Search YHA

Esperance YHA

  • Customer reviews of Esperance YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (134 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Very friendly service, basic rooms but that's all that's needed, great location, wifi and a lovely fire, very cosy! Would defiantly book here again.
    95%
    Hilda D August 2015
    Kitchen che And launch room web so cold. It's hard To eat At 10*C of temperature.
    72%
    Davide G August 2015
    Staff friendly, a bit old and location quite far from centre. Expensive for what it offers.
    65%
    Francesco M May 2015
    Easy to book. Cheap per night. Rather very basic. But, friendly service --- and --- free transport to Public transport.
    85%
    Peter W April 2015
    Reception staff was very friendly and helpful. The walls of the rooms are extremely thin and it was hard to find a good night sleep.
    72%
    Angela R April 2015
    Booked in for 3 nights, stayed 1 and cancelled the other 2. This hostel is far out of my imagination of yha standard. Tear it down and build it up new. At least the stuff was cooperative.
    42%
    Ronny H January 2015
    The facilities are old, tap leaking. The door of the dorm wasnt closed so couldnt leave belongings there, and the light of the 'Exit' light was so bright at night I had to wear a sleeping mask. (But maybe that was just in my dorm). Staff very friendly and happy to help Location 2km from town center, a bit far if you wanna go out. Only cheap accomodation in town, was ok for a few days.
    72%
    Marie C January 2015
    After 2010, my 2nd time in Esperance. Now I am travelling around the world by bicycle.I stayed at the YHA for nine nights. I had a twin room for 66 AUD/night, which is quite overpriced, but I do not like dorms. the managers are very friendly and helpful. all is clean but many areas need more maintenance or even replacements. ca. 2km to town centre. I had a great time there and would return.
    80%
    Gerd M September 2014
    Well run. Not busy when I was there.
    98%
    Dewald S July 2014
    Friendly hosts, heaps of room - huge lounge, dining and kitchen area, and the sea is just over the road
    92%
    Annette B June 2014
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    68%
    134 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    65%
    Condition of facilities
    53%
    Efficiency of service
    75%
    Friendliness of staff
    84%
    Location
    80%
    Overall atmosphere
    65%
    Safety & security
    63%
    Value for money
    60%