Esperance YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Esperance YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think

    Reviews (203 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    My stay was ok, but the facility is a bit run down. Staff were very friendly, but everything needs attention. The bed was clean and comfy. Great location, directly opposite the beach, and easy walking distance to the centre of town. The place just needs some attention.
    71%
    Lucia P April 2017
    you feel like at home. Mark is very kind and goes an extra mile for his guests. thanks a lot
    100%
    Marc B April 2017
    I think this is the best place to stay in Esperance! I book a single room for three nights in yha, which is really a great surprise! The single room is clean, comfortable and well ventilated, with two windows, one of which is facing the sea, a veritable sea view! And the kitchen is equipped with an oven, which is so beautiful that every day you can cook delicious food , Where the atmosphere is friendly, clean and tidy, quiet and pleasant, is my favorite place to stay in Australia. Very grateful to the good and friendly operators , so super patient to answer e-mail to help me,thank you very much! and there is a super super super good mountain bike, I even ride the Great Ocean drive for 40km without feeling tired! I really like Esperance YHA !
    100%
    SHIQI L March 2017
    We stayed one night in the private room and were very happy, the room is very simple but it has a tv, was clean and the bed was super comfy. The location of the hostel right on the beachfront isn't too bad either. We weren't there long enough to settle into the hostel but it had a big inviting back yard with BBQ that looked like a nice place to meet fellow travelers if you stayed longer. Considering we were more interested in seeing as much of esperance as we could rather than relaxing in a luxury room $76 split between us is a bargain and I would gladly stay again, thanks YHA.
    98%
    Louise w March 2017
    Amazing, friendly, helpfull staff. thanks to the staff the atmosphere is very peacefull.
    91%
    fabien p February 2017
    Excellent stay and great location.
    89%
    Brandon K January 2017
    This hostel is now quite dated and could do with some refurbishment. The staff could not be faulted however, and the service they provided was exemplary.
    93%
    Hugh K January 2017
    Great stay at this lovely hostel! Clean, well equipped kitchen. Very friendly owners, who organise courtesy pick-ups and drop-offs to/from bus station (if coming on Transwa coach, ask to be dropped off at caravan park, YHA is just around the corner). Esperance itself is a great little town, surrounded by amazing beaches.
    91%
    Alice K January 2017
    The owners were very nice. The hostel is old and not too busy and I'd say that's what I loved about it because in a 4-share I was on my own for three nights and only had one more girl. The hostel is very quiet at night (except the squeaky floor). There were unfortunately no lockers to put my valuables.
    82%
    Sabrina M January 2017
    Not an up-market five-star hotel of course, but high level of cleanliness. Very tidy and clean kitchen. Friendly staff. Situated 100m from the waterfront. 20-minute walk to the centre of town.
    98%
    Jack d January 2017
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    79%
    79%
    customer rating, based on 203 reviews
    Cleanliness
    72%
    Condition of facilities
    64%
    Efficiency of service
    80%
    Friendliness of staff
    87%
    Location
    88%
    Overall atmosphere
    72%
    Safety & Security
    76%
    Value for Money
    71%
At least 10% off accommodation for all YHA members  

Open up your options, become a member

Save at least 10% off accommodation at YHA hostels around Australia.
Get member rates at over 4,000 YHA/HI hostels worldwide.
Enjoy discounts on travel gear, transport and more!