Search YHA

Esperance YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer review of Esperance YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (172 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    The excessive rules in this hostel make it impossible to enjoy yourself. Not to be able to access the kitchen to make a cup of tea after 9pm is ridiculous especially when it's the only way to get warm! The hostel should not be used in winter until a major refurbishment is carried out.
    68%
    Sue D July 2016
    Lovely stay, got a free room upgrade. Lovely to sleep to the sound of waves at night. Plenty of room with a view and amole parking.
    88%
    Trystan H June 2016
    Great place friendly people clean neat and tidy very comfortable bed.
    92%
    jason m June 2016
    Just stayed for the night, we had a double room, average, literally just the bed, a shelf and bedside table, not even a bin in the room! Staff was very friendly and nice, location is awesome as it looks directly over the sea !
    82%
    Jessica June 2016
    My partner and I have stayed at hundreds of hostels worldwide and both agreed that this is the worst we've ever seen. A really unwelcoming vibe about the place. I understand rules are necessary to keep the place safe but there are passive-aggressive signs on every surface! There is a good big kitchen and living area with fire but I don't think maintenance has been done on the building in decades, very little insulation. The powerboard in our room stopped working when the heater was turned on and only tiny polar fleece blankets provided. Thank goodness we only had to stay one night but as we were leaving a guest informed management how cold it was and they refused him more blankets! We were warmer and more comfortable when we were camping outside Esperance.
    35%
    Rebecca H May 2016
    Helpful, friendly staff. Clean hostel. Nice big kitchen. Spacious rooms. Cheap laundry & covered of clothes line area. Bathrooms are chilly as they are outside. Only issue I had was with the lounge rule. I understand wanting to keep it clean and a quiet relaxed area, so not allowing food or alcohol in there. But no drinks at all? Couldn't have a glass of soft drink or a cup of tea while watching TV or reading a book on the sofa. Very annoying!
    85%
    Ruth April 2016
    Condition of facilities are very poor and no photos online when booing the room and wrong address show on the google map . very bad experience.
    35%
    shiyi t April 2016
    The lady at the reception counter was very friendly and helpful!
    98%
    Nur R February 2016
    This was an excellent hostel for a long or short term stay. The kitchen was huge. The location of the hostel was great for our excursions. The hosts were really friendly.
    92%
    Thomas D February 2016
    This hostel must urgent be renovated! The twinrooms were so small, that you haven´t space to open your suitcase, hanging up clothes or store small things! Walls were thin like paper, the room full because of a bed and 2 small tables, they were full of dust. The kitchen was dirty, the bathroom old and shabby, and all was full of settled dust. It hasn´t the standard of an youthhostel, not just of an backpacker!!! The price is too much for such an badly accommodation! Please be sure, that we never come back again and don´t want to recommend these hostel to anybody!!!!
    40%
    Barbara T January 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    73%
    172 customers have reated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    70%
    Condition of facilities
    59%
    Efficiency of service
    75%
    Friendliness of staff
    84%
    Location
    85%
    Overall atmosphere
    68%
    Safety & Security
    72%
    Value for Money
    68%