge so may meet people
    80%
    vassilios k September 2016
    Poor facilities, dirty because no one does his dishes (despite efforts of staff), it's all about partying and drinking, rooms are only cleaned once in a while (not once in the 6 nights I've stayed there..). Staff friendly and the house is right at the beach, so great in summer. But it is a little far from town. Nevertheless the staff drives with its guest once a day to the supermarket.
    45%
    Line August 2016
    Long term tenets (who were apparently working seasonally in the area) were extremely intoxicated, loud and messy. There was even a confrontation right outside my room. By 11:00pm I had enough of the noise (even with earplugs) and left to sleep in my truck. I cancelled my stay for the next night as well. It was a Friday night, but that is no excuse for persistent noise near the dorms. The owner, who returned the next day from being away, granted me with a sincere apology and a full refund, which I appreciated.
    68%
    Eric W August 2016
    Alban was very friendly and helpful. This hostel was full of young backpackers living and working there so I probably wouldn't stay there again as a solo traveller.
    78%
    Hetty B August 2016
    The location, building and common rooms are awesome. To explore the area you do need a car, although I didn't have one and with bike and walking had a good time. But distances are fast. There are no lockers and my dorm mates didn't lock the door. But it seems safe as is and you can give valuables at the front desk. The hostel is home to many workers staying months on end while working various jobs, this, like everywhere I've seen, makes the dorms dirty and messy.
    85%
    karin s June 2016
    Despite the terrible and awful weather that weekend, we had a great time at the hostel and slept easily throughout the night. The heater and spare blanket came in handy, as did the mini fridge. I was very happy to find a supplied hair dryer in the ladies bathroom, which was just across the hall from our room. We only needed the essentials and got our moneys worth!
    100%
    Susan T May 2016
    great place for either stay-over or vacation. easy access to beachside & hostel facilities are well maintained. It's definitely value for money choice of accommodation.
    75%
    Amy C May 2016
    Stayed 1 night with a group of about 10. Awesome location right on the beach. Big bbq was fantastic for our cooking needs for the 10 of us. Beach volley ball court in the grassy back yard plus cool beach shack seating area for after 10pm partying. Stayed in mixed 6 share dorm upstairs... Best view in the house. Everyone enjoyed it... Will definately be back!!
    98%
    Christopher S April 2016
    Excellent value for money. Comfortable beds and clean. What can you ask for.
    100%
    Mr stephen k April 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    83%
    332 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    80%
    Condition of facilities
    78%
    Efficiency of service
    87%
    Friendliness of staff
    90%
    Location
    88%
    Overall atmosphere
    79%
    Safety & Security
    82%
    Value for Money
    81%