Search YHA

Margaret River Backpackers YHA

Check in
Check out
  • Customer reviews of Margaret River Backpackers YHA

    Once you have stayed with us you will be invited by email to provide your own rating of the hostel. The rating will be published, whether you give us good or bad marks.

    What travellers think
    Reviews (72 guests have reviewed this hostel)
    Better than I expected. It was clean and well maintained with ample parking at the back too! Will definitely go back here next year.
    Vincent N October 2016
    This place is really dirty, be it the sheets, the room or the toilet.
    Xiaoying S October 2016
    The rooms and overall hostel was freezing. The sheet and light blanket were not enough to keep warm at night. The kitchen was dirty. The hostel was very loud at night and nothing was ever done to call those people out. Free wifi is advertised but it didn't work at all the two days I was there. Not even an option to pay for wifi sessions.
    Erica H September 2016
    The boys on reception were very good to me and one way or another spoils me to bits. Thank you so much guys. Your kindnesses were greatly appreciated.
    Bridget B September 2016
    Nice warm bedrooms and friendly environment. Was full of long term backpackers living and working there so dorms and kitchen were a bit cluttered - I probably wouldn't stay there again as a solo traveller.
    Hetty B August 2016
    Generally good but it's tricky to get into the top bunk as there are no ladders.
    Nicholas S July 2016
    Unfriendly receptionist, I dont blame her for it. Hostel full of backpackers working in farms around Margaret river, These people making loads of mess in this place. There was no hot water in the showers, jammed toilets, dirty kitchen, hostel locked up after 7pm. Rooms are clean and warm enough, however no duvet is provided just thin blanket.
    Jan B July 2016
    The Hostel Manager was polite and helpful, as were the other staff. The location and access is only a few minutes away from the shops/pubs. Room was fine although a bit cold at this time of year (Early May) with the thin blanket provided. The free Wifi is non existent- had trouble loading even the most basic pages (2 kb per second :sadface ). The kitchen/eating area and lounge were of a comfortable size with a large deck outside. Fair amount of Dvds, boardgames and books to choose from if you need to pass the time. The cleanliness of the hostel however was far from great. Drawers in the kitchen and parts of the shower/toilets look like they haven't been cleaned for a while - perhaps just a wipe on the surface, but no deep cleaning. Not really what I expected from a YHA chain/affiliate - especially as the ones in NZ were amazing!
    Kevin May 2016
    A bit untidy and too noise. As it structure is wood, whoever who is walking around rooms can be heard. Not to mention when people go to toilet, whatever they do can be also heard from rooms. Not pleasant at all this last situation.
    Gustavo M April 2016
    I was absolutely exhausted when I arrived, so pretty much slept the entire time I was here. Which is saying something as I'm a very light sleeper. The bed was very comfy, linen clean. Other guests were considerate I believe and kept noise down in the room (I was in the 8 bed female dorm). Excellent location when I wandered out for dinner- short walk from the Main Street and plenty of restaurants/cafes.
    Rachael K March 2016
    Hostel Rating
    Ratings guidelines

    Customer Reviews on

    YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

    We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

    Inappropriate or offensive comments

    Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

    Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

    Unsubstantiated or incorrect claims

    Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

    Comments including staff names

    Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

    If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

    Changed circumstances in hostels

    If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

    Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

    Hide Ratings Guidelines
    72 customers have rated this hostel
    Condition of facilities
    Efficiency of service
    Friendliness of staff
    Overall atmosphere
    Safety & Security
    Value for Money