Search YHA

Esperance YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Esperance YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (192 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Excellent stay and great location.
    88%
    Brandon K January 2017
    This hostel is now quite dated and could do with some refurbishment. The staff could not be faulted however, and the service they provided was exemplary.
    92%
    Hugh K January 2017
    Great stay at this lovely hostel! Clean, well equipped kitchen. Very friendly owners, who organise courtesy pick-ups and drop-offs to/from bus station (if coming on Transwa coach, ask to be dropped off at caravan park, YHA is just around the corner). Esperance itself is a great little town, surrounded by amazing beaches.
    90%
    Alice K January 2017
    The owners were very nice. The hostel is old and not too busy and I'd say that's what I loved about it because in a 4-share I was on my own for three nights and only had one more girl. The hostel is very quiet at night (except the squeaky floor). There were unfortunately no lockers to put my valuables.
    80%
    Sabrina M January 2017
    Not an up-market five-star hotel of course, but high level of cleanliness. Very tidy and clean kitchen. Friendly staff. Situated 100m from the waterfront. 20-minute walk to the centre of town.
    98%
    Jack d January 2017
    Nice location for exploring Esperance and Cape Le Grand National Park
    58%
    Nick S December 2016
    No free WiFi Room s very small Big car Park
    68%
    Daniela S December 2016
    I would definitely recommend this place. Awesome look over the bay. Beautiful walks along the coast. Just be prepared. If its cold dress warmly. This former hospital has no isolation!
    88%
    Antje N September 2016
    This is a very old building which gives it a lot of character. Ask the friendly office staff about the history of this building it is so interesting.There was a bit of work being done on the room I wanted so I was upgraded at no extra cost. (Perfect) I walked into town along the beachfront and this was very relaxing, it only took me 20minutes (I am nearly 70) so should be a breeze for the young ones. You drive through the National Park to get to Hellfire beach, Frenchmans Peak and Lucky Bay and is approx. 45 minute drive.
    95%
    Carol C September 2016
    I was pretty disappointed with my stay at YHA to be honest. The building was run down, room was tiny with only one power supply, communal area old and tattered. Bed in the room was broken. Only one shower block available as the other was out of order. Shower block was full of mosquitos and I was eaten alive. I wouldn't return. Not up to the usual standard of YHA which I expected.
    62%
    Kirsty B August 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    72%
    192 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    68%
    Condition of facilities
    58%
    Efficiency of service
    76%
    Friendliness of staff
    85%
    Location
    85%
    Overall atmosphere
    67%
    Safety & Security
    71%
    Value for Money
    65%