Search YHA

Margaret River Backpackers YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Margaret River Backpackers YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (61 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    A bit untidy and too noise. As it structure is wood, whoever who is walking around rooms can be heard. Not to mention when people go to toilet, whatever they do can be also heard from rooms. Not pleasant at all this last situation.
    62%
    Gustavo M April 2016
    I was absolutely exhausted when I arrived, so pretty much slept the entire time I was here. Which is saying something as I'm a very light sleeper. The bed was very comfy, linen clean. Other guests were considerate I believe and kept noise down in the room (I was in the 8 bed female dorm). Excellent location when I wandered out for dinner- short walk from the Main Street and plenty of restaurants/cafes.
    88%
    Rachael K March 2016
    It's a shame this is the only hostel in town. It's well below the typical YHA standards. The kitchen was consistently filthy, often dishes stacked in the sink. There was no room for food storage in the pigeon holes or the refrigerator. Although they claim to have WiFi, it was completely useless, and I ended up at the library every chance I got. They claim not to be a party hostel, but it was loud and there was lots of drinking into the night. I think the biggest change this place needs to make is having staff present 24 hours to enforce the guidelines on quiet hours, drinking, cleaning up after yourself. I have been staying in hostels for the past six months in 15 different countries, and this one gets the lowest rating by a big margin. I would have left after the first night, but there were no other options. I would recommend a hotel or hostel in another town if you're considering Margaret river. There is also no secure storage at this facility.
    58%
    Thomas D February 2016
    Very good location and safety.
    70%
    Quek Y December 2015
    Decent hostel in an expensive area with a really lovely helpful manager. There's secure parking, big kitchen and a nice back deck. However in general the place is pretty filthy, the room I stayed in had gear everywhere from long term workers and smelt pretty rank. Not many showers/toilets either which must be awful if it's busy. Also really , really dislike YHA's policy of not changing doonah covers between guests, which is frankly revolting. It's basically the same as not having fresh sheets. Off the Main Street but not very quiet on my nights, as people were talking and playing music until late. Probably wouldn't stay again unless it was the cheapest option.
    70%
    Cat November 2015
    Remi is very helpful and friendly. I left an item in the hostel; he put the effort to look for it and mailed it to me. He also orientated in to thw facilities and environment if hostel when I checked in. Prior to arriving at the hostel, he promptly replied to my emails and addressed all queries. Thank you so much.
    95%
    Angeline Nadia L November 2015
    A lovely place.
    100%
    Kate L October 2015
    Nice modern hostel, friendly helpful staff/owner. Would definitely stay there again and confidently recommend it to future visitors. Even had a Woolworths practically across the road and the Winery & Bfrewery Tour (Bushtuckers Tour) was fantastic. Loved the Margaret River area !
    85%
    Don F September 2015
    The staff were great, very helpful and friendly. The hostel was pretty full and most of the guests appeared to be workers, this made it quite a clique. Also it lead to my room being covered in everyone's belongings and being very untidy. The kitchen was not as clean as it could have been and the kitchenware I was given hadn't been washed properly.
    65%
    Katy G August 2015
    What organization and cleanliness in a hostel!
    100%
    Kali F May 2015
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on yha.com.au

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    83%
    61 customers have rated this hostel
    Cleanliness
    74%
    Condition of facilities
    78%
    Efficiency of service
    86%
    Friendliness of staff
    90%
    Location
    92%
    Overall atmosphere
    80%
    Safety & security
    82%
    Value for money
    80%