Search YHA

Esperance YHA

  • Customer reviews of Esperance YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (153 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    This hostel must urgent be renovated! The twinrooms were so small, that you haven´t space to open your suitcase, hanging up clothes or store small things! Walls were thin like paper, the room full because of a bed and 2 small tables, they were full of dust. The kitchen was dirty, the bathroom old and shabby, and all was full of settled dust. It hasn´t the standard of an youthhostel, not just of an backpacker!!! The price is too much for such an badly accommodation! Please be sure, that we never come back again and don´t want to recommend these hostel to anybody!!!!
    40%
    Barbara T January 2016
    All the facilities at the hostel need to be upgraded. The electricity points in our rooms were not working. The lights in the toilets weren't working. The ventilation in the rooms is really bad. Overall the quality of the place is not the same as any other YHA and is disappointing.
    52%
    Shashank M January 2016
    no wall power in the room !
    50%
    Patrice B January 2016
    The hostel itself looks pretty run-down but it's clean enough, dorm bed was extremely comfortable! It would overall be acceptable if it wasn't for all those over the top rules. I was literally not allowed to bring a bottle of water in the lounge area nor bring my blanket to the couch (Didn't make any sense to me, honest). That created a very uneasy atmosphere for me - and not a laid back, easy-going one I expect from a youth hostel. No lockers, they offered to store my valuables at the reception though. It's ok but bad value for money! There is wifi but it's very expensive!
    60%
    Ulrike S January 2016
    Fantastic place to stay... best thing was the staff there was just amazing...great people to chat and take advice from. Although we had our car but the place is a walk town centre, beaches, shops etc...even in this very busy time of the year, this place was great value for money. Highly recommended.
    98%
    Amol A January 2016
    The staff was very friendly and helpful. Overall is good, except for the facilities i.e. The living room's and bathrooms that look a bit old.
    70%
    Praornsiri M January 2016
    Good place to hang out with friendly people from all around the world.
    95%
    Huan Shin E December 2015
    We booked 3 days in these yha. There a one crazy guy in the same room in the first day. We so scare about our safety. Lucky, the owner help us to change the room. She try her best to make me feel safe and happy in these yha. She is soooooooo nice and kindly. All the facilities is clean. Highly recommend.
    90%
    sze wan w December 2015
    Though I travel through Esperance regularly this is my first stay at the YHA. It was a very pleasant surprise. The hostel was built around 1945 (I think) and does show wear and tear, but the CHARACTER of the building is amazing .Also you can sit on the balcony and watch the dolphins I would have stayed on my return trip as well but there is a problem with the electricity. If you get a room with a light there is no power points working or if you get one with power points you have not light. The staff are so helpful and friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them, they are trying to do their best in a difficult situation with extension cords running here and there. I will definitely stay here again.
    98%
    Kathleen S December 2015
    Nice, little Hostle. Maybe the best YHA in WA
    100%
    Sebastian H November 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    68%
    153 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    65%
    Condition of facilities
    53%
    Efficiency of service
    72%
    Friendliness of staff
    82%
    Location
    81%
    Overall atmosphere
    63%
    Safety & security
    65%
    Value for money
    62%