Search YHA

Esperance YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Esperance YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (165 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Helpful, friendly staff. Clean hostel. Nice big kitchen. Spacious rooms. Cheap laundry & covered of clothes line area. Bathrooms are chilly as they are outside. Only issue I had was with the lounge rule. I understand wanting to keep it clean and a quiet relaxed area, so not allowing food or alcohol in there. But no drinks at all? Couldn't have a glass of soft drink or a cup of tea while watching TV or reading a book on the sofa. Very annoying!
    85%
    Ruth April 2016
    Condition of facilities are very poor and no photos online when booing the room and wrong address show on the google map . very bad experience.
    35%
    shiyi t April 2016
    The lady at the reception counter was very friendly and helpful!
    98%
    Nur R February 2016
    This was an excellent hostel for a long or short term stay. The kitchen was huge. The location of the hostel was great for our excursions. The hosts were really friendly.
    92%
    Thomas D February 2016
    This hostel must urgent be renovated! The twinrooms were so small, that you haven´t space to open your suitcase, hanging up clothes or store small things! Walls were thin like paper, the room full because of a bed and 2 small tables, they were full of dust. The kitchen was dirty, the bathroom old and shabby, and all was full of settled dust. It hasn´t the standard of an youthhostel, not just of an backpacker!!! The price is too much for such an badly accommodation! Please be sure, that we never come back again and don´t want to recommend these hostel to anybody!!!!
    40%
    Barbara T January 2016
    All the facilities at the hostel need to be upgraded. The electricity points in our rooms were not working. The lights in the toilets weren't working. The ventilation in the rooms is really bad. Overall the quality of the place is not the same as any other YHA and is disappointing.
    52%
    Shashank M January 2016
    no wall power in the room !
    50%
    Patrice B January 2016
    The hostel itself looks pretty run-down but it's clean enough, dorm bed was extremely comfortable! It would overall be acceptable if it wasn't for all those over the top rules. I was literally not allowed to bring a bottle of water in the lounge area nor bring my blanket to the couch (Didn't make any sense to me, honest). That created a very uneasy atmosphere for me - and not a laid back, easy-going one I expect from a youth hostel. No lockers, they offered to store my valuables at the reception though. It's ok but bad value for money! There is wifi but it's very expensive!
    60%
    Ulrike S January 2016
    Fantastic place to stay... best thing was the staff there was just amazing...great people to chat and take advice from. Although we had our car but the place is a walk town centre, beaches, shops etc...even in this very busy time of the year, this place was great value for money. Highly recommended.
    98%
    Amol A January 2016
    The staff was very friendly and helpful. Overall is good, except for the facilities i.e. The living room's and bathrooms that look a bit old.
    70%
    Praornsiri M January 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    70%
    165 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    67%
    Condition of facilities
    56%
    Efficiency of service
    74%
    Friendliness of staff
    83%
    Location
    83%
    Overall atmosphere
    66%
    Safety & security
    69%
    Value for money
    66%